Avoid delays and penalties during Memorial Day holiday travelContact: Anne Readett, OHSP, (517) 241-2569Agency: State Police
Seat Belt Enforcement Zones in Effect Through June 1
The summer travel season is officially underway and motorists are being reminded to buckle up before beginning their journey as safety belt enforcement zones are in effect in 40 counties across the state through June 1.
Although Michigan led the nation in seat belt use for two years running, 2008 and 2009, belt use has declined for the last four years. Last year, belt use was at 93 percent. Despite a high belt use rate, nearly half of vehicle occupants killed in traffic crashes are unbuckled.
“Local police departments, sheriff offices and Michigan State Police posts are putting extra officers on traffic enforcement details to help ensure everyone has a safe Memorial Day holiday weekend,” said Michael L. Prince, director of the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning, the agency coordinating the effort supported by federal traffic safety funds. “Increased traffic means increased chances for crashes. Motorists need to play defense by buckling up.”
Nearly 160 agencies in the following counties will have extra officers on duty enforcing the state’s seat belt law during the Click It or Ticket campaign: Alpena, Antrim, Allegan, Berrien, Calhoun, Charlevoix, Chippewa, Cheboygan, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Eaton, Emmet, Genesee, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Houghton, Ingham, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Leelanau, Livingston, Mackinac, Macomb, Manistee, Marquette, Menominee, Monroe, Muskegon, Oakland, Otsego, Ottawa, Saginaw, St. Clair, Van Buren, Washtenaw, Wayne and Wexford.
During last year’s Click It or Ticket enforcement, 9,003 seat belt and child seat violation tickets were issued. Of the 15 people who died over the Memorial Day holiday period in 2013, two of the nine vehicle occupants were not wearing a seat belt.
Michigan law requires drivers and front seat passengers to be buckled up. Passengers 15 and younger must be buckled up in any seating position. Children must be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4 feet 9 inches tall.