Skip Navigation
AGENCY_HEADER_LOGOPORTAL_HEADER_LOGO
Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • Site Map
  • FAQs
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • close print view

    Basic Driver Improvement Course

    The Basic Driver Improvement Course program permits eligible drivers to take a driver improvement course, either on-line or in a classroom.

    The Secretary of State will not make the points or information from the ticket available to insurance companies for drivers who successfully complete the BDIC through an approved sponsor.

    The BDIC serves as a refresher of basic traffic safety principles. This refresher course can improve safety for all Michigan drivers.

    The Secretary of State will notify eligible drivers. Eligible drivers have 60 days to arrange for and successfully complete the BDIC.  The course completion deadline is listed on the notice of eligibility.  The approved sponsor will notify the Secretary of State of course results.

    The fee for the course is determined by the course sponsor but must not exceed $100 as required by law. If you have additional questions, please review the FAQs.

    Related Link

    > List of approved course sponsors

    > Information for course sponsors
    > Basic Driver Improvement Course Public - FAQs


    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • FAQ
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • Office of Regulatory Reinvention
  • State Web Sites
  • Spending & Accountability

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan