
MICHIGAN NURSING FAQS

Bureau of Professional Licensing
Nursing FAQs

1. What licenses are available?

Registered Nurse (RN)
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

Specialty Certifications (LPNs are not eligible to receive a specialty certification)

Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)*
Nurse Midwife (NM)*
Nurse Practitioner (NP)*
Nurse Anesthetist (NA)

*Denotes an advanced practice RN (APRN).

2. Is there a Nursing Practice Act in Michigan?

Michigan does not have a stand-alone act called the Nurse Practice Act. Instead, 
Michigan has an act that regulates the practice of nursing along with 25 other health 
occupations, is formally titled the Occupational Regulation Sections of the Michigan Public 
Health Code, PA 368 of 1978.

Helpful Links:

• Article 15, Part 172 of the Public Health Code
• Article 7 for Advanced Practice Nurses
• Administrative Rules

3. How do I verify my Michigan RN or LPN license?

If you hold a Michigan nursing license and wish to apply by endorsement to another 
state, you may order a verification of licensure to be sent to a participating nursing 
regulatory body (NRB) by visiting www.nursys.com. There is a $30.00 fee per license 
type, for each NRB where you are applying. For additional information regarding 
requesting a verification of licensure through NURSYS, please contact NURSYS at 866- 
819-1700.

All other official license verification requests must be obtained from the Michigan Board 
of Nursing. You may submit your request via the MiPLUS system. There is a $15.00 
fee for certification processing for each address you list. Please note, if you submit both 
a USPS mailing and an email address for the same board, you will be charged $30 since 
you have requested your certification to go to two different addresses. Normal 
processing time is approximately 3-5 business days.
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4. How long are RN and LPN licenses valid? Can I renew my license early?
How will I know when I need to renew?

Your initial RN/LPN license is good for 2 years. All subsequent renewals will also be 
valid for 2 years.

You will be mailed and emailed a renewal notification postcard to your mailing and email
addresses on record approximately 90 business days prior to the expiration date of your 
license. Remember to notify the Department of any address change by completing a 
MiPLUS modification. It is your responsibility as a licensed health professional to renew 
your license on time. Failure to receive the renewal postcard or email notification,
or to notify to Department of an address change does not exempt you from
renewing your license on time.

You can renew online by logging into your MiPLUS account at
http://www.michigan.gov/MiPLUS. You may pay your renewal fee by using a debit or 
credit card containing a Discover, MasterCard, American Express, or Visa logo.

5. Is there a grace period for my renewal?

Yes, there is a 60-day grace period in which you may renew your license without having 
to go through the relicensure process. However, there is an additional $20.00 late fee if 
you renew your license in the 60-day grace period.

6. How many continuing education hours are required?

Michigan nurses are required to earn 25 hours of continuing education within the 2-year 
period preceding the date of renewal. At least 2 of these hours must be in pain and pain 
symptom management. No more than 12 credit hours may be earned during a 24-hour 
period.

PLEASE NOTE: Nurses who hold specialty licenses may have additional 
requirements. Please refer to the Administrative Rules for Health Professionals for 
more detailed information.

7. I am a new nurse. Do I need to complete continuing education (CE)?

If your initial Michigan RN or LPN license was issued on or after May 8, 2024, you are  
required to complete CEs for your first renewal.

8. Do I need to submit proof of my continuing education?

The Board does not maintain a record of continuing education earned. You are required 
to maintain your own records and keep documentation on hand for a minimum of 4 years. 
You are not required to submit continuing education information when you renew your
license. The Board conducts a random audit after each renewal period. At that time, a 
percentage of all licensees who renewed will be randomly selected and notified by mail 
that they must submit evidence of having earned the required education.  If you are
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selected for the audit, then you will be required to submit copies of the CE certificates 
you earned. (Please retain your originals.)

