Skip Navigation
AGENCY_HEADER_LOGOPORTAL_HEADER_LOGO
Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • Site Map
  • FAQs
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • close print view

    Information for Mechanics

    • Renewing Your Mechanic License - you can now renew online
    Michigan law requires mechanics to renew their license annually on or before their expiration date. To make it even easier for you, the Department of State now provides online renewals. It's simple, fast and convenient. Mail-in renewal is also available. Details for both online and mail renewals are found at "Renewing Your Mechanic License."


    All persons who repair motor vehicles for compensation (including the reconditioning, replacement, diagnosis, adjustment or alteration of the operating condition of the vehicle or any component or sub-assembly) in any category of major repair, must be certified by the State of Michigan. Any person performing major repairs who is not certified may obtain a mechanic trainee permit in the categories of repair in which he or she works.

    To become certified, a person must first pass a written test for each repair category in which certification is desired. You must also complete an application for certification, Form AR-0018 and return the application with a $25 fee to the Business Licensing and Regulation Division. You may make application for certification in any number of repair categories at one time and pay a single application fee of $25.

    Individuals who are currently Michigan certified and who have passed or updated their ASE category(s) should notify the Business Licensing and Regulation Division by faxing a copy of their ASE certificate, wallet card or ASE test result letter to: (517) 335-2810. Include the category(s) you wish to add or update and your Michigan mechanics number.

    Individuals who are currently certified or have passed tests administered by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE), may be eligible to apply for state certification in certain categories in lieu of taking the state exams. ASE certification and licensure does NOT qualify you as a state certified mechanic.

    If you pass additional state or ASE exams and your certification is current, an updated certificate with the new categories will automatically be mailed to you at no extra cost.

    Written exams are available at select Secretary of State branch offices around the state. To search for a branch office nearest you, access the Secretary of State Branch Office Locator available through the internet at: Michigan.gov/sos or Telephone: 1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424) for assistance. There is a $6.00 fee for each test. Exams are offered on a first come, first served basis. Exams are not available within one hour of office closure.



    Mechanic Quick Links
     •  Renew My Mechanic License
     •  Mechanic Study Guides
     •  Special and Immediate Need Testing
     •  Mechanic Certification Information Kit PDF icon
    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • FAQ
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • State Web Sites
  • Office of Regulatory Reinvention
  • Spending & Accountability

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan