

Bureau of Community and Health Systems PO Box 30664 ● Lansing, MI 48909 Telephone: (517) 335-1980

www.michigan.gov/BCHS

LARA-BCHS-Qualified-Interpreter@michigan.gov

RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR A MICHIGAN INTERPRETER CERTIFICATION (This Form Should Not Be Used For Initial Certification)

Type or Print Clearly/Complete All Fields					
First Name	Middle Name		Last Name		
U.S. Social Security #		Date of Birth			
·					
Address					
City		State	Zip Code	County	
,			,	,	
Telephone Number		Email Address	Email Address		
Please choose the Regions you may acc	cept assignments for	or:			
☐ All; ☐ Region I; ☐ Region II; ☐ Region	n III; □ Region IV; I	□ Region V; □ Reg	ion VI; □ Regi	on VII; □ Region VIII	
□Out-Of-State					
List any other name or alias by which you ha	ve ever been known,	including maiden nar	ne, if applicable:		
CHECK THE OBTAINED BY METHOD			FOR OFFICE USE ONLY		
		Certification		Processed:	
Michigan Certification Annual Renewal Fe	ee \$30.00 7301-01			Flocessed.	
		#			
Late Michigan Certification Renewal Fee	\$45.00 7301-01				
Reinstatement Fee	\$170.00 7301-01				
	Ψ170.00 7301-01				
	\$170.00 7301-01				
	\$170.00 7301-01				
	\$17 0.00 7501-01				
	\$17 0.00 7501-01				
	\$17 0.00 7501-01				
	\$170.00 7501-01				
	\$170.00 7501-01				
	\$170.00 7501-01				
Your check or money order, drawn from a U					

LARA/BCHS-INTERPRETER RENEWAL (05/21)

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability, or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency

judgement of guilt in a crimina	al proceeding or a civil action ag se is not reasonably related to t	and open manner. If I have had a ainst me, I am rehabilitated or the he occupation or profession for	☐ YES ☐ NO			
in any degree, felonious assa or elder exploitation?	ult or battery, armed robbery, ex	laughter, criminal sexual conduct ktortion, larceny, embezzlement,	☐ YES ☐ NO			
current time you have the al are rehabilitated, or that the	bility to, and are likely to, serv substance of the former offe	urt records AND documentation whick re the public in a fair, honest, and ope nse is not reasonably related to the oc tation may include a certificate of em	n manner, that you ccupation or			
If yes, please include VRI con	· ·		☐ YES ☐ NO			
4. If the response was "yes" to Standard requirements?	o question 3 above, has your co	mpany complied with Michigan VRI	☐ YES ☐ NO			
		Online Interpreter System based on the d with your name and credentials?	☐ YES ☐ NO			
EIPA credentialed, certified in	nterpreters may perform secon	tary or secondary education interpreting	☐ YES ☐ NO			
ANNUAL PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES The Bureau will not credit any units which do not include hard copies of Certificates of Attendance, signed Letters of Attendance, or an RID transcript. Please attach all required documentation for all applicable credentials. Note: This does not apply to a renewal applicant with an RID crediental unless they have an endoresment.						
Course Title	Date (M/D/Y)	CEU TYPE (Professional/Ethics/General)	Number of CEUs			

Required Additional Documents:

All Applicants

- If you would like to add a credential (RID, EPIA or BEI) to your Michigan certification during renewal, please complete the Michigan Interpreter Certification Application from our website, www.michigan.gov/bchs, and attach that application to your renewal application. An additional fee is not required to add a credential during renewal.
- If you have more than one credential on your Michigan certification and you do not want to renew one of them, please attach a separate sheet explaining which credential you do not want to renew on your Michigan certification.
- To add an endorsement a separate application and fee is required.

Applicants with a BEI Credential

- You must submit evidence of earning at least 2.0 CEUs (20 hours) of continuing education. Only submit continuing
 education necessary to fulfill this year's renewal requirements. Certificates of attendance, signed letters of
 attendance, or an RID transcript must be submitted as proof that the continuing education has been completed. If
 an RID transcript is submitted, please highlight or indicate on the transcript which courses are being used to fulfill
 the continuing education requirement.
- A renewal application postmarked after the certification expiration date must include a check or money order for \$45 (\$30 renewal fee and the \$15 late fee). If a complete renewal application is not postmarked within 90 days from the certification expiration date, the certificate holder must retake the BEI performance examination before a renewal application can be processed.

Applicants with an RID Credential

- Submit a copy of your valid, renewed, RID membership card showing the credential(s) you possess.
- A renewal application postmarked 45 days or less after the certification expiration date must include a check or money order for \$45 (\$30 renewal fee and the \$15 late fee). A complete renewal application postmarked more than 45 days after the certification expiration date, must include a check or money order for \$170 (\$30 renewal fee, \$15 late fee, and \$125 reinstatement fee).

Note: You must renew your RID membership with the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf before renewing your Michigan certification.

Applicants with an EIPA Credential

- You must submit evidence of earning at least 2.0 CEUs (20 hours) of continuing education. Only submit continuing
 education necessary to fulfill this year's renewal requirements. Certificates of attendance, signed letters of
 attendance, or an RID transcript must be submitted as proof that the continuing education has been completed. If
 an RID transcript is submitted, please highlight or indicate on the transcript which courses are being used to fulfill
 the continuing education requirement.
- A renewal application postmarked 45 days or less after the certification expiration date must include a check or money order for \$45 (\$30 renewal fee and the \$15 late fee). A complete renewal application postmarked more than 45 days after the certification expiration date, must include a check or money order for \$170 (\$30 renewal fee, \$15 late fee, and \$125 reinstatement fee).

CERTIFICATION

- I certify that the statements in this application are true and complete. I understand that any omitted statement, misrepresentation, or fraud may be cause for denial of my application, disciplinary action, or may be punishable by law.
- I agree to abide by the NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct, the EIPA Guidelines of Professional Conduct for Educational Interpreters, Version August 1, 2007, and will comply with the rules and regulations for state certification and conduct of an interpreter.

Applicant's Signature	Date	