Owning a Vehicle
- Michigan State Parks Recreation Passport The Recreation Passport is your $11 ticket to Michigan's state parks and outdoor adventures! Check "YES" when you renew your license plate. Where can $11 take you?
- Where on my new plate does the registration tab go? Where on my new plate does the registration tab go?
- Title Histories Vehicle title and registration histories can be purchased through the Record Lookup Unit for $8.00 per record.
- Fees for License Plates, Registrations and Titles Following is a summary of commonly requested information regarding vehicle plate, registration and title fees.
- Renewing Your License Plate Vehicle owners have 4 convenient methods of renewing: online, mail, self-service stations, and Secretary of State offices.
- Titling and Registering a Vehicle How to title and register a vehicle purchased from an individual, a dealership, or a family member.
- Michigan Auto Lost & Found The Abandoned Vehicle Law streamlines the procedures for identifying and processing impounded and abandoned vehicles
- Abandoned Mobile Homes How to title a mobile home abandoned in a mobile home park.
Title and registration requirements; special titles; name changes; address changes; license plate fees; insurance requirements; new Michigan residents; lost titles; lost license plates; and deceased vehicle owners.
Standard license plates, fundraising plates, disability placards, personalized plates, veteran and military plates, and other special license plates.
Buying a vehicle from an individual or dealer; leasing options; buying a vehicle from a relative; Michigan's Auto Lemon Law; and your rights as a buyer.
The responsibilities of an individual who is selling a vehicle, and how to replace a lost title.
Locating a licensed repair facilities; vehicle restoration; collision repairs; and your legal rights in regard to vehicle repair.
Disability parking and placard information, handicap parking, handicap plate, disabled parking permit, and wheelchair.
Recreational vehicles such as snowmobiles, watercraft, ORVs, and trailers.
Information for Consumers
Vehicle Safety issues.
Michigan Residents Out-of-State
Vehicles by reading our guides for buying or leasing a vehicle, how to display recreational vehicle decals, repair laws, and automotive information and complaint kits. Find most requested forms.