Tick Bite Prevention in

Michigan’s Outdoors
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For more information about Lyme
disease, visit www.michigan.gov/lyme
or www.cdc.gov/lyme
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The map above shows areas in the state where
the tick that transmits Lyme disease has been

found. Preventing tick bites is the best way to
prevent disease.

How to prevent tick bites when hiking and camping

Ticks can spread disease, including Lyme disease. Protect yourself:

# Use repellent that contains 20 percent or more
DEET, picaridin, or IR3535 on exposed skin for
protection that lasts several hours.

#  Wear clothing that has been treated with
permethrin.

% Take a shower as soon as you can after coming
indoors.

#  Look for ticks on your body. See the image to the
right for areas that ticks tend to bite.

#  Put your clothes in the dryer on high heat for 60
minutes to kill any remaining ticks.

Feel for bumps and look for tiny brown spots, especially in these areas:
. Scalp 3. Underarms 5. Waist & Back 7. Pelvic Area

Ears 4. Belly Button 6. Behind Knees 8. In Between Legs

How to remove a tick

1. If atickis attached to you, use fine-tipped tweezers to grasp the tick
at the surface of your skin.

2. Pull the tick straight up and out. Don’t twist or jerk the tick—this can
cause the mouth parts to break off and stay in the skin. If this
happens, remove the mouth parts with tweezers if you can. If not,
leave them alone and let your skin heal.

3. Clean the bite and your hands with rubbing alcohol, an iodine scrub,
or soap and water.

4. You may get a small bump or redness that goes away in 1-2 days, like
a mosquito bite. This is not a sign that you have Lyme disease.

Note: Do not put hot matches, nail polish, or petroleum jelly on the tick to try to make it
pull away from your skin.

Removing ticks promptly
(within 24 hours of
attachment) can greatly
reduce your risk for tick-
borne disease.

When to see your doctor

See a doctor if you develop a fever, a rash, severe fatigue, muscle or joint
pain, or facial paralysis within 30 days of being bitten by a tick. Be sure to
tell your doctor about your tick bite. If you have these symptoms and
spent time outdoors where ticks may be found, it is important to get
treatment right away.

For more information please contact the Michigan
‘DI I I IS Department of Health & Human Services

Emerging & Zoonotic Infectious Disease Section

333 S. Grand Ave., 4t Floor, Lansing, MI 48933

Michigan Department of Health & Human Services  Telephone: 517-335-8165

Some materials in this publication have been adapted from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention publication # CSZ32422-DJ
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