Direct Access to Driving and Vehicle Records
What is Direct Access?
The Michigan Department of State provides direct access to its computer system so that commercial users can obtain driving, vehicle, mobile home, watercraft and recreational vehicle records under certain specified conditions. Records cost $11.00 for each inquiry made. A monthly bill is sent for all records requested. At this time, there are no other charges for the Direct Access service.
Under this program, a computer at your location will be able to access specific Department of State records through the Internet whenever a record is needed. The computer will be able to immediately receive current ownership information on vehicles titled or registered in Michigan. In addition, when authorized to access driving records, these inquiries may be submitted via the computer. A booklet describing Terminal Security and Access/Response Capabilities is provided during the final connection process.
What type of connection do I need?
Records are made available through the Internet. You must have a computer (either a PC or a Mac compatible) capable of accessing the Internet and handling Telnet sessions. As technology continues to change, it is anticipated that other connectivity methods will become available. Direct Access users are responsible for hardware, software, or Internet service provider fees.
What do I need to sign up for this service?
The Michigan Department of State provides all the necessary forms and information to establish this service. Simply submit the following documents:
- A letter of application, which explains the reasons for needing to obtain records, and the type of record, either driving or vehicle.
- An "Information Purchaser" Surety Bond in the amount of $25,000. No other bond may be substituted for this requirement.
- A signed agreement, which establishes the terms and conditions under which records may be obtained.
- A "System Access Request" form for each person who is to have access (copy the form provided as needed).
- A "Reason for Record Request" to show that your business purpose complies with Driver Privacy Protection laws.
Obtaining records for a purpose other than those permitted by law is a felony violation, which may be punishable by imprisonment of up to 15 years, or a fine of up to $15,000, or both.
Department of State Account Number are for billing purposes only. If you do not have a Commercial Lookup account with the Department of State, an account application will be included with the above forms. There is no cost to establish this account.
Whom do I contact to obtain Direct Access?
To obtain the forms to establish your Direct Access account, submit your request with the following information:
- Program you are interested in (Direct Access Program)
- Company name and address
- Contact person
- Contact person's telephone and fax numbers
- Contact person's e-mail address
Submit your request to the following address:
Michigan Department of State
Bureau of Driver and Vehicle Records
Attn: Commercial Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918
A Direct Access packet will be e-mailed within five business days.