




residential maintenance and alteration contractor who violates 601(1) or (2) may be 

subject to the following criminal penalties: 

(a) In the case of a first offense, a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not

less than $5,000.00 or more than $25,000.00, or imprisonment for not more

than 1 year, or both.

(b) In the case of a second or subsequent offense, a misdemeanor punishable

by a fine of not less than $5,000.00 or more than $25,000.00, or imprisonment

for not more than 2 years, or both.

(c) In the case of an offense that causes death or serious injury, a felony

punishable by a fine of not less than $5,000.00 or more than $25,000.00, or

imprisonment for not more than 4 years, or both.

RESPONDENT IS FURTHER ADVISED that the Department will refer this 

matter to the Michigan Department of Attorney General for review and possible 

action against Respondent, which may include criminal and administrative 

sanctions. 

Pursuant to section 506(2) of the Code, Respondent is entitled to a hearing 

before a hearings examiner if Respondent files a written request for a hearing 

within 30 days after the effective date of this order. The written request for a 

hearing shall be submitted to the Bureau of Construction Codes, Department of 

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 30254, Lansing, Michigan 48909. 

Failure to file a timely written request for hearing will waive Respondent's right to 

a hearing, and this order will become final. 
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