MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS

CORPORATIONS, SECURITIES & COMMERCIAL LICENSING BUREAU
CORPORATIONS DIVISION
P. O. Box 30054
Lansing, Michigan 48909

MICHIGAN NONPROFIT CORPORATION FILING INFORMATION

After the Articles of Incorporation are filed, additional documents may be required, under the Michigan Nonprofit Corporation Act, 1982 PA 162, to implement the corporation's intended changes.

Any substantive questions regarding legal rights and responsibilities in connection with the corporation should be discussed with your private legal counsel.

When Articles of Incorporation are filed, the Bureau assigns the corporation a nine-digit ID number and this number is included on the endorsement page. Please use this ID number on any correspondence or documents submitted to this office.

ANNUAL REPORT: When to File, Fees, and Penalties

Due: On or before October 1 of each year beginning the year after incorporation. Required by <u>Section 911</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2911.

Fee: \$20.00. Enclose check or money order payable to the "State of Michigan" when submitting report by mail or pay with credit card when filing online.

Forms: A preprinted annual report, CSCL/CD-2000 is mailed to the corporation's resident agent at the registered office approximately three months prior to the due date. If the Corporation has opted to receive electronic notices, the email notice is sent to the resident agent email address on record. Online filing is available about 90 days before the report's due date. Contact the Bureau if an additional preprinted annual report is needed. Retain a copy of the completed report for your records.

Filing: The report can be filed online at www.michigan.gov/corpfileonline or mail the annual report with the \$20.00 fee to P.O. Box 30767 Lansing MI 48909. Annual reports may also be delivered in person to our office located at 2501 Woodlake Circle, Okemos, MI.

Penalty: If a corporation fails to submit their annual report or pay the related fee within two years of the due date of the report, the corporation automatically dissolves by operation of law. To renew the corporation's existence, the corporation must complete and submit the reports for the last 5 years, or lesser number of years in which reports were not filed and paying the annual fee for all the years for which they were not paid, plus a penalty of \$5.00 for each delinquent report.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

<u>Public Act 222 of 2008</u>, effective July 16, 2008, amended the Nonprofit Corporation Act. The amendment requires the board of directors to consist of three or more individuals. The board of a nonprofit corporation in existence on July 16, 2008 must have a board consisting of three or more directors by January 16, 2009. For nonprofit corporations formed after July 16, 2008, the initial board of directors and subsequent boards must consist of three or more directors. <u>Public Act 557 of 2014</u>, effective January 15, 2015 further amended to act to provide that a corporation formed to provide care to a dentally underserved population under section 16625 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16625, shall consist of 1 or more directors.

In addition, <u>Section 922</u> of the Act was amended to require a "charitable purpose corporation" to provide notice to the Attorney General within 60 days of an automatic dissolution under Section 922. Prior to disposing of any of its assets, a dissolved charitable purpose corporation must obtain written approval from the Attorney General. "Charitable purpose corporation" is defined in <u>Section 106(1)</u> of the Act.

CHARITABLE SOLICITATIONS AND HOLDING CHARITABLE ASSETS

Corporations formed for charitable purposes may need to be licensed to solicit donations and/or if holding charitable assets to be registered as a charitable trust with the Michigan Attorney General, Charitable Trust Section. Professional Fund Raisers must also be licensed.

Charitable purposes include such things as benefiting the poor, caring for the sick, supporting education or libraries, erecting public buildings, or otherwise lessening the burdens of government, supporting civic organizations to perform good works, promoting the welfare of the community or some class forming a part of the community.

Corporations exempt from licensing and/or registration may include ecclesiastical corporations, certified schools, and licensed hospitals.

For further information and application or registration forms contact the Michigan Department of Attorney General, Charitable Trust Section, P.O. Box 30214, Lansing, MI 48909 or visit their web site at www.michigan.gov/ag or call (517) 335-7571.

Certificate of Change of Registered Office and/or Change of Resident Agent

All corporations are required to continuously maintain a registered office and resident agent in Michigan. Annual report forms, notices, and other official communications are directed to the corporation's resident agent and registered office. Resident agent and/or registered office changes can be made on a Certificate of Change of Resident Agent and/or Registered Office, CSCL/CD-520, or on an annual report. A document must be filed in order to change the resident agent or registered office, permitted by Section 242 of the Act, MCL 450.2242. The fee for a Certificate of Change is \$5.00. No additional fee is required for a change made on an annual report.

Additional documents

After incorporation you may wish to make changes to the corporation's name or purposes, adopt an assumed name, or dissolve the corporation.

Certificate of Assumed Name, <u>CSCL/CD-541</u>, permitted by <u>Section 217</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2217 Fee - \$10.00.

A corporation may conduct its affairs under any assumed name or names other than its corporate name, if the assumed name is not precluded by <u>Section 212</u> of the Act. The Certificate of Assumed Name is effective when endorsed "filed" by the Bureau.

Certificate of Amendment to the Articles of Incorporation, <u>CSCL/CD-515</u>, permitted by <u>Section 631</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2631. Fee - \$10.00.

Certificate of Amendment for Ecclesiastical Corporations, <u>CSCL/CD-516</u>, permitted by <u>Section 182</u> of the General Corporation Act, MCL 450.182. Fee - \$10.00.

A corporation may amend its Articles of Incorporation to change its corporate name, to change its corporate purposes, to change the duration of the corporation, or to otherwise amend its Articles of Incorporation if the amendment contains only such provisions as might lawfully be contained in the original Articles of Incorporation. A corporation cannot add, remove, or otherwise change the incorporators by amending the Articles of Incorporation.

Restated Articles of Incorporation, <u>CSCL/CD-511</u>, permitted by <u>Section 642</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2642. Fee - \$10.00.

Restated Articles of Incorporation for Ecclesiastical Corporations, <u>CSCL/CD-512</u>, permitted by <u>Section 642</u> of the Nonprofit Corporation Act and <u>Section 182</u> of the General Corporation Act, MCL 450.182. Fee - \$10.00.

A corporation may integrate into a single document the provisions of its Articles of Incorporation and at the same time may also further amend its Articles of Incorporation by adopting Restated Articles of Incorporation. When the Restated Articles become effective, the corporation's original Articles of Incorporation, as amended, are superseded, and the Restated Articles shall be the Articles of Incorporation of the corporation.

Certificate of Correction, <u>CSCL/CD-518</u>, permitted by <u>Section 133</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2133 Fee - \$10.00.

A Certificate of Correction may be filed to correct any previously filed document if the document being corrected was an inaccurate record of the corporate action referred to in the document or was defectively or erroneously executed, or if the document was electronically transmitted and the electronic transmission was defective.

Certificate of Merger/Consolidation, <u>CSCL/CD-550</u>, permitted by <u>Section 707</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2707. Fee - \$50.00 per Michigan Corporation.

Two or more corporations can merge into one corporation or combine themselves into a new corporation by adopting a Plan of Merger or Consolidation and filing the appropriate form CSCL/CD-550.

Conversion

Certificate of Conversion, <u>CSCL/CD-554</u> permitted by <u>Section 745</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2745. Fee - \$50.00 for the conversion plus fees for the new business organization as applicable.

A Michigan corporation can convert into a business organization which means a domestic or foreign limited liability company, limited partnership, general partnership, or any other type of domestic or foreign business enterprise, incorporated or unincorporated, except a domestic business corporation, foreign corporation, or foreign business corporation.

The Certificate of Conversion for a nonprofit charitable purpose corporation must be accompanied by a consent from the Department of the Attorney General. To obtain the consent, contact the Department of Attorney General, Charitable Trust Section, P.O. Box 30214, Lansing, MI 48909 or call (517) 335-7571.

Certificate of Dissolved Entity

A corporation is dissolved whenever any of the following occurs:

(a) A Certificate of Dissolution is filed. Fee - \$10.00.

<u>CSCL/CD-530</u>, permitted by <u>Section 803</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2803. By incorporators or directors before commencement of affairs and issuance of shares if the corporation has no debts or other liabilities.

