Qualifications to be a Michigan Registered Forester

Excerpted from PA 116 of 2018 in Michigan

Sec. 53509.

(1) To be registered as a forester, an individual shall submit an application to the board on a form provided by the department. The application shall include all of the following:

(a) The name, address, telephone number, and electronic mail address of the applicant.

(b) Information demonstrating that the individual meets 1 or more of the following educational requirements:

(i) An associate of science degree in forestry from an SAF-accredited university program or board-approved program, plus 4 years of experience under the guidance of a registered forester, an SAF-certified forester, or a member of the Association of Consulting Foresters.

(ii) A bachelor's degree in forestry from an SAF-accredited university program or a boardapproved program, plus 2 years of forestry experience as described in subparagraph (i).

(iii) A bachelor's degree in a natural resource field from an SAF-accredited university program or a board-approved program, plus 2 years of forestry experience described in subparagraph (i).

(iv) A graduate degree in forestry from an SAF-accredited university program or a boardapproved program, plus 2 years of forestry experience described in subparagraph (i).

(c) References or endorsements from 3 registered foresters.

- (d) Verification of successful completion of any continuing education required by the board.
- (e) Other relevant information required by the board.

(2) The board shall grant or deny registration within 30 days after a complete application is filed and notify the applicant of its determination in writing. If an application is denied, the notification shall include the reasons for the denial. If the application is approved, the department shall issue a registration certificate and certification number to the applicant. The registration is valid for 2 years.

(3) To maintain registration as a forester, an individual shall do all of the following:

(a) Pay the department a fee of \$200.00 for the registration period. The first payment shall be made not more than 30 days after the application for registration is granted under subsection (2).

(b) Successfully complete not fewer than 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years as approved by the board.

(c) Demonstrate completion of continuing education requirements under subdivision (b) as a condition for registration renewal by submitting evidence of fulfillment to the board within 60 days of a request to do so.

(d) Maintain good standing with the board by complying with section 53515.