Skip Navigation
  • SOS Home
  • Site Map
  • FAQs
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • close print view

    Before going south . . .

    OCTOBER 22, 2004

    Michigan residents who leave for warmer climates during the winter should remember to renew their license plates and driver's licenses beforehand, Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land said today.

    Seasonal residents - commonly called "snowbirds" - should check the expiration dates of their driver's licenses and plates before leaving Michigan. That saves them the trouble of renewing while they are out of state, and helps to avoid possible late fees.

    "We're always looking for ways to serve customers with greater speed and convenience," Land said. "Early renewal options can help seasonal residents enjoy their trips to the fullest. With a little planning, travelers can take care of this important business before leaving home. Snowbirds should have nothing but fun and sun on their minds when they reach their destinations."

    Driver's licenses and license plates registered to an individual for certain vehicles can be renewed up to six months before expiration. Plates that can be renewed early are:

    • Individually owned or leased vehicles.
    • All pickup truck and van plates, regardless of vehicle weight.

    Customers renewing plates six months early must do so at a Secretary of State branch office. They can, however, take advantage of the Department of State's online plate renewal process up to 45 days before the expiration date if a Personal Identification Number (PIN) is assigned to the vehicle and shows on their license plate renewal notice.

    The law does not allow motorcycle plates or company-owned passenger plates to be renewed early. For more information on renewal options and other services, visit the Secretary of State Web site at

    Back to News & Headlines
    Online Services

    Related Content
     •  Secretary of State Ruth Johnson honors Marquette General Hospital for organ donation efforts
     •  Candidate filing deadline is April 22
     •  Grand Rapids Area SUPER!Center now offers innovative time-saving technology
     •  Secretary of State Iron River office to close for remodeling April 21-25
     •  Secretary of State Newberry office to close for remodeling April 21-25
     •  Clinton Twp., Southfield offices get innovative, time-saving technology of MI-TIME Line
     •  Secretary of State, advocates kick off Donate Life Month at Wayne State University with "Heart of a Warrior" event
     •  Mohawk Secretary of State office now open twice a week
     •  Voter registration deadline for May election just around the corner
     •  Michigan wins award for world's best new license plate
     •  3 more southeast Michigan SOS offices now offer innovative time-saving technology
     •  Secretary of State Mobile Office makes doing business easy at Grand Rapids Ultimate Sport Show
     •  Secretary Johnson launches pilot program with Macomb, Kalamazoo clerks to increase local campaign disclosure
     •  Secretary of State Sparta office to close for remodeling March 17-21
     •  Secretary Johnson reminds boaters that makes it easy to renew watercraft registrations
     •  SEIU to pay almost $200,000 fine - the second-largest in Michigan - as part of campaign finance complaint settlement
     •  Full-service Secretary of State Mobile Office sets up at Novi's Spring Boating Expo
     •  Secretary of State Mobile Office plans stop in city of Riverview
     •  Oakland Co. SUPER!Center now offers innovative time-saving technology
     •  Detroit SUPER!Center now offers innovative time-saving technology
    QR code Home
  • SOS Home
  • FAQ
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • Office of Regulatory Reinvention
  • State Web Sites
  • Spending & Accountability

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan