close print view
Garage Keeper Lien for Facilities/Mechanics
What is a Garage Keeper Lien (GKL)?
NOTE: This process cannot be used for mobile homes. A court order or surety bond is required.
To Apply for a GKL a Repair Facility:
Applying for a Garage Keeper Lien
1. The garage keeper must be in possession of the vehicle. The garage keeper may not detain the vehicle for more than 225 days after performing the last labor or furnishing the last supplies for which a lien is claimed against the vehicle. A garage keeper will not be able to sell the vehicle under the garage keeper's lien act if the sale is not within the 225-day limit. Therefore, carefully follow the procedures below to avoid unnecessary delays in the process.
2) Send an Application for Garage Keeper's Lien (BDVR-35)and a $10 check or money order payable to "State of Michigan" for each application to:
Michigan Department of State
This office can also provide the application by mail. Applications must be submitted within 105 days after the lien attaches.
3) If the application is complete, a Garage Keeper's Lien (GKL) case number will be assigned and the Secretary of State will mail a TR-42 Certificate of Foreclosure of Garage Keeper's Lien and Bill of Sale to you. You will be notified if your application is not complete. Corrections must be made and a complete application submitted within 105 days after the lien attaches.
4) The TR-42 will have an issue date and list all recorded owners and lienholders. Within 30 days after the issue date the garage keeper must send a certified letter, return receipt requested, to all owners, lienholders, and the Bureau of Driver and Vehicle Programs. The letter must contain the following:
5) On the TR-42 Certificate of Foreclosure fill in the dates the repairs were completed and the date the certified letters were mailed. Retain the mail receipts for your records. Retain the TR-42 until the sale is complete.
6) Sell the vehicle at the time, date, manner, and place specified in the certified letter described in number 4 above.
7) After the sale complete the remainder of the TR-42 form and give to the vehicle buyer.
8) The buyer must take the completed TR-42 to a Secretary of State branch office and apply for a title. Title fee and tax are paid at that time at the branch office.
9) Distribute sale proceeds as follows:
10) A garage keeper may have a lien for storage (up to $10 per day unless otherwise agreed to in writing). Storage charges shall not exceed 120 days unless otherwise agreed to in writing. Storage charges may be in addition to the maximum lien determined in Section 3(4) of the Garage Keepers Lien Act (enclosed). Lienholders are not responsible for any storage charges that accrue until 45 days following the date of the letter from item number 4 above.
11) If no one purchases the vehicle at the public sale, the garage keeper may purchase the vehicle. In this case, the garage keeper lien is terminated. The garage keeper must take the completed TR-42 to a Secretary of State branch office and apply for a title.
12) If the owner or lienholder pays for the vehicle charges before the sale, fill in the box at the bottom of the TR-42 and return the form to the address below. If the lienholder claims the vehicle and intends to apply for a repossession title, give the completed TR-42 to them.
Michigan Department of State
Authority granted by Public Act 312 of 1915, as amended
> Application for Garage Keeper Lien (BDVR-35 - 06/02) - 180235 bytes
Michigan.gov Home SOS Home FAQ Online Services Forms Contact SOS Office of Regulatory Reinvention State Web Sites Spending & Accountability
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan