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BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. 

MICHIGAN RESIDENTIAL BUILDERS LICENSING GUIDE 
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING – RESIDENTIAL BUILDER OR MAINTENANCE & 
ALTERATION (M&A) CONTRACTOR 
 

 Complete 60 hours of approved prelicensure education courses which includes 
at least 6 hours in each subject below: 

 Business Management, Estimating, and Job Costing 
 Design and Building Science 
 Contracts, Liability, and Risk Management 
 Marketing and Sales 
 Project Management and Scheduling 
 The Michigan Residential Code 
 MIOSHA Construction Safety Standards 
 Other approved topics 

A list of the approved sponsors may be found at www.michigan.gov/builders. 

 Submit an online application at www.michigan.gov/mylicense or obtain an 
Individual Residential Builder and Maintenance & Alteration Contractor License 
Application on the Builders website at www.michigan.gov/builders.  

 Applicants must be of good moral character and provide a copy of driver’s 
license or personal identification card.  The fee due at the time of the 
application is $195. 

 Pass the required examination administered by PSI Services, LLC (PSI).  The 
cost of the examination varies based upon the number of sections to be taken. 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING – SALESPERSON 

 Pass the required examination administered by PSI Services, LLC (PSI).  The 
cost of the examination is $81. 

 Submit an online application at www.michigan.gov/mylicense or obtain a 
Salesperson License Application at www.michigan.gov/builders.  

 Applicants must be of good moral character and provide a copy of driver’s 
license or personal identification card.  The fee due at the time of the 
application is $195. 

 
*Records unavailable from a foreign country in relation to education or experience shall 
be allowed upon submitting the following to the department: 
 
(a) A notarized affidavit approved stating the total number of years of education 
received, the name of the school or schools attended, the dates each school was 
attended, the degree obtained, the courses taken, the grades received, and the names 
of each former employer. 

http://www.michigan.gov/builders
http://www.michigan.gov/mylicense
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_Builder_LBL10_496450_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_Builder_LBL10_496450_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_Builder_LBL10_496450_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_Builder_LBL10_496450_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/builders
http://www.michigan.gov/mylicense
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_Builder_LBL011_496455_7.pdf?20151023134603
http://www.michigan.gov/builders
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(b) A notarized statement approved from a governmental official testifying to the 

unavailability of the necessary records. 

 

 

1. When does this new pharmacy technician law come into effect? 
 

This new law is in effect beginning December 22, 2014. 
 

 

2. Am I required to be licensed as a pharmacy technician in order to engage in the 
practice of pharmacy in Michigan? 

 

Yes, the law requires that all pharmacy technicians have a Michigan license to engage in the 
practice of pharmacy in this state.  
   
 

3. Does the new law contain any prohibitions? 
 

If you are performing services cited in MCL 333.17739, then you must obtain a pharmacy technician license.  For more 

detailed information, please refer to the following link:  http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-333-17739-added 

 

4. When can I start the application process? 
 

December 22, 2014. Applications will be made available beginning on the effective date of the law.   

 

5. Where can I download application forms?     
 

Please visit our website link:  

http://michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_63294_63303---,00.html 

Under heading “Licensed Health Professions” click the drop down list and select “Pharmacy.”  Look for the Pharmacy 

Technician applications under the heading “Licensing Applications and Forms.”  

 

6. Is there a deadline when the pharmacy technicians are required to be licensed? 
 

Pharmacy Technicians are required to be licensed on the effective date of the legislation that 
is December 22, 2014.  The Department will work diligently to process applications as quickly 
as possible. 

 

 

7. What license types are available?  
 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-333-17739-added
http://michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_63294_63303---,00.html

