members of the commission

The Michigan Public Service Commission is composed of three members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Commissioners are appointed to serve staggered six-year terms. No more than two Commissioners may represent the same political party. One commissioner is designated as chairman by the Governor.


MPSC Commissioner Talberg

Sally A. Talberg, Chairman

Sally A. Talberg was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission on July 3, 2013, and was appointed chairman on January 4, 2016. The Governor appointed her to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2021.

Prior to her appointment, Chairman Talberg worked in the public and private sectors with a focus on energy policy and utility regulation. Most recently, she served as a senior consultant at Public Sector Consultants focusing on energy policy issues. During her tenure at Public Sector Consultants, she also helped establish Michigan Saves, a financing organization to support energy waste reduction. Chairman Talberg previously served as an analyst at the Michigan Public Service Commission, managed enforcement and contested cases at the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, and advised commissioners at the Public Utility Commission of Texas. 

Chairman Talberg is past-president of the Organization of MISO States. Through her involvement with the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Telecommunications Committee, she also serves on the Federal-State Joint Board on Jurisdictional Separations, and on Universal Service.

Ms. Talberg holds a bachelor's of science degree in Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Studies from Michigan State University and a master's degree in Public Affairs from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas-Austin.

MPSC Commissioner Saari

Norman J. Saari, Commissioner

Norman J. Saari was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission for a term beginning on August 2, 2015. The Governor appointed him to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2019.

Commissioner Saari is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and serves on its Committee on Natural Gas, Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal, Committee on Infrastructure, and the Washington Action Program. In 2017 he became chairman of the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety. Additionally, Commissioner Saari is the board secretary of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference. He was appointed in 2016 to serve on the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration's Liquid Pipeline Advisory Committee, which will make recommendations to help PHMSA develop safety requirements.

Commissioner Saari served as an executive director of governmental affairs for 20 years at the Consumers Energy Company, a position from which he retired in 2006. Commissioner Saari was most recently Chief of Staff for the Michigan House of Representatives under Speaker Kevin Cotter as well as under former Speaker Jase Bolger. He also served as Governor Snyder's manager of appointments and Chief of Staff for former State Senator Jason Allen.

Commissioner Saari earned a bachelor's degree in journalism from Michigan State University, and served as a public information officer in the Michigan National Guard.

MPSC Commissioner Eubanks

Rachael A. Eubanks, Commissioner

Rachael A. Eubanks was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission, for a term beginning August 1, 2015. The Governor appointed her to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2023.

She serves on the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ (NARUC) Electric Committee, which focuses on developing and advancing policies that promote the reliable, adequate and affordable supply of electricity and, through its collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation. In 2017, she was appointed to NARUC’s Subcommittee on Supplier and Workforce Diversity, which is focused on promoting opportunities for women, minority and service-disabled veteran-owned businesses in utility supply markets.

Commissioner Eubanks represents Michigan on the board of the Organization of PJM States, where she also serves on its Personnel Committee.

Prior to her appointment, Commissioner Eubanks worked in public finance for 13 years, most recently as a director at Robert W. Baird & Co. Inc. During her 10-year tenure at Baird, she completed over $22 billion in bond financings, primarily for the State of Michigan, Michigan State Building Authority, Michigan Finance Authority and other state agencies. She served as financial advisor on a $185 million issuance for the Public Lighting Authority of Detroit that financed a complete overhaul of the city’s street lighting system amidst its bankruptcy proceedings.

She holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Michigan.