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Emergency Order Under MCL 333.2253 – Handling of Bodily Remains  

The novel coronavirus (COVID-19) is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death. It is 
caused by a new strain of coronavirus not previously identified in humans and easily spread from person 
to person. There is currently no approved vaccine or antiviral treatment for this disease. 

On March 10, 2020, the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) identified the first two 
presumptive-positive cases of COVID-19 in Michigan. On that same day, Governor Gretchen Whitmer 
issued Executive Order 2020-4. This order declared a state of emergency across the state of Michigan 
under section 1 of article 5 of the Michigan Constitution of 1963, the Emergency Management Act, 1976 
PA 390, as amended, MCL 30.401 et seq., and the Emergency Powers of the Governor Act of 1945, 1945 
PA 302, as amended, MCL 10.31 et seq. 

COVID-19 has exacted a painful toll on Michigan’s population. As of May 3, there were 43,754 cases of 
COVID-19 diagnosed in Michigan, with 4,049 persons having perished from the virus. This sudden 
increase in deaths has placed a significant burden on some hospitals and funeral homes. To alleviate this 
burden, ensure the safe and proper handling of bodily remains, and ensure the deceased are treated with 
the utmost respect and dignity, I find that it is necessary to amend the timelines and authorizations 
pertaining to the disposition of bodies, and to relax certain licensing provisions for funeral directors.  

In light of the above, and upon the advice of scientific and medical experts employed by the Michigan 
Department of Health and Human Services, I have concluded per MCL 333.2253 that COVID-19 has 
reached epidemic status in Michigan. I further conclude that control of the epidemic is necessary to 
protect the public health, and that it is necessary to establish procedures to be followed during the 
epidemic to insure continuation of essential public health services and enforcement of health laws. As 
provided in MCL 333.2253, these emergency procedures are not limited to the Public Health Code. 

I therefore order that: 

1. Compliance with some provisions of MCL 700.3206 is temporarily suspended such that:  
a. A health facility’s or funeral director’s attempts to locate a person with authority to control the 

final disposition of a dead human body under this section must be completed within 24 hours of 
death. If attempts to locate the person with authority to control the final disposition of the body 
are unsuccessful or such person affirmatively declines to exercise his or her right or fails to 
exercise his or her right, the medical examiner for the county in which the decedent was domiciled 
at the time of his or her death shall exercise the rights and powers under MCL 700.3206(1), or if 
the county of domicile at the time of death is unknown, the county in which the decedent died. 
However, if the person with authority to control the final disposition attempts to exercise that 
authority before final disposition is completed, the medical examiner may allow the person with 
original authority to control the final disposition to make determinations with respect to the body. 

b. A person with authority to control the final disposition of a dead human body under MCL 
700.3206(1) must exercise such authority and complete arrangements within 48 hours of death. 
Failure to act within 48 hours of death forfeits the right to exercise control with respect to the 
body. 
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2. Compliance with certain statutes and rules is temporarily suspended such that: 

a. The holder of a license to practice mortuary science under Article 18 of the Occupational Code, 
MCL 339.1801 et seq., and other persons legally authorized to embalm, handle, transport, or 
oversee the care of dead human bodies may exercise their professional discretion without licensing 
sanction, regardless of statutory or regulatory deadlines that would otherwise apply where this is 
necessary given constraints on storage capacity as a result of the COVID-19 state of emergency. 
 

b. The holder of a license to practice mortuary science under Article 18 of the Occupational Code, 
MCL 339.1801 et seq., or a county medical examiner, may authorize the embalming of a dead 
human body without obtaining direction or authorization from a person with authority to control 
final disposition of the body under MCL 700.3206 after the timeframes described in paragraph 1(a) 
and (b) above have elapsed if the medical examiner or mortuary science licensee determines that 
embalming the dead human body is reasonably necessary to prevent or delay decomposition 
pending final disposition of the dead human body. Embalming of the dead human body shall be 
done only by the holder of a license to practice mortuary science or other person authorized to do so 
by Article 18 of the Occupational Code, MCL 339.1801 et seq. 
 

c. The holder of a license to practice mortuary science under Article 18 of the Occupational Code, 
MCL 339.1801 et seq., need not secure a burial transit permit as may be required by 
Administrative Rule 325.3 through 325.4 from a local registrar’s office but may use copies of the 
prescribed form he or she has on hand to directly issue and maintain burial transit permits with a 
copy of such a permit to accompany the body to its final disposition. 

