Skip Navigation
MI.gov
SOS - Secretary of State | SOS Secretary of State | SOS
Secretary of State | SOS
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Teen Driver Education

Kelsey's Law Update for Teens - Mobile phones banned for GDL 1 and 2 teen drivers


Michigan's driver education curriculum is split into two segments and is required for all teen drivers under age 18.

Segment 1 driver education is offered before the driver begins supervised driving.  It requires a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction, a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.  And a minimum of four hours of observation time in a training vehicle. Before beginning Segment 1, a teen must be 14 years, 8 months of age and have parent/guardian permission.

Segment 2 driver education is offered after the driver has held a valid Level 1 License for at least three continuous months and has acquired 30 hours of driving experience time including a minimum of two hours of night driving.  Segment 2 includes a minimum of six hours of classroom instruction.

The Driver Education Curriculum Guide was developed to provide driver education instructors and providers with a detailed framework of the concepts, objectives and standards students will need to master to successfully meet the goals of Segments 1 and 2. By ensuring that students are properly prepared to drive, we will reduce crash rates among teen drivers and make Michigan's road safer.

What Every Driver Must Know contains information about operating a motor vehicle safely on Michigan roads and is one of the tools used to teach teen drivers in Michigan driver education programs.

Successful completion of a state-approved driver education program does not, alone, make a teenager a responsible, experienced driver. Traffic safety education involves family, community, industry, government and personal factors such as motivation, maturity, and perceptive abilities.

The GDL Timeline shows how graduated driver licensing and driver education are intertwined. The Michigan's Graduated Driver Licensing: A Guide for Parents contains valuable information on graduated driver licensing, driver education, coaching tips for parents and more. Parents and teens are encouraged to read this publication.

 

How to find a certified driver education program   What to expect from Segment 2
Learn about the driver education programs that are available through public school districts and private driving schools.   Learn about eligibility and classroom requirements.
     
What to expect from Segment 1    
Learn about eligibility, classroom and driving instruction requirements, and the completion certificate.    

 




Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan