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Consumer Counselor 
Financial Information for Michigan Consumers 

Deferred Presentment: “Payday Loans” 

A Deferred Presentment Service Transaction, often referred to as a payday loan, is a transaction where 

a customer borrows money for a service fee. No interest is charged on this transaction. The borrower 

writes a check payable to the lender for the amount the person wants to borrow, plus the fee they must 

pay for borrowing. The lender gives the borrower the amount of the check, minus the fee, and holds the 

customer’s check for a period of time (typically until the next payday) before presenting the check to the 

customer’s bank, hence the name “deferred presentment.”  

Fees 

A payday loan can be a very expensive form of credit. Payday loans are not intended to meet long-term 

financial goals. Under Michigan law, a borrower can have two payday loans open at any one time, but 

not more than one loan with the same payday lender. The maximum payday loan a borrower can 

receive is $600.00.  

A service fee and/or a database fee of $0.61 can be charged by the payday lender. Below is a table 

that breaks down how much the payday lender can charge per $100 along with how it will be 

calculated.   

Service Fee Amount of $ 

15% 1st  $100 

14% 2nd  $100 

13% 3rd  $100 

12% 4th  $100 

11% 5th  $100 

11% 6th  $100 

 

 

All payday lenders must be licensed by the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services 

(DIFS), except for state and nationally chartered banks and credit unions. To verify if a lender is 

licensed, visit the DIFS Licensee Locators at https://DIFS.State.MI.US/Locators or call 877-999-6442.    

Loan Amount Fee calculated at: Fee total: 

$100 $15 $15 

$250 15 + $14 + $6.50 $35.50 

$600 $15+$14+$13+$12+$11+$11 $76 

https://difs.state.mi.us/Locators
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Repayment Period 

Borrowers have until the end of the contract period to repay the loan and any applicable fees. If the 

loan and fees are not paid on time, the lender may deposit the borrower’s personal check that was 

given at the time of the application.   

 

Repayment Plan 

If you have entered into eight deferred presentment transactions in any 12-month period and are 

unable to repay those loans, you are entitled to request a repayment plan that will allow you to pay off 

those loans in installments. The cost to enter a repayment plan is $18.69, and plans are split into three 

payments based on your pay date. Once in a repayment plan, a borrower cannot take out another loan 

until the repayment plan is fulfilled. If the borrower is unsure how many loans they have entered into 

during the past 12 months, DIFS can verify this information for the consumer by calling 877-999-6442.  

If a borrower does not qualify for a repayment plan, they should work with their payday lender to see if 

any other options are available. Please note, the lender is not obligated to offer alternative options.  

 

Scams 

Be careful of “online payday lenders.” These lenders are typically not licensed to do business in 

Michigan and generally charge interest rates well above the legal interest rate limits allowed in the 

state.   

 

More Information 

For more information on payday loans, review the Deferred Presentment Service Transactions FAQs 

on DIFS website at Michigan.gov/DIFS or call 877-999-6442 to request a copy. If you believe a payday 

lender has violated the law, you should contact the lender in writing detailing your concerns and provide 

documentation supporting your complaint. Upon receipt of your complaint, the lender has three days to 

respond and notify you of its decision. Borrowers may also file a complaint with DIFS if they are unable 

to resolve their concerns when working directly with the payday lender by calling toll free 877-999-6442 

or online at Michigan.gov/DIFScomplaints.   

 

About DIFS 

The mission of the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure access to 

safe and secure insurance and financial services fundamental for the opportunity, security, and success 

of Michigan residents, while fostering economic growth and sustainability in both industries. In addition, 

the Department provides consumer protection, outreach, and financial literacy and education services 

to Michigan residents. For more information please contact DIFS at 877-999-6442 or visit 

Michigan.gov/DIFS. 
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