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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

FOR MICHIGAN PHARMACISTS 
Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended 

This form is for information only 

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for every Pharmacist licensed to practice in Michigan. 

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require every pharmacist who has held their license for a full two-year period, to 
complete, during the 2-year period prior to the renewal of the license, at least 30 hours of board-approved continuing education, with at least  
1 (one) hour in pain management and not less than 10 (ten) hours in live programs or courses.  Pursuant to this requirement, the Board of Pharmacy has 
promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the Board’s approval of continuing education courses and programs.   

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 

The continuing education requirements apply to every Pharmacist renewing a Michigan license that held the license for more than 1 year immediately 
preceding the date of the license renewal.  The requirements apply whether or not the Pharmacist is actively engaged in the practice of Pharmacy.  No 
one is exempt from this requirement. 

Each pharmacist who was originally licensed in Michigan more than 1 year but less than 2 years before the renewal date shall have accumulated 15 hours 
of board-approved continuing education, with at least 1 (one) of those hours in pain management.   

Each Pharmacist who has been licensed for a full two-year period before the application for renewal is required to complete 30 hours of board-approved 
continuing education, with at least 1 (one) hour in pain management and no less than 10 (ten) hours in live programs or courses.  Live courses or 
programs must provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants, including but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, and 
workshops. 

A pharmacist may not earn more than 12 (twelve) hours of CE in one day.  A pharmacist must possess certificates confirming CE credits that were 
awarded prior to the pharmacist submitting the renewal application.  Every Pharmacist who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting 
the completion of continuing education.  Those documents should be retained for a period of 4 years after the renewal of the license. 

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application.  The Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services will conduct an audit at the conclusion of the renewal period.  Pharmacists chosen for audit through an 
automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of 15 or 30 hours of continuing 
education credit. 

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 15 OR 30 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS. 



A Pharmacist who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the Michigan 
Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions:  reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, 
restitution, and fine. 

Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates that indicate name of licensee, program dates and number of 
designated hours.  Further information about programs with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by contacting the accredited 
sponsor.  “Contact hour” is the same as one 50-60 minute or (1) credit hour. 

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE 

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration 
date. 

Pharmacists applying for relicensure must provide evidence of the completion of 30 (thirty) hours of board-approved continuing education earned within the  
two-year period immediately preceding the application for relicensure.    

R 338.3044 - COMPUTATION OF CREDIT HOURS. 

Rule 4 (1) If an organized continuing education course or program is offered in segments of 50 to 60 minutes each, 1 hour of credit shall be given for each 
such segment.  A pharmacist shall not be granted multiple credits for the same program of continuing education in the same licensure renewal period. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned and the date. 

(2) A pharmacist may earn 1 hour of continuing education credit for each hour devoted to an approved self-instructional program. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned and the date. 

(3) Two hours of continuing education may be earned for each hour spent actually presenting a course or program, which has been approved for continuing 
education credit.  A presenter shall not be granted multiple credits for the same program of continuing education in the same licensure period.  

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the presentation notice or advertisement showing the date and his/her name listed as a 
presenter. 

(4) Twelve hours of continuing education credit may be earned for each 1 academic quarter hour of postgraduate study in a course approved for continuing 
education credit given by an academic institution approved by the Board. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a transcript showing credit hours of the academic courses related to Pharmacy. 

(5) Eighteen hours of continuing education credit may be earned for each 1 academic semester hour of postgraduate study in a course approved for continuing 
education credit given by an academic institution approved by the board. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the transcript showing credit hours of the academic courses related to Pharmacy. 



R338.3043 EDUCATION COURSES AND PROGRAMS 

(4) The American Council on Pharmaceutical Education may certify a sponsor whose course or program was developed and presented in compliance with 
R338.3042 sub-rule (3).  The Board may accept such certification as prima facie proof that a course meets the standards as set forth in R338.3042 sub-rule (3). 

(5) A sponsor of a course or program that does not fall within sub-rule (4) may submit an application for approval. 

R338.3045 EQUIVALENTS: PHARMACISTS RESIDING OR PRACTICING IN OTHER STATES. 

Rule 5 (1) An applicant for renewal who resided or practiced in another state that required substantially equivalent continuing education for renewal may obtain 
renewal of the Michigan license upon verification of licensure in the other state. 

(2) An applicant for renewal who resided or practiced in another state that does not fall within sub-rule (1) may obtain renewal of the Michigan license upon proof 
that the applicant acquired continuing education substantially equivalent to what is required by these rules. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of current license that was renewed in another state, proof of continuing education requirements 
that were met to renew that license, and proof of practicing and residing in that state. 

Completion of the required continuing education activities must be independently verified by an official source other than the licensee. 

RENEWAL PROCEDURES 

Pharmacy licenses are renewed every 2 (two) years.  Submission of the renewal certifies that the continuing education requirements are met.  If the continuing 
education renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application cannot be submitted.  Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace 
period after completion of continuing education requirements, with the renewal fee and the additional $20.00 late fee.  If a waiver is necessary, an application 
should be made after the licensee receives the renewal application in early May, but before the license expires on June 30.  Licensees who have not been granted 
waivers should allow their licenses to expire.  Application for relicensure may be made upon completion of the 30 (thirty) hour requirement within the two-year 
period immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure if license has been expired for no more than 3 years. 

Information, forms, and instructions for obtaining board approval can be obtained from the Credentials Section of the Bureau of Health Care Services, Department 
of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.  

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS 

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Pharmacy to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal applicant if, 
upon written application, the board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs was due to the licensee’s 
disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers 
good and sufficient.  Pursuant to this authority, the board has promulgated guidelines that set forth the policy the board will follow in granting a waiver.  
The guidelines provide for the following: 



DISABILITY:  The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall attest on the application that the disability 
no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of Pharmacy without limitation. 

MILITARY SERVICE:  The licensee shall have been practicing Pharmacy while in active service of the United States, shall have been licensed at the time 
of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his or her license be placed in military status to continue in effect without payment of 
the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code. 

ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES:  The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were not available within a reasonable 
distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at educational programs that substantially meet the 
requirements for approval by the board. 

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’S CONTROL:  For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence from the 
continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a waiver of the requirements. 

If the board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be proportional to the length 
of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, or involved in circumstances beyond the 
licensee’s control.  The board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived for a licensee whose circumstances 
changed in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements before license renewal. 

To summarize: 

* Each pharmacist who was originally licensed in Michigan more than 1 year but less than 2 (two) years before the renewal of the license, shall have 
accumulated 15 (fifteen) hours of board-approved continuing education, with at least 1 (one) of those hours in pain management.  Each Pharmacist 
who has been licensed for a full two-year period prior to the date of renewal of the license, is required to complete 30 hours of board-approved 
continuing education, with at least 1 (one) hour in pain management and no less than 10 (ten) hours in live programs or courses.  Live courses or 
programs must provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants, including but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, 
and workshops.  

* Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met. 

* Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code. 

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national 
origin, color, marital status, disability, or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American’s with 
Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency. 


