FAQ
Basic Driver Improvement Course - Course Sponsors
How do I become a course sponsor and provide classes?

To be eligible, a course provider must submit an application and provide proof of a curriculum that:

(a) Meets or exceeds the curriculum standards set forth in the Defensive Driving Course Instructor Manual, Eighth Edition, published by the National Safety Council.

(b) Provides documented evidence from a federal, state, or local government agency of course effectiveness in reducing collisions, moving violations, or both.

(c) It includes not less than 4 hours of instruction.

(d) Contains such other information as is approved by the Secretary of State, with or without supporting DVD material, and that is offered over the internet or through classroom instruction.

A course provider must enroll and agree to make payments for the Michigan Department of State's program costs via EFT. A course provider must also agree to provide the customer's results in a timely manner. 

A course provider must be able to record the driver's license number (DLN) and course completion deadline date of each Michigan customer. Course providers will need Internet access and will be required to provide the DLN and course completion deadline for each Michigan customer to report the course results to MDOS.

The law requires an approved sponsor or a sponsor seeking to be approved sponsor to submit a properly executed surety bond in the principle sum of $20,000.00 with good and sufficient surety.

The law requires course providers to complete and provide a study to the Department of State every five years. The study must show the effect that course completion has upon reducing collisions, moving violations or both, on any of the course methods (on-line or in-person) that is offered.

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

If I am not authorized by the National Safety Council to provide the Defensive Driving Course, how can I be approved as a course sponsor?

If you are not an authorized by the National Safety Council to offer their Defensive Driving Course, you must submit a curriculum that meets or exceeds the curriculum standards set forth in the Defensive Driving Course Instructor Manual, Eighth Edition, published by the National Safety Council.  Instruction of curriculum cannot be less than 4 hours. You must also provide documented evidence from a federal, state, or local government agency of course effectiveness in reducing collisions, moving violations, or both.

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

What are the curriculum requirements for the course?

A course sponsor may offer courses either on-line, in person, or both. All course content must meet or exceed the standards of the Defensive Driving Course Instructor Manual, Eighth Edition, published by the National Safety Council and contain any additional information required by the Secretary of State. Course must include not less than 4 hours of instruction.

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

How do I sign up for EFT?

You will receive an EFT application after your application has been received and your curriculum has been approved. The instructions for setting up an EFT account with the Michigan Department of State are on the EFT application. An EFT application is available at the Department of State's Web site. 

Related Documents & Topics

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

Do I need to set up a new EFT account for BDIC if I already have an EFT account with the State of Michigan?

Yes. The State of Michigan uses the separate EFT account numbers for internal accounting purposes. However, if you wish, you may set up the new BDIC EFT account using the same bank account as your other EFT account(s).

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

How much may I charge for the course?

Each course sponsor may set their own fees. The total fee, including the portion that the course sponsor pays to the Michigan Department of State, is limited by law to a maximum of $100. A portion of this fee, to be determined periodically, must be remitted to the Department of State to cover the costs of administering this program.

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

How much of the course fee must be submitted to the Michigan Department of State?

The Michigan Department of State is required by law to periodically evaluate the program costs to determine the portion that is submitted. You will be provided with additional information when your application to be a course sponsor is approved.

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

How do I report a customer's pass/fail course results?

When you register for an EFT account, you will also be provided with instructions on how to submit the results in a timely manner. You must provide the driver's license number and course completion deadline date.

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

What happens if a customer took the course and passed it on time, but I provided the results after the due date?

Submit the course results through the Basic Driver Improvement Course website as you normally would.

A course sponsor has five calendar days after the due date that is on the notice to provide course results. After the five days have passed, the automated system will mark the test as a "fail" result. This may have an immediate negative effect on the customer.

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

What should I do if I made a mistake when entering a course result on the Basic Driver Improvement Course website?

You must submit a written correction request. For details on requesting a correction, refer to the Additional Information for Sponsors sheet that was mailed to you with your application approval.

 

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

How will customers know about my company?

In addition to any advertising in which your company engages, the Michigan Department of State will provide participants with information on how to access a list of approved sponsors and basic driver improvement course locations, including the Secretary of State's website and telephone number to call for more information. A list of approved course sponsors can be found on the Secretary of State website. Once approved, your company will be added to the website. The Department is prohibited by law from supplying customer information for marketing purposes.

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.

What steps can I take if my application to be a course sponsor was not approved?

There are no provisions for appeals in the law. However, if you can provide the Department with additional information, you may request a review of your application. Your request must be in writing and should include both the basis for the review and the additional information. Send your request for a review to:

Driver Programs Division
3rd Floor
430 W. Allegan
Lansing, MI 48918

 

If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.