Skip Navigation
Michigan TaxesMichigan.gov, Official Portal for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view
FAQ
  Michigan Business Tax
C41. How is the Small Business Alternative Credit under MCL 208.1417 calculated by a taxpayer that is a unitary business group? How do the disqualifiers and percentage reducers work?
 
Answer:

The Small Business Alternative Credit "is available to any taxpayer with gross receipts that do not exceed $20,000,000.00 and with adjusted business income minus the loss adjustment that does not exceed $1,300,000.00 as adjusted annually for inflation using the Detroit consumer price index" and subject to certain additional disqualifiers. MCL 208.1417(1) (emphasis added). Specifically, if gross receipts exceed $19,000,000, the credit is reduced

"Taxpayer" is defined as "a person or a unitary business group." MCL 208.1117(5). The gross receipts and adjusted business income thresholds under MCL 207.1417(1) apply to taxpayers. Thus, for a taxpayer that is a unitary business group, the gross receipts and adjusted business income thresholds are those of the unitary business group.

The disqualifiers under MCL 208.1417(1)(a) and (b) apply to a taxpayer that is a unitary business group if such disqualifiers apply to any member of that unitary business group. For example, a taxpayer that is a unitary business group is disqualified from taking the Credit under MCL 208.1417 if that unitary business group includes a member that is a partnership and any one partner of that partnership receives more than $180,000.00 as a distributive share of the adjusted business income minus loss adjustment of the partnership.

Similarly, the reduction percentages under MCL 208.1417(1)(c) apply to a taxpayer that is a unitary business group if such reduction percentages apply to any member of that unitary business group. For example, the Small Business Alternative Credit of a taxpayer is reduced by 20% if the taxpayer is a unitary business group that includes a member that is a corporation and the compensation and directors' fees of an officer of that member corporation exceed $160,000.00 but are less than $165,000.00.

Finally, the amounts described in MCL 208.1417(1)(a) and (b) received by an individual, partner, member, shareholder, or officer of a member of a unitary business group are not combined with similar amounts received from other members of the unitary business group for purposes of the disqualifiers and reduction percentages.


Michigan Business One Stop
Link to Department and Agencies Web Site Index
Link to Statewide Online Services Index
Link to Statewide Web-based Surveys
Link to RSS feeds available on this site
FAQ Categories
 •  Index of Tax FAQ's
 •  Individual Income Tax
 •  Business Taxes
 •  1099-MISC Filing Requirements
 •  Collections/Delinquent Accounts
 •  Tax Increment Financing
 •  Service Fee/PILOT Housing
 •  State Real Estate Transfer Tax
 •  Native American
 •  Michigan Business Tax
 •  Status of Individual Refund
 •  Health Insurance Claims Assessment (HICA) Act
 •  Energy Home Improvement Credit
 •  Corporate Income Tax
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan