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Homeowners Insurance Policies: How to Claim What is Yours 
 

If your house burns down, your roof is damaged, 
or your home is burglarized, you may be able to 
make a claim against your insurance policy.  
Under the Michigan Insurance Code, you have 
important rights governing the payment of 
benefits from your insurance company.  

A policyholder has the following 
responsibilities after a loss: 
 
1. Notify your insurance company or agent as 

soon as possible if you have a claim. 
 
2. Take reasonable action to minimize the loss 

or damage, such as boarding up or covering 
damaged property, replacing a broken lock, or 
notifying the police in the event of a theft.  

 
3. Cooperate with the insurance company, as 

required by the policy, including providing any 
reasonable information the company asks for 
as proof of your claim.    

 
4. Provide the insurance company with an 

inventory of any damaged personal property 
showing the quantity, description, actual cash 
value, and total amount of the loss. 

 
Upon receipt of your claim, your insurance 
company must do the following things: 
 
1. Tell you within 30 days of filing your claim, 

what information is needed to begin 
processing your claim (proof of loss).  
 

2. Must pay your claim within 60 days after they 
have received proof of loss. If they fail to pay 
within 60 days, the claim is considered 
overdue. Interest is owed on  

 

 
the amount overdue at the rate of 12 percent 
simple interest.  

Call your agent or insurance company if you 
have questions about your claim: 
Once your claim is submitted, the insurance 
company will assign a claims adjuster to assist 
you with your claim. Questions regarding your 
claim can be directed to your adjuster. If you are 
concerned your homeowners insurance company 
is not paying your claim in a timely fashion or is 
unfairly denying your claim, the Michigan 
Department of Insurance and Financial Services 
(DIFS) is here to help. DIFS encourages you to 
first attempt to resolve your complaint directly 
with your homeowners insurance company. If a 
resolution cannot be reached, you may file a 
complaint with DIFS by calling our office toll free 
at 877-999-6442 or by filing a complaint online 
www.michigan.gov/DIFScomplaints.  
 
About DIFS  
The mission of DIFS is to ensure access to safe 
and secure insurance and financial services 
fundamental for the opportunity, security and 
success of Michigan residents, while fostering 
economic growth and sustainability in both 
industries. In addition, the Department provides 
consumer protection, outreach, and financial 
literacy and education services to Michigan 
citizens. For more information please contact 
DIFS at 877-999-6442 or visit 
www.michigan.gov/DIFS.  
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