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Purpose of this chapter

The purpose of this chapter is to explain when an employing unit becomes liable under the
Michigan Employment Security Act to pay unemployment taxes in Michigan. Before a busi-
ness is determined by the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) to be liable, the UIA refers
to the business as an employing unit. The UIA uses the word employer to refer only to a
liable employer.

The chapter also explains what services performed by workers are excluded from coverage for
unemployment benefits and from taxation to the employer. Finally, we explain how an employ-
ing unit properly notifies the UIA of their existence in business so that the UIA can make an
official Determination as to whether it is a liable employer.

This chapter has been prepared as part of a general guide

to unemployment taxes and benefits in the State of Michigan.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation. It is written to
assist in understanding the Michigan Employment Security Act which is
the unemployment compensation law in Michigan.
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Contributing and Reimbursing
Employers

Contributing employers

All employing units that are determined to be employers and
therefore liable under the Michigan Employment Security Act, are
responsible for paying state unemployment taxes to the Unemploy-
ment Insurance Agency (UIA). Most employers are contributing
employers and the taxes they pay the UIA are called contributions.

A contributing employer files a tax report with the UIA at the end
of each calendar quarter, and pays a state unemployment tax on
the first $9,500.00 of wages paid to each worker performing covered
services in a calendar year. The amount of the tax is determined by
the employer’s state unemployment tax rate. The rate is discussed
in much more detail in the chapter of this Handbook entitled "Em-
ployers’ Guide to Unemployment Insurance Taxes."

All for-profit employers are, by law, contributing employers. A
non-profit organization is a contributing employer, but may elect,
with approval by the UIA, to become a reimbursing employer. Proof
of Section 501(c)(3) status from the Internal Revenue Service is
required. Also, if the non-profit employer has payroll of $100,000
annually, a surety bond is required.

Reimbursing employers

A reimbursing employer is a liable employer that pays to the UIA,
dollar-for-dollar, the amount the UIA paid in benefits in that calendar
quarter (including the state portion of Extended Benefits) to its for-
mer workers who receive unemployment benefits based on wages
paid to the worker by the reimbursing employer.

A reimbursing employer does not pay regular quarterly taxes to
the UIA. Most reimbursing employers receive a bill from the UIA
after each calendar quarter in which unemployment benefits were
paid to the employer’s former employees.

A governmental entity (such as a city, county, township, and
school district) is, by law, a reimbursing employer and is considered
reimbursing from the beginning of its liability as an employer but
may elect, with the permission of the UIA, to become a contributing
employer. A governmental entity makes tax payments to the UIA
annually. As mentioned earlier, a non-profit organization is, by law, a
contributing employer but may elect, with permission of the UIA, to
become a reimbursing employer.

Election of non-profit organization
to be reimbursing

A non-profit organization may become a reimbursing employer
by filing with the UIA a request to be reimbursing, rather than
contributing, within 30 days of being determined to be an employer
liable for the payment of Michigan unemployment taxes. A gov-
ernmental entity previously electing to be contributing may return to

reimbursing status by filing a request not less than 30 days before
the end of a calendar year prior to the effective year of the change.

Once reimbursing status is granted, it must be retained by the
organization for at least 2 calendar years.

The law permits non-profit employers that elect to be reimburs-
ing employers to form a group account for the purpose of sharing
the cost of benefits paid to the former employees of members of the
group. The UIA must be notified that a reimbursing employer wishes
to join a group. Membership in the group can then be effective in
the quarter the request was received, or the following quarter, if
requested membership in a group is for not less than 2 calendar
years.

A non-profit organization or governmental entity that has been
a reimbursing employer for at least 2 calendar years may elect to
become a contributing employer. However, the UIA must be notified
of that choice before December 2nd, for the following calendar
year in which the organization wishes to become a contributing
employer. The employer must continue to reimburse the Agency
for benefit charges incurred while the employer was a reimbursing
employer. Therefore reimbursement could be required for the first 2
calendar years after the employer becomes a contributing employer.

A non-profit organization that chooses to be reimbursing and
that pays $100,000.00 or more per year in wages, must file a surety
bond, irrevocable letter of credit, or other security approved by the
UIA before the organization can be allowed to become a reimbursing
employer. The security must be in an amount equal to 4.0% of the
employer’s annual wage payments.

The security can be posted by a third party guarantor (one
who will guarantee payment).The security may also be required
of a reimbursing employer that becomes delinquent in paying its
reimbursing payments for two or more calendar quarters, even if the
charges are under protest. Furthermore, the UIA may revoke the re-
imbursing status of any delinquent reimbursing employer. For more
information, please call the Reimbursing Unit at (313) 456-2080.

Indian Tribes and Tribal Units as Employers

All Federally recognized Indian Tribes are reimbursing under the
same terms and conditions as other reimbursing employers unless
contributing status is elected. Indian Tribes and Tribal Units are
billed annually for benefits charges. Indian Tribes and Tribal Units
with reimbursing status are subject to the same security require-
ments as other non-profit employers if their annual gross pay equals
or exceeds $100,000.00.

An Indian Tribe or Tribal Unit wishing to convert from a reimburs-
ing to a contributing employer must reimburse the Agency for benefit
charges incurred while it was a reimbursing employer. Also, an
Indian Tribe or Tribal Unit wishing to convert from contributing to
reimbursing status must pay its negative reserve and any delinquent
unemployment taxes before converting.
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When does an employing unit
become a liable employer?

An employing unit becomes liable when any one of the following
occurs:

Employing Unit Pays $1,000 in a Year

The employing unit pays $1,000.00 or more in wages for covered
employment (see information about covered employment in this
booklet) in a calendar year (January 1 through December 31).

Employing Unit Has Employees in
20 Weeks in a Year

The employing unit has at least one employee in covered
employment in at least 20 different calendar weeks (that is, Sunday
through Saturday weeks) in a calendar year. The weeks do not have
to be consecutive and it is not necessary that the same employee
be employed in each of the 20 weeks. Some individuals performing
services for an employing unit may be considered by the employing
unit to be "independent contractors" rather than employees, but if
those individuals file claims for unemployment benefits and are de-
termined to be employees, the employing unit could be determined
to be an employer, and liable for back unemployment taxes.

Employing unit acquires
existing business

In general, if an employing unit acquires an existing business
that was already determined by the UIA to be a liable employer, then
the employing unit becomes a liable employer. Specifically, if an
employing unit acquires the organization (employees/payroll/person-
nel), or trade (customers/accounts), or business (products/services),
or 75% or more of the assets of another organization,trade, or busi-
ness which at the time of the acquisition was a liable employer, then
the acquiring employing unit becomes an employer liable for the
payment of unemployment benefits in Michigan. An employing unit
can “acquire” another business by a sale, or through such means as
lease, bankruptcy, merger, or reorganization.

In addition, an employing unit can become a liable employer by
becoming a transferee of business assets by any means otherwise
than in the ordinary course of trade from an employer, if there is
substantially common ownership, management, or control of the
transferor and transferee at the time of the transfer.

In these situations, the new owner or employing unit is known as
the successor and this process of acquiring an existing organiza-
tion, trade, or business is known as successorship. If you acquire
any part of the Michigan assets, organization, trade, or business of
another employer by purchase, rental, lease, inheritance, merger,
foreclosure, gift, or any other form of transfer, you must complete
UIA Schedule B, Successorship Questionnaire, along with Form
518, Registration for Michigan Taxes. All items on both of these
forms must be answered accurately and completely.

Under Section 22b of the Michigan Employment Security Act,
there is, in general, a transfer of a business even if only employees
(payroll) of the prior business are transferred to a new or another
business entity. This is true even if only some of the employees of
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the business are transferred to the new or other business entity.

SUTA Dumping

“SUTA” refers to the “State Unemployment Tax Act” (more com-
monly known in Michigan as the “Michigan Employment Security Act”).

"SUTA Dumping” means transferring a trade or business, or a part
of a trade or business, solely or primarily for the purpose of reducing
the contribution rate or reimbursement payments, required under the
law.

SUTA Dumping occurs when the transfer of a trade or business
results in the abandonment (“dumping”) of the employer’s history of
unemployment benefit charges (referred to as the employer’s unem-
ployment insurance “experience.”) The unemployment insurance
system is an “experience rated” system, meaning that state tax rates
are based on an employer’s “experience” of unemployment benefit
charges. When this experience is abandoned, the employer’s tax rate
drops and no longer adequately recoups charges to the Unemploy-
ment Trust Fund. In the process, the employer also leaves behind
accrued charges in the old accounts that are not picked up by the new
accounts.

There are many ways that a business can engage in SUTA Dump-
ing. The three most common ways that are used to manipulate the
tax rate are:

Vertical method - Create a “new” employer that is assigned a

“new” employer tax rate, and then transfer payroll to the new

employer.

Horizontal method - Transfer payroll to a subsidiary with lower

Ul tax.

Acquired rate method - Find another employer with a low Ul

tax rate and arrange to transfer payroll to that employer.

Section 22b of the Michigan Employment Security Act prohibits a
person from:

« transferring the person’s trade or business or a portion of

the trade or business to another employer for the sole or
primary purpose of reducing the contribution rate or reimburse-
ment payments in lieu of contributions, or

* acquiring a trade or business or a part of a trade or business

for the sole or primary purpose of obtaining a lower contribu-
tion rate than would otherwise apply under the act.

The law also requires the transfer and consolidation of the
unemployment history and the unemployment tax rate of a trade or
business to prevent or remedy transfers of trade or business that
violate the new provisions of the law described above.

The law also imposes civil and criminal penalties on both an em-
ployer who engages in SUTA Dumping, and on a business advisor
who counsels an employer to engage in the practice.

It provides that the unemployment tax of an employer who en-
gages in SUTA Dumping will increase to the maximum possible rate
for the year the dumping occurs and for the next 3 years as well.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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Michigan Department of Treasu
518 (F%ev. 01‘-’12) ke TFype or print In blue or black ink.

Registration for Michigan Taxes

Check the reason for this application. if more than one applies, see instructions.
[:] Started a2 New Business D Acquired/Transierred All/Part of a Business

Reinstated an Existing Account(s i . . .
D n g ni(s) (] Added a New Location(s) » 1. Federal Employer Identification Number, if known
D Hired Employee / Hired Michigan Resldent [:] PEC: Client Level Reporting

E] incorporated / Purchased an Existing Business [:] Cther {explain}
» 2. Company Name or Owners Full Name (include, if applicable, Corp, In¢, PC, LC, LLC, LLP, etc.). Required.

¥ 3. Business Name, Assumed Name or DBA (as registered with the county)

» 4. Address for all legal contacts (street and number - no PO boxes) Business Telephone

Legal
Address b
{Required) City State ZIP Code
» 5. Address, if different from Box 4, where all tax forms wifl be sent, unless otherwise instructed If this address is for an accountant or
other representative, attach Form 151,
Maiiing Power of Attorney.
Address |[City State ZIP Code

» 6. Address of the actuat Michigan location of the business, if different from above (street and number--no PO boxes). See instructions.

Physicai
Address [City

State ZIP Coda

» 7. Enter the Business Ownership Type code from Page 4 (Required) > 7.
If your business is a limited partnership, you must name ali general pariners beginning on line 28.

» 8. If you are a Michigan entity and line 7 is 35-33, 40, OR 41, enter your Michigan
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs {LARA) Corporate ID Number

I:l Check this box if you have applied for and not yet received your ID number.
State of incorporation

Date of Incorporation

X

» 9. Enter Business Code (NAICS} that best describes your business (see instructions)
11. What products, if any, do you sell {(sold to final consumer)?

10. Define your business activity
Check the tax(es) below for which Date that liability will begin Estimated monthly payment for each tax
you are registering. At least one for each box checked at lefl. Required if box at left is checked.
box (12-16) must be checked. Month Oay Year
»12.] ] Sales TaX.cr. ¥ 12a. » 12b.[ Juptoses [ Juptosaoo [ | Overs300
»13.{JuseTax ... .. »13a. » 13b.f Juptoses [ JUpto$aoe [ Oversaco
» 14.{ ] Employer and Retirement
Withho[ding (See line 23) » 14a. » 14b. D Up lo $65 DUP {o 8300 E:] Over $300
: Corporate Income Tax is required only if annual gross
> 15. I:I Annual Gross Receipts receipts in Michigan exceed $350,000 with the excepticn
over $350,000 (CIT) ... » 15a. of insurance companies and financial institutions.
» 16. D Flow-Through Withholding » 16a.

Check the box if these other taxes also apply:

» 17. D Unemployment Insurance Tax. Attach UIA Schedule A and UIA Schedule B. Corporations, LLCs, LLPs: Enclose a copy
of your Arlicles of Incorporation or Organization. You must complete all items on this form accurately and completely.
Failure to do so may subject you to the penalties provided under the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act.

» 18.[_] Motor Fuel/IFTA Tax. Complete line 26. Treasury will review your registralion and send any necessary tax application

rms.
> 19. [:] f)901:1)15:1(:00 Tax. Complete line 27. Treasury will review your registration and send any necessary tax application forms.

» 20. Enter the number of business locations you will operate in Michigan (Required) ...
If more than 1, attach a list of names and addresses.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



518, Page 2

» 21. Enter the month, numerically, that you close your tax books (for example, enter 08 for August) . »21.

» 22, Seasonal Only: (Your business is not open continuously for the entire year)}

a. Enter the month, numerically, this seasonal DUSINESS OPENS ..o ¥ 228,

» 22b.

b. Enter the month, numerically, this seasonal DUSINESS CIOSES e

Note: If you are registering to sell at only one or two events in Michigan per year, do not submit this registration
form. Instead, file a Concessionaire’s Sales Tax Return and Payment {Form 2271). This form can be obtained on

Treasury's Web site at www.michigan.govi/taxes, or by calling 1-517-636-6925.

» 23. [] Check this box if you use a payroll service that produces your payroll checks and sends income tax withholding
payments to the State and Federal Govemments. Attach a Payrolf Service Provider Combined Power of Aftorney
Authorization and Corporate Officer Liability (COL} Certificate for Business {Form 3683). This form can be obtained
on Treasury's Web site at www.michigan.govitaxes, or by calling 1-517-636-6925.

Enter the name of your payroll service provider:

» 24, If you are incorporating an existing business, or if you purchased an existing business, list previous business names,
addresses, and FEINSs, if known.
Previous Business Name and Address

FEIN

Previous Business Name and Address FEIN

25. If you purchased an existing business, what assets did you acquire? Check all that apply.
[ltand [}Building [ ]Fumiture and Fixtures [ JEquipment [ Jinventory [ ]Accounts Payable [ ]Goodwill [ }None

26. Motor Fuel/IFTA Tax: (if you answer Yes to any of the questions below, see Web site www.michlgan gov/taxes) Yes No
a. Will you operate a terminal or refinery? e 26a. |:| D
t. Do you own a diesel-powered vehicle used for transport across Michigan s borders with three

or more axles or two axles and a gross vehicle weight over 26,0001bs? .. .. 2 [] [
. Will you transport fuel across Michigam's DOTAers? .. . ... 266 [} ]

27. Tobacco Tax: (If you answer Yes to any of the questions below, see Web slte www, rmch;gan govitaxes)
a. Will you sell tobacco products to someone who will offer them forsale? ...~ . 57a L[] [l
b. Will you operate a tobacco products vending machine? . 27b. 1
L2701 ] [

{1} If yes, do you supply tobacco products for the machlne'?
(2) #f you do not supply the tobacco products, name the supplier

Complete all the information for each owner or partner. For limited partnership you must list all general partners. For limited
liability companles you must list all members. For corporations you must list all officers, but do not include shareholders

who are not officers. Attach a separate list if necessary.

-1 certify that the Information provided on this form s true, correct and complete to the bost of my knowledge and beiler,;
» 28. Name {Last, First, Middle, Jr/SrlIl} Title Oate of Birth Phone Number
Oriver License / M| [dentification No. | Social Security Number Signature
¥ 28, Name (Last, First, Miadle, JrSriil) Tille Gate of Bith Phone Number
Driver License / Ml [dentification No. | Social Security Number Signature
» 30. Name (Last, First, Middle, Ji/S#/Ill) Title: Dale of Birh Phone Number
Oriver License / M1 Identification No.  { Social Security Number Signature
» 31. Name (Last, First, Middle, J#SrII} Title QOale of Birth .Phone Number
Oriver License / Ml Identification No. | Social Security Number Signature
Questions regarding this form should be directed to MAIL TO: Michigan Department of Treasury FAX TO: 517-636-4520
Treasury at 517-636-6925. Submit this form six P.O. Box 30778
weeks before you intend to start your business. Lansing, Ml 48909-8278

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency
518 Schedule A (Rev. 8/05)

UIA Schedule A - Liability Questionnaire

Issued under authorily of lheMichigan Employment Security Actof 1938, asamended, MCL 421.1 etseq.
Flling Is mandatory for all employers. You must complete all items on this form accurately and
completely. Fallure to do 50 may subject you to the penalties provided under the MES Act.

UIA Account Number, if already assigned Federal Employer ldentificatlon No. (required}

An employing unit becomes liable to pay Michigan unemployment taxes when the employing unit meets any of the following criteria:

« Pays 31,000 or more in gross wages for covered employment in a calendar year.

s Employs one or more employees in 20 different weeks within a calendar year.

s Acquires all or part of an existing Michigan business.

» Pays at least $1,000 in cash, not including room and board, for domestic service within a calendar quarter.

s Pays at least 520,000 in cash, not including room and board, for agricultural service within a calendar quarter, OR
employs at least 10 agricultural workers in each of 20 different weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.

s Elects coverage under the terms of the Michigan Employment Security {MES) Act.

+ |Is subject to federal unemployment tax.

When any one of the above criteria is met, you must submit Form 518, Registration for Michigan Taxes, and UIA Schedule A -
Liability Queslionnaire and UIA Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire. You must also begin quarterly filing of Form UIA
1020, Employer's Quarterly Tax Report, Form UIA 1020-R, Reimbursing Employer's Quarterly Payroll Report and Form UIA 1017,
Wage Detail Report. Unemployment taxes are due and payable beginning with the first calendar quarer in which you had payroll.
Due dates for tax and wage reports are April 25, July 25, October 25 and January 25.

Providing inaccurate or incomplete information in this Registration, or UIA Schedules A or B, will be evidence of
intentional misrepresentation and may subject you to the civil andfor criminal penalties provided in Sections 54 and

54b of the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act. Month pay Year

On what date didiwill you first employ anyone in Michigan? ..

Complete only one of the seven items below that best describes your business.

1. EMPLOYERS OTHER THAN DOMESTIC OR AGRICULTURAL Month Day Year
A. If you have had a gross payroll of $1,000 or more within a calendar year,
enter the date it was reached orwill bereached. ... ...,
B. If you have had 20 or more calendar weeks in which one or more persons Month Day Year

performed services for you within a calendar year, enter the date the 20th
week was reached or will be reached. The weeks do not have lo be

consecutive nor the persons the SAME. ...t

2. AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYERS
A. If you have had a total cash payroll of $20,000 or more for agricultural Month Day Year

services performed within a calendar quarter in either the current or
preceding calendar year, not including room and board, enter the dale the

$20,000 was reached or will bereached. ettt

B. If you have had at least 10 agricultural workers in each of 20 different Month Day Year

weeks In the current or preceding calendar year, enter the date the 20th
week was reached or will be reached. The weeks do not have to be

consecutive nor the persons the same. .
3. DOMESTIC/HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

A. ¥ you have had a cash payroll of $1,000 or more for domestic services Month Day Year
within a calendar quarter in either the current or preceding calendar year,

not including room and board, enter the date the $1,000 was reached or will
bereached. | ...
4. NONPROFIT EMPLOYERS

Nongrofit organizations finance their unemployment liability by either {1) paying unemployment taxes on the taxable wages of
their employees (contributing) or (2) making a specific prior election to reimburse the UIA for any unemployment benefits paid
to their former employees (reimbursing). A nonprofit organization that does not elect to be reimbursing will be, by default,

contributing. To elect reimbursing status, see paragraphs 4A-4D.

A.  Nonprofit employers electing reimbursing status must provide the UIA with a copy of the documentation from the Internal
Revenue Service {IRS) granting 501(c)(3) status.

D Check this box if you elect to be a reimbursing employer. Attach a copy of your IRS 501{c)3) documentation.

Failure to check this box will result in tre establishment of your liability as a contributing employer.
Continued on page 2
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518 Schedule A, Page 2

4. NONPROFIT EMPLOYERS (continued)
B.

If you are a nonprofit @émployer electing reimbursing status, enter $
the amount (or estimate) of your gross annual payroll ...

Bonding Requirements. Section 13a of the Michigan Employment Securily (MES) Act requires that nonprofit
employers electing reimbursing status on or after December 21, 1988, and that have, or expect to have, a gross payroll
of more than $100,000 during any calendar year must notify the UA of that facl immediately and must provide a
surety bond, irrevocable lelter of credit, or other banking device approved by the UIA, in an amount lo be determined
by the UIA to secure the employer's obligations under the MES Acl. If you exceed $100,000 in gross payroll in a later
year, you are obligated to notify the UIA, and provide the bond at that time.

If your organization is funded more than 50 percent by a grant, list the source and duration of the grant.
Source Start Oate Eng Qate

5. GOVERNMENTAL AGENCIES, INDIAN TRIBES AND TRIBAL UNITS
Govemmental entities generafly reimburse unemployment insurance benefits paid to former employees on a dollar-for-dolfar

basis unless they elect to make quarterly "contribution” payments.

A

if you are a governmental agency, or Indian tribe or tribal unit,
identify the type (i.e., city, township, commission, authority, tribe, etc.} ...

Month Oay

Enter your fiscal year beginning dat@ ...ttt bbb

Under the MES Acl, a govemmental agency or Indian tibe finances its unemployment liabllity by (1) reimbursing the
UIA for any unemployment benefits paid to their former employees (reimbursing) or (2) electing to pay unemployment
taxes on the taxable wages of ils employees (contributing).

C. D Check this box if you elect to be a contributing employer. Faifure to check this box will result in the establishment

of your liabifity as a reimbursing employer. Indian tribes and tribal units are subject to the same bonding
requirements as nonprofit employers {see Line 4C, above).

6. FEDERAL UNEMPLOYMENT TAX ACT {(FUTA) SUBJECTIVITY. Select this option ONLY if you are NOT liable for UIA taxes
under any of the olher employer types (1-5 above). State

If you are already subject to FUTA, enter the state, other than Michigan, where you became liable.........or e

Note: "Subject to FUTA” refers to filing Form 940 with the IRS. If you are required to file Form 8940 (FUTA) with the IRS in
other states, you are required to file and pay state unemployment taxes in Michigan.

7. ELECTIVE COVERAGE. For employers who would not otherwise be liable for unemployment taxes, such as churches.

I:' Check this box if you wish to elect coverage under the MES Act. Approval is subject to UIA review; some qualifiers

apply. Your election, if granted, will apply to all your employees.

Give your reason for electing coverage in the space provided below. If you are an individual owner or partnership electing to
cover family members, specify their relationship to the owner or partners. You may not elect coverage for your parents or
spouse, nor for your chifd under the age of 18. Individual owners and partners cannot elect coverage for themselves. You may
not elect coverage for domestic employment below the statutory requirements stated above. Election of coverage remains in
effect for a minimum of two calendar years.

Print Name of Qwner/Officer Signature of Gwner/Officer

Title

[ e R
Print Mame of Owner/Cffic

Telaphone Number Oate

R

i R T R
ar Signature of Qwnaer/Officer

Title

Telephone Number QOate

Attach this schedule to Form 518, Registration for Michigan Taxes and maif it to the Michigan Department of Treasury.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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Michigan Unemployment Insusrance Agency
518 Schedule 8 (Rev. 11-07

UIA Schedule B - Successorship Questionnaire

Issued under authority of the Michigan Employment Security Actof 1936, as amended, MCL 421.1 et seq. Filing is mandatory for employers.

You must complete all items on thls form accurately and completely. Fallure to do so may subject you to the penalties
provided under the Michigan Employment Securify (MES} Act. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Successorship Reporting Requirement. if you acquired any part of the Michigan assets, trade or business of another
employer, as defined in Part 3 of this form, by purchase, rental, lease, inheritance, merger, foreclosure, bankruptcy, gift or any
other form of transfer, you must provide the following information. If you made multiple acquisitions, you must file a separate
UIA Schedule B for each acquisition {photocopies of this form are acceptable). If you made no acquisifions, you are still
required to complete this schedule. If subsequent to completing this registration form, you transfer the assets (by sale or
transfer), organization {payrolllemployees), trade (customers/accounts), or business (products/services), in whole or in part, to a

new or previously existing business in Michigan, it is mandatory that you notify this Agency immediately by completing an
additional Schedule B.
UIA Account Number [ l l l I I } Federal Employer ldentification No. ] l l I l ’ l } [ [ [
(if already assigned) {required)

PART I:  QUESTIONS ABOUT PRIOR OR CURRENT. BUSINESS FORMATIONS, ACQUISITIONS OR MERGERS ™
For each of the jollowing five business formation, acquisition or merger types, the employer must indicate the perlinent business
name, address and UlA Account Number in the space provided.

1. In the past 6 years, you formed, acquired or merged with a business by any means. If not applicable, check box [
Business Name and Address UIA Account Number

a. Hfyouformed a new business, what did you acquire from the previously existing business? (check all that apply)
O tand O Buildings O Furniture/Fixtures [ Equipment O Inventory O Accounts Receivable O Goodwitl
O Employees [ Trade [ Customer Accounts [J None

b. If you purchased, acquired or merged with an existing business by any means (including lease), what assets did you acquire?
{check all that apply}
O Land [ Buildings [ Furniture/Fixtures [ Equipment [J Inventory [ Accounts Receivabte O Goodwill

O Employees [ Trade [ Customer Accounts [ None

¢. What was the business activity of the previous business?

2. At the current time, you are forming, or acquiring, a business by any means. If not applicable, check box [
Business Name and Address UIA Account Number

a. ffyouiformed a new business, what did you acquire from a previously existing business? (check all that apply)
O tand [ Buildings [ Furniture/Fixtures [0 Equipment [ Inventory [0 Accounts Receivable O Goodwill
[J Employees [ Trade [0 Customer Accounts [0 None

b. W you are purchasing or acquiring an existing business by any means (including by lease), what assets are you acquiring?

(check all that apply)
O Land O Buildings [ Furniture/Fixtures [ Equipment [ Inventory  [J Accounts Receivable O Goodwill

[ Employees [J Trade [J Customer Accounts [ None
c.  Will any owner or owners of the previous business continue to operate or manage the business being registered by this form?
O Yes [ONo liyes, provide name, titte and business address below.

d.  What was the business activity of the previous business?

e. What will be the business activity, if any, of the previous business after the new business being registered is formed?

i.  Whal will be the business actlivity of the new business being registered by this form?

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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518 Schedule 8, Page 2

| PART I:  QUESTIONS ABOUT PRIOR OR CURRENT BUSINESS FORMATIONS, ACQUISITIONS OR MERGERS (continued) | - 2]

3. Atthe current time, you are incorporating an existing business entity. if not applicable, check box [1

Business Name and Address UIA Account Number

a. What was the business activity of the business entity you are incorporating?

b. What will be the business activity of the new business being registered by this form?

4, Atthe current time, you are merging, by any means, with one or more business entities. If not applicable, check box ]

Business Name and Address LiA Account Numbser

a. if you are purchasing or acquiring an existing business by merger, what are you acquiring? (check all that apply)
[l Land ([ Buildings [ Furniture/Fixtures [J Equipment [J Inventory  [J Accounts Receivable O Goodwill
[ Employees [] Trade [J Custiomer Accounts ] None

b. If you are forming a new business, what are you acquiring from a previously existing business? {check all that apply)
[0 tand (O Buildings [ Furniture/Fixtures ([0 Equipment [T Inventory (O Accounts Receivable O Goodwill

(0 Employees [] Trade [J Customer Accounts [} None
¢.  Will any owner or owners of the merging business conlinue to operate or manage the business being registered by this form?
Oyes [No Ifyes, provide name, lifle and business address below.

d. What was the business activity of the merging business?

e. What will be the business activity of the continuing business being registered by this form?

. You are intending to form a business at a future time, by any means. If not applicable, check box [

Jves [INo

If yes, please explain;

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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518 Schedule B, Page 3

PART Il: FORMER OWNER INFORMATION = . o

Former Cwner's Name Former Owner's UIA Account Number or FEIN, if known.

Corporate Name or DBA Area Code & Telephone Number

Cugmrant Street Address (not a P.O. Box)

City, State, ZiP

[ PART |ll:. ACQUISITION INFORMATION .=

1. Did you acquire all, part, or none of the assets of any What Percent? | Oate Acquired
former business? D All D Part % D None

2. Did you acquire all, part, or none of the organization
{employees/payroliipersonnel) of any former business?

What Percent? [Oate Acquired
if all of part, indicate the percent and date acquired. D Al D Part % I:] None

. Did you acquire all or part of the
employees/payrollfpersonnel of any former business
by teasing any of those employee/payrollipersonnel? I:] Yes D No (if yes, provide a copy of your lease agreement}

3. Did you acquire all, part, or none of the trade What Percent? - Oate Acquired
{customers/accounts/clients) of any former business? D Al D Part % D None

4. Did you acquire all, part, or none of the former owner's What Pe"‘e“:’? Oate Acquired
Michigan business {products/services} of any former D All D Part % D None
business?
Month Day Year

5. Woas the Michigan business described in 1-4 ahove being
operated at the time of acquisition? If no, enter the date I:I Yes D No
it ceased operation.

6. Are you conductingfoperating the Michigan business you
acquired? [ ves [Ino

7. Is your Michigan business substantially owned or
controlled in any way by the same interests that owned
or controlled the organization, business or assets of a D Yes I:] No
former business?

8. Did you hold any secured interest in any of the

Michigan assets acquired? D Yes D No M yes, enter balance owed $
9, Enter the reasonable value of the Michigan organization,
trade, business or assets acquired? $

Providing inaccurate or incomplete information in this Registration, or UIA Schedules A or B, will be evidence of
intentional misrepresentation and may subject you to the civil andfor criminal penalties in Sections 54 and 54b of the
Michigan Employment Securities (MES) Act.

Print Name of Owner/Officer Signature of CwnerfOfficerfAuthorized Agent

Title Telephone Number Oate

SRR AR

L=tt]

e;:i Asj

s TR R e e A e
Print Name of Cwner/Officer Signature of Owner/Office #Authoriz,

Title Tealephone Numbear Qate

Attach this schedule to Form 518, Regisfration for Michigan Taxes and mail it to the Michigan Department of Treasury.
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Discontinuance or Transfer of Payroll or Assets in Whole or Part

Information shown on this report is used to determine termination of liability under Section 24 of the Michigan
Employment Security (MES) Act. Completion of this report is required even though you may not be currently
employing any workers. Failure to provide this information may result in a determination being made based on
information available to the Agency. Penalties may be imposed under Section 54(a) or 54(b) of the MES Act for an
intententional failure to comply with State law.

Employee Leasing companies must complete a separate Form UIA 1772 for each client entity terminating
its contract.

PART 1: EMPLOYER INFORMATION

1. Name and Address used prior to discontinuance or transfer of payroll or assets in whole or part.

a) Name: UIA Employer Account Number (EAN):
b) Business Address:
c) Telephone: ( ) Federal Employer ID (FEIN):

2. Current name and address used since discontinuance or transfer of payroll or assets in whole or part.
a. Name:
b. Business Address:
c. Telephone:( )

3. Provide the following information concerning the owner(s), partners, corporate officers, LLC member(s), etc.,
of the organization and the person(s) who safeguard the company’s books and records. If necessary, please
attach additional pages to provide information on all owners.

a. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: O Yes O No
b. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: O Yes O No
c. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: O Yes O No
d. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: O Yes O No
e. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: 0 Yes O No

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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UIA 1772

(Rev. 8-12)
4. Reason(s) for discontinuance or transfer of payroll or assets in whole or part (check one or more).

Sale O Reorganization O New Partnership
(] Lease O Bankruptcy O Incorporation
a Foreclosure O Dissolution/ O No Employees

Discontinuance
(] Merger O Death O Employee Leasing Company or

Professional Employer Organization
(PEO) (attach copy of agreement)

O Client Entity terminated its contract with an employee leasing company or PEO.

O Other (explain):

5. Provide the following information:

a. Date of discontinuance of payroll in whole or part:

b. Date of last payroll :

6. Provide the following information:
a. Number of business locations in Michigan:
b. Number of business locations in Michigan that have been discontinued:

c. Did you discontinue all employment in Michigan? O Yes O No
If not, how many employees were retained?

d. Have you continued or resumed business in Michigan? O Yes O No

If you answered yes, please complete the section below if the information differs from what was provided in
question 1.

LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS ADDRESS

NATURE OF BUSINESS DATE(S) RESUMED BUSINES

7. Employer Leasing Company (ELC) or Professional Employer Organization (PEO) must provide
applicable information.

a. Was the client entity’s business discontinued? [COYes [No
Business name and FEIN of client entity:

b. Business/mailing address of client entity:

c. Number of employees leased to client entity immediately before the discontinuance or transfer:

d. Gross payroll of client entity immediately before the discontinuance or transfer:

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



13-A

Complete Part Il and part Il only if your business was sold or transferred.

PART Il: Please provide the name(s) of the person(s)who acquired the Michigan assets, Michigan
organization, Michigan trade, or Michigan business. (“Acquired” refers not only to assets purchased, but
also assets acquired by rental, lease, use, inheritance, merger, mortgage, foreclosure, gift, or other
transfer. If more than one individual or organization is involved, answer all parts of this question for each
purchaser, using separate sheets. If preferred, additional forms will be supplied upon request.)

New Owner's Name New Owner's UIA Account Number or FEIN, if known.

New Corporate Name or DBA Area Code & Telephone Number

Current Street Address (nota P.O. Box)

City, State, ZIP Code

PART lll: ACQUISITION INFORMATION: Please complete this section carefully. It might be necessary to
consult your accountant, attorney, or financial advisor for a complete valuation of your entire business to
accurately determine the percentage of transfer for each category below.

What Percent?  Date Acquired

% I:l None

1. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the assets of any
former business? D All I:l Part

2. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the
organization (employees/payroll/personnel) of any

former business? What Percent? | Date Acquired
a. If all or part, indicate the percent and date acquired. I:l All |:| Part % I:l None

b. Did the above acquire all or part of the
employees/payroll/personnel of any former business

by leasing any of those employee/payroll/personnel? I:l Yes I:l No (If yes, please provide a copy of your lease agreement)
3. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the trade I:l I:l What Perce”to? Date Acquired
(customers/accounts/clients) of any former business? All Part Yo I:l None

4. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the former owner's What Percent? |Date Acquired

Michigan business (products/services) of any former I:l All I:l Part % I:l None
business?

Month Day Year

5. Was your Michigan business described in 1-4 above
being operated at the time of acquisition? If no, enter the |:| Yes |:| No
date it ceased operation.

6. Is the above conducting/operating the Michigan business
acquired from you? []ves [Ino

7. s the above substantially owned, merged, or
controlled in any way by the same interests who owned
or controlled the organization, business or assets of D Yes |:| No
your business?

8. Did the above hold any secured interest in any
of the Michigan assets acquired from you? L] ves [[INo ifyes, enter balance owed | $

9. Please enter the reasonable value of the
Michigan organization, trade, business or
assets sold or transferred?
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14-A

Upon discontinuance, disposition or transfer of all of your Michigan payroll and/or assets, taxes
become immediately due and payable, and your final Quarterly Tax Report must be filed within 15

days.

TERMINATION OF COVERAGE WHEN COMPLETE TRANSFER OF MICHIGAN BUSINESS IS
INVOLVED. If you disposed of your Michigan business and the Agency finds that a total transfer of
your experience account is required, your coverage will be terminated as of the transfer date.
HOWEVER, should you have persons in your employ subsequent to the date on which your Michigan
payroll and/or assets were transferred, you are required to notify this Agency immediately because you
may be liable for taxes on your payroll regardless of the number of individuals in your employ.

DISCONTINUANCE OR PARTIAL TRANSFER OF MICHIGAN BUSINESS DOES NOT TERMINATE
YOUR COVERAGE. Even though you may have disposed of a part, or all of your Michigan business
in separate transactions, or discontinued all Michigan operations, you are required to continue to
report and pay taxes on any wages paid to Michigan workers whom you may employ until such time
as your coverage is legally terminated.

As prescribed in RuleR 421.115 of the Michigan Administrative Code, all documents,
agreement or records describing the transactions indicated in Part 1 Item 4, Part Il, and Part Il
above, should be kept available for examination by this Agency for six years.

CERTIFICATION

| certify that the information contained in this report is accurate and complete to the best of my
knowledge and belief. | understand that if | fail to provide accurate and complete information
concerning the discontinuance of a business or the transfer of payroll or assets of a business, |
may be subject to penalties of up to four times the amount of resulting unpaid unemployment
taxes and imprisonment for up to five years.

Date: Name:

(Phone Number w/Area Code of Person Signing this Report) (Title)

Directions for Submitting Form:

You may submit this Form through your MiWAM account at www.michigan.gov/uia or you may send a
completed UIA Form 1772 via fax to: (313) 456-2130 or email to: EmployerLiability@michigan.gov. If you
are mailing this Form, please send it to the following:

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY
Tax Office
P.O. Box 8068
Royal Oak, Michigan 48068-8068

QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Employer Ombudsman (OEO) at 1-
855-4UIAOEO (855-484-2636), 313-456-2300, or by e-mail at OEO@michigan.gov

LARA is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
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It provides that when an employer converts from being a con-
tributing employer to being a reimbursing employer it must pay the
negative reserve balance it leaves behind, along with any delinquent
taxes. When a reimbursing employer becomes a contributing em-
ployer, it must continue to make reimbursement payments for benefit
charges incurred while it was reimbursing.

To avoid SUTA Dumping, make sure to do the following:

« If you transfer part or all of your organization (employees/
payroll/personnel), or trade (customers/accounts), or business
(products/services), or 75% or more of your assets to another
business entity by any means, such as through a sale, lease,
bankruptcy, merger, or reorganization, file Form UIA 1772, Dis-
continuance or Transfer of Payroll or Assets in Whole or Part.
(This Form need only be completed by the employer transfer-
ring the business out to another business entity.)

If you acquire any part of the Michigan assets, organization,
trade, or business of another employer by purchase, rental,
lease, inheritance, merger, foreclosure, gift, or any other
form of transfer, you must complete both UIA Schedule A,
Liability Questionnaire, and UIA Schedule B, Successorship
Questionnaire, along with Form 518, Registration for Michigan
Taxes. All questions on all of these Forms must be answered
accurately and completely.

Finally, a Professional Employer Organization (PEO) may file a
single quarterly wage report and contribution report and pay contri-
butions of its client entities, with each client entity listed and reported
separately by its own UIA employer identification number. Beginning
in 2014, though, this "Client level reporting" will become mandatory
for all PEOs. PEOs will also be required to notify the UIA within 30
days of any entity becoming a client employer or ceasing to be a
client employer.

For more detailed information about SUTA Dumping, see Fact-
sheet No. 114 in Part | of this Handbook, or check the UIA's website
at www.michigan.gov/uia.

Employing unit pays $1,000 in cash in a calen-
dar quarter for domestic (household) service

The employer pays at least $1,000.00 in cash (that is, the cash
value of benefits such as room and board would not be included in
the $1,000.00), in any calendar quarter in the current or previous
calendar year, for domestic service.

Domestic service would include home healthcare and nursing
care, housekeeper, dayworker, babysitter, nanny, gardener, driver,
valet, butler, cook, and other similar service.

An employer that is liable only on this basis is responsible for
paying unemployment taxes only on wages paid for domestic
employment.

An employer liable under the law solely on the basis of employ-
ing domestic workers may pay unemployment taxes annually,
although the employer must still file quarterly wage and tax reports.

Employing unit pays $20,000 in cash in a
calendar quarter for agricultural service, or
employs at least 10 agricultural workers in 20
different weeks in a year

The employer paid at least $20,000, in cash, in any calendar
quarter in the current or previous calendar year, for agricultural
service; or employed at least 10 individuals in agricultural service
in each of 20 different calendar weeks in the current or previous
calendar year. The weeks need not be consecutive.

In reaching the $20,000 amount, or the 20 weeks of work, all
services performed in agriculture, even services performed by family
members or by minor high school students or others whose services
are excluded from coverage for unemployment benefits, must be
included.

If an agricultural employer that originally met the $20,000 or 20-
week test no longer meets that test after a period of 2 consecutive
calendar years, the employer should so inform the Agency so that its
liability can be terminated.

Even if an agricultural employer does not meet the test to be a li-
able employer, the employer can still elect to be liable. The election
would apply to all the employer’s employees.

Agricultural service, in general, includes service on a farm such
as cultivating the soil, or raising or harvesting plants or animals.

An employer that is liable only on this basis is responsible for
paying unemployment taxes only on wages paid for agricultural
employment.

A worker who is furnished to a farmer by a crew leader will be
considered an employee of the crew leader, not of the farmer, if the
crew leader:

* is registered under the Farm Labor Contractor Registration Act, or
the members of the crew operate mechanized equipment provided
by the crew leader, and

+ actually pays the workers, and

+ is not, him- or herself, an employee of the farmer.

Employing Unit Elects Coverage

An employer can elect to become liable under the Michigan Em-
ployment Security Act. Once that choice is made by the employer,
and approved by the UIA, the employer remains liable for at least 2
calendar years.

The election must include coverage of the services of all its work-
ers. The Agency will not approve an employer’s request to elect
coverage of services that include services performed by relatives of
the employer. The Agency also will not permit the election of cover-
age for elected or appointed officials.
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How a liable employer registers with the UIA for
a formal determination of liability

If an employing unit appears to satisfy any of the tests for becom-
ing a liable employer, the business should request Form UIA 518,
Michigan Business Taxes Registration Booklet from the Agency.

This booklet contains business registration forms required both by
the UIA and the Michigan Department of Treasury.

After you have completed the form, including Schedule A, and
Schedule B, if there is a business transfer, mail them to the Michigan
Department of Treasury (not to the UIA) at the following address:

Registration Section

Michigan Department of Treasury

Lansing, MI 48922

The Department of Treasury will forward all forms pertaining to
the UIA, to the UIA. Itis important that you complete each of these
forms whenever you form a new business, or transfer some or all of
the assets or payroll (employees) between businesses.

You can also register on-line at: www.michigan.gov/business.

How the UIA formally notifies you
whether you are a liable employer

After you have completed your Registration Report, and the
UIA has received it from the Department of Treasury, the UIA will
determine whether your business is, in fact, a liable employer under
the Michigan Employment Security Act. The UIA will issue a Notice
of Determination of Employer Status, Form UIA 1183, and, if you
are determined liable, a UIA employer account number.

As with any Determination issued by the UIA, you may protest
in writing and request a Redetermination. The protest must be
received by the UIA within 30 calendar days from the date the De-
termination was mailed to you. A Redetermination can be appealed,
similarly, to a Administrative Law Judge (hearing officer) for a formal
hearing. Again, the appeal for an Administrative Law Hearing must
be received by the UIA within 30 calendar days of the date the
Redetermination was mailed. The protest can also be filed on-line.

If a protest or appeal is received late, but within 1 year of the
original Determination in dispute, the Agency can issue a Redetermi-
nation or Reconsideration if good cause is shown for why it is late. If
good cause is not shown, the UIA must issue a Denial of the protest
or appeal. The Denial is, itself, a Determination and can be appealed
directly to an Administrative Law Judge. If the original, disputed
determination is over 1 year old, the Agency cannot reconsider it.

After the UIA has received your appeal to an Administrative Law
Judge, the case will be scheduled for Hearing, and you will receive
Form UIA 1801, Notice Of Hearing, about 10 days before the sched-
uled date of the Hearing. The Notice tells you when and where the
Hearing will be held.

An Administrative Law Judge decision, likewise, can be ap-
pealed. It must be in writing, within 30 days, to the Michigan Com-
pensation Appellate Commission. From a Commission decision, an
appeal can be pursued through the courts.

More information about what happens at an Administrative Law
Hearing and about how to prepare for the Hearing is available in the
booklet, A Guide to Unemployment Insurance Appeals Hearings.
Also, the UIA has produced a 20-minute videotape about Adminis-
trative Law Hearings. It is available on-line as a webcast. Click on
"Webcasts" on the UIA's home page: www.michigan.gov/uia.

You may bring an attorney or other agent with you to the Hear-
ing, if you wish. Also, you can request the assistance of an Advocate
(who is not a UIA employee) to discuss the appeal and to attend the
hearing and represent you before the Administrative Law Judge
and/or the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission. This is
a free service available to unemployed workers and employers, on
request. However, a request for an Advocate must be made within
certain time frames.

For more information about the Advocacy Program, call 1-800-
638-3994, menu item 2.

Effective date of liability

For New Employers:

Once an employing unit has been determined by the UIA to be
a liable employer, the employer is liable for the payment of state
unemployment taxes to the UIA on all employment performed
during that entire calendar year (since January 1 of that year). For
example, an employer that became liable by having at least one
employee in covered employment in at least 20 different weeks in
a calendar year, would be liable for the payment of taxes on wages
paid from January 1 of that year, even if the 20th week did not occur
until December.

For Successor Employers:

If an employing unit became a liable employer because it
acquired another company that was already determined by the UIA
to be a liable employer (see explanation of successorship in this
chapter), the new employer (called the successor employer) would
be a liable employer and would have to pay unemployment taxes on
wages paid from the date of the transfer.

The successor is generally responsible for taxes and interest
owed by the previous employer, but both parties remain responsible
until the debt is paid. Also, if the previous employer failed to file any
quarterly tax reports, the successor will be taxed at a higher tax rate
(see the chapter, Employers’ Guide to Unemployment Insurance
Taxes).

For Employers that Elect Coverage:

An employing unit that elects to become a liable employer
and whose election is approved by the UIA, becomes liable at the
beginning of the calendar quarter its application to become liable is
received by the UIA.
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Termination of liability

Once an employer is determined to be liable, the employer con-
tinues to be liable until any one of the following occurs:

+ The employer’s company is acquired by another person or com-
pany. This is known as successorship and is discussed elsewhere
in this chapter. The termination occurs on the date of the suc-
cessorship. The successor is generally responsible for taxes and
interest owed by the previous employer, but both parties remain
responsible until the debt is paid.

+ The employer makes a written request for termination of its li-
ability, and the Agency grants the request. The Agency can only
grant the request if the employer did not meet, in the current and
preceding calendar year, any of the tests to be a liable employer
described in this chapter under When Does An Employing Unit
Become a Liable Employer? The termination will be effective the
last day of the calendar quarter in which the written request was
received.

+ The employer makes a written request to discontinue its elective
liability. The termination will be effective the last day of the calen-
dar quarter in which the request for termination was made, if the
employer has been liable for at least 2 calendar years.

+ The Agency, on its own, terminates the employer’s liability be-
cause the employer ceased to exist during the preceding calendar
year; or because it did not meet, in the current and preceding
calendar year, any of the tests to be a liable employer described
in this chapter beginning under When Does An Employing Unit
Become a Liable Employer? After an employer has been inactive
(meaning without payroll) for 12 consecutive calendar quarters,
their UIA account will be terminated. The termination will be effec-
tive the following January 1¢.,

If an employer whose liability is terminated files a written protest
within 30 days of the date of mailing of the Determination of Termi-
nation of Liability, the liability may be reinstated.

Inactivation of employer’s account

An employing unit that meets any of the tests to be a liable
employer, but is expecting to have no payroll during one or more
calendar quarters, may request that it be placed on inactive status
during that period. When the employer begins payroll again after
having been in inactive status for 7 consecutive calendar quarters or
less, the account is resumed, and the employer’s previous history of
tax payments and benefit charges is restored in order to determine a
current tax rate.

However, if there is no payroll in the next 12 consecutive cal-
endar quarters after the account is made inactive, the employer’s
liability is automatically terminated as of the next January 1, after
the 12 quarter of inactivity.

