Skip Navigation
Office of the Governor of Michigan, Rick SnyderMichigan.gov, Official Web Site for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
  • Home
  • Meet the Governor
  • Meet the Lt. Governor
  • Contact Us
  • close print view

    Flags to be lowered Monday, June 20 for Specialist Robert Voakes Jr.

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
    Wednesday, June 15, 2011

    Contact: Sara Wurfel
    Office: 517-335-639
    Email: wurfels@michigan.gov 

    LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder will order United States flags throughout the state to be lowered to half-staff in honor of U.S. Army Spc. Robert L. Voakes Jr. on Monday, June 20. Flags should be returned to full-staff on Tuesday, June 21.

    Voakes, 21, of L'Anse, was among four soldiers who died from an improvised explosive device on June 4, in Laghman province, Afghanistan.  He was assigned to 793rd Military Police Battalion, 3rd Maneuver Enhancement Brigade, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska.  Voakes' awards and decorations include the Purple Heart, the Bronze Star Medal, in addition to his promotion to Specialist posthumously.

    "This young man courageously served our country with pride and honor. My thoughts and prayers are with Spec. Voakes' family at this very difficult time," Snyder said.

    When flown at half-staff or half-mast, the United States flag should be hoisted first to the peak for an instant and then lowered to the half-staff or half-mast position. The flag should again be raised to the peak before it is lowered for the day.

    #####

    Related Content
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Tuesday, Dec. 13 to honor former Congressman Howard Wolpe
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Monday, Dec. 12 to honor Staff Sergeant Vincent Bell of Detroit
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Friday, Dec. 9 to honor Private First Class Jackie Diener II of Boyne City
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Friday, Nov. 4 to honor Senior Chief Petty Officer Heath Robinson of Petoskey
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Friday, Oct. 21 to honor Officer Trevor Slot of Grand Rapids
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Oct. 20 to honor Capt. Drew Russell of Scotts
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Oct. 14 for Staff Sergeant Sprovtsoff of Davison
     •  Governor orders flags lowered Friday, Sept. 30 for Specialist Chazray Clark of Ecorse
     •  Snyder orders flags to remain at full staff Friday, Sept. 23
     •  Flags to be lowered Monday, Aug. 29 for Cpl. Joseph VanDreumel of Standale
     •  Flags to be lowered Friday, July 22 for Midland Seaman Aaron Ullom
     •  Flags to be lowered Wednesday, July 20 for Staff Sergeant Joshua Throckmorton
     •  Flags to be lowered Monday, June 27 for Private First Class Brian J. Backus
     •  Flags to be lowered Friday, June 17 for Detroit Police Officer Charles Armour
     •  Flags to be lowered Thursday, June 9 for Private Thomas Allers
     •  Flags to be lowered Monday, June 6 for Staff Sergeant Ergin V. Osman
     •  Flags to be lowered Friday, May 13 for Staff Sergeant David Day
     •  Flags to be lowered Thursday, May 12 for Private First Class Robert Friese
     •  Flags to be lowered Friday, May 6 for Lance Corporal Dominic Ciaramitaro
     •  Flags to be lowered April 26 for Public Safety Officer Zapata
    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
    Accessibility PolicyLink PolicySecurity PolicyPrivacy PolicyMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan