www.michigan.gov
 (To Print: use your browser's print function)
Release Date: October 27, 2010 
Last Update: July 23, 2014 
Agency: Environmental Quality

Dry Cleaning Operation License
The Air Quality Division (AQD), within the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), has the responsibility to inspect and issue annual licenses to all dry cleaners using Class IV solvents. An annual inspection is performed on all Class I, II, and III establishments that use a flammable liquid.

New!   Applications for these tasks are submitted and paid for online through the Michigan Business One Stopportal.


A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

An annual renewal payment is required for dry cleaners using nonflammable solvents (Class IV) and annual inspection is performed for dry cleaners using flammable solvents (Class I, II or III).

B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Part 133, Dry Cleaningof the Public Health Code, Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended, (for Class IV establishments) and Part 29.5iof the Fire Prevention Code, Public Act 207 of 1941, as amended (for Class I, II and III establishments)

C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:

Dry Cleaning Establishments R 325.17101 - 325.18104

D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
 1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit)

Class IV establishments are required to pay an annual license fee, and be in compliance with Act 368 or Act 207 and the administrative rules based on an annual DEQ inspection.

 2.  Pre-Application Requirements

Class IV establishments are required to be in compliance with Act 368 and the administrative rules based on an annual DEQ inspection.

 3.  Application Submission Requirements

Class IV establishments are sent an annual invoice by November 1st and the license fees are due by November 30th for the following calendar year. Any establishment changes are made by the owner/operator on the invoice.

 4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
  • New Class IV establishments must submit plans and specifications showing the location of dry cleaning equipment, boilers, and ventilation system; are required to submit proof of local approval of proposed installation; must be inspected by the DEQ before startup of dry cleaning equipment; and pay license fee
  • Annual renewal of license for Class IV establishments are based on the return of payment of fee and compliance with Act 368 and the administrative rules
  • Class I, II, and III establishments must submit plans and specifications showing the location of dry cleaning equipment, boilers, and ventilation system; are required to submit proof of local approval of proposed installation; must be inspected by the DEQ before startup of dry cleaning equipment but they have no fee
  • Any new Class I, II, and III establishments (Section 29.5i (1)) which engage in a dry cleaning operation and uses a flammable liquid, shall not operate without obtaining an approval letter from the DEQ
 5.  Operational Requirements
  • Class IV establishments are inspected annually to determine compliance with the rules promulgated under the authority of Part 133 of 1978 PA 368, as amended
  • No administrative rules were promulgated under Part 29.5i of the Fire Prevention Code, Act 207 of 1941, as amended, for Class I, II, and III establishments. Class I, II, and III solvents have been included in the amended March 24, 2004 rules.
 6.  Fees
  • Class IV establishment fees for calendar year 2009 were $156.34 (plant fee) plus $4.24 per pound (based on dry cleaning machine maximum capacity). These fees are adjusted annually based on the Detroit Consumer Index not to exceed 5 percent.
 7.  Appeal Process

Administrative hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act 1968 PA 306, as amended, 24.201 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.

 8.  Public Input Opportunities

None, unless the facility is subject to NSR program, Title V program or has a consent order.

 

 E.  Administering Agency:


Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909

 

  • Program Phone:   517-284-6777   

 


  • Environmental Assistance Center: 1-800-662-9278, e-mail: deq-ead-env-assist@michigan.gov  

 

 

Creation/Revision Date: July 2014

 

 

 

 


Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan