
Michigan’s  Auto  Insurance  Law  Has  Changed 

The  information  contained  in  the  following  publication  pertains  to  auto 
insurance  policies  issued  on  or  before  July  1,  2020.  Publications  about  auto 
insurance  policies  issued  on  or  after  July  2,  2020  are  available  at 
michigan.gov/autoinsurance. 

For  more  information  about  the  new  auto  insurance  law  and  how  it  will  affect 
you,  please  visit:  www.michigan.gov/AutoInsurance. 

www.michigan.gov/AutoInsurance
https://michigan.gov/autoinsurance
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Automobile Insurance Eligibility  
Michigan law requires every  vehicle owner to purchase automobile insurance and  guarantees  

that automobile insurance will be available to all eligible  Michigan citizens.  An eligible person  

for automobile insurance is a  person who is an  owner  

or registrant  of  a  car r egistered or to be registered  in  

Michigan  or  has  a  valid  Michigan  driver’s  license  based  The Michigan no-fault system was 

on Michigan  law  (MCL  500.2103).  adopted in 1973 to increase the level  

of benefits paid  to injured persons,  
There are circumstances when a  company  can  refuse 

make sure  such payments are made  to insure you.  

promptly, and reduce the proportion  
Reasons for Denial  of premium dollars paid out for legal  
You can  be turned  down  for automobile insurance if:  

and administrative  costs.  

 You are not required by  law to have insurance 
 

because you do not plan to live or  drive  in  
Michigan for 30  or more days.  

 Your  driver’s license is suspended or  revoked.  

 Within the past  five years you have been convicted  of trying  to defraud  an  insurance  
company,  or have been denied payment  of  a  claim  over $1,000 b ecause there is  
evidence of  fraud  on your  part.  

 Within the past  three  years you have been found  guilty  of a  felony  with  a  motor 
vehicle,  driving  under  the influence of  alcohol  or drugs,  failing  to stop  at the scene  of  
an accident,  or reckless driving.  

 The car  you want  to insure does not  meet Michigan safety  requirements.  

 Within the past  two years your  automobile insurance has been cancelled because  of  
non-payment  of premium. This can  be waived if  you pay  the entire premium on the  
policy  you are buying i n advance.  

 The insurance you want  to buy  requires you to be a  member of a  group,  club,  or 
organization and  you do not join the  organization.  

 Your  driving r ecord  causes  you to have more than the allowable number of  insurance  
eligibility  points (see  the box  below).  

 
Insurance Eligibility Points  

Insurance companies assign  insurance eligibility points for certain traffic violations.  
 

Insurance eligibility  points are not the same as  points  on  your  official  driving record. They are  

simply a guide to help the company decide whether you are eligible for  automobile  insurance. You can be  

turned down  for automobile  insurance if you have more than  six eligibility points from violations within the  

past three  years.  

How  insurance companies  assign  eligibility points:  

 Driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit (careless driving)  - four  points  

 Driving 11-15 mph over the speed limit  –  three  points  

 Driving 15 mph or fewer over the speed limit on  freeways that used to have a maximum speed limit  of  
70 mph  - two points  

 Other moving violations - two  points  

 The first accident in which you are more than 50% at fault  - three  points  

 The second and all following accidents in which you are more than 50% at fault  –  four  points  



  

 

  

    

    

    

  

   

   

       

   

 

              

      

  

   

    

        

 

  

        

            

               

     

        

      

   

 

       

                  

     

     

        

      

   

             

    

       

              

      

                  

Company Underwriting Rules 

Insurance companies also use certain guidelines, 

called underwriting rules, to help decide whether they 

will insure you. Underwriting is a process in which an 

insurance company determines if the risk you present 

to the company meets the standards or guidelines it 

has established for you to obtain or retain insurance 

coverage with the company. These rules may be 

different for each company, but each company must 

apply its rules in the same way to everyone. 

Group and Non-Group Policies 

Automobile insurance policies are sold either as a group policy or non-group policy. Each type 

of policy has its own rules, eligibility requirements, surcharges, and discounts. 

Group Policies 

If you are an eligible person for automobile insurance under Michigan law, you could also 

be group eligible based on the insurance company’s underwriting rules. 

Group eligibility could be based on where you work or your association with a club or 

organization. 

Non-Group Policies 

A person that is not group eligible simply means that they are an eligible person for 

automobile insurance under Michigan law and insured without any kind of affiliation through 

work or membership to an association. A person in this category qualifies based on whether 

his or her characteristics are acceptable under a company’s underwriting rules. 

Underwriting rules for group and non-group rated policies must be filed with the Department 

of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS). Your agent or insurance representative should be 

able to tell you which companies offer which policies. 

Ineligible Persons 

If you find you or a member of your household are not eligible for automobile insurance, you 

do have options. If you are ineligible, you may want to ask your agent to apply to the Michigan 

Automobile Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF) for you. The MAIPF was created to offer 

insurance to those persons who have difficulty finding insurance through the ordinary 

channels. Any licensed agent can help you apply for insurance through the MAIPF. 

Alternatively, you may also seek insurance from any number of companies that specialize in 

writing policies for high risk drivers. 

If a member of your household is ineligible for automobile insurance, many Michigan insurance 

companies allow for a “named driver exclusion.” Under a named driver exclusion, the named 
household member will be excluded from no-fault liability coverages and Personal Injury 

Protection (PIP) benefits. If the named excluded person drives the insured vehicle, there is no 

residual liability in effect and the owner of the vehicle and those legally responsible for the 

acts of the driver may be held personally liable for damages and injuries in the event of an 
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accident. Any person that willingly and unlawfully operates or uses a motor vehicle or 

motorcycle with the knowledge of its unlawful use is also excluded from PIP coverage. 

DIFS has additional information available regarding automobile insurance. Please visit 

our website at www.Michigan.gov/DIFS or call us toll free at 877-999-6442. 

Auto Insurance Fraud 

This type of fraud entails someone deceiving an insurance company about a claim involving 
their personal or commercial motor vehicle. It can involve giving out misleading information 
or providing false documentation to support the claim. 

Automotive insurance fraud is a serious crime. As with all other types of insurance fraud‚ 
Michigan considers it a felony. Violators can spend up to four years in jail and be fined up to 
$50,000. There are also many other associated expenses such as court costs and legal fees. 
Plus, those found guilty of insurance fraud have the stigmas and limitations of being a 

convicted felon to carry with them for life. 

Driving Without Insurance 

If you own a car without no-fault insurance and have 

an accident: 
Play it safe: Don’t drive without 

insurance. Be sure to keep your You can be sued and held personally liable. You may 

have to pay a lawyer and court costs. If you are hurtcertificate of no-fault insurance in 
in an accident involving a vehicle you own that is not 

your car. 
insured, you would not be paid for medical 

expenses, wage loss, loss of services, or any other 

no-fault benefits. If you are convicted of driving your car, allowing someone else to drive your 

car, or if you drive another person’s car, which you know does not have no-fault insurance 

you may be fined up to $500, put in jail for up to one year, or both. 

Mandatory No-Fault Automobile Insurance Coverages 
No-fault automobile insurance is required by Michigan law. Every car owner must buy certain 

basic coverages in order to register a motor vehicle in Michigan. It is against the law to drive, 

or let your car be driven, without no-fault insurance. The mandatory no-fault policy has three 

parts: 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 

If you are hurt in an automobile accident, this part of your no-fault policy will pay all 

reasonably necessary medical expenses with no maximum limit. It will also pay, up to a 

maximum amount, for the wages you would have earned if you had not been hurt, for up to 

three years. Visit www.michigan.gov/DIFS for current wage loss amounts. 

If you are killed in an accident, your policy will pay your spouse and dependents up to the 

monthly amount for three years, based on what they would have received from your earnings 

and fringe benefits. 
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You may also be entitled up to $20 per day in replacement services. This is to pay for services 

you are no longer able to provide for yourself or your family because you are injured, such as 

housekeeping and yard work. 

You may coordinate PIP coverage with your health or disability policy (except Medicaid, 

Medicare, or a Medicare Supplemental policy) to reduce your PIP premium. The health or 

disability plan then becomes the primary payer for medical or wage loss expenses, and the 

automobile policy would cover remaining medical or wage loss expenses. Not all health plans 

will pay for medical expenses resulting from an automobile accident. Check with your health 

insurer to verify if they will cover injuries as a primary provider for automobile accidents. 

Property Protection Insurance (PPI) 

Your policy will pay up to $1 million for damage your car does in Michigan to other people’s 

property, such as buildings and fences. This coverage will also pay for damage your car does 

to other people’s properly parked vehicles. 

Residual Liability Insurance — Bodily Injury and Property Damage 

(BI/PD) 

The no-fault law protects insured persons from being sued as the result of an automobile 

accident, except in certain special situations. These are some of the circumstances under 

which you could be sued: 

• If you cause an accident in Michigan in which someone is killed or seriously injured. 

• If you are involved in an accident in Michigan with a non-resident who is an occupant 

of a motor vehicle not registered in Michigan. 

• If you are involved in an accident in a state other than Michigan. 

The residual liability portion of your no-fault policy will pay up to your coverage limit amounts 

if you are found legally responsible for damages in these situations. 

The minimum required BI/PD coverage limits are: 

• Up to $20,000 for a person who is hurt or killed in an accident. 

• Up to $40,000 for each accident if several people are hurt or killed. 

• 

These limits are often described 

as 20/40/10. Courts sometimes 

award more than these amounts. 

If this happens, you would be 

responsible for paying the 

amount not covered by your 

policy. To protect themselves, 

many people buy extra liability 

insurance. 

4 

Up to $10,000 for property damage in another state. 



  

  

  

  

  

   

    

     

     

  

    

  

    

  

 

        

        

      

     

      

              

     

     

 

                

  

 

       

        

 

 

   

      

     

    

    

    

   
  

   

Optional Automobile Insurance Coverages 
There are some optional insurance 

coverages you may wish to consider. 

Michigan law does not require that 

these coverages be purchased. 

Your no-fault insurance does not pay 

for repairs to your car if it is damaged 

in an accident. If your car is properly 

parked and hit by another car, the 

other driver’s insurance will pay for 

your repairs. Except for this situation, 

the only kinds of automobile insurance 

that pay for repairs to your car are 

collision and comprehensive coverage. 

Collision Insurance 

This coverage pays for repairs to your car when it is damaged in an automobile accident. 

Collision insurance is usually sold with a deductible. A deductible is the amount you agree to 

pay toward the cost of repairs before the insurance company steps in and pays the rest. The 

larger the deductible amount, the lower the cost of your collision insurance. There are three 

basic kinds of collision insurance to choose from: broad form, standard, and limited. 

• Broad Form collision pays for damages regardless of fault, with a deductible that applies 

only if you are substantially at fault. 

• Standard collision pays for damages regardless of fault, with a deductible that always 

applies. 

• Limited collision pays only if you are not substantially at fault and may or may not have 

a deductible. 

Comprehensive Insurance 

This coverage pays for your car if it is stolen or for repairs if it is damaged by a falling 

object, fire, flood, vandalism, or collision with an animal. 

Uninsured and Underinsured 

Motorists Coverage 

These coverages will pay if an uninsured or 

underinsured motorist seriously injures you or 

a member of your household. If you are 

awarded a settlement from the at-fault driver 

and they have insufficient or no liability 

coverage, your uninsured or underinsured 

coverage will apply. Uninsured and 
underinsured motorists’ coverage is usually 

sold with limits 

5 



  

        

  

  

        

 
 

 

  

 

 

  

 

    

  

      

          

     

         

     

    

       

     

 

         

       

              

    

 

    

        

      

              

        

   

 

      

    

       

   

      

       

       

    

of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident (20/40). This coverage will not pay for 

damage to your vehicle. 

Limited Property Damage or “Mini-Tort” Coverage 
Under Michigan’s no-fault law, a driver can only be sued under certain circumstances, as 

described on page 4. 

You must tell your agent if you want The limited property damage liability or “mini-tort” 

collision or comprehensive coverage provision of the no-fault law creates another 

since they are additional coverages, 
situation in which you can be sued. If you are 50% 

or more at fault in an accident, and damages to the 
and are not included in a basic other driver’s car are not completely covered by his 

no-fault policy. or her insurance, you may be sued and may have 

to pay up to $1,000 in damages. 

For example, if you have standard collision 

insurance with a $500 deductible, and you are involved in an accident for which you are less 

than 50% at fault, you can sue the other driver to recover your deductible. 

Additional Higher Liability Limits 

You may purchase higher limits than the standard 20/40/10 as outlined on page 4. It is 

possible your liability could be more than these amounts. If so, you would be responsible for 

paying the amount not covered by your insurance policy. To protect themselves, many people 

buy extra liability insurance. 

Auto Rental 

Auto rental reimbursement provides transportation protection to you when your vehicle is 

damaged due to a covered loss such as an accident, vandalism, or theft of your vehicle. This 

is a temporary service that provides a replacement vehicle while an insured vehicle is being 

repaired or possibly replaced. Some companies will offer a rental vehicle for mechanical repairs 

while a vehicle is under warranty. Consult your agent regarding various options of coverage 

that may be available. 

Roadside Service 

Many insurance companies offer emergency 

roadside service. The coverage name may vary 

from company to company, but these plans can 

provide assistance with roadside problems. Most 

will cover the costs of services such as fixing a flat 

tire, getting your keys out of your locked car, 

running out of gas, jump starting your vehicle, or 

having your car towed. 

6 



  

 
       

    

        

   

    

  

  

    

 

  

 

   

  

    

      

   

  

 

    

   

    

         

   

      

      

        

        

      

 

  

       

        

             

        

       

        

    

      

        

             

Determining Your Premium 
Your premium is determined using the characteristics of your household members and 

vehicles, such as the age of the drivers, make 

and model of the vehicles, miles driven, driver 

record and where you live. In addition to the 

required coverage, a person can choose 

optional automobile coverages that will 

increase the cost of the policy (see page 8). 

Insurance companies determine premiums in 

different ways, so it is important to shop and 

compare. Below are some items that affect 

the cost of your policy. 

Deductibles 

Some coverages in your policy have 

deductibles which require you to pay before 

your insurance company pays on a covered 

loss. The higher the deductible amount, the lower your premium. Insurance companies offer 

varying deductible amounts. Some examples are Physical Damage Deductibles and Personal 

Injury Protection Deductibles. 

Physical Damage Deductibles 

Increasing your deductibles on the physical damage coverage (e.g. comprehensive and 

collision) can make a significant difference in the cost of your policy. 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Deductibles 

Your automobile insurance company may impose a deductible on any claim you submit 

for PIP benefits following an automobile accident. This means that you will be 

responsible for paying for any expenses, up to this deductible limit, before the 

automobile insurance company will pay for any of your injuries. It is important for you 

to know if your automobile policy requires a deductible and the amount. If this 

information is not listed in your policy declarations page, ask your agent or insurance 

company to confirm whether there is a deductible and, if so, ask for the deductible 

amount. 

Coordination with Other Health Insurance or Disability Coverage 

Your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) premium may be reduced if you have other health or 

disability coverage. Ask your agent about the option to coordinate health or disability 

coverage with your automobile insurance PIP coverage. You may coordinate PIP coverage with 

any other health or disability policy you have (except Medicaid, Medicare or a Medicare 

Supplemental policy) to reduce your PIP premium. When you coordinate coverage, your 

health/disability policy becomes the primary payer for any PIP claims related to your 

automobile accident. Your automobile insurance coverage pays for reasonable expenses not 

covered by the health/disability policy. Before you agree to coordinate your health/disability 

income and automobile policies, you should first verify that your health and/or disability 

income insurance policy will provide benefits for injuries related to automobile accidents. Some 
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health benefit plans restrict coverage for injuries related to automobile accidents if the injured 

person is also covered by an automobile insurance policy. Coordination of health/disability and 

automobile insurance benefits applies only to the policyholder, spouse, and dependents 

covered under the policies. 

Work Loss Waiver for Senior Citizens and Retirees 

If you are a senior citizen, aged 65 or older, the law requires a company to offer you a reduced 

premium if you drive your vehicle less than 3,000 miles per year. A retired person aged 60 or 

over, who does not have income from work, must also be offered the option to waive coverage 

for work loss that is paid under the PIP coverage. A person may waive coverage for himself or 

herself and an eligible spouse and receive a reduced premium for PIP coverage. Work loss 

coverage may not be eliminated completely from the no-fault policy since it still applies to 

other persons who may be injured in the vehicle or by the policyholder’s vehicle. 

Discounts 

Your premium may be reduced by various discounts offered by insurance companies. See the 

insert of this guide for more information on discounts. 

Surcharges 

If you have one or more traffic violations or accidents, your insurance company may attach 

an additional charge to your policy. What triggers the surcharge and the amount will vary from 

company to company. Ask your agent or insurance company to confirm the amount of any 

surcharges that may be assessed to your policy. 

8 



  

 
   

     

  

   

  

  

   

      

    

      

   

    

    

         

  

    

    

    

        

   

     

            

             

     

        

        

   

      

     

    

                

       

      

   

     

 

 
        

     

     

       

    

    

                

Other Premium Charges 
Automobile insurers in Michigan are required to participate in and fund certain organizations 

that support our no-fault system. Like other insurer 

expenses, the cost of funding these organizations is 

passed on to policyholders. Unlike other expenses, The Michigan Catastrophic Claims 
however, these often appear as a separate charge 

Association (MCCA) was established 
listed on your declarations page. There are many 

in 1978. The MCCA pays for claims different descriptions for these charges, such as 
paid by an insurer that exceeds a “state mandated charges,” “statutory 

certain amount. assessments,” “programs required by state law,” or 

something similar. The total charge might be made 

up of the cost of one or more of these funds. However, by far the largest portion of these 

charges is attributable to the Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association (MCCA). 

Michigan is the only state that provides unlimited personal injury protection benefits through 

its automobile insurance system. When faced with the possibility of large losses, insurers 

generally purchase what is known as reinsurance. Reinsurance helps insurers avoid potential 

financial difficulty by spreading the cost of these losses. A few years after the passage of 

Michigan’s no-fault law, insurers found themselves unable to purchase reinsurance for the 

unlimited exposure they faced through our no-fault system. The MCCA was created by the 

legislature as a means of spreading catastrophic losses across the entire automobile insurance 

market. The MCCA serves as a reinsurance mechanism for automobile insurers by reimbursing 

them for costs that exceed a certain amount per claim. 

Although created by statute, the MCCA is a private, nonprofit association. All of its dealings 

are with insurance companies, not the public. Injured persons receive all of their no-fault 

benefits from their insurer. 

A new MCCA assessment begins July 1 of every year. The MCCA determines the amount 

needed to cover the lifetime claims of all people who will be catastrophically injured in an 

automobile accident over the coming year. It then assesses each insurer its share of this 

amount based on the number of vehicles it insures. It is this per-vehicle assessment that may 

appear as a separate item on your declarations page. Although the per-vehicle amount 

assessed each insurer is the same, a company may include administrative and other 

miscellaneous costs in the amount it passes through to its policyholders. Therefore, each 

company’s charge for this assessment may be different. 

Discounts 
One way of saving money on your automobile insurance premium is through discounts. The 

inserted page is a list of the most common discounts offered in Michigan by insurance 

companies providing information for this guide. This list of discounts is not a comprehensive 

list and you may find that several automobile insurance companies offer discounts that are 

not listed in this guide. 

Companies are constantly refining their discount programs, which means the discount 

categories and discount amounts may change. Therefore, be sure to ask for a list of discounts 

9 



  

     

             

  

        

         

      

          

                

       

     

                

    

                

        

     
 

that a company offers when you are shopping for automobile insurance coverage. For 

example, many insurers offer discounts for safety features like anti-lock brakes, air bags, and 

anti-theft devices. 

While some discounts may be applied to your total premium, others will typically only be 

applied to certain portions of your premium. For instance, if your vehicle qualifies for an anti-

theft discount, the discount would be applied to your comprehensive premium. If you do not 

carry comprehensive coverage on your vehicle, you would not qualify for this discount. Each 

company chooses the discounts it will offer and how the discounts will be applied. The company 

must then offer these discounts to all individuals who qualify. The company may also set a 

maximum policy discount regardless of the number of discounts for which you qualify. 

Remember, the discount comparisons in this guide are designed to be used as a starting point 

when shopping for automobile insurance. It is important to realize that only the insurance 

company or one of its representatives, such as an insurance agent, will be able to provide you 

with an accurate premium quote based on your own personal characteristics, including any 

and all company offered discounts. 
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Calculation of Annual Premiums 
Below is a chart providing an example of how discounts and surcharges may affect your final 

premium. This chart is only an example offered at base rates, which are discounted or 

surcharged based on a variety of factors such as driving records and credit-based insurance 

scores. 

To find out about discounts your insurance company offers, contact your agent. Dollar 

amounts and eligible discounts may vary. 

Premium Calculation: The Effects of Discounts and Surcharges 

$223.00 Liability Coverage (BI/PD) 

$9.00 Property Protection Insurance Coverage (PPI) 

$384.00 Personal Injury Protection Coverage (PIP) 

$616.00 Total Mandatory Coverages 

$461.00 Collision Coverage 

$47.00 Comprehensive Coverage 

$508.00 Total Optional Coverages 

$616.00 Total Mandatory Coverages 

$508.00 Total Optional Coverages 

$1124.00 Total Annual Base Rate Premium 

$-224.80 -(20% credit score discount applies to all coverages = $1124 x 20%) 

$-38.40 -(10% air bag discount to PIP only = $384 x 10%) 

$-4.70 -(10% anti-theft discount to Comprehensive only = $47 x 10%) 

$-11.15 -(5% anti-lock brake discount to BI/PD = $223 x 5%) 

$-23.05 -(5% anti-lock brakes discount to Collision only = $461 x 5%) 

$-302.10 Total Discount from Annual Base Rate Premium 

+ $168.60 (15% surcharge to base rate for traffic violation points = $1124 x 15%) 

$168.60 Total Surcharge 

$990.50 Total Premium 

11 



  

  
       

     

    

                

                  

               

       

   

 
 

   

 

       

  

     

   

      

  

       
 

                

       

       

    

Understanding Your Auto Insurance Policy 
Your insurance policy is a contract between you and your insurance company. It spells out 

exactly what the company agrees to do in exchange for the premium that you pay. The 

contract is divided into two sections: a declarations page and the policy itself. 

The declarations page lists basic details of the agreement. It is important that you review this 

page to make sure all of the information is correct and all of the coverages you requested are 

included. An example of a declarations page follows on the next page. Your declarations page 

may have a different format; however, the basic information on the page will be the same, 

although it may be stated differently. 

Section 1 Name of the insurance company, policy number, and policy 

period. 

Section 2 Names of the policyholders (named insureds) and description 

of the vehicles insured. 

Section 3 Coverage provided including: limits of liability, deductibles purchased, 

and the premium charged. 

Section 4 Policy discounts, credits, surcharges and other items that 

either reduce or increase your insurance premium. 

Section 5 List of forms that are a part of the policy. 

The second part of your insurance contract is the policy itself. The policy contains the insuring 

agreement, definitions, how, when and where coverage applies, conditions if the vehicle is 

financed, general conditions and exceptions, and endorsements of the policy. 

It is important that you review your policy provisions. 
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Sample Declarations Page 
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Decide on Physical Damage Coverage 
If you have an older car, or one in poor condition, you may not want to pay for physical 

damage coverage. Call a bank or finance company to find out the price you would get for your 

car on a straight sale. From that price, subtract the deductible you would have to pay if you 

had a loss. Then, subtract the cost of the insurance for one year. The amount you come up 

with is the most you would actually net if your car was totaled. Here’s an example. 

Actual Cash 
Value of Minus the $1,000 

Your Car deductible you must pay 

($2,000) 

The most you can collect for a 
collision loss is $1,000 

But remember, you paid 
$250 for a year of 
collision coverage 

In this example, the 
most you would collect 
from your insurer for a 
collision loss is $750 

$2,000 

-$1,000 
$1,000 

-$2

$750 

50 
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Shop Around  
This guide provides basic information you need to know  to be an informed consumer when 

shopping  for  automobile  insurance.  There  are  a  number  of  ways  for  you  to  shop:  you  can  use 

the  phone  book,  use  referrals  from  family  and  friends,  or  go  on-line  to  find  a  company,  agency  

or agent.  If you choose  to shop  through an agent,  keep  in  mind  some agents,  called  

independent  agents,  represent  a  number of companies while others only  represent one  

company.  Each agent  will be able to provide you with  a  quote for  insurance  coverage.  

No  matter which manner you choose to shop,  anyone selling  insurance in Michigan must  be 

licensed through DIFS.  If you have questions about  a  company,  agency  or agent,  please call  

DIFS at 877-999-6442  or visit our  website at  www.michigan.gov/difs  to search a  list of 

companies, agencies, or agents that are licensed to sell insurance in  Michigan.  

It  is  important  to  do  your  homework  in  advance  when  shopping  for  automobile  insurance.  You  

should  ensure you’re dealing  with  an  authorized  company  and  a  licensed agency  and  agent; 

make sure you have the make,  model,  and  the vehicle identification number (VIN)  of the 

vehicle you wish  to insure;  and  know  the types and li mits  of coverage you need.  DIFS  cannot  

recommend  or suggest specific  companies, agencies or agents,  but  we can  help  make the  

shopping  and  comparisons easier.  On the  following  pages are worksheets that have been  

designed  to help  with  that  process.  

Finally,  DIFS  wants  to  know  if  you  have  a  problem  with  an  agent,  agency  or  insurance  company  

during  the  process of shopping  for coverage.  If you  are told  that the company  is  no longer  

writing  in your  area or you are not  eligible for a  policy  with  the company  and  no explanation  

is  provided,  please  contact  our  office  toll  free  at  877-999-6442.  The  Department  of  Insurance  

and  Financial Services, Office of Consumer Services,  has staff  available to answer your  

insurance  questions.  

Contact Us  

877-999-6442 |  difsinfo@michigan.gov  |  @MIDIFS  

/MIDIFS | MichiganDIFS 
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Glossary of Common Automobile Insurance Terms 

Agent – A state-licensed professional who represents an insurance company in selling and 

servicing policies. Only insurance agents are allowed to sell and service insurance policies 

and only in the states in which they are licensed. 

Application – A form you fill out with information about you that an insurance company 

will use to decide whether to issue you a policy and how much to charge. 

Binder – An acknowledgement that the insurance for which you applied is in force, 

whether or not you have paid for or received a policy. It is a temporary or preliminary 

agreement which provides coverage until a permanent policy can be written or delivered. 

Bodily Injury (BI) – This insurance coverage protects an insured from financial loss 

when they are held legally responsible for an automobile accident causing serious injury 

such as permanent disfigurement or death to someone else. The coverage pays for pain and 
suffering caused to other individuals in the event of an automobile accident caused by the 
insured or their insured vehicle. (This is mandatory coverage) 

Cancellation – The termination of insurance coverage during the policy period. An 

insurer can cancel your personal automobile insurance policy for nonpayment of premium 
provided it gives you 10 days’ written notice. The company is required to give you 30 days’ 
written notice if it is cancelling your policy for any other reason. 

Claim – A policyholder’s request for reimbursement from an insurance company, under an 
automobile insurance policy for a covered loss. 

Collision Coverage – This covers physical damage to your car when your car hits or is 

hit by another vehicle or collides with another object, moveable or fixed. It pays to fix your 
vehicle, minus any applicable deductible. This is not required by Michigan law but it may be 

required by a lienholder of a loan or lease. 

Comprehensive Coverage – Also referred to as “Other than Collision”. Covers your 
vehicle against physical damage and loss from causes other than collision, such as fire, 

theft, vandalism, or an accident with an animal. 

Contract – Refers to an insurance policy. A policy is considered to be a contract between 

the insurance company and the policyholder. 

Credit-Based Insurance Score(s) – This score is a rating based in whole or in part 

on a consumer’s credit information. An insurance score is not the same as a credit score. 
Using a mathematical formula, a consumer’s credit characteristics are put through a scoring 
model that assigns weights to various factors to determine an “insurance score.” The 

resulting score is indicative of the likelihood the consumer will file a claim, not his/her ability 
to pay the premium. The scoring models are developed by modeling firms, such as Fair 

Isaac and ChoicePointe, or by individual insurers. 

Declarations Page – Often referred to as the “dec page.” This page lists the basic 

details of the policy such as the name and address of the policyholder, the effective date of 
coverage, a description of the covered vehicle(s), the amount of the premium, as well as the 
amount and types of coverage. 
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Deductible – The deductible is the amount you agree to pay before your insurance 

company pays. The larger your deductible, the lower your premium. 

Endorsement – A written form attached to a policy altering the terms, conditions, or 

coverage under the policy. This is sometimes called a “rider.” 

Exclusion(s) – Certain losses and conditions listed in the policy which are not covered. 

Expiration Date – The date on which the insurance policy expires. 

Insured – The person(s) entitled to covered benefits in case of a loss. 

Insurer – The insurance company that insures your vehicle. 

Liability Insurance (Coverage) –The portion of your no-fault policy that covers 

bodily injury and property damage. It is coverage that pays for losses to other people and 

their property caused by negligence of the insured. Liability insurance policies cover both 
legal costs and any legal payouts for which the insured would be responsible if found legally 
liable. 

Liability Limits – The maximum amount your liability insurance coverage (see above) 

will pay. Your policy must pay at least $20,000 for each injured person, up to a total of 
$40,000 per accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage 

is called “20/40/10” coverage. 

Loss – The dollar amount associated with a claim. 

Mini-Tort - The limited property damage liability or “mini-tort” provision. Under Michigan 
Law if you are 50% or more at fault in an accident and damages to the other driver’s car are 
not completely covered by insurance, you may be sued for up to $1,000 in damages. 

Named Driver Exclusion – An endorsement that provides that an automobile policy 

does not cover no-fault liability when a specifically named person is the driver. 

Non-renewal - A decision by an insurance company not to renew or continue a policy. 

Policy – The written contract of insurance. 

Policy Period – The period a policy is in force, from the beginning or effective date to the 

expiration date. 

Premiums – Premiums are the financial cost of obtaining insurance coverage, paid as a 

lump sum or in installments during the duration of the policy. Most automobile premiums are 
calculated and computed for either a six-month or a twelve-month policy period. Premiums 

can be billed annually, bi-annually, quarterly, or monthly depending on the payment plans 
offered by the company. 

Property Damage (PD) – A mandatory no-fault coverage that provides you at least 

$10,000 in loss protection if your car damages someone else’s property (such as light poles, 

fences, another vehicle, etc.) in another state. It also provides you with legal defense if 

another party files a lawsuit against you. 
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Property Protection Insurance (PPI) – A mandatory no-fault coverage that pays 

up to $1 million for damage your car does in Michigan to other people’s property, such as 
buildings, trees, light poles, and fences. It will also pay for damage your car does to another 

person’s properly parked vehicle. 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) - A mandatory no-fault coverage that pays for all 

reasonably necessary medical expenses. It will also pay for up to three years of wages you 
would have earned if you had not been hurt, up to a specified maximum amount. It will 

provide for daily expenses not exceeding $20 per day for reasonable, ordinary, necessary, 
and routine services for three years to perform household duties such as cooking, cleaning, 

laundry, bathing, etc. 

Quote – An estimate of the cost of insurance, based on information supplied to the 

insurance company by the applicant. 

Reinstatement – The process by which an insurance company puts a policy back in 

force after it lapsed. 

Rental Reimbursement Coverage – An optional coverage that pays a set daily 

amount for car rental if your car is being repaired because of damage covered by your 

automobile insurance policy. 

Surcharge – An additional charge added to your premium based on certain 

characteristics, such as at-fault accidents or moving violations. 

Towing and Labor Coverage – Pays for towing charges when your car cannot be 

driven. It also pays for labor charges, such as changing a flat tire, at the place where your 

car broke down. 

Underwriter – The person who reviews an application for insurance and decides if the 

applicant is eligible and at what premium rate. 

Underwriting – The process of selecting and classifying applicants and assessing the 

appropriate premium for the policy based upon the applicant’s insurability. 

Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury – These are both 

optional coverages available from insurers for purchase. Insureds are compensated for 
bodily injury and excess wage loss in the event that you or a member of your family is 

seriously injured and is unable to recover damages from the at-fault driver who was 
uninsured or whose liability insurance coverage was less than the actual damages incurred. 
To recover damages under an uninsured motorist policy, the claimant must show that the 

other driver was uninsured and legally at fault. 
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Shopping for Automobile Insurance 

Worksheet – Section I 

Use this “Coverage Collection Worksheet” to review whether your current coverages meet 
your needs. You can see how the various options may ultimately impact your total premium. 

May Cost Less May Cost More 

Coverage Options Standard Options 

M
A

N
D

A
T

O
R

Y
 

Personal Injury 

Protection 

(PIP) including 

work loss and 

replacement 

services (See 

page 3) 

You may choose to 

coordinate your health 

insurance policy and/or 

disability policy with your 

automobile insurance. This 

makes your health insurance 

primary and your auto 

insurance excess. 

Unlimited medical 

benefits; maximum 

work loss amount per 

month. 

You must purchase 

uncoordinated or primary 

coverage if you have no 

other health insurance or 

disability coverage that 

will coordinate or if you 

have Medicare or Medicaid 

coverage – ask your 

agent. 

Property 

Protection 

Insurance 

(See page 4) 

No options. Up to $1 million for 

damage your car does to 

other people’s property 
in Michigan. 

No options. 

Residual No options. -Up to $20,000 for a You can purchasehigher 

Liability person who is hurt limits than the standard 

Insurance – or killed in an 20/40/10 to protect 

Bodily Injury accident. your assets if you are 

and Property -Up to $40,000 for each at fault and sued by 

Damage (See accident if several others. 

explanation people are hurt orkilled. 
on page 4) -Up to $10,000 for 

property damage 
in another state. 

O
P

T
I
O

N
A

L
 

THESE OPTIONAL 

Collision/ 

Comprehensive 

(See page 5) 

i 

COVERAGES WILL IMPACT

You may purchase a higher 

deductible - $1,000, $1,500, 

or 

$2,000 if your insurer offers 

such limits; or purchase 

standard or limited collision 

instead of broad collision. You 
may also elect to not 

purchase collision or 

comprehensive but you will 

not have coverage for 

damage to your vehicle. 

YOUR TOTAL PREMIUM 

Optional coverage You may purchase a lower 

deductible of $50, $100, 

$150, $200 or $250 if your 

insurer offers such limits. 

Uninsured/ 

Underinsured 

Motorist (See 

page 5) 

You may purchase lower 

coverage limits or elect to 

not purchase this optional 

coverage. 

Optional coverage You may purchase higher 

coverage limits. 

Automobile 

Rental 

Reimbursement 

You may purchase a lower 

daily limit or not purchase 

this optional coverage. 

Optional coverage You can purchase a higher 

daily limit. 

Roadside You may purchase a lower Optional coverage You can purchase a higher 

Service coverage limit or not 

purchase this optional 

coverage. 

coverage limit. 
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Shopping for Automobile Insurance 

Worksheet – Section II 

This worksheet provides a place to record information an insurer will need in order to 

accurately quote you a premium. It is important to be consistent when sharing information 

with each insurer; this allows you to compare premiums on a consistent basis. 

Vehicles to be insured: 

Make/Model Year Vehicle identification 

number (VIN) 

Principal 

owner 

Principal 

operator 

Occasional 

operator 

Drivers to be insured on the policy should include all licensed drivers and any new 

driver(s) with a learners permit: 

Name License number Age Miles to work 

Accidents or moving violations or convictions of each driver during the past three 

years: 

Remember: Check the discounts for which you may be eligible: 

Anti-theft devices 

Multiple vehicle policy 

Anti-lock brakes 

Good student 

Group rated discounts 

Ask the company what additional discounts they offer that would 
apply to you. 

20 



  

 

  

    

        

      

    

     

 
     

        

 

    

    

 

    

   

  

    

    

     
    

        

 

      

       

       

     

       

       

     

       

       

     

       

       

 

    

      

     

   

      

      

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

   

Shopping for Automobile Insurance 

Worksheet – Section III 

Use this chart to compare the quotes you receive from insurers and to explore your options. 

Review your current policy to verify your coverage limits and deductibles and whether your 

current Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and work loss coverages are Excess (Coordinated) 

or Primary (Uncoordinated). Make sure you use the same limits of coverage, deductibles, 

and PIP selections from company to company to ensure an accurate comparison. 

Annual Premiums 
Coverage Company A Company B Company C Company D 

Liability (See pages 3 & 4 for details about these coverages) 

M
A

N
D

A
T

O
R

Y
 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 

including work loss and replacement 

services 

Property Protection Insurance (PPI) -

$1,000,000 required 

Residual Liability Insurance is both 

Bodily Injury and Property Damage 

Collision (See pages 5 & 6 for details) 

O
P

T
I
O

N
A

L
 

Broad Form 

$ Deductible 

$ Deductible 

Standard 

$ Deductible 

$ Deductible 

Limited 

$ Deductible 

$ Deductible 

Comprehensive 

$ Deductible 

$ Deductible 

Uninsured/ 

Underinsured Motorist 

Automobile Rental Coverage 

Roadside Service 

Discounts Offered by Company – 
List each discount for which you may 

qualify and the amount of that 

reduction. 
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Filing a Complaint with DIFS 
DIFS provides consumer information and investigates consumer complaints against insurance, 

banking, credit union, mortgage and other consumer financial products. DIFS will work to 
respond promptly and completely to consumers’ insurance and financial questions and 
complaints, assist consumers in resolving those complaints whenever possible, and help 

consumers understand their options. 

DIFS first encourages consumers to attempt to resolve disputes directly with their insurance 
and/or financial service entity. If a resolution cannot be reached, DIFS can help try to resolve 
your dispute. 

• Speak with a company representative to try to find a solution. 

• Explain the problem in a calm, courteous manner. 
• Provide dates, amounts, and as many related facts as you can. 

If you still do not agree with the company’s position, ask them to provide a written response. 
Ask them to list the specific rules or language in the policy that allow them to deny or exclude 

coverage. 

If you feel that your insurance agent misrepresented what your policy covers, made false 
statements to persuade your decision about coverage, or used other dishonest methods, try 
to resolve the dispute by speaking directly with the agent. 

If you still do not agree with the agent’s position, ask for a written response. Ask the agent to 

include policy language, copies of documents you signed when you applied for insurance, or 
other reasons or facts, which might support the agent’s actions. 

How DIFS Can Help 
If you are still dissatisfied after contacting the company or the agent, you may wish to contact 

DIFS, Office of Consumer Services, to ask questions or to file a written complaint. For more 
information please contact DIFS at 877-999-6442 or visit www.michigan.gov/DIFS. 
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 2019 Auto Buyers Discount Chart 

Company Air Bags 
Anti Lock 

Brakes Anti Theft 
Multi 

Vehicle 
Multi 

Policy 

Credit Based 
Insurance 

Score 
Student Away 

at School 
Good 

Student 
Claim or Ticket 

Free 
AIG Property Casualty Company 20-30% 3% 5-15% 0-29% 2-15% 0-11% 16% N/A 5% 
Allied Property and Casualty 
Insurance Company 20-30% N/A 5% 10-22% 5-25% 0-59% 10% 0-35% 20% 

Allstate Fire and Casualty Insurance 
Company 20-30% 10% 5% N/A 5-26% 0-77% 10% 10% 0-38% 

Allstate Insurance Company 20-30% 10% 5% 10-30% 5-10% 0-68% 10% 10% 9-32% 
Allstate Property and Casualty 
Insurance Company 20-30% 10% 5% N/A 5-20% 0-74% 10% 10% 0-38% 

American Select Insurance 
Company 20-30% 5% 5-15% 0-20% 10% N/A 10-25% 15% n/a 

Amica Mutual Insurance Company 
20-40% N/A 5-25% 5-25% 4-12% N/A 10% 10% 3% 

Auto Club Group Insurance 
Company 10, 14% N/A 3, 5, 17% 19-25% 14% 13-59% N/A 10% N/A 

Auto Club Insurance Association 
10, 14% N/A 3, 5, 17% 19-25% 14% 13-59% N/A 10% N/A 

Auto-Owners Insurance Company 
20%-35% 5% 5%-10% 2%-25% 5%-13.5% 0%-66.7% 25% 5%-10% N/A 

Bankers Standard 20-30% 5% 5-15% N/A 10% N/A N/A N/A 3-5% 
Bristol West Preferred Insurance 
Company N/A N/A N/A 3%-33% 5%-9% N/A 8% N/A 1%-7% 

Central Mutual Insurance Company 
20-30% N/A 5-15% 7-50% 10-25% % 25% 8-11% N/A 

Cincinnati Insurance Company N/A N/A 5-15% N/A N/A N/A N/A 7-15% N/A 
Citizens Insurance Company of 
America 20% 5% 5-25% 19% 13% 1-55% N/A N/A N/A 

Discounts apply to certain coverages only. An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount. 



 

   
 

  

 

  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 2019 Auto Buyers Discount Chart 

Company Air Bags 
Anti Lock 

Brakes Anti Theft 
Multi 

Vehicle 
Multi 

Policy 

Credit Based 
Insurance 

Score 
Student Away 

at School 
Good 

Student 
Claim or Ticket 

Free 
Citizens Insurance Company of the 
Midwest N/A N/A 1% 0-24.1% 0-25.1% 0-75.4% 0-7.8% 0-11.3% N/A 

Electric Insurance Company 20-30% 5 5-15% N/A 10% N/A N/A 10% 2-10% 
Encompass Indemnity Company 

30% 5% 5-15% 0-36% 0-11% 0-52% 18% 15% 13% 

Encompass Property and Casualty 
Company 30% 5% 5-15% 0-43% 0-25% 0-60% 20% 12% N/A 

Esurance Insurance Company 10%-30% N/A 10% 5%-27% 5% 1%-68% N/A 10% N/A 
Esurance Property and Casualty 
Insurance Company 10%-30% N/A 5% 1%-22% 15% 2%-65% N/A 10% 10%-20% 

Everest National Insurance 
Company N/A N/A 1% 1% N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Farm Bureau General Insurance 
Company of Michigan N/A N/A 5-20% 14-22% 8-20% 1-63% 1-26% N/A 4-8% 

Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance 
Company of Michigan N/A N/A 5-20% 14-22% 8-20% 1-63% 1-26% N/A 4-8% 

Farmers Insurance Exchange 
N/A N/A N/A 0%-30.8% 2%-20% N/A 10% 1-21.3% 7%-19% 

Federal Insurance Company 20% 5% 5-15% N/A 10%-15% N/A N/A N/A N/A 
Frankenmuth Mutual Insurance 
Company 0-7.5% N/A N/A 5-25% 12% 0-49% 20% N/A 0-15% 

Fremont Insurance Company 20-35% 5% 5-20% 20% 20-25% 0-56% 11-27% 10% 3-9% 
Grange Insurance 0-10% N/A 0-8% 0-35% 15-25% 0-68% 0-13% 6-24% 9-16% 
Great Northern Insurance Company 

20% 5% 5-15% NA 10%-15% NA NA NA NA 

Discounts apply to certain coverages only. An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount. 



 

   
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

 

 

 2019 Auto Buyers Discount Chart 

Company Air Bags 
Anti Lock 

Brakes Anti Theft 
Multi 

Vehicle 
Multi 

Policy 

Credit Based 
Insurance 

Score 
Student Away 

at School 
Good 

Student 
Claim or Ticket 

Free 
Harleysville Lake States Insurance 
Company 5% 5% 5% 25% 10-15% 12-56% 12-51% 10-15% 10-15% 

Harleysville Lake States Insurance 
Company 5% 5% 5% 25% 10-15% 12-56% 12-51% 10-15% 10-15% 

Hartford Accident & Indemnity 
Company 4-7% N/A 1% N/A 5% N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Hartford Casualty Insurance 
Company 5-10% 1% 1% 1-30% 5% N/A N/A N/A 5% 

Hartford Insurance Company of the 
Midwest 5-10% 1% 1% 1-30% 5% N/A N/A N/A 5% 

Hartford Underwriters Insurance 
Company 6-11% N/A 1-2% N/A 3-10% 1-17% 23% 12-18% N/A 

Hastings Mutual Insurance 
Company 15% 5% 5%-15% 25% 1%-15% 1%-35% 10% 10% 3%-15% 

Home-Owners Insurance Company 
20%-35% 5% 5%-10% 2%-25% 5%-13.5% 0%-66.7% 25% 5%-10% N/A 

Horace Mann Insurance Company 
N/A 0% 5% 17.5%-

22% 2%-20% 0%-56.1% 28.9% 5% 0% 

Horace Mann Property and Casualty 
N/A 0% 5% 7.2%-10% 2%-16% 0%-56.1% 13.3% 5% 0% 

IDS Property Casualty Insurance 
Company 0-20% 0-3% 0-10% 0-26.8% 4-25% 0-77.2% 0-30% 0-20% 0-20% 

Integon National Insurance 
Company (INIC) N/A N/A 10% 2%-41% 1%-25% 0% -73% 8%-10% 8%-10% N/A 

Integon National Insurance 
Company (JumpStart Program) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Discounts apply to certain coverages only. An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount. 



 

   
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 2019 Auto Buyers Discount Chart 

Company Air Bags 
Anti Lock 

Brakes Anti Theft 
Multi 

Vehicle 
Multi 

Policy 

Credit Based 
Insurance 

Score 
Student Away 

at School 
Good 

Student 
Claim or Ticket 

Free 
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company 20%-30% 10% 5-25% 5-17% 2% 1-90% N/A 25% 5% 

LM General Insurance Company 
20% 5-7% 9-25% 5-9% 1-5% 1-96% 1-22% 1-22% N/A 

LM Insurance Corporation 20% 5-7% 9-25% 5-9% 1-5% 1-96% 1-22% 1-22% N/A 
Meemic Insurance Company N/A N/A 3-8% N/A 10% 0-75.3% N/A 5-10% N/A 
MemberSelect Insurance Company-
Group Program 5% 5% 10, 15% 0-64% 0-35.4% 10-87.5% 10-19% 10-19% 15-53% 

Metropolitan Direct Property and 
Casualty Insurance Company 20-40% 5% 5-10% 4-33% 4-10% N/A 10% 0-14% 0-20% 

Metropolitan Group Property and 
Casualty Insurance Company 20-40% 5% N/A 7-25% 5-20% N/A N/A 5-9.5% 0-15% 

Metropolitan Property and Casualty 
Insurance Company 20-40% 5% 5-10% 4-33% 4-10% N/A 10% 0-14% 0-20% 

MIC General Insurance Corp 
(MICG) N/A N/A 10%-20% 10%-20% N/A 0%-72% N/A N/A 1%-15% 

Michigan Insurance Company 5% 5% 5%-20% 25% 18% 11%-44% 25% 18% 5%-20% 
National General Insurance 
Company-Value (NGIC Value) N/A N/A 0%-10% 2%-35% 5%-10% 0%-62% 8%-10% 8%-10% N/A 

National General Insurance 
Company (NGIC) N/A N/A 10%-20% 10%-20% N/A 0%-70% N/A N/A N/A 

Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company 20-30% N/A 5% 14-20% 3-21% 0-59 10% 0-35% 15% 

Northern Mutual Insurance Co 15-25% N/A 5-15% 20% 15% 24-53% 30% 15% NA 

Discounts apply to certain coverages only. An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount. 



 

   
 

  

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 2019 Auto Buyers Discount Chart 

Company Air Bags 
Anti Lock 

Brakes Anti Theft 
Multi 

Vehicle 
Multi 

Policy 

Credit Based 
Insurance 

Score 
Student Away 

at School 
Good 

Student 
Claim or Ticket 

Free 
Pacific Indemnity Insurance 
Company 20% 5% 5-15% NA 10%-15% NA NA NA NA 

Pharmacists Mutual Insurance 
Company 20-30 5% 5-15% 0-35% 15-25% 0-66% 25% 0 0-30% 

Pioneer State Mutual Insurance 
Company 5% 5% 5-20% N/A 18-22% 19-60% 25% 12% 5-10% 

Privilege Underwriters Reciprocal 
Exchange 30% 3% 5%-25% 25% 5%-10% 3%-21% 20% 10% 10%-15% 

Progressive Marathon 10% N/A 5% 3-11% 0-17% 0-66% 3-5% 3-5% 1-6% 
Progressive Michigan 10% N/A 5% 4-17% 0-13% 0-63% 3-5% 3-5% 1-6% 
Property and Casualty Insurance 
Company of Hartford 6-11% N/A 1% N/A 5% 1-30% N/A 15% N/A 

Safeco Insurance Company of 
Illinois N/A N/A 3% 12-36% 5-14% 0-73% 8-20% 0-16% 5% 

SECURA Insurance, A Mutual 
Company N/A N/A 10% 12% 5% 1-55% 17% 1-20% 11% 

SECURA Supreme Insurance 
Company N/A N/A 10% 12% 5-20% 1-60% 17% 1-20% 11% 

State Auto Mutual Insurance 
Company 0-30% 5% 5-25% 5-15% 10-15% 0-77% 10% 5-10% N/A 

State Auto Property and Casualty 
Insurance Company N/A N/A 3-5% 2-13-% 2-22% 0.8-83.8% 10% 8% N/A 

State Farm Fire and Casualty 
Company 0-15% 0-20% 5-10% 4-30% N/A 0-88% 10-60% N/A N/A 

State Farm Mutual Automobile 
Insurance Company 0-15% 0-20% 5-10% 4-30% 5-22% 0-88% 10-60% 8-19% 10-25% 

Discounts apply to certain coverages only. An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount. 



 

   
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 2019 Auto Buyers Discount Chart 

Company Air Bags 
Anti Lock 

Brakes Anti Theft 
Multi 

Vehicle 
Multi 

Policy 

Credit Based 
Insurance 

Score 
Student Away 

at School 
Good 

Student 
Claim or Ticket 

Free 
The Standard Fire Insurance 
Company 30% N/A 5-20% 5-25% 10% N/A N/A 20% N/A 

The Travelers Indemnity Company 
of America 30% N/A 5-20% 5-25% 10% N/A N/A 20% N/A 

Trumbull Insurance Company 6-11% N/A 1-2% N/A 3-10% 1-17% 23% 12-18% N/A 
United Services Automobile 
Association 10%-15% N/A 15%-20% 2%-13% N/A N/A 2%-25% 1%-10% 17% 

USAA Casualty Insurance Company 
10%-15% N/A 15%-20% 2%-13% N/A N/A 2%-25% 1%-10% 17% 

Vigilant Insurance Company 20% 5% 5-15% NA 10%-15% NA NA NA NA 
Westfield Insurance Company 20-30% 5% 5-15% 0-20% 10% n/a 10-25% 15% NA 
Wolverine Mutual Insurance 
Company 1-14% % N/A 10-25% 20% 5-55% N/A 8% 5-10% 

Discounts apply to certain coverages only. An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount. 
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