 
3. Compliance with MCL 333.2653(2) is temporarily suspended such that an official of a public 

institution or a state or local officer in charge or control of an unclaimed body that would have to be 
buried at public expense need not make the unclaimed body available to DHHS, nor to any institution 
designated by DHHS.  
 

4. Where the 24 hour period set forth in section (1)(a) of this order expires, or where the 48 hour period 
set forth in section (1)(b) of this order expires, a body is deemed to be an “unclaimed body” as that 
term is defined in MCL 333.2653(1).  

 
5. Medical examiners are directed to authorize cremation orders as quickly as possible, but in no event 

later than 24 hours after a request for cremation. However, the body of a person who died under 
suspicious circumstances or otherwise died as the result of criminal activity must not be cremated 
without explicit authorization from the medical examiner.  

 
6. The holder of a license to practice mortuary science under Article 18 of the Occupational Code, MCL 

339.1801 et seq., may shelter and store the remains of a dead human body at a temporary storage 
facility provided by the Michigan Mortuary Response Team (MI-MORT) or at an alternate site 
procured by the license holder, provided that the sheltering and storage is conducted under that 
licensee’s direct supervision and control. The alternate storage facility must be able to store remains 
in an appropriate and respectful manner. If a hospital utilizes alternate facilities for storage of 
remains, it must properly notify the designated mortuary science licensee of the alternate location of 
the human remains so as not to delay the embalming, handling, transporting, or overseeing of the 
remains of the decedent. 

7. Where MI-MORT takes custody of an unclaimed body, the MI-MORT commander may designate MI-
MORT members to complete applications for state emergency relief funding for the disposition of such 
a body. 
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8. Compliance with MCL 339.1806(8)(c) is temporarily suspended such that the Department of Licensing 
and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) may electronically issue a temporary mortuary science license to an 
individual who holds a valid license in another state that is in good standing and that has 
substantially equal requirements to the requirements under Article 18 of the Occupational Code, MCL 
339.1801 et seq., regardless of whether the applicant demonstrates to LARA that he/she successfully 
completed the examination requirements in MCL 339.1806(8)(c). A license that has been suspended or 
revoked is not considered a license in good standing, and a licensee with pending disciplinary action is 
not considered to have a license in good standing. Any license that is subject to a limitation in another 
state is subject to the same limitation in this state.  

9. Compliance with MCL 339.1806(1)(a) through (1)(c) and Administrative Rules 339.18921 through 
339.18930 is temporarily suspended such that LARA may electronically issue a temporary mortuary 
science license to an applicant, regardless of whether the applicant demonstrates that he/she served 
as a resident trainee for 1 year under the personal supervision and instruction of the holder of a 
license for the practice of mortuary science, graduated from a 3-year course in mortuary science in an 
accredited school, college, or university, satisfactorily passed an examination, or met the requirements 
in Administrative Rules 339.18921 through 339.18930, if the applicant previously held a mortuary 
science license that expired within the past five years, and the applicant has no history of discipline or 
pending disciplinary action at the time of application. 

 
10. Compliance with MCL 339.1808 and Administrative Rule 339.18923(4) is temporarily suspended such 

that LARA may renew a license to practice as a resident trainee, regardless of whether the resident 
trainee renewed his/her license 2 or more times. 

 
11. Compliance with MCL 52.204 is temporarily suspended such that where a death occurs in an 

ambulance, emergency medical services personnel may, after making reasonable efforts to contact the 
county medical examiner’s office consistent with MCL 52.203, transport the body to the closest 
hospital, the hospital that provided medical control, or, in cases where those hospitals lack morgue 
capacity to accommodate the body, to the nearest hospital that can accommodate the body. The 
receiving hospital must accept the body from emergency medical services personnel if the hospital 
morgue has capacity to do so. 

 
This order is effective immediately and remains in effect until lifted.  

Date: May 4, 2020 

 

_______________________________________ 

Robert Gordon, Director              

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

 


