Cyber shoppers reminded to keep receiptsContact: Terry Stanton, Subscribe to Treasury Press Releases 517-335-2167Agency: Treasury
September 30, 2015
Shoppers who make purchases on-line, by telephone or catalog on or after October 1, 2015 are being reminded to keep their receipts to determine whether sales tax was charged on the transaction.
Under new provisions that take effect tomorrow, many so-called remote sellers will begin collecting Michigan’s 6-percent sales tax on purchases made by Michigan residents. Residents making “remote” purchases on or after October 1 will owe use tax if the sales tax wasn’t collected by the “remote” seller.
“It is important for individuals to understand that this is not a new tax; Michigan’s tax on these types of sales has been on the books for more than 80 years,” said State Treasurer Nick Khouri. “The new provisions simply mean that various on-line and remote sellers, that will now be deemed to have some presence in the state, will begin collecting tax on the sales they make into Michigan.”
Due to provisions within the Revenue Act prohibiting disclosure of taxpayer information, Treasury cannot disclose which firms will be required to collect and remit sales tax.
Since the 1930’s, Michigan’s Use Tax has required individuals to pay tax on goods they buy through mail-order, television shopping networks, or on-line purchases. It is easy for taxpayers to pay any Use Tax obligation they may have when filing their Michigan individual income tax return each spring. The MI-1040 instruction booklet contains instructions on how to calculate one’s liability. Maintaining receipts from remote purchases can ensure taxpayers know which transactions were subject to sales tax and, likewise, what transactions the use tax would apply to.
Michigan’s Use Tax is calculated at the rate of 6 percent. Purchases subject to the Use Tax include appliances, books, clothing, computers, DVDs/CDs, electronics, furniture, pre-written computer software, and tobacco products.
For more information, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes and click on the Sales and Use Tax tab.
# # # #