Michigan Truck Safety Commission


The goal of the Commission is to improve truck safety by providing Michigan's trucking industry and the citizens of Michigan with effective educational programs, and by addressing significant truck safety issues.


The Michigan Truck Safety Commission (MTSC) is unique, the only organization in the nation dedicated to commercial truck driver education and training supported not with tax dollars but solely by the industry it serves. What was born of modest beginnings has grown to become a renowned safety advocate for the state's trucking industry. The Michigan Truck Safety Commission is committed to enhancing truck and truck driver safety by providing truck driver education and training, heightening all drivers' awareness of the operational characteristics and limitations of trucks, initiating data collection and research, and supporting enforcement of motor carrier safety laws.


It is an 11 member commission, with 7 members appointed by the Governor. The 11-member Commission meets bimonthly.


Funding is provided by a Truck Safety Fund, established by Public Act 348 of 1988, and administered by the Office of Highway Safety Planning, a division of the Michigan Department of State Police.


Much of the mission of the Michigan Truck Safety Commission is accomplished through two primary grants. One is to the Michigan Center for Truck Safety, which provides education and training to truck drivers and the motoring public. The other is to the Traffic Safety Division of Michigan State Police, which provides enforcement of truck safety laws. Additional grants are also occasionally awarded for research and other truck safety activities.


Click here to access the Michigan Truck Safety Commission homepage and meeting information




Public Act 51 of 1951, MCLA 247.675


Kara Rueckert
Executive Assistant to Michael Prince

Office of Highway Safety Planning
7150 Harris Drive 
Dimondale, Michigan 48921
Phone: (517) 284-3066
Email: Rueckert, Kara (MSP)  



Robert Ramels, Iron Mountain

Represents the general public

Term ends 8/4/17


Walter G. Heinritzi

Represents the Michigan Trucking Association

Term ends 8/4/17


Daniel Blower, Ypsilanti

Represents 4 year colleges

Term ends 8/4/17


Dave Goller, Rockford

Represents organized labor

Term ends 8/4/17


Sharon Conklin, Comstock Park
Represents private motor carriers

Term ends 8/4/17


Thomas William O'Brien

Represents Michigan community colleges

Term ends 8/4/17


Timothy Yungfer, Bath

Represents the general public

Term ends 8/4/17


Capt. Harold Love

Represents the Michigan Department of State Police


Mr. Fred Bueter, Chair

Represents the Secretary of State


Chuck Moser, Drummond Island

Represents the Michigan Transportation Commission


Mr. Michael L. Prince

Represents the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning