
Michigan’s Auto Insurance Law Has Changed

The information contained in the following publication pertains to auto
insurance policies issued on or before July 1, 2020. Publications about auto
insurance policies issued on or after July 2, 2020 are available at
michigan.gov/autoinsurance.

For more information about the new auto insurance law and how it will affect
you, please visit: www.michigan.gov/AutoInsurance.
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Auto Insurance: Are You Eligible? 
 

A Michigan insurance law called the Essential 
Insurance Act guarantees that auto and home 
insurance will be available to all eligible 
Michigan citizens.  The law says that you are 
eligible for auto insurance if you have a car 
registered, or to be registered, in Michigan OR 
have a valid Michigan driver’s license.  
However, there are times when a company can 
refuse to insure you. 
 
Reasons for Denial 
You can be turned down for insurance if: 
 
1. You are not required by law to have no-fault 

insurance because you do not intend to live 
or drive in Michigan for 30 or more days. 

 
2. Within the past 5 years, you have been 

convicted of trying to defraud an insurance 
company, or have been denied payment of 
a claim over $1,000 because there is 
evidence of fraud on your part. 

 
3. Within the past 3 years, you have been 

found guilty of a felony with a motor vehicle, 
driving under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs, failing to stop at the scene of an 
accident, or reckless driving. 

 
4. The car you want to insure does not meet 

Michigan motor vehicle safety requirements. 
 
5. Within the past 2 years, your auto insurance 

has been canceled because of non-
payment of premium.  This can be 
overlooked if you pay your entire premium 
in advance. 
 

6. The insurance you want to buy requires you 
to be a member of a group, club or 

organization and you do not join the 
organization. 

 
7. Your driving record causes you to have 

more than the allowable number of eligibility 
points. 

 
8. You do not meet the requirements of a 

company’s underwriting rules. 
 
9. Your license to operate a vehicle is under 

suspension or revocation. 
 
Your Driving Record Makes a Difference 
Insurance companies will assign you insurance 
eligibility points for certain traffic violations and 
accidents.  THESE POINTS ARE NOT THE 
SAME AS THOSE ON YOUR OFFICIAL 
DRIVING RECORD, but are simply a guide to 
help the company decide whether you are 
eligible for auto insurance. The chart on the 
next page shows how insurance eligibility points 
are assigned. 
 
You can be denied insurance if you have more 
than six (6) eligibility points from violations 
within the past 3 years. 
 
Company Guidelines 
Insurance companies also use certain 
guidelines, called underwriting rules, to help 
decide whether they will insure you.  These 
rules may be different for each company, but 
each company must apply its rules in the same 
way to everyone.  For example, a company 
may refuse to insure you if it does not have a 
rate for your type of car, if your car is very 
expensive to repair or replace (such as custom 
or antique cars). 
 



 

  

[FIS-PUB 0204]                    Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services | 877-999-6442 | www.Michigan.gov/DIFS  [11/19] 
 

Most drivers in Michigan will be able to get 
insurance under the Essential Insurance Act. If 
you are unable to find insurance through a 
regular company, or can only find it at an 
extremely high price, you may want to ask your 
agent to apply to the Michigan Automobile 
Insurance Placement Facility.  The facility was 
created to offer insurance to persons who have 
difficulty finding coverage through regular 
companies. IF YOU ASK, AND ARE 
QUALIFIED, YOUR AGENT MUST SUBMIT 
AN APPLICATION TO THE FACILITY FOR 
YOU. 
 
If a Company Refuses to Insure You 
 
1. You are entitled to a written explanation of 

the reasons for the refusal. 
 
2. If you think the reasons are incorrect, you 

are entitled to a private, informal conference 
with a management representative of the 
company. 

3. If, after this conference, you are still not 
satisfied, you can request the matter be 
reviewed by the Department of Insurance 
and Financial Services (DIFS).  DIFS is the 
state department that regulates insurance in 
Michigan. 

 
If You Are Eligible 
 
1. Shop around for the best combination of 

price, coverage and service. If the company 
or agent you go to doesn’t offer you the 
insurance you want or need, go somewhere 
else. 

 
2. Your agent should provide you a premium 

quote from among the companies he or she 
represents. You may also want to ask about 
the rate charged by the Michigan 
Automobile Insurance Placement Facility. 

 

 

 

Insurance Eligibility Points 
  
Violation  Points Assigned 

Driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit (careless driving) .............................. 4 

Driving 11-15 mph over the speed limit ...................................................................... 3 

Driving 10 mph or less over the speed limit ................................................................ 2 

Driving 15 mph or less over the speed limit on freeways which used to have a 

    Maximum speed of 70 mph .................................................................................... 2 

Other moving violations ............................................................................................. 2 

The first accident in which you are more than 50% at fault ........................................ 3 

The second and all following accidents in which you are more than 50% at fault ....... 4 
 
 
How to Get More Information 

If you have questions about your auto insurance, contact the agent or company.  If they cannot 
answer your questions, contact DIFS at the address or telephone number below. 
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About DIFS  
The mission of the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure access to 

safe and secure insurance and financial services fundamental for the opportunity, security and success 
of Michigan residents, while fostering economic growth and sustainability in both industries. In addition, 
the Department provides consumer protection, outreach, and financial literacy and education services 
to Michigan citizens. For more information please contact DIFS at 877-999-6442 or visit 
www.michigan.gov/DIFS. 
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