MPSC Issues New Consumer Alert on New License Requirement for Household Goods Movers

Contact: Judy Palnau (517) 241-3323

June 5, 2008

The Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) today issued a new consumer alert on the new license requirement for household goods movers that operate within the state of Michigan.

All licensed household goods movers must now display the required MPSC numbers and current year decal on the side of the truck's cab.

In addition, the new state law has a number of consumer protection provisions, including the following:

·         Customers may now negotiate the cost they pay for local moves (under 40 miles).

·         Moves over 40 miles are subject to regulated rates - but total cost may vary based on the number of additional services required.

·         Carriers may be financially responsible for actual loss or damage to property caused during a move, subject to the provisions of the new law.

The entire consumer alert is available on the MPSC Web site: .

The MPSC is an agency within the Department of Labor & Economic Growth.