Environmental Justice Work Group

The Environmental Justice Work Group begin in April, 2017 and is working to develop and provide recommendations to the Governor that improves environmental justice awareness and engagement in state and local agencies. The Work Group will examine policy and recommend for implementation environmental justice guidance, training, curriculum, and policy that further increases quality of life for all Michiganders.

The members of the Governor’s Environmental Justice Work Group are interested in hearing directly from community members about how we can work together to improve our state around environmental justice. The Work Group has organized three listening tour stops:

  • West Michigan Session

Tuesday, August 1st, 2017
5:30 PM Reception
6:00 PM – 8:00 PM Listening Session
Linc Up
1167 Madison Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49507

  • Southeast Michigan Session

Monday, August 7th, 2017
5:30 PM Reception
6:00 PM – 8:00 PM Listening Session
River Rouge High School
Coolidge Hwy, River Rouge, MI 48218

  • Northern Michigan Session
                Thursday, August 24th, 2017
                6:00 PM Reception
                6:30 PM – 8:30 PM Listening Session
                Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
                100 Grand Traverse Village Blvd, Acme, MI 49610


These stops are designed for Work Group members to hear directly from community members how we can improve environmental justice awareness and engagement and increase the quality of life for all Michiganders. This input will help shape a set of recommendations the Work Group will send to the Governor.

Can’t make the meeting? Provide your comments on what you would like the Environmental Justice Work Group to consider in our recommendations to the Governor by emailing the work group at EnvironmentalJusticeWorkGroup@michigan.gov.

Work Group Members

  • Larry Reynolds, Flint Resident
  • Chris Kolb, Michigan Environmental Council
  • Jesse Venegas, Ideal Setech LLC
  • Kaushik Nag, Amway
  • Paul Mohai, University of Michiagn School of Natural Resources and Environment
  • Kyle Whyte, Michigan State University
  • Fadi Mourad, DTE
  • Kathleen Lomako, SEMCOG
  • Guy Williams, Detroiters Working for Environmental Justice
  • Rob Sissons, Conserve America
  • Charlotte Jameson, League of Conservation Voters
  • Cathy Evans, West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development Commission
  • Jerry Maynard, Superior Watershed Partnership and Land Trust
  • Jegar Johansen, Wilbur-Ellis
  • Andy Such, Michigan Manufacturers Association
  • Adel Mozip, Urban Science
  • Frank Ettawageshik, United Tribes of Michigan
  • Deitra Covington, River Rouge School District
  • Theresa Landrum, 48217 Community and Environmental Health Organization
  • Jane Keon, Pine River Superfund Citizen Task Force
  • Jeremy DeRoo, Linc UP

Departmental Representation

  • Maggie Pallone, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
  • Sylvia Elliot, Michigan Department of Civil Rights

If you have any questions, please email EnvironmentalJusticeWorkGroup@michigan.gov