Michigan's Auto Insura nce La Has Changed

The information contained in the following publication pertains to auto
insurance policies issued on or before July 1, 2020. Publications about auto

insurance policies issued on or after July 2, 2020 are available at
michigan.gov/autoinsurance.

For more information about the new auto insurance law and how it will affect
you, please visit: www.michigan.gov/Autolnsurance.
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Insurance Information for Michigan Consumers

Riding a Motorcycle in Michigan

Anyone operating a motorcycle in Michigan must
purchase liability coverage through a licensed
insurer. Motorcycle insurance is not the same as
the no-fault benefits you are required to purchase
to operate an automobile. In fact, motorcycles are
specifically excluded as a motor vehicle under
Michigan’s no-fault law and are not entitled to no-
fault benefits except in certain accidents (see
below). It is important to understand the
differences between automobile and motorcycle
insurance to ensure you are protected.

Definition of a Motorcycle

The Michigan Insurance Code defines a
motorcycle as a vehicle with a saddle or seat, no
more than three wheels, and has a motor that
exceeds 50 ccs. A motorcycle does not include a
moped or off-road vehicle.

Insurance Coverage

Liability coverage provides protection against
bodily injury or death suffered by another person
or damage your motorcycle does to other
people’s property.

Michigan law requires motorcyclists to purchase
at least a minimal amount of liability coverage,
which includes:

e $20,000 for a person who is hurt/killed in
an accident

e $40,000 for each accident if several
people are hurt/killed

e $10,000 for property damage

Higher limits may be purchased to provide
additional protection. Consider discussing your
options with a licensed insurance agent or
insurer.

An insurer selling a motorcycle policy in Michigan
must offer the choice to purchase optional
medical benefits. These medical benefits provide
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coverage to a motorcyclist if they are injured in an
accident where no other insurance coverage is
available. Medical benefits can be purchased in
increments of $5,000; however, the limit of
coverage available is up to each insurer.

Under the Michigan Vehicle Code, an individual
operating a motorcycle is required to wear a
helmet unless they carry at least $20,000 of
medical benefits coverage. In addition, a
motorcyclist must have at least $20,000 of
medical benefits for each rider choosing not to
wear a helmet, unless the rider carries their own
medical benefits coverage of at least $20,000.

An insurer may offer other optional coverages,
such as collision and comprehensive coverage, to
insure physical damage to the motorcycle.
Discuss your options with a licensed insurance
agent or insurer.

Coverage in the Event of an Accident

If a motorcyclist is injured in an accident involving
an insured motor vehicle, the motorcyclist is
entitled to receive Personal Injury Protection
(PIP) benefits from the insurer of the motor
vehicle. PIP benefits include reasonably
necessary medical expenses, wage replacement,
survivors’ loss benefits and up to $20 per day in
replacement services benefits.

If a motor vehicle is not involved in the accident,
an injured motorcyclist would seek benefits
through their health plan or the medical coverage
purchased with their motorcycle insurance.

If you have questions about motorcycle
insurance, the Department of Insurance and
Financial Services (DIFS) is here to help. Call us
toll free at 877-999-6442.
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About DIFS

The mission of the Michigan Department of
Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure
access to safe and secure insurance and
financial services fundamental for the opportunity,
security and success of Michigan residents, while
fostering economic growth and sustainability in
both industries. In addition, the Department
provides consumer protection, outreach, and
financial literacy and education services to
Michigan citizens. For more information please
contact DIFS at 877-999-6442 or visit
www.michigan.qgov/DIFS
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