# MICHIGAN CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE INDIVIDUAL LICENSING GUIDE

# **OVERVIEW:**

The controlled substance license type allows a licensee to manufacturer, distribute, prescribe, or dispense any controlled substance in Michigan as described in Article 7 of Public Act 3.68 of 1978, as amended.

NOTE: The content contained below is a general overview of licensing requirements. Links to access the Public Health Code and Administrative Rules for this profession can be found at the end of this guide.

# LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST

(Listed below are the minimum requirements needed to obtain a controlled substance license.)

## **APPLICATION AND FEES**

- Online Application for a Controlled Substance License Complete all fields, answer all questions and upload any supporting documentation.
- Online application can be completed by visiting <a href="www.michigan.gov/miplus">www.michigan.gov/miplus</a>, select MiPLUS Login, select "Modification" next to your license number and then select "Controlled Substance Application."
- Controlled substance license can also be applied for when completing the online application for a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), Dentist, Medical Doctor, Optometrist with DPA and TPA Certification, Osteopathic Physician, Pharmacist, Physician's Assistant, Podiatrist, and Veterinarian. If you do not apply for a controlled substance license on your professional license application, you must wait for the professional license to be issued before applying for a controlled substance license.
- Application Fee for Controlled Substance License (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, Discover or American Express credit or debit card.):

The controlled substance license runs concurrently with your professional license. The appropriate fee will be applied based on the next expiration date of your professional license.

0-12 months – \$93.70 13-24 months – \$176.40

25-36 months - \$259.10

Revision Date 6/7/24 Page 1 of 3

#### MICHIGAN CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE INDIVIDUAL LICENSING GUIDE

- The following professions are eligible for a controlled substance license:
  - Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists
  - Dentists
  - Medical Doctors
  - Optometrists with DPA and TPA Certification
  - Osteopathic Physicians
  - Pharmacists (Note: A pharmacist needs only one controlled substance license to dispense from any licensed pharmacy.)
  - Physician's Assistants
  - Podiatrists
  - Veterinarians

Note: Advanced Practice Registered Nurses are not eligible for a Michigan controlled substance license.

## THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO ALL APPLICANTS

- A controlled substance license is required for every person who manufacturers, distributes, prescribes, or dispenses any controlled substance in Michigan as described in Article 7 of Public Act 3.68 of 1978, as amended. A separate controlled substance license is required for each business location from which you manufacture, distribute, or dispense controlled substances. If you only prescribe controlled substances at more than one location, you only need one controlled substance license. All practitioners, and veterinarians who dispense controlled substances in Schedules 2-5 must report this prescription data to the Michigan Automated Prescription System (MAPS) as stated in Board of Pharmacy Rules 338.3162d. **Your controlled substance license will expire on the same date as your professional license.**
- Opioids and Controlled Substances Awareness Training An individual seeking a controlled substance license or who is licensed to prescribe or dispense controlled substances must have completed training in opioids and controlled substances awareness that meets the standards established in the Board of Pharmacy Controlled Substances Administrative Rules, R 338.3135 prior to being issued a license.
- Good Moral Character Questions Documentation will be required if you answer "yes" to either question to show at the current time you have the ability to, and are likely to, serve the public in a fair, honest and open manner, that you are rehabilitated, or that the substance of the former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which you are seeking a license.

#### ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE APPLYING FOR RELICENSURE

A controlled substance license may not be relicensed. You may apply for a new controlled substance license when applying for relicensure of your primary license. If only your controlled substance license has lapsed, you may apply for a new controlled substance license by visiting <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">www.michigan.gov/miplus</a>, select <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">Miplus</a>, select <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">Www.michigan.gov/miplus</a>, select <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">Wiplus</a>, select <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">Www.michigan.gov/miplus</a>, select <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">Wolfication</a>" next to your license number and then select <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/miplus">Controlled Substance</a>
Application."

Revision Date 6/7/24 Page 2 of 3

# MICHIGAN CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE INDIVIDUAL LICENSING GUIDE

# RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST

- Your controlled substance license may only be renewed in conjunction with your professional license. This application can be completed by visiting <a href="www.michigan.gov/miplus">www.michigan.gov/miplus</a>. If you do not wish to renew your controlled substance license, you must uncheck the "renew cs" box next to the license you do not wish to renew on the renewal application.
- Controlled Substance Renewal Application Fee (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, Discover or American Express credit or debit card):
  - 1-Year license cycle \$82.70
  - 2-Year license cycle \$165.40
  - 3-Year license cycle \$248.10
- □ Renewal Cycle: 1-3 years depending on the licensure cycle of the professional license.
- Opioids and Controlled Substances Awareness Training By the end of the renewal cycle that begins after January 4, 2019, all controlled substance licensees or individuals who are licensed to prescribe or dispense controlled substances must certify on their renewal application prior to renewing their license that they have completed training in opioids and controlled substances awareness that meets the standards established in Administrative Rule 338.3135.

# **HELPFUL RESOURCES AND FORMS**

By visiting <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/healthlicense">www.michigan.gov/healthlicense</a> and clicking on the pharmacy link you can access the following helpful resources and forms:

## Resources:

- Public Health Code
- □ Administrative Rules for Pharmacy

Revision Date 6/7/24 Page 3 of 3