9. Do I need to submit my nursing specialties when I renew my license?

You are required to maintain certification by each national certifying body for which you 
are certified. The Board conducts a random audit after each renewal period. At that 
time, a percentage of all licensees renewing will be randomly selected and notified by 
mail that they must submit evidence of current certification. If you are selected for the 
audit, you will be required to submit copies of your certificate(s) you earned. (Please
retain your originals.

10. Where can I find approved CE courses?

The Michigan Board of Nursing will accept any continuing education program or activity 
if it is approved or offered for CE credit by any of the following organizations:

• American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)
• American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
• Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) 
• American College of Nursing Midwives (ACNM)
• The American Medical Association (AMA)
• American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
• American Osteopathic Association (AOA)
• National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists
• National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service, Inc

(NAPNES)
• National League for Nursing (NLN)
• Another state or provincial board of nursing
• A continuing nursing education program offered by a nursing education 

program that is approved by the Board under Administrative Rule R
338.10303a

11. What is the difference between a CEU and a contact hour?

A contact hour consists of 50-60 minutes. A continued education credit and a contact 
hour are the same.

A Continuing Education Unit (CEU) consists of ten (10) contact hours/credits.

You are required to earn 25 continuing education credits/contact hours or 2.5 CEUs in 
each 2-year licensure cycle.
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12. There have been changes to the Public Health Code and Administrative
Rules that require licensees and individuals seeking licensure to complete 
human trafficking training. When does this take effect?

Beginning with the March 31, 2018 renewal cycle and all renewal cycles thereafter, 
licensees must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking that 
meet the standards established in Administrative Rule 338.10105.

Beginning January 6, 2022, individuals seeking initial licensure in Michigan must have 
completed Human Trafficking Training prior to obtaining a nursing license.

The Human Trafficking Training is a one-time training and is not part of the continuing 
education requirement but may be satisfied via a continuing education activity. The 
Board conducts a random audit after each renewal period. At that time, a percentage 
of all licensees renewing will be randomly selected and notified by mail that they must 
submit evidence of having obtained their human trafficking training. If you are selected 
in an audit, then you will be required to submit a copy of your human trafficking training 
documentation. (Please retain your original.)

13. Does my training on Identifying Victims of Human Trafficking count
towards my CE hours?

No. This is a separate requirement from your CE requirement. 

14. There have been changes to the Public Health Code and Administrative
Rules that require licensees and individuals seeking licensure to complete
implicit bias training. When does this take effect?

Beginning June 1, 2022, completion of 2 hours of implicit bias training within the 5 years 
immediately preceding issuance of the license or registration is required.

For initial renewals completed after June 1, 2022, completion of one hour of implicit bias 
training is required for each year of licensure since June 1, 2021. Once the initial 
renewal is completed, then 1 hour of implicit bias training will be required for each year 
of the current license cycle going forward. Please note, this training must be
completed for each renewal cycle prior to the renewal being completed.

The Board conducts a random audit after each renewal period. At that time, a 
percentage of all licensees renewing will be randomly selected and notified by mail that 
they must submit evidence of having obtained their implicit bias training. If you are 
selected in an audit, then you will be required to submit a copy of your implicit bias 
training documentation. (Please retain your original.)

15. Does my Implicit Bias Training count towards my CE hours?

If otherwise permitted by the code and rules, this training may be used to satisfy other 
training or continuing education requirements.
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16. How do I contact CGFNS?

The Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) may be contacted by 
mail or telephone at:

CGFNS
3600 Market Street, Suite 400
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2651

(215) 222-8454

You may have more success reaching CGFNS if you call early in the day. The CGFNS 
call center is open from 9:30 AM – 3:00 PM, Monday – Friday, Eastern Time. You may 
also contact CGFNS at http://www.cgfns.org/. There is a "Contact Us" form on the 
website that is used to send email to CGFNS. This form can be accessed through the 
"Contact Us Wizard" at https://www.cgfns.org/cerpassweb/processContactUs.do.

17. How do I contact Josef Silny & Associations, Inc. International Education
Consultants (JS&A)?

JS&A may be contacted by mail or telephone at:

Josef Silny & Associations, Inc. International Education Consultants
7101 SW 102 Avenue

Miami, FL 33173
(305)273-1616

Business hours are Monday-Friday, 9:00 AM- 4:00 PM, Eastern Time. You may email 
them at info@jsilny.org. Further information may be obtained by visiting www.jsilny.org.

18. If I am a Canadian nurse, do I need to have my education evaluated?

Verification is required that the applicant is a graduate of a registered professional nurse 
education program or an equivalent education program that is outside the United States and 
he or she graduated from a program with substantially equivalent education credentials as 
a program approved by the board by having one of the following submitted directly to this 
office for review:

§ A Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) professional report from the Commission on
Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS)

§ A certification from the CGFNS Certification Program (CP)

§ An Evaluation of Foreign Educational Credentials for Boards of Nursing from Josef Silny
& Associations, Inc. International Education Consultants (JS&A).

An applicant shall be exempt from obtaining an evaluation or certification of his or her 
educational credentials through CGFNS or JS&A if he or she is a graduate of a Canadian
Registered Nurse program in Canada, has passed the NCLEX-RN examination, and 
establishes he or she graduated from a program with substantially equivalent
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educational credentials as a program approved by the board by submitting proof of 
program accreditation by the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing. You are 
required to have your Canadian nursing transcript submitted.

If you are a licensed, Canadian nurse who is required to take the NCLEX, then you may 
apply for a temporary license until you have taken the NCLEX. A temporary license is 
good for up to one year, allowing enough time to take the NCLEX one time and have 
your results submitted to this office as part of your application.

19. When can I take the NCLEX exam?

You must register to test for testing with Pearson Vue Professional Testing and pay your 
examination fees for the NCLEX. However, please be aware that eligibility to take the 
test is determined by the Department. Pearson Vue will notify the Department when you 
have applied to take the test. The Department will notify Pearson Vue when your 
application is complete, and you are eligible to sit for the test.

You will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) from Pearson Vue that allows you to
make your appointment to sit for the exam. You will also receive a list of available testing
sites. The test is administered daily at various Pearson Vue Professional Centers sites 
in each state. You may test at any site listed in any state, regardless of where you have 
applied to be licensed.

20. How do I apply for NCLEX?

You can apply via the web or telephone:

• Website: Register at www.pearsonvue.com/nclex
• Telephone: (866) 496-2539 (toll free) Monday-Friday, 7am through 7pm, Central

Standard Time, or (952) 905-7403 (pay number)

21. How many times can I take the NCLEX?

There is no limit on the number of times you may sit for the NCLEX. You must pass the 
NCLEX within 3 years of the date of your graduation or after obtaining 1 of the required 
evaluations or certifications required in R 338.10204(2)(C) or R 338.10210(2)(C). If you 
fail, you will have to wait for 45 days before you can re-test. Once you pay and re- 
register with Pearson Vue, you will be sent an ATT with a 90-day window which will not 
begin until the 45th day has passed from your previous testing date. If you do not pass 
the NCLEX within 3 years as required above, you will have to complete a certification of 
skills competency or submit a written request to the Board of Nursing for an extension.

22. When will I receive my test results?

Your test scores are usually transmitted to our office within 3 to 5 business days after you 
have taken the exam. You will not receive your results from our office if you pass the 
exam. However, once you pass the exam, if your application is in order, you will receive 
your license. If you fail the NCLEX exam, you will receive your results from our office. 
You may also visit www.vue.com/nclex, and pay $7.95 to receive your unofficial results.
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23. What is the passing score on the NCLEX?

There is no fixed percentage. Scores are reported on a pass/fail basis. The score is
determined by comparing the individual's performance to an established standard for safe 
and effective entry-level nursing practice. Visit the National Council of State Boards of 
Nursing's website at www.ncsbn.org for more information.

24.  Are Testing Accommodations available for the NCLEX?

ADA Accommodations are available for the NCLEX. Candidates who require pre-approved 
accommodations must submit the following items:

• Complete the Michigan RN or LPN application through your MiPLUS Account and
Pearson VUE registration

• Submit the following documentation:

o A statement from the applicant specifying the accommodations being requested. If 
requesting additional time, please indicate the amount of time requested (If double
time is requested, the NCLEX would be taken over two days).

And

o A letter from an appropriate health professional confirming the diagnosis and
recommendation

Or

A letter from the nursing program (school) stating the testing accommodations the 
applicant received

• When submitting accommodations, please register for the NCLEX at the same time. Not
registering with Pearson VUE for the NCLEX will cause a delay in the accommodations
being approved. After being made eligible to test, Pearson VUE will email your 
Authorization to Test (ATT), which will list any approved accommodations. Do not
schedule your test until you receive an ATT email confirming your approved 
accommodations.

• Accommodation requests may be emailed to BPLHELP@michigan.gov or uploaded to
your licensing application through your MiPLUS account.

If you have questions about requesting testing accommodations or how to submit the 
necessary documentation, please call (517) 241-0199 or email BPLHELP@michigan.gov.
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25. What is an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)?

Pursuant to MCL 333.17201(a), an “advanced practice registered nurse” is a registered 
nurse who has been granted a specialty certification under MCL 333.17210 in one of the 
following health profession specialty fields: nurse midwifery, nurse practitioner, or clinical 
nurse specialist.

26. What are the prescribing rights for an APRN?

Profession General Prescribing
Authority

Controlled Substance

APRNs

• Clinical Nurse
Specialist

• Nurse Midwife

• Nurse
Practitioner

Nonscheduled prescription drugs
can be prescribed without
delegation.

Also, can receive and dispense 
complimentary starter dose drugs
without delegation from a
physician.

Permitted to write a prescription for a 
controlled substance, schedules 2-5 
under the delegation of a physician.

The prescription must have the names 
and DEA #s of both the APRN and the
delegating doctor.

If  a  complementary starter  dose
containing a controlled substance is 
involved, the APRN and delegating 
physician’s name and DEA registration
number must be linked to the
prescription.

Because they are writing controlled 
substances under delegation, APRNs 
do not get their own CS license – they 
need only obtain a DEA registration
number.

Under the Board of Medicine rules, 
there must be a written delegation
agreement between the APRN and the
doctor when dealing with controlled
substances.
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27. When did the Clinical Nurse Specialist Certification become available?

The Michigan Board of Nursing promulgated rules on March 8, 2018, which established 
the qualifications for training and competency of the health specialty field of Clinical Nurse 
Specialist.

The following words, titles, or letters or a combination of the word, titles, or letters with or 
without qualifying words or phrases, are restricted in use only to those persons authorized 
under Part 172 of the Public Health Code to use the terms: “Clinical Nurse Specialist”, 
“C.N.S.”, “Clinical Nurse Specialist-Certified”, and “C.N.S.-C.” This restriction began on 
March 8, 2019.

28. How do I file a complaint against a health care professional?

Information on how to File an Allegation Against a Health Care Licensee can be located 
on  the  Bureau  of  Professional  Licensing’s  website  at  www.michigan.gov/bpl.

29.  Where can I find a copy of the administrative rules pertaining to Nursing?

You may view the Michigan Board of Nursing’s current Administrative Rules on the 
Bureau of Professional Licensing’s website at www.michigan.gov/bplrules

30.  How can I contact the Board of Nursing, Licensing Division?

Email Questions BPLHELP@michigan.gov 
Submit Documents BPLDATA@michigan.gov 

Phone (517) 241-0199

Mailing Address
Bureau of Professional Licensing
Board of Nursing
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI  48909
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