21st Century Infrastructure Commission

The 21st Century Infrastructure Commission will identify long-term strategies to help ensure Michigan's infrastructure remains safe and efficient now and into the future.
Executive Order 2016-5, creates the Commission, which was announced in Snyder's State of the State address in January. The Commission, comprised of state and independent industry expert, will be responsible for identifying strategic best practices to modernize the state's transportation, water and sewer, energy and communications infrastructure. 
The Governor shall appoint 15  members to serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Commission shall complete its work and issue a final report to the Governor for his consideration. A copy of the final report shall be transmitted to the Legislature. Ninety (90) days after issuance and transference of its final report, the Commission shall be deemed to have met the charges placed upon it by Executive Order 2016-5 and shall cease operations.


Angela Ayers, Special Advisor on the Environment
Claire Khouri, Deputy Director of Policy
Email: appointments@michigan.gov  
Phone: 517-241-5493
*Dr. Janice Beecher, Haslett
Director of the Institute of Public Utilities at Michigan State University
*Roger Blake, Berkley
Regional Vice President of Government and Education Solutions at AT&T 
*Bob Daddow, Rochester
Deputy County Executive of Oakland County
*Eric DeLong, Grand Rapids
Deputy City Manager for the City of Grand Rapids
*Carl English, Bingham Farms
Retired as Senior Vice President of Consumers Energy
*Joi Harris, West Bloomfield
Vice President of Gas Operations for DTE Gas, DTE Energy's natural gas utility
*Ben LaCross, Lake Leelanau
Owner of North Shore Orchards, and VP of the Leelanau Horticulture Society
*Gavin Leach, Marquette
Vice President of Finance and administration at Northern Michigan University
*Mike Nystrom, East Lansing
Executive Vice President and Secretary of the Michigan Infrastructure and Transportation Association
*Evan Pratt, Ann Arbor
Drain Commissioner for Washtenaw County
*Doug Rothwell, Ann Arbor
President and CEO of Business Leaders for Michigan
*Brian Steglitz, Ann Arbor
Vice President of the American Water Works Association and Manager of Water Treatment Services for the City of Ann Arbor
*Helen Taylor, Okemos
State Director of the Nature Conservancy
*Louis Taylor, Saginaw
Engineering Services Manager for WadeTrim
*Evan Weiner, Franklin - Chair
COO and Executive Vice President of Edw. C. Levy Co.


*Appointed by the Governor


Legislative Appointees

Mike DeVries, Grand Rapids
Senate Majority Leader's Appointee
Ronald Brenke, Perry
Senate Minority Leader's Appointee
Brian Mills, St. Johns
Speaker of the House's Appointee
Beverly Watts, Detroit
House Minority Leader's Appointee

Department directors include:

  • Kirk Steudle, Director of the Department of Transportation
  • Keith Creagh, Director of the Department of Environmental Quality
  • Jamie Clover Adams, Director of the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development
  • David Behen, Director of the Department of Technology, Management and Budget
  • Steve Arwood, CEO of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation
  • William Moritz, Director of the Department of Natural Resources
  • Valerie Brader, Executive Director of the Michigan Agency for Energy
  • Sally Talberg, Chairman of the Michigan Public Service Commission