<u>CSCL/CD-531</u>, permitted by <u>Section 804</u> of the Act, MCL 450.2804. By directors, members, or shareholders or <u>Section 805</u> pursuant to an agreement under <u>Section 488</u>. Within 60 days after submitting the Certificate of Dissolution, tax clearance must be requested from the <u>Michigan Department of Treasury</u>, Tax Clearance Division, Lansing, MI 48922, (517) 636-5260.

The Certificate of Dissolution for a nonprofit charitable purpose corporation must be accompanied by a consent from the Department of the Attorney General. To obtain the consent, contact the Department of Attorney General, Charitable Trust Section, P.O. Box 30214, Lansing, MI 48909 or call (517) 335-7571

- (b) The period of duration stated in the Articles of Incorporation expires.
- (c) Failure to file an annual report or pay any fee thereon for a period of two years from the due date.
- (d) A judgment of dissolution is entered by a court.

HOW TO SUBMIT DOCUMENTS FOR FILING TO THE BUREAU

Online

Submit documents online at www.michigan.gov/corpfileonline.

Mail

Mail to the Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau, Corporations Division, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909-7554.

In person

Submit in person at 2501 Woodlake Circle, Okemos, MI. Office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, Monday through Friday, except <u>holidays</u>.

Contact information

Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau, Corporations Division PO Box 30054

Lansing, Michigan 48909-7554

Corporations Division Phone Number	. (517) 241-6470
Corporations Division Fax Numbers	
Doc Review/Annual Filings	. (517) 241-2711
Division Director	. (517) 241-9722

24-HOUR, SAME DAY, 2-HOUR, AND 1-HOUR EXPEDITED SERVICE FOR DOCUMENTS

Public Acts 217-220, effective January 1, 2006, signed by Governor Granholm on November 21, 2005, follows Delaware and permits the customer to obtain review and filing of their document, if fileable, within the time frame that best suits the customer's needs. Expedited service is available for all documents for profit corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships and nonprofit corporations. Complete a separate Expedited Service Request, form CSCL/CD 272, for each document for which expedited service is being requested.

24-Hour service: Any document concerning an existing entity Formation documents and applications for certificate of authority	
Same day, other than 1 or 2 Hour, must be received by 1 p.m. EST or EDT Existing domestic entity or qualified foreign entity Formation documents and applications for certificate of authority	
2 Hour on same day as request, must be received by 3 p.m. EST or EDT	\$500
1 Hour on same day as request, must be received by 4 p.m. EST or EDT	\$1000

RESOURCES/CONTACT INFORMATION

SUBJECT	DEPARTMENT/AGENCY	PHONE NUMBER	WEB ADDRESS
State Taxes	Michigan Department of	(517) 335-7508	www.michigan.gov/treasury
	Treasury		
Federal Taxes, Employer	Internal Revenue Service	(800) 829-1040	www.irs.gov
Identification Numbers (EIN),			
Tax Exempt Status – 501(c)(3)			
Unemployment Insurance	Department of Labor and	(800) 638-3994	www.michigan.gov/uia
	Economic Opportunity		
Workers Compensation	Department of Labor and	(888) 396-5041	www.michigan.gov/wca
	Economic Opportunity	/- /- /	
Doing Business with the State	Michigan Department of	(517) 373-6227	www.bid4michigan.com
of Michigan	Technology, Management and		
	Budget		
State License Search			www.michigan.gov/statelicensesearch
Guide to Starting a Small	Michigan Economic	(888) 522-0103	www.michiganadvantage.org/Start-a-
Business	Development Corporation		Business/Default.aspx
State Trademarks & Service	Department of Licensing and	(517) 241-6470	www.michigan.gov/corporations
Marks	Regulatory Affairs,		
	Corporations, Securities &		
	Commercial Licensing Division,		
<u> </u>	Corporations Division	()	
Federal Trademarks & Service		(800) 786-9199	www.uspto.gov
Marks	Trademark Office (USPTO)		
License to Solicit	Michigan Attorney General,	(517) 373-1152	www.michigan.gov/charities
Funds/Registration as	Charitable Trust Section		
Charitable Trust			

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.