Skip Navigation
Michigan Business PortalMichigan.gov, official portal for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
  • One Stop Home
  • Contact Us
  • Site Map
  • close print view

    Manufactured Home - Installer License

    Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

    The Bureau of Construction Codes, Building Division of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs issues


    A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

    Manufactured Home - Installer License

    B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

    The Mobile Home Commission Act, Act 96 of 1987

    C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:

    Manufactured Housing General Rules

    D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:

     1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit)

    R 125.1214i Installer and servicer; licensing required.

    Rule 214i.

    (2) A person who, for compensation installs or disassembles the installation of homes, including their non-permanently affixed steps, skirting, and anchoring systems, or who services homes, for which service another Michigan license is not required, shall be licensed as an installer and servicer.

     2.  Pre-Application Requirements

    Rule 214i.

    (3) Before applying for an original or renewal installer and servicer license, the operator shall complete 12 hours of department-approved installation programs throughout the current licensing cycle.

     3.  Application Submission Requirements

    Rule 214i.

    (1) An applicant shall submit a completed licensing application to the department on a form prescribed by the department before the date on which the applicant intends to be an installer and servicer.

    Application for Manufactured Home Installer and Servicer License

     4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

    An applicant may not conduct business until it receives a license.

    Complete the application forms and return them to the Building Division with the non-refundable filing fee at least 30 days prior to the date you want to begin conducting business. Your application will not be processed without the fee or if incomplete.

    When your application is complete, it will be presented for approval to the Manufactured Housing Commission at its next regularly scheduled meeting.

    5.  Operational Requirements

    R 125.1213a License; failure to renew; expiration

    Rule 213a (1) If a licensee fails to file a license renewal application with the department before October 1, then the license held shall expire in compliance with the act.

    (2) An initial or renewal license under the act shall be issued for 3 years. Licenses shall expire on October 1 of the current licensing cycle.

     6.  Fees

    Manufactured Home Installer/Servicer License - Fee $150.00

     7.  Appeal Process
     8.  Public Input Opportunities

    Comments and Complaints: bccinfo@michigan.gov

    Bureau of Construction Codes Web-site: www.michigan.gov/bcc 


    E. Contact Information:

    Contact Us

    Revised:1/2014

    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • State Web Sites
  • Site Map

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan