Skip Navigation
MI.gov
State License Search - This site list information pertaining to State Licenses within the State of Michigan | LARA This site list information pertaining to State Licenses within the State of Michigan | LARA
This site list information pertaining to State Licenses within the State of Michigan | LARA
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Pharmacy - Controlled Substance License

Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

New!  Renewals for these tasks are accessible through the Michigan Business One Stop portal.

A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

Pharmacy Controlled Substance License

B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended; Article 7 titled Controlled Substances; Parts 71-75

C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:

Administrative Rules of the Board of Pharmacy

D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:

1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit/approval)

All pharmacies in Michigan are required to possess a valid Pharmacy Controlled Substance License issued by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services. If a pharmacy has multiple locations that manufacture, distribute or dispense controlled substances, a Pharmacy Controlled Substance Additional Location License application must be submitted.

2.  Pre-Application Requirements

Must have a valid Pharmacy License.

3.  Application Submission Requirements

Pharmacy Controlled Substance License

Pharmacy Controlled Substance Additional Location License Application

4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

A Pharmacy Controlled Substance License Application or Pharmacy Controlled Substance Additional Location License Application will be reviewed for completeness. The review process normally takes up to 8 weeks.

5.  Operational Requirements

Pharmacy Controlled Substance and Pharmacy Controlled Substance Additional Location licenses must be renewed every 2 years.

6.  Fees

Pharmacy Controlled Substance - $85.00 to $235.00

Pharmacy Controlled Substance Additional Location - $85.00 to $235.00

7.  Appeal Process

Not Applicable.

8.  Public Input Opportunities

If changes to the Board of Pharmacy's administrative rules have been approved by the Board of Pharmacy, a public hearing would be conducted for public comment and public comments could also be submitted via email. The proposed changes would also be available on the Bureau of Health Care Services' website at www.michigan.gov/healthlicense.


E. Contact Information:

Contact Us


Revised:  September 2013 




Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan