Safety Training Courses

Safety Training Courses
Basic Clan Lab Safety Course - 32 Hours

The Clandestine Laboratory Basic Safety Class is a comprehensive, 32-hour program for law enforcement who are assigned to investigate, seize, and process clandestine laboratory sites. Course topics include: clandestine laboratory methods and current production trends, clan lab toxicology and chemical/physical hazards, air monitoring, hazard assessment and control, use of personal protective equipment, site control, decontamination, site emergencies, chemical handling and other related topics.

Prerequisite(s): Medical clearance

2017 Course Schedule:
November 6-9, 2017 
Marshall, MI

2018 Course Schedule:
TBD – approximately 10 months from 2017 training

Site Safety Officer Course - 24 Hours
This 24-hour course provides the additional training required by OSHA for a clan lab responder to serve as the Clan Lab Site Safety Officer. Students are taught the skills to oversee lab scenes in accordance with OSHA requirements. In addition, officers will be trained in equipment maintenance and re-certification training allowing them to conduct their own agency re-certification classes.
 
Prerequisite(s): Basic Clan Lab Safety Course, Medical clearance
 
2017 Course Schedule:
September 6-8, 2017
Marshall, MI 
 
2018 Course Schedule:
Fall 2018
Packaging / Transport Officer Course - 24 Hours

This 24-hour course provides additional training required by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), and United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) to serve as an Approved Container Storage Program (ACS) Packaging and Transport Officer. This class is available only to students who have taken the Basic Clan Lab Safety course.  Applicants must be employed with a law enforcement agency that has signed, or will sign prior to the start of class, a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Michigan Department of State Police (MSP) as part of the ACS program.  Students are taught the skills necessary to safely package and transport hazardous waste generated from clandestine methamphetamine laboratories.

Prerequisites: Basic Clan Lab Safety Course, Medical clearance

2017 Course Schedule:
March 14-16, 2017
Lansing, MI

2018 Course Schedule:
Spring 2018
 

Advanced Clan Lab Safety Course

This advanced course is for experienced clan lab investigators and site safety officers who want to expand their knowledge of drug manufacturing methods and prepare themselves for new drugs and current trends affecting the United States. Move beyond the basics and learn the history, production methods, effects, sampling, safety, and past, present and future trends of over 12 illicit drugs:

  • Bath salts and other designer drugs    
  • Cocaine conversion
  • DMT and Tryptamines
  • Ecstasy (MDMA)
  • Euphoria
  • Fentanyl
  • GHB
  • Heroin conversion
  • LSD
  • Methcarthinone
  • Mushrooms
  • The One-Pot Method
  • PCP
  • Synthetic cannabinoids

Prerequisites: Basic Clan Lab Safety Course, Site Safety Officer Course, Medical clearance

2017 Course Schedule:
See 2018

2018 Course Schedule:
January 22-25, 2018 
Marshall, MI

 



Student Training Application

Student Training Application
Application Criteria

The following criteria will be used to evaluate and rank all student training applicants: 

  • Must be a full-time law enforcement officer with certification from the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES).
  • Must be in good physical condition, and able to perform duties pertaining to clandestine lab investigation. These duties include wearing air-purifying respirators (APR), self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA), and other personal protection equipment (PPE) while lifting and carrying light to moderate weight objects.
  • Application must be complete and accurate.
  • Application must be endorsed by the immediate supervisor or agency head, certifying that the applicant will, on successful completion of the course, be available to respond to clandestine laboratory sites within their jurisdiction as well as those within adjoining counties.
  • Once accepted, the applicant agrees to obtain an OSHA/MIOSHA required physical, provided by their employer before the training, and on an annual basis thereafter, while the employee is responding to clandestine laboratories.
  • Students must be clean shaven as they are required to wear APR's and SCBA's during the training course.
Selection Criteria

The following priority will be used during the selection process: 

  1. Officers assigned to a multi-jurisdictional team with partial HIDTA funding.
  2. Officers located within a HIDTA county.
  3. Officers located outside of HIDTA counties and without HIDTA funding.
  4. Teams’ articulating justification of the need for additional trained members for their team.
Registration Guidelines

Based on the selection criteria listed, the Methamphetamine Investigation Unit (MIU) will select students. All applicants will be notified by email whether they have been selected or not. 

You are not automatically accepted to a course simply by submitting registration. 

Registrations received after the posted deadline will not be considered.

 

Medical Clearance Documentation

OSHA requires each accepted applicant to complete a medical history questionnaire, and obtain a physical, provided by his or her employer, prior to the start of the training, and then on a yearly basis while the employee is engaged in this program. MIOSHA requires the physical evaluation/certification to be signed by a licensed physician, meaning a Medical Doctor (MD) or a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO). Any other medical professional signing will not be accepted.

Accepted applicants must be in good physical condition, able to perform duties pertaining to clandestine lab investigation. These duties include wearing APR’s, SCBA’s, and PPE while lifting and carrying light to moderate weight objects.

Note: Physicals are the responsibility of each participant and must be done through your department's work health provider. A copy of the signed medical certification form is required and will be collected the first day of class. Your employer is responsible for payment of these physicals. 

Documentation (bring these documents to your department's work health provider at the time of your physical):