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In 2004, the Public Health Code, 1978 PA 368, as amended, was revised to authorize the 
Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) to charge construction permit and 
license fees for campgrounds.  These fees replaced the general fund tax dollars formerly used to 
fund the campground program.  This revision also authorized that the fees be adjusted every three 
years by an amount that reflects the cumulative annual percentage change in the Detroit consumer 
price index.  The sixth and most recent three-year change is in effect beginning 10/01/2022 with an 
increase of 16.2%. 
 
The adjusted Campground Construction Permit fee schedule is as follows and is effective through 
2025: 

Construction Permit Category Comment Adjusted Fee 
New Campground New Facility $881 
Campground Addition or Modification Existing Facility $329 

 
The EGLE Campground Construction Permit Application reflects this adjusted fee schedule.  The 
Construction Permit Application, directions, and the Campground Act and Rules are available on 
our webpage at Michigan.gov/EGLECampgrounds.  
 
The adjusted license renewal fee schedule is based on the number of campsites.  The following 
licensing fee schedule is effective through 2023, 2024, and 2025: 
 

License Fee Category Comment Adjusted Fee 
Annual Renewal for 5 – 25 sites Before December 31         $109 
Annual Renewal for 26 – 50 sites Before December 31 $146 
Annual Renewal for 51 – 75 sites Before December 31 $184 
Annual Renewal for 76 – 100 sites Before December 31 $221 
Annual Renewal for 101 – 500 sites Before December 31 $330 
Annual Renewal for >500 sites Before December 31 $734 

Late Annual Renewal In addition to above, 
after December 31 $100 

Transfer New Owner   $92 
 
License renewal applications and invoices are mailed to campground owners every mid-October. 
Please note that an additional $100 late fee is assessed after December 31. 
 
Local health departments are entitled to collect additional fees for services provided, such as 
campground inspections.  Please contact your local health department for inspection fee 
information or to request your annual inspection.  Please do not send local health department 
inspection fees to EGLE. 
 
These fee adjustments also apply to TEMPORARY CAMPGROUND LICENSES.  For additional 
information about temporary campgrounds, please visit our webpage and click the link entitled 
“Steps for Obtaining a Temporary Campground License.” 
 
 

https://www.michigan.gov/EGLE/About/Organization/Drinking-Water-And-Environmental-Health/Campgrounds
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If you need this information in an alternate format, contact EGLE-Accessibility@Michigan.gov or 
call 800-662-9278. 

EGLE does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital 
status, disability, political beliefs, height, weight, genetic information, or sexual orientation in the 
administration of any of its programs or activities, and prohibits intimidation and retaliation, as 
required by applicable laws and regulations.  Questions or concerns should be directed to the 
Nondiscrimination Compliance Coordinator at EGLE-NondiscriminationCC@Michigan.gov or 
517-249-0906. 

This form and its contents are subject to the Freedom of Information Act and may be released to 
the public. 

 


