Types of Service Credit

Each type of service credit has its own eligibility rules, special conditions, costs, and application procedure. In this section of the site we provide those details about each service credit type. We also provide a summary chart below.

It is not uncommon for members to have a number of service credit purchase or transfer options. If this is your situation, contact ORS, and a representative will explain the ramifications of each so that you can make an informed choice that best meets your needs.

A note about costs.

Depending on the type of service credit, the cost may be based on a flat percentage rate, an actuarial rate, or a combination of contributions and interest. Where possible, we give you details and examples so you can estimate your cost. You can always get an actual cost by following the steps under How to Purchase Service Credit .

Service Credit Costs and Limits

Type Cost Limit
Universal Buy-In (UBI)
Anyone can buy
Actuarial cost 5 years reduced by purchases of credit types eliminated from law as of 8/1/98
Parental Leave Actuarial cost 5 years

No more than 10 years total of any combination of universal buy-in; parental leave; city, county, township, or village service in Michigan; and other state or federal government service credit

Other Governmental Actuarial cost 5 years

No more than 10 years total of any combination of universal buy-in; parental leave; city, county, township, or village service in Michigan; and other state or federal government service credit

Active Duty Military Service Intervening: no charge
Nonintervening: 5% of highest previous fiscal year salary
5 years
University Service Pre-1974: Contributions that would have been made on wages earned, plus interest
Post-1974: no charge
No limit
Michigan Public School Service Pre-1974: Contributions that would have been made on wages earned, plus interest
Post-1974: no charge
No limit
Court of Record Refunded contributions, plus interest (No charge if contributions not refunded) No limit
Comprehensive Employment and Training Act (CETA) of 1973 No cost to member No limit
Enlisted State Police Officer Pre-1974: refunded contributions, plus interest
Post-1974: no charge
No limit
County Social Welfare Agency $50 per month / $600 per year No limit