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Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer Licensing Requirements & General Information 
 
 A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license, as defined by MCL 436.1109(8), is issued 
by the Commission to a person located in Michigan to manufacturer mixed spirit drink 
products.  Pursuant to the Michigan Liquor Control Code, a Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer is treated as a wine maker under the administrative rules, but is subject to 
the rules applying to spirits manufacturing and labeling. 
 
 A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee may sell its mixed spirit drink products to 
licensed wholesalers for distribution to retailer licensees.  A Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer may sell its mixed spirit drink products to customers for consumption on or 
off the premises at a tasting room located on its manufacturing premises where it also 
holds an On-Premises Tasting Room Permit.  A Distiller or Small Distiller licensee that 
also holds a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license may sell mixed spirit drink products 
it manufactures under its Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license at a location where it 
holds an Off-Premises Tasting Room License or Joint Off-Premises Tasting Room 
License. 
 
Mixed spirit drink is defined in MCL 436.1109(7) as: 

(a) A drink that contains 10% or less alcohol by volume consisting of spirits mixed with 
nonalcoholic beverages or flavoring or coloring materials and that may also contain 
1 or more of the following: (a) water; (b) fruit juices; (c) fruit adjuncts; (d) sugar; (e) 
carbon dioxide; (f) preservatives. 

(b) A drink that contains more than 10% and not more than 13.5% alcohol by volume, 
consisting of spirits mixed with nonalcoholic beverages or flavoring or coloring 
materials and that may also contain 1 or more of the following: (a) water; (b) fruit 
juices; (c) fruit adjuncts; (d) sugar; (e) carbon dioxide; (f) preservatives.  Products 
that meet this definition must be filled in a metal can that cannot be readily closed 
after opening and cannot exceed 24 ounces in liquid capacity (refer to the TTB 
standards of fill under 27 CFR 5.47a for allowable container sizes for products containing 
distilled spirits). 

 
 

 

How to Apply 
 

All applicants requesting a new Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license, seeking to 
transfer ownership of a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license, or transferring interest 
(stock or membership interest) in a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license must submit 
the following: 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/27/5.47a


 
 

 

 
• Application Form 

For a new Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license or to transfer a Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer license - Manufacturer License & Permit Application (Form LCC-150) 
 
To transfer interest in a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license – License Interest 
Transfer Application (Form LCC-101) 
 

• Inspection Fee - A $70.00 nonrefundable inspection fee is required for each license 
requested in an application.  For example, if an applicant has requested a new Mixed 
Spirit Drink Manufacturer license in conjunction with a new Small Distiller license, the 
inspection fee would be $140.00. 
 

• Local Approval – If the applicant intends to sell mixed spirit drink products it 
manufactures under its Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license in an approved tasting 
room located on the manufacturing premises under an On-Premises Tasting Room 
Permit, it must obtain the approval of the local legislative body of the local 
governmental unit where it will be licensed.  The Manufacturer License & Permit 
Application (Form LCC-150) contains a Local Governmental Approval form (LCC-
106a) that can be used by the local governmental unit to approve or disapprove the 
request for the On-Premises Tasting Room Permit.  Local approval in not necessary 
for the Commission to consider approval and issuance of a Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer license when the applicant does not intend to sell its mixed spirit drink 
products to customers on the premises where it manufactures mixed spirit drink 
products and has not applied for an On-Premises Tasting Room Permit; however, 
applicants will still need to comply with any local ordinances specific to manufacturing 
operations. 

 
• License & Permit Fees – The initial and annual renewal fee for a Mixed Spirit Drink 

Manufacturer license is $100.00.  Additional fees will vary based upon whether 
additional licenses and permits are requested in conjunction with a Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer license.  If the Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license applicant plans 
to sell its mixed spirit drink products at retail on its manufacturing premises in a tasting 
room, it must also apply for an On-Premises Tasting Room Permit, for which the initial 
and annual renewal fee is $100.00. 
 

• Livescan Fingerprints – Applicants that have never been licensed through the 
Michigan Liquor Control Commission must submit fingerprints through the Livescan 
fingerprinting process - Livescan Fingerprint Background Request Form. 
 

• Property Document – Applicants must provide documentation that demonstrates 
they will have control over the property that comprises the proposed licensed 
premises.  Property documents include deeds, land contracts, and lease agreements. 
• A provision to reassign the license in the event of a default on a land contract or 

termination of a lease agreement may be included, but may only provide for the 
reassignment subject to Commission approval. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Manufacturer__Wholesaler_License__Permit_Application_LCC-150_515331_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC101_507422_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC101_507422_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Manufacturer__Wholesaler_License__Permit_Application_LCC-150_515331_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Manufacturer__Wholesaler_License__Permit_Application_LCC-150_515331_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/RI-030_LL_9-14_476741_7.pdf


 
 

 

• If the applicant is a company and its members or stockholders own the real estate 
as individuals or under another company, a lease agreement is needed. 

• If the applicant is an individual and he or she owns the real estate with a spouse 
or someone else who will not be named on the license, a lease between the 
applicant and the owners of the real estate is needed. 

 
• Federal Basic Permit – Applicants must provide a copy of the federal Basic Permit 

for spirits manufacturing issued by the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade 
Bureau (TTB) prior to issuance of the Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license.  This 
not required to be submitted at the time of application with the Commission, but should 
be applied for through the TTB as soon as possible, as the TTB process may take 
longer to complete than the Michigan licensing process. 
 

• Purchase Agreement – Applicants requesting to transfer a license from another 
licensee must submit an executed purchase agreement or other documentation 
signed by both the applicant and the current licensee, which details the sale of the 
liquor license(s) and other business assets. 

 
• Purchase agreements must specifically indicate that the liquor license is being 

sold and provide the purchase price and terms of the sale. 
• Purchasers of on-premises licenses must have at least 10% of the purchase 

price of the business, excluding real estate. 
• Purchase agreements that are not for cash only sales and include real estate 

must list the personal property, including the licenses, and real estate with the 
terms and price for each. 

• If the personal property and real estate are being purchased by separate people 
or entities, the purchase agreement must indicate those names and who is 
purchasing which items. 

• If the applicant will not pay the full purchase price at closing, the balance due 
may be covered by a security agreement or promissory note.  Alcoholic beverage 
inventory cannot be included on a security agreement or promissory note. 

 
In addition to the documents required by all applicants: 
 

Corporations must submit the following information per Administrative Rule R 
436.1109: 
• Copy of current, filed Articles of Incorporation. 
• Current Certificate of Good Standing from the state where incorporated and 

Certificate of Authority to Do Business in Michigan, if incorporated outside of this 
state. 

• Certified copy of the minutes of a meeting of its board of directors or a statement 
signed by an officer of the corporation naming the persons authorized by 
corporate resolution to sign the application and other documents required by the 
Commission (or Part 3 of Form LCC-301). 

• Report of Stockholders/Members/Partners (Form LCC-301) 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC301_507427_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC301_507427_7.pdf


 
 

 

Limited Liability Companies (LLC) must submit the following information pursuant 
to Administrative Rule R 436.1110: 
• Copy of Articles of Organization and copies of any amendments to the Articles of 

Organization. 
• Current Certificate of Authority to Do Business in Michigan, if the LLC is a non-

Michigan LLC. 
• Copy of Operating Agreement entered into by members. 
• Copy of most recent annual statement filed with the Corporations Division, if an 

existing LLC. 
• Statement signed by a manager of the limited liability company or by at least 1 

member if management is reserved to the members naming the person 
authorized to sign the application and other documents required by the 
Commission (or Part 3 of Form LCC-301). 

• Report of Stockholders/Members/Partners (Form LCC-301) 
 

Partnerships must submit the following information per Administrative Rule R 
436.1111: 
• Partnership Agreement, if a Limited Partnership. 
• Report of Stockholders/Members/Partners (Form LCC-301) 

 

 

Licensing Process 
 

• The Licensing Division reviews the application and corresponding documents for 
completeness and verifies the appropriate fees have been received.  If additional 
documents, fees, or corrections to documents are needed, Licensing will notify the 
applicant. 
 

• Once all the necessary documents have been received Licensing will submit the 
request to the Enforcement Division for its investigation. 
 

• The Enforcement Division will contact the applicant to schedule an interview with the 
applicant (and current licensee for license transfers).  At this meeting an investigator 
will review with the applicant documents, including: 
o purchase agreement 
o financial documents 
o property documents 
o other items pertaining to the application 
 

• After the interview, the investigator will prepare a report for the Commission regarding 
the investigation and submit the request back to Licensing for further processing. 
 

• Licensing reviews the report from Enforcement and any additional documents 
received during the interview process.  The request is prepared for the Commission 
to consider and placed on a docket for an upcoming licensing meeting. 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC301_507427_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC301_507427_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LCC301_507427_7.pdf


 
 

 

• The Commission considers the request, including: 
o the liquor license operating history of the applicant (if a current or prior licensee) 
o the arrest and conviction record of the applicant 
o whether the applicant meets the requirements for a license 
o the applicant’s financial information 
o opinions of the local legislative body or police department, if received. 

 

• The Commission will approve or deny the request based on these factors.  
Occasionally, the Commission will request more information from the applicant before 
making a final decision. 
 

• After the Commission makes a decision on the request, the file is returned to Licensing 
for final processing. 
o Approval orders are sent to the applicant requesting any final items before the 

issuance of the license. 
o Denial orders are sent to the applicant and the applicant may appeal the decision.   
 

• When all the final items are received by Licensing, the completed request is forwarded 
to the Renewal Unit for the issuance of the physical license documents. 
o Any changes in financial provisions at the time of closing which do not conform to 

the terms previously indicated and investigated may require submission of new 
forms and possible additional investigation. 

 

 
 
Permits, Permissions, and Authorizations 
 
On-Premises Tasting Room Permit – This permit allows the Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer license to sell mixed spirit drink products it manufactures to customers for 
consumption on or off in an approved tasting room located on the manufacturing 
premises.  If the licensee is also licensed to manufacture beer, wine, or spirits at the same 
location where it is licensed with a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license, it may also 
sell those products in the approved tasting room that is issued this permit. 
 
A licensee issued an On-Premises Tasting Room Permit must maintain Proof of Financial 
Responsibility, or liquor liability insurance,  as required by MCL 436.1536(7)(e) and MCL 
436.1803 [see Proof of Financial Responsibility form (Form LC-95)], and must comply 
with the minimum server training requirements for retail sales as required by MCL 
436.1535(7)(d) and MCL 436.1906. 
 
On-Premises Tasting Room Permit limits for Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licenses: 

• A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee must manufacture mixed spirit drink 
products on the premises where they are sold in an On-Premises Tasting Room 
Permit location.  

• May sell mixed spirit drink products for consumption off the premises. 

• May sell and serve full size drinks. 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LC95_485190_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_21734-378395--,00.html


 
 

 

• No size or number limit on tasting samples. 

• May serve food or have a restaurant in conjunction with the On-Premises Tasting 
Room Permit. 
 

Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.) - A permit that allows the sale of mixed spirit drink products 
on Sunday mornings between 7:00am and 12:00 noon, if allowed by the local unit of 
government. 
 
Sunday Sales Permit (P.M.) - A permit that allows the sale of mixed spirit drink products 
on Sundays after 12:00 noon, if allowed by the local unit of government. 
 
Specific Purpose Permit - A permit that allows specific types of activities (such as the 
service of food, sporting activities, meetings, etc.) to occur on the licensed premises 
outside the legal hours for the sale of alcohol.  A specific purpose permit does not allow 
the sale of alcohol outside of the legal hours of sale. 
 
Dance Permit - Allows dancing by patrons of a business with an on premises license.  
Often combined with an Entertainment Permit. 
 
Entertainment Permit - Permits certain types of live entertainment at a business with an 
on premises license.  An entertainment permit does not allow topless activity.  Often 
combined with a Dance Permit. 
 
Extended Hours Permit - A permit held in conjunction with a Dance or Entertainment 
Permit (or both) that allows dancing or entertainment on the licensed premises outside 
the legal hours for the sale of alcohol.  An Extended Hours Permit does not allow the sale 
of alcohol outside of the legal hours of sale. 
 
Catering Permit - Authorizes a holder of a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer license to 
sell, deliver, and serve mixed spirit drink products in the original containers at private 
events.  A licensee must have a food service establishment license or retail food 
establishment license to qualify for this permit. 
 
Living Quarters Permit - Allows living quarters to be directly connected to the licensed 
premises. 
 
Direct Connection permission - Allows connections from the licensed premises to 
unlicensed premises. 
 
Outdoor Service authorization - Authorization granted by the Commission for a license 
to sell alcohol outdoors in an area controlled by the licensee.  This can be a patio area 
next to the licensed premises or a space as large as a golf course 
 

 
 
 
 



 
 

 

Off-Premises Tasting Room License or Joint Off-Premises Tasting Room License 
 
A Distiller or Small Distiller licensee that also holds a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer 
license may sell mixed spirit drink products it manufactures under its Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer license at a location where it holds an Off-Premises Tasting Room License 
or Joint Off-Premises Tasting Room License.  See the Off-Premises Tasting Room 
License & Permit Application (Form LCC-150a) or the Joint Off-Premises Tasting Room 
License & Permit Application (Form LCC-150b) for details on the requirements for off-
premises tasting room licenses. 
 

 
 
Churches & Schools 
 
A new application to sell alcoholic beverages at retail under an On-Premises Tasting 
Room Permit, or a request to transfer location of an existing license that intends to sell 
alcoholic beverages under an On-Premises Tasting Room Permit, may be denied if the 
contemplated location is within 500 feet of a church or school.  The Commission may 
waive the church/school provision if the church or school does not file an objection to the 
proposed license.  If the church or school does file an objection, the Commission shall 
hold a hearing before making a decision on the issuance of the license. 
 

 
 
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development Requirements 
 
Facilities that manufacture alcoholic products in Michigan must be licensed through the 
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (MDARD) in addition to 
licensure through the Commission.  You may contact MDARD regarding the licensing 
requirements for the type of establishment for which you are applying by calling, toll-free, 
800-292-3939 or visiting www.michigan.gov/mdard. 
 

 
 
Manufacturing & Labeling 
 
Mixed spirit drink products must be manufactured, identified, and labeled in accordance 
with federal spirit regulations published in Code of Federal Regulations Title 27, part 19 
and Title 27, part 5, pursuant to R 436.1707 and R 436.1708. 
 
All mixed spirit drinks products sold in Michigan must have labels approved by the 
Commission prior to being sold.  All mixed spirit drinks sold in Michigan must be labeled 
in accordance with TTB regulations.  The Commission uses an on-line label registration 
process through the Michigan Wholesale Product Registry (MWPR), which requires prior 
registration with the TTB.  Upon licensure, the applicant will be provided with a password 
and instructions to access the on-line registration site.  There is no fee for Michigan label 
registration. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lcc150a_639979_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lcc150a_639979_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lcc150b_639980_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lcc150b_639980_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/mdard
https://www.lara.michigan.gov/MWPR/login


 
 

 

Mandatory label information, pursuant to TTB regulations: 

• Brand name. 

• Class, type or, in lieu of, a truthful & adequate statement of composition shall 
appear on the brand label of the product. 

• Name and address of bottler or packer where bottled or packed. 

• Net contents. 

• Government Warning Statement. 

• Alcohol content. 
  

For federal labeling information contact the TTB at 866-927-2533 or www.ttb.gov. 
 

 
Mixed Spirit Drink Excise Tax Reports 
 
Excise taxes apply to mixed spirit drink products.  The Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer 
licensee shall pay the Michigan excise tax or may designate a wholesaler to pay the tax 
on its behalf for all mixed spirit drink products manufactured by that Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer licensee and sold in this state.  A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee 
is required to submit a Michigan Mixed Spirit Drink Tax Report and Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer’s Monthly Report of Sales no later than the 15th day after the end of each 
quarter (April 15, July 15, October 15, and January 15) regardless of whether a wholesaler 
has been designated to pay the taxes. 
 
Mixed spirit drink products that are sold for consumption or to go in an approved tasting 
room or mixed spirit drink products self-distributed by the licensee to retailer licensees 
are subject to the excise tax and must be submitted by the Mixed Spirit Drink 
Manufacturer licensee regardless of whether a wholesaler has been designated to pay 
tax on wholesale shipments to retailers. 
 
