Renewal by Mail
Renewing by mail is quick, easy, and offers a variety of options:
- You can pay by check, money order, or credit card.
- You can order new plates.
- You can change the address on your registration or have us mail the renewal to a temporary address.
- You can request extra copies of your registration.
Check to make sure that the owner vehicle information is correct on each renewal notice. (If not, you will need to renew at a Secretary of State branch office.)
Your plate renewal notice will inform you whether your plate must be replaced when renewing. Under Michigan law, plates that are 10 years old or older can no longer be renewed and a new plate will need to be selected as a replacement. All Auto Centennial plates and any Great Lakes Splendor plates over 10 years old must be replaced with a different plate type since these plates are no longer issued. You may select a new plate from the License Plate Renewal Guide, enter the information into the renewal worksheet and mail your renewal in the envelope provided or to the address noted further down this page. A $5 plate replacement fee will be due in addition to your regular renewal fee when replacing your plate with the Pure Michigan Standard plate, the Spectacular Peninsulas plate or the Mackinac Bridge Plate. If you choose a fundraising plate or a personalized plate, the regular service fees associated with these plates will be charged in lieu of the $5 replacement plate fee.
If you need to change the address on the registration or wish to have your renewal mailed to a mailing address or temporary address, clearly note that information on the renewal notice.
Payment can be made by check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan. Credit card payments using Visa, MasterCard, or Discover should be made using the attached renewal worksheet.
If ordering new plates, complete the attached renewal worksheet and mail with your other documents.
Mail the entire renewal notice, proof of Michigan no-fault insurance, payment and renewal worksheet (if paying by credit card or purchasing a new plate) using the enclosed envelope, or mail to:
Michigan Department of State
Renewal by Mail
7064 Crowner Dr.
Lansing, MI 48980-0001
Email contact for Renewal by Mail - firstname.lastname@example.org