Skip Navigation
MI.gov
MSP - Michigan State Police | MSP Michigan State Police | MSP
Michigan State Police | MSP
close print view
Printer Friendly Page
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Sex Offender Verification Period Underway for All Registered Offenders

Contact: Sgt. Bruce E. Payne, Statewide SOR Enforcement Coordinator, (517) 241-3871
Agency: State Police

LANSING. The Michigan State Police (MSP) is reminding all registered sex offenders that the 15-day address verification period started on January 1, 2014. During this period, state law requires all registered offenders to report in person to their local law enforcement agency, sheriff's office or nearest MSP post to verify their address.

The Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act requires Tier 1 offenders to verify their address annually, during the first 15 days of January. Tier 2 offenders must verify their address semi-annually, during the first 15 days of January and July. Tier 3 offenders must verify their address quarterly, during the first 15 days of January, April, July and October. Failure to do so carries a penalty of up to two years of incarceration.

All registered sex offenders must also report a change of name, address, employment, campus enrollment, internet identifiers and vehicle within three business days of any change. These changes must be made in person at their local law enforcement agency, sheriff's office or nearest state police post. Failure to do so is four-year felony.

The Sex Offenders Registration Act allows for the arrest of an offender who is not in compliance with the Act's reporting requirements. Violators may be arrested during a traffic stop or any other contact with law enforcement. Additionally, law enforcement agencies conduct random address checks to verify offender compliance.

QR code



Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan