Historic Snowmobile Registrations
Michigan law allows owners to register snowmobiles 26 or more years old and owned solely as a collector's item as a historic snowmobile. Historic snowmobiles are limited to occasional use and for participation in club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades, and similar uses, including mechanical testing.
Unlike regular snowmobile registrations, the historic registration is non-expiring and cannot be transferred with the snowmobile to a new owner. A trail permit is not required for snowmobiles registered as a historic snowmobile.
A single historic snowmobile decal is issued and is placed above or below the headlight or, if the historic snowmobile was not originally equipped with a headlight, on the forward half of the cowl above the footwell.
Fee: $50 for a one-time, non-expiring registration. Make checks or money orders payable to State of Michigan.
Historic snowmobile applications must be submitted by mail. Requests cannot be processed at Secretary of State offices.
Applying for a historic snowmobile registration
Send the following items:
- Proof of ownership
- the $50 registration fee and 6 percent tax (if due) on the purchase price (make check or money order payable to State of Michigan)
- a completed Application for Historical Snowmobile Registration
Send the proof of ownership, completed application, and fee to:
Michigan Department of State
The Special Services Branch
7064 Crowner Dr.
Lansing, MI 48918
Your new registration will arrive in about three weeks.
Related Documents & Topics