Skip Navigation
Michigan Business PortalMichigan.gov, official portal for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
  • One Stop Home
  • Contact Us
  • Site Map
  • close print view

    Pharmacy - Use of a Controlled Substance in a Dog Pound, Animal Shelter, or by a Class B Dealer

    Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

    New!  Renewals for these tasks are accessible through the Michigan Business One Stop portal.

    A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

    Pharmacy Use of a Controlled Substance (Sodium Pentobarbital) in a Dog Pound, Animal Shelter, or by a Class B Dealer License

    B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

    Public Act 287 of 1969, as amended.

    C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:

    Administrative Rules for the Board of Pharmacy

    Administrative Rules for the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development; Regulation 151

    D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:

    1.  Applicability

    Any dog pound or animal shelter that is licensed or registered by the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development must also hold a Controlled Substances License issued by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services, to store, handle, and use sodium pentobarbital. The Pharmacy Use of a Controlled Substance (Sodium Pentobarbital) in a Dog Pound, Animal Shelter, or by a Class B Dealer Application must be submitted. If the dog pound or animal shelter's Sodium Pentobarbital license lapses, a relicensure application (included on the Sodium Pentobarbital Application) must be submitted. If a dog pound or animal shelter changes its location, the Sodium Pentobarbital Application must be submitted. If an employee update needs to be submitted, the Sodium Pentobarbital Application must be submitted.

    2.  Pre-Application Requirements

    If Sodium Pentobarbital is administered in a dog pound or animal shelter, the facility must be licensed by the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development.

    3.  Application Submission Requirements

    Pharmacy Use of a Controlled Substance (Sodium Pentobarbital) in a Dog Pound, Animal Shelter, or by a Class B Dealer License Application.

    4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

    A Pharmacy Use of a Controlled Substance (Sodium Pentobarbital) in a Dog Pound, Animal Shelter, or by a Class B Dealer Application will be reviewed for completeness. The review process normally takes up to 8 weeks.

    5.  Operational Requirements

    Pharmacy Use of a Controlled Substance (Sodium Pentobarbital) in a Dog Pound, Animal Shelter, or by a Class B Dealer Licenses must be renewed every 2 years.

    6.  Fees

    New Controlled Substance License - Sodium Pentobarbital - $85.00

    Controlled Substance License - Sodium Pentobarbital Relicensure - $105.00

    Controlled Substance License - Sodium Pentobarbital Change of Location - $20.00

    Controlled Substance License - Sodium Pentobarbital Employee Update - No fee required

    7.  Appeal Process

    Not Applicable.

    8.  Public Input Opportunities

    If changes to the Board of Pharmacy's administrative rules have been approved by the Board of Pharmacy, a public hearing would be conducted for public comment and public comments could also be submitted via email. The proposed changes would also be available on the Bureau of Health Care Services' website at www.michigan.gov/healthlicense.


    E. Contact Information:

    Contact Us


    Revised:  September 2013 

    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • State Web Sites
  • Site Map

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan