Skip Navigation
Office of the Governor of Michigan, Rick, Official Web Site for the State of Michigan Home
  • Home
  • Meet the Governor
  • Meet the Lt. Governor
  • Contact Us
  • close print view

    Blue Cross Blue Shield Board of Directors

    The Blue Cross Blue Shield Board of Directors is the 35-members governing board of Blue Cross Blue Shield.  Of the 35 members, 4 are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Of those 4 members, two must represents individuals who are age 62 or over. 

    Click here to access the BCBS Board of Directors website 



    Public Act 350 of 1980, MCLA 550.1301

    Contact Information

    Mark Cook
    Vice President of Governmental Affairs

    Phone: (517) 371-7910


    Members Appointed by the Governor


    Represents retired individuals 62 years of age or older

    Term ends 2/18/2014


    Anne Mervenne, Royal Oak

    Term ends 2/18/2014


    William Meyers, Ann Arbor

    Represents retired individuals 62 years of age or older

    Term ends 2/18/2014


    Darrell Burks, Franklin

    Term ends 2/18/2014

    Members Representing Providers




    Edward J. Canfield, D.O., Sebewaing
    Physician, Managing Partner and Owner
    Canfield Family Practice LLP

    Edward G. Jankowski, M.D., Grosse Pointe Woods
    Private Practice

    F. Remington Sprague, M.D., Muskegon
    Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
    Mercy Health Partners



    Brian M. Connolly, Dearborn
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Oakwood Healthcare Inc.

    Spencer C. Johnson, Lansing
    Michigan Health & Hospital Association

    Registered Nurse:

    Diane R. Goddeeris, R.N., B.S.N., Lansing
    Registered Nurse, OB Informatics
    Sparrow Hospital


    James W. Richards, R.Ph., Ann Arbor
    Professor Emeritus,
    Social and Administrative Sciences
    University of Michigan College of Pharmacy


    Edwin D. Secord, D.D.S., M.S., Beverly Hills
    Owner-Orthodontist - Retired
    Private Practice

    Member Representing Corporate Management

    Daniel J. Loepp, Detroit
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

    Members Representing Subscribers

    Large Groups - Labor:

    Steven B. Cook, East Lansing
    Michigan Education Association

    Sarah W. Doyle, Detroit
    Senior Benefit Consultant
    International Union, UAW

    Bob King, Detroit
    International Union, UAW

    James U. Settles Jr., Detroit
    Vice President
    International Union, UAW

    Large Groups - Management:

    Livio Mezza, Livonia
    Ford Motor Company (Retired)

    Kathleen S. Neal, Auburn Hills
    Director, Integrated Health Care and Disability
    Chrysler Group LLC

    Jean L. Rose, Detroit
    Executive Director, Employee Benefits and HR Operations
    General Motors Corporation

    John VanderMolen, Lansing
    Chief Operating Officer
    Michigan Farm Bureau

    Medium Groups - Labor:

    Joseph J. Ashton, Detroit
    Vice President and Director-General Motors & Gaming
    International Union, UAW

    William H. Black, Detroit
    Executive Director
    Michigan Teamsters Joint Council 43

    Patrick J. Devlin, Detroit
    Financial Secretary/Treasurer
    Michigan Building and Construction Trades Council

    Mark T. Gaffney, Detroit
    Business Agent
    Teamsters Local Union 214

    Calvin T. Rapson, Detroit
    International Union, UAW (Retired)

    Medium Groups - Management:

    Jon E. Barfield, Birmingham
    President and CEO
    LJ Holdings Investment Company LLC

    Terry W. Burns, East Lansing
    Executive Vice President
    Michigan Automobile Dealers Association

    Robert A. Patzer, Howell
    Michigan Infrastructure & Transportation Association (Retired)

    S. Martin Taylor, Grosse Pointe Farms
    DTE Energy Company (Retired)

    Small Groups:

    Gary J. McInerney, Grand Rapids
    McInerney & Associates

    Gregory A. Sudderth, Gladstone
    Executive Labor-Management Services Inc.

    Gary H. Torgow, Detroit
    Talmer Bancorp, Inc.


    Renee C. Axt, Detroit
    RCP Associates LLC

    Melvin L. Larsen, Farmington Hills
    Larsen & Associates Inc.- Retired

    Wallace D. Riley, Grosse Pointe Farms

    Related Content
     •  Indiana-Michigan Boundary Line Commission
     •  Michigan Indigent Defense Commission
     •  Health Endowment Fund Board
     •  Mental Health Diversion Council
     •  Organized Retail Crime Advisory Board
     •  Michigan State Council for Interstate Juvenile Supervision
     •  Task Force on the Prevention of Sexual Abuse of Children
     •  Michigan Municipal Services Authority
     •  Autism Council
     •  Talent Investment Board
     •  Michigan Wheat Promotion Committee
     •  Commission for Blind Persons
     •  Blue Ribbon Panel on State Parks and Outdoor Recreation
     •  Emergency Financial Managers
     •  Education Achievement Authority
     •  Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission
     •  Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs
     •  Land Bank Fast Track Authority Board of Directors
     •  Electronic Recording Commission
     •  Michigan Economic Growth Authority (MEGA) Board
    QR code Home
    Accessibility PolicyLink PolicySecurity PolicyPrivacy PolicyMichigan Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan