Impaired Driving in Michigan

Information on the  Michigan Drunk Driving Audit 

2014 Michigan Crash Facts

Alcohol- and Drug-Related Fatalities 319
Fatalities  876
Injuries 71,378
Total Crashes  298,699

Nationally, alcohol-impaired motor vehicle crashes cost more than an estimated $37 billion annually. NHTSA

In 2014, Impaired driving represented more than one-third (36%) of Michigan traffic fatalities. UMTRI

Michigan law enforcement agencies arrested 35,060 motorists for drunk driving in 2014. CJIC

There were 892 incapacitating injuries in alcohol and/or drug-involved crashes in 2014. UMTRI

Nationally, alcohol-impaired driving fatalities accounted for 31 percent of total fatalities – 9,967 alcohol-impaired-driving fatalities in 2014. NHTSA

Related Links

Mothers Against Drunk Driving      
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

National Commission Against Drunk Driving 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Secretary of State's Office 
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
Substance Abuse Treatment Locator (Michigan)
Substance Abuse Treatment Locator (national)