For further questions relating to the mixed spirit drink excise tax, please contact our 
Financial Management Division at: 517-284-6260.  Tax forms and instructions may be 
located on the Commission website at: https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-
89334_10570_14177_15067---,00.html. 
 

 
 
Sales to Wholesalers 
 
All sales must be made through licensed wholesalers (except retail sales to customers at 
an approved tasting room with an On-Premises Tasting Room Permit, Off-Premises 
Tasting Room license, or Joint Off-Premises Tasting Room license as allowed under MCL 
436.1536). 
 
A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee must grant each of its wholesalers an 
exclusive sales territory.  A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee must enter into a 
written agreement each of the wholesalers specifying the brand or brands to be 

http://www.ttb.gov/
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_14177_15067---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_14177_15067---,00.html


 
 

 

distributed and the territory where exclusive sales are granted.  There can be no 
overlapping of sales territories between wholesalers of similar brands. 
 
There is no prohibition against offering wholesalers quantity discounts as long as the 
discounts are uniformly offered to all wholesalers.  The Liquor Control Code requires the 
sale and purchase of all alcoholic beverages to be for cash only, at the time of delivery to 
wholesalers. 
 

 
 
Self-Distribution of Mixed Spirit Drink Products 
 

• A Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee may self-distribute mixed spirit drink 
products that it manufacturers to retailer licensees in Michigan if it does not sell 
more than 31,000 gallons of mixed spirit drink in a calendar year. 

• The mixed spirit drink products must conform to the bottle deposit requirements of 
1976 IL 1, MCL 445.571 to 445.576, commonly referred to as the “Bottle Bill”, as 
applicable. 

• The licensee must register the mixed spirit drink products on the Michigan 
Wholesale Product Registry (MWPR) and must report and pay the applicable taxes 
on the products sold. 

• The licensee cannot self-distribute to retailer licensees in a sales territory where it 
has granted exclusive rights to a Wholesaler licensee for the sale of any brand or 
brands of mixed spirit drink. 

• The deliveries must be made by the licensee’s own employees.  The employees 
must be individually licensed with a Salesperson license, unless otherwise exempt 
under the law.  Please visit the Salesperson License Information webpage on the 
MLCC website for more details on Salesperson license requirements. 

• The deliveries must be made in vehicles owned by the licensee.  These vehicles 
must have been issued a delivery vehicle decal by the MLCC.  The licensee may 
apply for vehicle decals using the Delivery Vehicle Decal Application (LCC-351). 

 

 
 
Salesperson Licenses 
 
Any person employed by a Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee to sell, deliver, 
promote, or otherwise assist in the sale of alcoholic liquor in this state is required to hold 
a Salesperson license issued by the Commission.  Employees who work exclusively at 
the brewery premises and have no contact with wholesalers, retailers, or consumers off 
the licensed premises do not need a Salesperson license.  Salesperson licensees must 
be at least 18 years of age and are prohibited from being employed by a retailer-tier 
licensee on a paid or any other basis.  For more details on Salesperson licensee 
requirements and exceptions to the requirements for certain employees please visit the 
Commission’s webpage for Salesperson licensing information: 
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_16941-456243--,00.html. 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-Initiated-Law-1-of-1976
https://www.lara.michigan.gov/MWPR/login
https://www.lara.michigan.gov/MWPR/login
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_14177_15067---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_14177_15067---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_16941-456243--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Report_of_Delivery_Vehicles_LCC-351_515323_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10570_16941-456243--,00.html


 
 

 

 

 
 
Record Retention and Inspection of Premises and Records 
 
All licensees are required to maintain all sales, purchase, and Salesperson licensee 
expense records for a minimum of four years.  Records may be maintained electronically 
or otherwise as long as a hard copy of the record can be created upon demand. 
 
A licensee must make the licensed premises available for inspection and search by a 
Commission Investigator or any law enforcement officer empowered to enforce the 
Commission’s rules and code during regular business hours or when the premises is 
occupied.  The Commission or its duly authorized agent may examine the books, records, 
or papers of a licensee. 


