Law Enforcement Says "Do a 360" to Curb Drunk Driving
Contact: Anne Readett, Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning, firstname.lastname@example.org, 517-284-3120
Agency: State Police
August 17, 2017
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning (OHSP) and law enforcement agencies today announced the start of a statewide Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over drunk driving crackdown. They are encouraging people to “Do a 360” before heading out for the night to highlight the potentially life-saving choices available to those who choose to drink responsibly.
A new 360-degree video unveiled as part of the campaign depicts how everyone can make a plan and assess their surroundings to help ensure they, and their friends, avoid drunk driving and get home safely. The interactive video can be found at www.michigan.gov/360.
“The Office of Highway Safety Planning works hard to stay ahead of the curve when it comes to communicating about how we can reduce drunk driving by encouraging people, especially young adults, to make a plan to get home safely,” said Michael L. Prince, OHSP director. “By asking people to ‘Do a 360’ we hope to bring a unique perspective to the issue of drunk driving and encourage people to make the right decision by finding a safe ride home.”
To “Do a 360,” the OHSP and law enforcement encourage anyone planning to consume alcohol to consider:
- How will you get there? One reason people drive impaired: they don't want to leave their car behind. If you take a cab, use a ride-sharing service or choose a sober designated driver, you won't have this problem.
- How will you get home? Whether it's a cab, ride-sharing service or a sober designated driver–decide how you'll get home safely.
- Who is coming along? Don't offer to drive if you're planning to drink. Plan a safe way home for you and your friends. If your friends are driving separately, watch out for them. Friends don't let friends drive drunk.
Increased drunk driving enforcement patrols will be out in every county across Michigan between Friday and Sept. 4.
The launch of the video is in partnership with the Michigan Licensed Beverage Association (MLBA) to remind bar patrons to drive sober or find a safe way home.
"Making sure customers get home safely is a top priority for bar owners, bartenders and staff," said Scott Ellis, MLBA executive director. "We want to do everything we can to continue to reduce the number of intoxicated drivers who get behind the wheel and drive."
In 2016 there were 271 alcohol-involved traffic fatalities and 32,610 drunk driving arrests in the state. Michigan law considers persons with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or greater to be driving drunk. Penalties for the first offense can include up to 93 days in jail and/or a fine up to $500, with enhanced penalties for BAC of 0.17 or above. Convicted drunk drivers may have their license suspended and are subject to an additional $1,000 penalty under the driver responsibility program for two consecutive years.