Reinstatement of terminated account

If an employer’s account has been terminated less than one
year, and the employer resumes paying payroll after 12 or more
consecutive quarters of no payroll, the employer’s account is
reinstated. (An employer’s account is also reinstated when the

employer’s account is inactive and terminated because of 12 or
more consecutive quarters of no payroll and the employer begins
paying payroll within 1 year from the date of termination.) When

an employer is reinstated, its history of tax payments and benefit
charges is restored, but the tax rate is set at the rate for the first year
of liability.

Seasonal Employment

The law allows Michigan employers to apply for seasonal desig-
nation if they regularly operate during not more than 26 weeks within
any 52-week period and meet certain other criteria described below.
Section 27(0) and Administrative Rule 421.15 give the authority to
make this designation and establish seasonal status to the UIA.
This seasonal designation denies unemployment benefits between
seasons, to some seasonal workers (the construction industry is
specifically exempt by law) if the employer has given those workers
a reasonable assurance of returning to work the next season. The
employer must still file Form UIA 1020, Employer's Quarterly
Tax Report, Form UIA 1017, Wage Detail Report and pay unem-
ployment taxes on wages paid to seasonal workers.

An employer wishing to take advantage of this law must apply to
the UIA on Form UIA 1155, Application for Designation as Seasonal
Employer. The employer must post (for the employees to see) the
application at the time the application is made. The application must
be received by the UIA not less than 20 days before the expected
beginning date of the season. The UIA will review the employer's
application and will issue a Determination. If the seasonal designa-
tion is granted, the employer will receive Form UIA 1156, Notice to
Workers of Employer's Designation as Seasonal. Form UIA 1156 will
specify the beginning and ending dates of the normal seasonal work
period. This too, must be posted for the employees to see.

If the seasonal designation is granted, the employer must give
written notice to each employee, at the time of hire, that they are
seasonal and that benefits may be denied during the period between
seasons. At the end of the season, the employer must give the
employee "reasonable assurance" that work will be available in the
next season. Reasonable assurance is not a guarantee of employ-
ment. Itis an employer's "good faith" statement of intent that work
will be available for the seasonal worker for the next season. The
work should be comparable to the previous work in skills required
and location, and in rate of pay and benefits.

If the worker was offered reasonable assurance of returning to
work the next season, but then the work does not materialize, the
unemployed worker can collect unemployment benefits during the
new season. Also, if the employer never makes work available in
the new season and the worker applied for unemployment ben-
efits and certified for benefits during the period between seasons,
the worker can collect retroactive benefits for the period between
seasons.
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Localization of Employment

Most of the state unemployment compensation laws contain simi-
lar tests for determining in which state an employee's entire services
are covered, or localized, if he/she performs services in more than
one state for the same employer. In the MES Act, these tests are
covered in Sections 42(2). The application of any of these tests must
result in the reporting of the employee's total earnings to one state
or that test does not apply.

Tests for localization of employment

These tests refer to the employee and not to the employer and

are applied in the order listed below:

1. Majority of Services
An employee's services are "localized" in the state in which

the majority of his/her services are performed, if the service per-

formed in other states is only incidental or temporary in nature.

2. Base of Operation
If Test No. 1 does not apply, an employee's services are

"localized" in the state in which the base of operations is located,

if he/she performed some service in that state.

3. Place of Direction and Control
If Tests No. 1 and 2 do not apply, an employee's services are

"localized" in the state from which the employee receives direc-

tion and if some of his/her services are performed in that state.

4. Residence of Employee
If Tests No. 1, 2, and 3 do not apply, an employee's services

are "localized" in the state in which he/she resides, if some

service is performed in that state.

5. Services not "localized" in any State
If Tests No. 1, 2, 3, and 4 do not apply, the employer may

either:

a. Elect to file, with any state in which the employee performed
some service, to cover the employee's entire services in that
state, or

b. Report a proportionate share of the employee's earnings in
each state in which the employee performs services.

If there are any questions concerning localization of employment,

please call UIA Team Support Unit at (313) 456-2180.

Coverag e of services

Even if an employing unit is determined by the UIA to be a liable
employer, that employer is only responsible for paying unemploy-
ment taxes on wages paid to workers performing services in
covered employment.

In general, the service performed by a worker is considered to
be covered employment under Michigan law and therefore taxed for
unemployment benefits by the UIA if the service was performed en-
tirely, or mostly, within Michigan; or was directed or controlled from
Michigan; or the individual's residence was in Michigan; or unem-
ployment taxes are not collected on the service by any other state.

Even if the services are not required to be taxed under Michigan

law, an employer may elect, with the approval of the UIA, to pay
taxes in Michigan on those services if they are not taxed under
another state’s unemployment compensation law. The employer
may later cancel the election by submitting a request to the UIA by
January 30.

If a worker’s services are in covered employment, state unem-
ployment taxes will be due on the first $9,500.00 of wages paid to
the worker on those services in a calendar year.

However, in some cases, even though a Michigan worker cannot
receive unemployment benefits in Michigan, those services are
still subject to taxation under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act
(FUTA). Because FUTA taxes those services, Michigan employ-
ers are required to pay Michigan unemployment taxes on those
services (again, even though the worker cannot draw unemployment
benefits).

If the employer did not pay Michigan unemployment taxes,
the employer would have to pay the full federal tax (usually 6.0%)
without the usual credit (usually 5.4%) for paying the state tax on the
same employee.

Taxability of services of
individuals who are not entitled to
unemployment benefits

Workers who are denied benefits and whose
services are not taxed for unemployment
benefits:

Certain workers are not entitled to unemployment benefits
because the law specifically excludes their services from coverage.
These workers are:

+ Agricultural workers if the farmer pays less than $20,000, in cash,
in a calendar quarter for agricultural labor, and employs fewer than
10 employees in each of 20 different weeks in a calendar year;

+ Non-immigrant alien workers admitted to the United States to
perform agricultural labor (generally on an H-2A visa). However,
workers admitted to perform non-agricultural work in specialty oc-
cupations, or in occupations requiring exceptional merit or ability
such as researchers or fashion models (usually on an H-1B visa),
could be entitled to unemployment benefits as they may seek
other work consistent with their immigration status. See Chart on
pages 22-26;

+ Domestic workers (dayworkers, babysitters, nannies, drivers,
cooks, etc.) if the home owner pays less than $1,000, in cash, in a
calendar quarter for domestic service;

+ Railroad workers (although these workers may be entitled to un-
employment benefits under the federal Railroad Retirement Act);

+ Students working 30 hours or less per week, for the school they
are attending;

+ The spouse of a student, working for the school under a financial
assistance program, with the understanding that the services are
excluded;
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Tests for Localization of Employment

TEST1

| Performs most services here |

MICHIGAN

NILES

& < Base here

® < Lives

SOUTH here
BEND

OHIO
INDIANA

Temporary
service here

DAYTON

# < Directed from here

Michigan Employment
This is Michigan employment since most of the services are
performed in Michigan and the services in Indiana are of a
temporary nature or consist of isolated transactions.

TEST 2
)

| Performs services in all three states

MICHIGAN

NILES

& < Base here

® < lives

SOUTH here
BEND

OHIO

INDIANA DAYTON

® < Directed from here

Michigan Employment
Thisis Michigan employmentsince the services are performed
inmore than one state and some ofthe services are performed
in Michigan where the base of operations is located.

TEST 3
J

Performs services in all three states

MICHIGAN

b ® < |ives
SOUTH here
BEND
OHIO
INDIANA DAYTON
® < Directed from here
Ohio Employment

This is Ohio employment since the services are performed
in more than one state, the employee does not have a base
of operations and some services are performed in Ohio, the
state from which direction and control are exercised.

TEST 4

MICHIGAN

Performs services in two states,
Michigan and Indiana

NILES

® < Lives
SOUTH here
BEND
OHIO
INDIANA DAYTON

# < Directed from here

Indiana Employment
Thisis Indianaemploymentsince the services are performed
inmore than one state, the employee does not have a base of
operations, no services are performed in Ohio, the state from
which direction and control are exercised but some services
are performed in Indiana where the employee lives.

19-A
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+ Afull-time, co-operative education student, under age 22, who is
working for a for-profit employer;

High school students under age 18, working for a for-profit
employer, and working fewer hours than non-student workers, or
during vacation period, or as part of a co-op program;*

College student working for a for-profit employer as part of a co-op
program;

Member of the Michigan Youth Corps;

Newspaper delivery person under age 18;

Worker in sheltered employment with a non-profit or governmental
employer, receiving rehabilitation. This exclusion would apply, for
example, to employees and participants in a Community Rehabili-
tation Program (CRP);

Worker with a non-profit or governmental employer, if the worker
is receiving work-relief or work-training through a program as-
sisted by state or federal grants. An example would be service
performed for a non-profit employer or governmental entity under
the Senior Community Service Employment Program (SCSEP);

+ Service by an Americorps participant if performed for a guaranteed
stipend opportunity and if the participant received the full stipend;
Service by a hospital patient, for the hospital;

Service by a prison inmate, working for the prison;

Service for a church, or for an organization operated primarily for
religious purposes;

Elected officials;

Legislators;

* Judges;

Government employees in major, nontenured policy-making or
advisory positions;

Military employees of the National Guard;

+ Temporary service for government in case of a fire, flood, storm,
or similar disaster. This exclusion of services applies, for example,
to volunteer firefighters;

Member of a band or orchestra as part of a for-profit organization,
if the work is other than the worker’s principal occupation;
Licensed real estate agents compensated substantially on the
basis of sales rather than hours worked, and who work under a
written contract providing that they will not be treated as employ-
ees for federal income tax purposes;

Direct sellers of consumer products or services, sold other than in
a permanent retail establishment, if earnings are on the basis of
sales made rather than hours worked, and the work is performed
under written contract;

Insurance agents or solicitors who are compensated solely on a
commission basis;

Service for a worker’s child or spouse (unless the business is a
corporation); and

Service by a child under age 18 for the child’s parent or parents
(unless the business is a corporation).

*Even though services of these high school students are excluded from
coverage, you must still pay the full federal unemployment tax on their ser-
vices. The full federal tax must be paid even if you pay the state unemploy-
ment tax on these services.

Workers who are not entitled to unemployment
benefits because they are not employees, and
whose services are not taxed:

+ Sole proprietors (self-employed persons);

+ Members of partnerships;

+ Directors of corporations who perform no duties (but corporate
officers might be employees); and

+ Independent contractors [who meet the requirements of the eco-
nomic reality test in the case of McKissic v Bodine, 42 Mich App
203 (1972)]. For services performed in 2013, the I.R.S. 20-factor
test will replace the economic reality test.

Generally, an independent contractor is one who performs a spe-
cialized service that is not an integral part of the business (service
central to the overall function of the business).

For example, a mechanic is central to the business of an auto
repair garage, so if a mechanic regularly worked for a garage, they
would likely be considered an employee of the garage, rather than
an independent contractor. However, some mechanics may free-
lance, and be considered independent contractors.

Usually, the independent contractor makes him- or herself
available to the employer community at large, and does not limit
him- or herself to performing services for a single company. He or
she usually brings his or her own “tools” to do the job. An indepen-
dent contractor generally is not under the direction or control of the
company.

For services performed in 2013, the UIA will stop using the
"Economic Reality Test" and will begin using the 20-factor IRS test to
determine if a worker is an employee as opposed to an independent
contractor.

Employees who are denied benefits, totally or
partly, but whose services are still fully taxed:

Finally, some workers are denied unemployment benefits at least
part of the year, but unemployment taxes must still be paid on their
services.

+ Sales representatives of investment companies, if they are not
independent contractors™

* Insurance agents or solicitors who are compensated principally
but not wholly on a commission basis
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+ Aliens, if they are not legally present in the United States, or if they
are legally present but are not legally entitled to work. Certain
categories of visas allow aliens to work in the United States with
respect to holder of F-1, H-1, H-2, J-1, TH or Q1. See the Chart on
pages 22-26 of this chapter.

«Employees of school districts and community college districts (benefits
denied during periods between academic years or terms, and during
holiday recess periods, if the worker has reasonable assurance of
work following the holiday or period between terms).

+ Employees of contractors providing services to educational institutions.

+ Seasonal workers (except construction workers) for employers who
have been determined by the UIA as seasonal employers, if the
worker has reasonable assurance of re-employment

+ School crossing guards between school terms, if they have reason-
able assurance of re-employment.

**Even though these services are excluded under Section 43 of the
Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act, they are covered under Section
3306(c)(14) of the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA). Section 42(6)
of the MES Act provides that services excluded under the Michigan law but
covered under FUTA must be taxed under the Michigan law, even though
benefits are not payable on the basis of those services.

Wages that are taxable;
Wages that are not taxable

As mentioned earlier, unemployment taxes must be paid to the
UIA by employers, based on wages paid to workers performing
services in covered employment. The first $9,500.00 in wages paid
each such worker, in each calendar year, are taxable. However, not
every payment made to a worker is subject to unemployment taxes.

For information about which kinds of special payments made by
an employer are taxable to the employer for unemployment insur-
ance tax purposes, and which are not taxable, see Section B of this
Handbook, concerning completion of Form UIA 1020, Employer’s
Quarterly Tax Report.

Conclusion

We at the UIA hope that the information provided in this chapter
is clear and assists employers in understanding, and complying with,
the requirements of the Michigan Employment Security Act.
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Purpose of this chapter

In this chapter, we explain the requirements of a liable employer to maintain certain payroll records,
and to file certain reports on a regular basis with the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA).

We also describe the various interest, penalty, and damage assessments we are required or permit-
ted to make when an employer fails to submit reports, or fails to pay taxes due the UIA.

Finally, we describe the various administrative and criminal penalties as they apply to employers who
act fraudulently in connection with a claim for benefits, or in connection with the payment of unem-
ployment taxes.

This chapter has been prepared as part of a general guide

to unemployment taxes and benefits in the State of Michigan.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation. It is written to
assist in understanding the Michigan Employment Security Act which is the
unemployment compensation law in Michigan.
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Responsibility for Records and
Reports

Responsibility of an employer to

maintain payroll records
Occasionally, it is necessary for the UIA to audit the books and

records of an employing unit to determine whether itis liable, or to audit

the books and records of liable employers. Every employing unit which

has workers is required to keep the following payroll information as to

each worker, and for each work location. These records must be kept

foratleast 6 years after the calendar yearin which the wages were paid:

+ Name

+ Social Security number

+ Total wages paid the worker in each calendar quarter, and a
breakdown of earnings by calendar week

+ Total taxable wages paid in each calendar quarter

+ Separate reporting of cash payments, bonuses, gifts, and pay-
ments in a form other than cash (such as room and board), and
any other special payments

+ Payments for reimbursement of business expenses

+ Place of employment, or base of operations, or place from which
worker’s service is controlled.

+ Periods of employment

+ Calendar days worked

+ Weeks of less than full-time work

+ Time lost other than for lack of work

Responsibility of an employer to file
reports — Information about filing online

Whenanemploying unitfirstemploys enough workers or pays enough
in wages to become liable, and throughout the time the employing unit
remains a liable employer, certain reports are required of the employing
unit. A description of each report is given below.

Employer’s Registration Report —
Form UIA 518

When an employing unit meets the legal requirements to be a liable
employer, the employer must file a Form 518, Registration for Michigan
Business Taxes. UIA Schedules A and B of this form must also be
filed. Included on Schedule B must be information about a transfer
of assets and/or a transfer of payroll but the Schedule must always
be completed and submitted. Questions that are "not applicable" must
be answered that way. This report is described in detail in the Form
518 Booklet.

Employer’s Quarterly Tax Report — Form UIA
1020 Replaced by Form UIA 1028

Each calendarquarter, the UlAmails every contributingemployeran
FormUIA1028, Employer’s Quarterly Wage/Tax Report, which replaces
former Forms UIA 1017, 1019, 1020, 1021, 1020-R and 1021-R. This
Form is mailed about 30 days before the completed Form is due back
to the UIA. However, if you do not receive Form UIA 1028, it is your
responsibility to request a copy of it and file it on time. You can obtain
a copy of the form on our website (www.michigan.gov/uia), by fax by

calling the UIA's Office of Employer Ombudsman at 1-855-484-2636
(4-UIAQEOQ), or by calling Tax Team Support at (313) 456-2180.

The originally mailed Form includes the following preprinted

information:

+ Employer’s name

+ Employer’s mailing address on file with the UIA.

+ Employer’s UIA account number

+ Employer’s Federal Employer Identification number (FEIN)

+ Maximum taxable yearly wages per employee (currently $9,500)

+ Employer’s current state unemployment tax rate.

+ Any balance of unemployment taxes owing to the UIA, or any
credit.

Line-by-line instructions are printed on the back of Form UIA
1028. An address Change Form, Form UIA 1025, is found on the
return envelope.

You should always complete and return the original Form UIA 1028,
not a photocopy. However, a computer facsimile approved by the UIA
is acceptable. Be sure to keep a copy for your records. Before using
a facsimile Form UIA 1028, it must be submitted to the UIA Tax Office
for approval.

Reimbursing Employer's Quarterly Payroll
Report—Form UIA 1020-R and UIA 1021-R
Replaced by Form UIA 1028

The Reporthas been replaced by Form UIA 1028, Employer’s Quar-
terly Wage/Tax Report. The Form meets the reporting requirements for
reimbursing employers, as mandated by the federal Bureau of Labor
Statistics. Employers with multiple worksites should continue to file
Form BLS 3020, Multiple Worksite Report. You may direct any ques-
tions about Form BLS 3020 to Michigan's Department of Technology,
Management and Budget, Bureau of Labor Market Information and
Statistical Initiatives, Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages
Section, at 313-456-3071.

Form UIA 1028 is due the 25th day of the month following the end
of each calendar quarter. There is a penalty of $50.00 for each report
received after the due date, and an additonal $250.00 penalty if a report
is filed past the end of the due date for the following quarter. The Form
must be filed even if an employer has no payroll in the calendar quarter.

Form UIA 1028 is also mailed to each reimbursing employer before
the end of each calendar quarter, or it may be downloaded from the
Agency's website at www.michigan.gov/uia. For questions about
completing the Form, you may call the UIA Tax Office, Reimbursing
Unit, at 313-456-2080.

Form UIA1028 replaces both Form UIA1020-R and Form UIA 1017
Quarterly Wage Detail Report and the amendments for those reports.

The completed Form UIA 1028 is due for each calendar quarter,
even if you had no covered workers, paid no wages during the
quarter, and no taxes are due for the quarter. There are penalties
assessed for failing to file a quarterly tax report, or filing the quarterly
tax report late. However, if an employer pays the taxes after the due
date shown above, but before the first business day of the following
month, no interest will accrue during that period.

If you are a newly liable employer, you must file Form UIA 1028
beginning with the first quarter in which you had employees. [f you
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are acquiring all, or part, of an existing Michigan business (that is,
you are a successor employer as described in the chapter of this
Handbook entitled Liability of Employers and Coverage of Employees,
you become responsible for filing Form UIA 1028 as of the date of the
transfer of the business.

Due Dates:

To be filed on time, the completed Forms UIA 1028 must be received
at a UlA office on or before the 25" day of the month following the end
of the calendar quarter. The due dates are:

First Quarter — April 25
Second Quarter — July 25
Third Quarter — October 25
Fourth Quarter — January 25

Form UIA 1028 can be filed on-line as part of the state's Michigan
Business One Stop website. An employer can also access all UIA
online services through the Michigan Web Account Manager (MiWAM)
at www.michigan.gov/uia. Register or log-in to your MiWAM account
and follow the prompts.

+ File Form UIA 1028, Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report, (see
pages 10-11).

+ Submit an Employer Filed Claims File (to file for unemployment
benefits on behalf of unemployed workers)

+ Make a tax payment electronically

+ Change your address and/or telephone number

+ Submit a Power of Attorney authorization

* Request Form 940-C, Supplemental Cetrtification

+ View Form UIA 1770, Summary of Benefit Charges and Credits,
for the 2" quarter of 2005 forward

+ View your tax rates for the current and previous 6 calendar years

If you need assistance in using the UIA's MiWAM, please contact
the UIA's Tax System Support Unit at 313-456-2188.

Correction of Errors

Ifyoulater discover you made an errorin completing Form UIA 1028,
you should correct the error as soon as possible by filing an amended
Form UIA1028. Requests for debit adjustments can be made to your
account if they are received by the UIAwithin 6 years of the due date of
the original Form UIA 1028. Requests for credit adjustments submitted
on Form UIA 1028 can be made to your account if they are received
by the UIA within 3 years from the date of payment of the tax reported
on the Form UIA 1028. If a refund is due based on the adjustment, a
request for refund must be submitted on a separate sheet of paper.
Form UIA 1028 includes sections for the original and corrected figures.
Use a separate Form UIA 1028 for each calendar quarter.

Interest and Penalties

In addition to filing a Form UIA 1028 marked as "amended", you
should pay any resulting additional taxes as soon as possible, as
interest of 1.0% per month, computed on a daily basis, is charged on
all late tax payments.

Taxes received after the due date but before the first business day of
the calendar month beginning after the due date shall not accrue inter-
est. Taxes received after the last day of the calendar month containing
the due date shall accrue interest beginning the day after the due date.

If a Form UIA 1028 is not received by the due date, the employer
will be assessed a penalty of $50.00 and an additional $250 penalty
is charged for each subsequent quarter the report is late.

Also, since one factor in computing an employer’s tax rate is the
amount of taxes the employer paid the previous years, failure of an
employer to make a tax payment could increase their tax rate for the
following year. Calculation of the tax rate is discussed more fully in
the chapter: Employer’s Guide to Unemployment Insurance Taxes.

Effect of Non-Filing

If Form UIA 1028 is not received for any of the 4 calendar quarters
used in computing that year’s rate, the UIA has no basis to compute
the tax rate for the next calendar year. The law provides that the
maximum possible tax rate must be assigned when all quarterly Forms
UIA 1028 are missing.

The UIA notifies employers during the year that a Form UIA 1028
is missing, and the next year’s annual Rate Determination Form UIA
1771 will indicate, that the rate is a "Code 2" rate, meaning that it was
assigned a 3% penalty for one or more missing Forms UIA 1028. [If
an employer is assigned the maximum rate, the employer may obtain a
calculated rate, which may be lower, by submitting the missing report(s)
within 30 days of the mailing of the Rate Determination.] In addition,
the UIA will estimate your tax liability, assess a negligence penalty, and
use the estimated payroll to calculate future tax rates.

Employer Filed Claim (EFC)

As required by Administrative Rule 210(1), if 1,000 or more of an
employer’s workers filed new and/or additional claims for unemploy-
ment benefits in each of the previous 3 calendar years, the employer
must file claims on behalf of their workers who become unemployed.

In addition to the employers required to participate in the EFC
Program, other employers may wish to participate voluntarily to assist
their laid-off workers.

When an employer participates in the EFC program workers idled
by a mass layoff will not have to apply for benefits individually. Claims
filed by the employer can begin to be processed immediately by the
Agency, simplifying the delivery of benefits to eligible workers in need
of temporary income, and both employers and the Agency will have
less paperwork to deal with. Fraudulent claims can also be reduced
using this process.

Under the EFC Program, an employer submits claims on behalf of
all laid off workers, using a popular internet technology known as “File
Transfer Protocol” or FTP.

For assistance in getting started on filing claims on behalf of your
employees, whether you are required to do so under the provisions
of the administrative rule, or because you would like to do so, call the
Agency’s “Employer Filed Claim” office, toll-free, at: 1-866-845-0077.
Information is also available on the State’s “Michigan Business One
Stop" website at: www.michigan.gov/business.
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Special Payments

The following chart shows the various special payments employers
sometimes make to workers while they are employed, or when they
become separated from the job.

Some of these payments may, under some circumstances, be
used for:

+ calculating the claimant’s weekly unemployment benefit amount.
+ reducing the claimant's weekly unemployment benefit entitlement.
+ determining wages that are taxable to the employer for state
unemployment insurance taxes.
Calculating the claimant's weekly benefit amount -The claimant's
weekly benefit amount is calculated by taking 4.1% of the worker’s
high quarter wages. The UIA looks to the calendar quarter in which
the wages were actually paid to the worker, not the quarter in which
they were earned by the worker.
Reducing the claimant’'s weekly benefitamount - The claimant’s weekly
benefit amount is reduced using a formula that considers the amount
the unemployed worker earned inaweek when the unemployed worker
was also receiving unemployment benefits. In the case of this earnings
offset, what is important is what the unemployed worker earned in the
week, not what they were actually paid in the week.
Determining wages that are taxable to the employer for state unem-
ployment tax purposes - An employer is taxed, for state unemployment
tax purposes, on the amount actually paid to a worker, in wages, in a
calendar quarter. For example, if a worker performed services the last
week of March (in the first calendar quarter, but was not actually paid
for those services until the first week of April (in the second calendar
quarter), the employer would count those wages, for tax purposes, in
the second calendar quarter, because that is when they were actually
paid to the worker. The only exception to this is a back pay award
which will be counted as wages paid in the calendar quarter to which
the back pay is allocated by the employer or legal authority.

The chart can be helpful to you in accurately completing Section 2
of Form UIA 1028. More detailed descriptions of each of the special
payments follows the chart. Be sure also to read the footnotes because
they give exceptions to the information in the chart. The areas of the
chart where the answer is “NO” are shaded to further distinguish them
from the areas where the answer is “YES.”

Note that the first column, entitled “Must Employer Report the
Payment for Tax Purposes on Form UIA 1028?" shows the kinds of
payments that must be included in gross wages, and are taxed if they
fall within the first $9,500 of wages paid to a worker in a calendar year.

The second column, entitled “Must Employer Report the Payment
for Wage Detail Purposes on Form UIA 10287?" shows the kinds of
payments that, whether or not taxed, must still be reported for wage
detail purposes because they are used in determining a claimant's
unemployment benefit amount.

The third column, entitled "Is Payment Used as Income to Reduce
Weekly Benefits?" shows whether the particular payment is used to
offset the worker's weekly benefit payment for the weeks in which those
payments are made or to which they are allocated.

The employer should provide information on the Monetary Deter-
mination, Form UIA 1575E, under "Employer Notification of Possible
Disqualification or Ineligibility for Benefits," to tell the UIA about the
assignment of this special payment to a designated period, as such
assignmentofthe paymentwill reduce unemploymentbenefits otherwise
payable for that week.

Ifthe vacation pay does not vest within 14 days of the vacation, then
it cannot be used to calculate to claimant's weekly benefit amount, or
for benefit reduction purposes, and will not be taxable to the employer
for unemployment compensation purposes.
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7-B

Type of Payment

Must Employer Report the
Payment for Tax Purposes
on Form UIA 1028?

Must Employer Report the
Payment for Wage Detail
Purposes on
Form UIA 10282

Is Payment Used as
Income to Reduce
Weekly Benefit?

(Contributions by Employer to

Adoption Assistance

Benefits YES YES YES
Awards and Prizes YES' YES' YES'
Back Pay Award YES YES YES
Bonuses YES YES YES
Cafeteria Plans YES? YES? YES?
COBRA Assistance Payments YES NO YES
Commissions YES? YES® YES®
Consultant Fees YES YES YES
Cost-of-Living

Payment YES YES YES
Deceased Employee’s

Wages YES* YES* YES
Deferred Compensation/

401(k) Plans — YES YES NO?®
employee's contributions

from wages

Deferred Compensation/

401(k) Plans NO NO NO3
contributions for

retirement purposes

Dependent Care

Assistance Benefits YES YES YES
Dismissal Allowance YES YES YES
Educational Assistance

Payments NOS NOS NOS
Fringe Benefits NO’ NO’ NO’
Guaranteed Wage

Payments YES YES YES
Health Savings Accounts

(see Medical Savings NO? NO® NO®
Accounts

Holiday Pay YES?® YES?® YES®
Insurance Payout NO NO NO
Insurance Premium Payout NO NO NO
Jury Duty Pay, Payment

by Employer in excess of YES™ YES™ YES™
Longevity Pay YES YES YES
Medical Savings Accounts NO? NO8 NO?

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency




Must Employer Report the | Must Employer Report the Is Payment Used as
Type of Payment Payment for Tax Purposes [Payment for Wage Detail Pur Income to Reduce
on Form UC 1028? poses on Form UC 1028? Weekly Benefit?
Moving Expenses NO™ NO™" NO™
On-Call Pay YES YES YES
Payment in Lieu
of Notice YES YES YES
Pension/Retirement
Annuity NO NO NO
Profit-Sharing Payment NO NO NO
Reimbursement
of Expenses NO NO NO
Room and Board YES™ YES™ YES™
Separation Pay YES YES YES
Severance Pay YES YES YES
Short Work-Week Benefits YES YES YES
Sick Pay — Paid on ac-
count of sickness under a
plan, or more than 6 NO™ NO NO
months after employment
ends
Sick Pay — Paid to liqui-
date sick leave balance YES® YES YES
Stipend NO NO NO
Stock Options YES YES YES
Subchapter S
Distributions YES™ YES™ YES™
Supplemental Unemploy-
ment Benefits (SUB Pay) NO NO NO
Termination Pay YES YES YES
Tips YES YES YES
Transportation Fringe
Qualified YES YES YES
Travel Expenses NO™ NO™ NO™
Vacation Pay YES'® YES'® YES'®
Wage Continuation Pay YES YES YES
Worker's Disability Compen-
sation/Differential Payments NO NO NO
All Other Compensation for
Personal Services YES YES YES

' Awards and Prizes will be taxable to the employer and will be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount if the prize is furnished by the employer and the employer benefited from
the services of the employee for which the prize or award was given.

2 |f an employee has the option to accept the cash equivalent of the benefits otherwise available, then the cash equivalent is taxable to the employer, and must be used for credit week and
average weekly wage purposes. If the employee cannot receive cash as an option, then none of the cafeteria plan is taxable, and none can be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount.

* Commissions paid to insurance agents and solicitors who are compensated solely by commission are not wages and cannot be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount
because those commissioned workers are excluded by law from coverage for unemployment benefits. Commissions paid to insurance agents and solicitors who are compensated solely by
commission are not taxable to the employer. However, commissions paid to sales representatives of investment companies, who are primarily but not solely compensated by commission, are
taxable to the employer but cannot be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount.

4 The law provides that any amount payable to a worker for services performed by the worker, but which has not been actually received by the worker within 21 days after the end of the pay
-period in which the amount was earned, will be considered to have been paid on the 21st day after the end of that pay period.
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5 A payout of deferred compensation will not reduce unemployment benefits because such payments are similar to the withdrawal of funds from a savings account. A payout from a 401 (k) plan may
reduce unemployment benefits because a 401(k) plan is a retirement plan, and retirement benefits can reduce entitlement to unemployment benefits.

6 Educational Assistance Payments by an employer are not taxed if they are made solely for the benefit of the worker. Such payments are also not used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount, or for benefit reduction purposes. However, the cash value of books retained by the worker is taxable to the employer, as is the cash value of courses involving sports or hobbies. Graduate or
professional courses are taxable to the employer to the extent they are partially for the benefit of the worker. To the extent these payments are taxable to the employer they are also used to calculate the

claimant's weekly benefit amount, and for benefit reduction purposes.

" Fringe Benefits include such items as group health insurance, group life insurance (term or whole life), group dental insurance, group vision insurance, and group legal services. Neither the payment by
the employer of a premium to fund such benefits, nor the receipt of the benefit itself, constitutes a wage taxable to the employer, and is not used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount.

¢ If an employee accepts a cash payment (cash option) in lieu of receiving an employer contribution to a medical savings account, it is taxable, it will be included in the calculation of the claimant's weekly

benefit amount, and it will reduce the claimant's benefit in the week received.

® Holiday pay is taxable to the employer, and countable to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, if it vests within 14 days of the end of the holiday.
10 Jury Duty Pay is the amount paid by an employer when a worker serves on jury duty and then turns over the jury duty check to the employer. The Jury Duty Pay, therefore, is the difference between

the worker’s regular paycheck and the amount the worker received for serving on the jury.

" Section 44(5)(h) of the Michigan Employment Security Act excludes from wages an amount paid to, or on behalf of, an employee as moving expenses if it is expected that a corresponding deduction is
allowable under section 217 of the Internal Revenue Code. Generally, such a deduction is allowable under the Internal Revenue Code if the new principal workplace is more than 50 miles farther from the
worker's residence than the former workplace, and the worker was full-time in 39 weeks of the last 12 months, or 78 weeks of the last 24 months.

2 Room and Board and other non-cash payments made to an employee are taxable to the employer and includable as wages to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount. However, the cash value
of lodging provided as a condition of employment, and the cash value of meals provided solely for the benefit and convenience of the employer, are not taxable, and are not used to calculate the claim-

ant's weekly benefit amount, or for benefit reduction purposes.

"3 Sick pay is only taxable to the employer, and used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, if it is paid for a reason other than sickness (such as upon retirement in liquidation of the worker's
sick leave balance), or if it is paid on account of sickness within the first 6 months after the end of the last month the unemployed worker worked for the employer. However, if the employer is the State of
Michigan, sick pay is also useable to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount if the payment if made on account of sickness.

4 Ordinary income, as shown on line 1 of Schedule K, is not wages for Ul purposes. Distribution of property as shown on line 20 of Schedule K is wages only to the extent it is a payment to a share-
holder-employee in lieu of reasonable compensation for services. To the extent this amount is wages, it is taxable to the employer for Ul purposes, and is used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit

amount, and for benefit reduction purposes.

15 To the extent the travel payment is a reimbursement to the employee of the employee’s actual travel expenses, it is not taxable to the employer, whether or not the employee’s actual expenses are sup-
ported by receipts. It would also not be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, or to reduce the worker’s unemployment benefits in the week for which the payment was made. However,
if the travel payment is a blanket “allowance” paid by the employer, without regard to actual expenses incurred by the employee, the entire amount of the travel allowance is taxable to the employer, and
would be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and to reduce unemployment benefits in the week for which the payment was made.

'6 Vacation pay is taxable to the employer, and countable to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, if it vests within 14 days of the end of the vacation.

Adoption Assistance Payment

Some employers provide a payment to their workers to assist them
in the process of adoption of children. The first $5,000 of this pay-
ment is not considered income to the worker for federal income tax
purposes. However, this payment is regarded as a wage under the
Federal Unemployment Tax Act and the employer is taxed for the full
amount of the payment. The employer is also taxed on the full amount
for Michigan unemployment taxes. As a wage payment, itis also used
to calculate the unemployed worker's weekly benefit amount, and is
consideredincome to the worker that must be used toreduce aworker’s
unemployment benefit in the week for which the payment is made.

Awards and Prizes

Employers sometimes give awards or prizes to workers whose
work performance is exceptional. If the employer supplies the award
or prize, and the employer benefited from the service performed for
which the award or prize was given, then the employer must pay un-
employment taxes on the cash value of the award or prize (unless the
employee’s wages have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of
$9,500 per employee per year) and the award or prize will be wages
in the quarter in which it is paid, and used to calculate an unemployed
worker's benefits. The amount will also be used to reduce the worker’s
unemployment benefit entitlement, if it is paid while the worker is col-
lecting unemployment benefits.

Back Pay Award

Usually as a result of negotiations, or settlement of a grievance or
of alawsuit, an employer may have to pay an employee back pay. The
back pay will normally be used to calculate the unemployed worker's
weekly benefit amount as of the quarter to which an employer or legal
authority allocated the back pay, and will be considered as wages for

reducing unemployment benefits, for the period to which the payment
is allocated.

If the award is allocated to a prior period, the unemployed worker's
earnings may have to be recalculated, and a change in benefit entitle-
ment may result. Also, benefits previously paid for that period may
have to be repaid and the employer’s account credited.

Sometimes, all or part of the back pay award is designated as
damages. Damages will not be used to calculate the unemployed
worker's weekly benefit amount, and will not be used to reduce a
worker’s weekly unemployment benefits.

Bonus

Ifan employer makes a paymentto an unemployed workerin addition
to the normal wage payment (often to reflect excellent performance),
the payment is a bonus. This is true whether the payment is in cash,
oris in a form other than cash, such as a car or a trip.

The amount of the bonus payment or its reasonable cash value will
be taxable to the employer (up to the first $9,500 of each worker’s annual
wage), and will be wages in the quarter paid, and used to calculate the
unemployed worker's weekly benefit amount. It will be counted either
in the week to which the employer allocates the payment, or the week
in which the unemployed worker receives it, if it cannot be allocated.

The payment of a bonus will also be considered in reducing benefits
otherwise payable in that week.

Cafeteria Plan Payment

A cafeteria plan is an option some employers provide which allows
workers to choose health insurance or other unpaid benefit coverage
from among a group of benefits, or may have the option to choose
cash as an alternative to the benefits.
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If the employee has the option to choose cash in lieu of various
benefits under the plan, then the amount the unemployed worker could
have received as cash is taxable to the employer for purposes of state
unemployment taxes (unless the employee's wages have already
exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year).
Also included as wages taxable to the employer is the amount diverted
from an employee's wages and placed in the employee's cafeteria plan.
These cash amounts in lieu of benefits, and diverted wages, are also
used to calculate the worker's weekly benefit amount, and are used to
reduce any unemployment benefits being paid the unemployed worker.
Employer contributions are not considered wages.

If the unemployed worker has no option to receive cash under the
plan, then none of the cafeteria plan is taxable to the employer, and
none is useable to calculate the unemployed worker's weekly benefit
amount, or benefit reduction purposes.

COBRA Assistance Payments

This payment is treated like severance pay as it is a payment at
time of separation.

Commissions

A commission is a payment to an employee based on the perfor-
mance of service. Commissions usually represent an agreed upon
percentage of the sales made by the employee.

Commissions are, in general, taxable to the employer for unemploy-
ment insurance purposes (unless the employee’s wages have already
exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year)
and are considered to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount.
However, due to a specific provision of the law, commissions paid to
insurance agents or solicitors who are paid solely by commission are
not taxable to the employer and are not used to calculate the claimant's
weekly benefit amount.

Commissions are also, in general, used to reduce a worker’s
entitlement to unemployment benefits in the week for which the pay-
ment is made.

Consultant fees

An employee, often one who has recently retired and who has years
of valuable experience, may be hired or rehired by the employer to
act as a Consultant. The payment to such an employee is called a
consultant fee or consulting fee.

Consulting services may be provided by an individual acting as an
independent contractorratherthananemployee. For more information
about the factors used to determine whether a worker is an employee
or an independent contractor, see the portion of this Handbook on
Liability of Employers and Coverage of Employees.

If the worker is, in fact, an employee, the consultant fee would be
counted as wages in taxing the employer (unless the employee’s wages
have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee
per year), and to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount. The
fee would also be used to reduce the worker’s entitlement to unemploy-
ment benefits for the week for which the payment is made.

If the worker is found to be an independent contractor, the fee
would not be used for taxing the employer, or to calculate the claim-
ant's weekly benefit amount, but the individual’s net earnings (income

after deduction for business expenses) could be used to reduce the
individual's weekly unemployment benefits.
Cost-of-Living Payment

If a contract provides for a retroactive adjustment in the hourly
wage, based on the cost of living index, then the employer will be taxed
for unemployment insurance purposes on this additional payment to
the employee (unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded
the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year). The cost-
of-living payment, even though retroactive, will be considered wages
in the quarter when paid, for benefit qualifying purposes, but could
retroactively reduce benefits previously paid.

Deceased Employee’s Wages

If an employee dies before receiving wages for work performed
prior to the employee’s death, those wages will be taxable to the
employer (unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded the
taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year). The payment
can also be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount,
and to reduce unemployment benefits otherwise due the estate of the
deceased employee.

It should be noted that if the payment is not actually paid to the
deceased before the death, then the payment will be considered paid
on the 21st day after the end of the pay period in which the payment
was due.

Deferred Compensation/401(k) Plans

Some employers have plans underwhich employees may decide not
toreceive a portion of theirwages when earned, but to have those wages
set aside in a special fund available usually at the time of retirement.

Although not subject to current income taxes, payments credited to
anunemployed worker based on services performed by the unemployed
worker are taxable to the employer for unemployment compensation
tax purposes (unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded the
taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year) and are included to
calculate the claimant's weekly benefitamount at the time they are paid.

If,in addition to diverting some of aworker’s earnings into the deferred
compensation/401(k) plan, anemployer adds an additional contribution
to the employee’s account, that additional contribution would not be
taxable for unemployment compensation purposes because it would
constitute a contribution to a retirement plan, rather than a payment of
awage. The additional contribution by the employer would also not be
used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount.

When the deferred compensation payments are later made to the
unemployed worker, they would not be earnings for the weeks the pay-
ments are received. Therefore, the payment of deferred compensation
will not be taxable to the employer at the time they are paid out of the
plan and will also not be useable at that time to calculate the claimant's
weekly benefit amount.

Although not every deferred compensation plan is a retirement
plan, a 401(k) plan is a retirement plan. Any payments made to a
unemployed worker from a 401(k) plan would be used to reduce
unemployment benefits using the formula applicable to the payment
of any retirement benefit. A payment to an unemployed worker from
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a deferred compensation plan that is not a retirement plan, however,
would not be used to reduce unemployment benefits.

Dependent Care Assistance Payment

This is a payment made by some employers into an account on
behalf of employees who have dependents. The first $5,000 of this
payment is not considered income to the worker for federal income tax
purposes. However, the full amount paid by an employer on behalf of
an employee under a dependent care assistance plan is considered a
wage for Michigan unemployment tax purposes, and the employer is
taxed on such payments. As a wage payment, it is used to calculate
the claimant's weekly benefit amount in the quarter paid, and is con-
sidered income to the worker that must be used to reduce a worker’s
unemployment benefit in the week for which the payment is made.

A payout of Dependent Care Assistance from the account is not
taxable to the employer, nor counted to calculate the claimant's weekly
benefit amount, nor used to reduce unemployment benefits, at the
time of the payout.

Dismissal Allowance
(See Severance Pay)

Educational Assistance

Employers sometimes pay for classes taken by a worker to improve
the worker’s ability to perform his or her job and therefore is for the
benefit of the employer and is taxable for Ul tax purposes. Payments
for such things as books, other fees, and supplies (not later retained
by the employee) are not taxable to the employer for unemployment
compensation purposes and cannot be used to calculate the claim-
ant's weekly benefit amount. These payments would also not reduce
a worker’s unemployment benefits in the week they are paid.

Payments made by an employer for classes that are notwork-related,
such as classes related to sports, games, or hobbies of the worker,
would be taxable to the employer (unless the employee’s wages have
already exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per
year) and would be counted to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount in the quarter paid. These payments would also be used to
reduce a worker’s unemployment benefits in the week they are paid.

Fringe Benefits

Premium payments made by an employer on behalf of an employee
for group health insurance, group life insurance (term or whole life),
group vision insurance, group dental insurance, group legal services,
or other similar benefits would not be wages taxable to the employer
and would not be useable to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount, or to reduce unemployment benefits. These payments are
not made on account of any specific service performed by the worker,
but rather are paid on the basis of the employment relationship, itself.

Also, such payments would not be taxable to the employer, or be
useable to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, or for benefit
reduction purposes at the time the payments of such benefits are made
to or on behalf of the employee.

Guaranteed Wage Payments

This is similar to the Short Work Week payment made by some
employers. It is a payment made to a worker even if no work is per-
formed by the worker.

The payment of such benefits will be taxable to the employer for
unemployment compensation purposes (unless the employee’s wages
have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee
per year), and will be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount in the quarter paid, and for benefit reduction purposes.

Health Savings Accounts
(See Medical Savings Accounts)

Holiday Pay

A payment for a holiday will be taxable to the employer (unless the
employee’s wages have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of
$9,500 per employee per year) and will be used to calculate the claim-
ant's weekly benefit amount if it is paid, or vests, within 14 days of the
holiday. The payment vests when the employee gains the absolute
right to the holiday payment.

It will be counted to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount
in the quarter itis paid, unless the employer assigns the holiday pay to
a different quarter. However, the employer cannot assign the holiday
pay to a different period other than the week it was paid if there is an
employment contract that prevents the assignment, or that assigns the
pay to a specific period.

If the holiday pay can be assigned by the employer, the employer
can assign these accrued holiday payments to any period, regardless
of when the payment was actually made, if the unemployed worker
has not yet actually taken the holiday time off. An employer can even
assign accrued holiday pay to a period following a worker’s layoff, or
following aworker’s discharge or quit. Generally, the reason an employer
would assign the holiday pay to a different period than when actually
paid is to reduce unemployment benefits in a week, rather than the
calculation of benefit rate.

When holiday pay is allocated to a week, it gives the unemployed
worker offsetting earnings in a week when an unemployed worker is
unemployed and might otherwise be entitled to unemployment benefits.
The holiday pay will then be used to calculate the claimant's weekly
benefit amount and also the employer’s taxable payroll (unless the
employee’s wages have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of
$9,500 per employee per year). Unemployment benefits otherwise
payable for these weeks will be reduced.

There is no special procedure for notifying an unemployed worker
about assignment of holiday pay, as there is in the case of vacation pay.
However, the employer must be sure, in Item 6, on Form UIA 1555,
to tell the UIA about the assignment of this payment to a designated
period, as the payment will reduce unemployment benefits otherwise
payable for that week. The amount of the reduction is discussed under
“Reduction in a Claimant’'s Weekly Benefit Payment” in the portion of
this Handbook entitled Employer’s Guide to the Payment of Unemploy-
ment Benefits.
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If the holiday pay does not vest within 14 days of the holiday, it
cannot be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount,
will not be taxable to the employer, and cannot reduce a claimant’s
unemployment benefits. For example, some employers have a policy
that says that to be paid holiday pay for Christmas, the worker must
be at work the third week after Christmas. If that date is more than 14
days after Christmas, the worker has not acquired an absolute right
to the payment within 14 days of Christmas.

Insurance Payout; Insurance Premium
Payments

Neither the payout of insurance to a worker, nor the payment by an
employer of an insurance premium on behalf of the worker, is wages
for purposes of unemployment taxes or for benefit qualifying purposes,
nor remuneration for reducing benefit payments.

Jury Duty Pay,
Payment by Employer in Excess of

Some employers have a practice of paying aworker their full, regular
wage when the worker is absent from work serving on jury duty. The
employer then requires the worker to turn over the jury duty pay to the
employer. The effect of this arrangement is that the employer pays
the worker the difference between the jury duty pay and the worker’s
regular pay.

The employer will be taxed, for unemployment benefit purposes
(unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded the taxable wage
limit of $9,500 per employee per year) on the difference between the
jury duty pay and the worker’s regular pay. That amount will also be
used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and will reduce
unemployment benefits for the week for which the payment is made.

Longevity Pay

Some employers make a special payment to employees on the
basis of the employee’s length of service, with more senior employees
receiving larger longevity checks. Usually, this type of payment is
described in an employment contract. Longevity pay is taxable to the
employer (unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded the
taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year). Itis also counted
as wages to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and to
reduce a worker’s entitlement to unemployment benefits for the week
for which the payment is made.

Medical Savings Account or Health Savings
Account Payment

Some employers make payments (contributions) into a trust fund
on behalf of workers for the specific purpose of providing workers
with funds to cover medical costs not otherwise covered under the
employee’s health insurance. Such a payment is not taxable to the
employer as a wage at the time it is paid into the trust fund, unless
the employee accepts a cash payment (cash option) in lieu of receiv-
ing an employer contribution to a medical savings account. Also, an
employer contribution to a medical savings account is not included
to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and would not be
used to reduce to the worker's unemployment benefits in the week

for which the payment is made, unless the employee accepts a cash
payment (cash option) in lieu of receiving an employer contribution to
a medical savings account.

Moving Expenses

The law specifically excludes from wages taxable to the employer
amounts paid as moving expenses if those moving expenses are
deductible under Section 217 of the Internal Revenue Code. Those
moving expenses would also not be countable to calculate the claimant's
weekly benefit amount, and would not be used to reduce the worker’s
unemploymentbenefits. Generally, suchadeductionis allowable under
the Internal Revenue Code if the new principal workplace is more than
50 miles farther from the worker’s residence than the former workplace,
and the worker was full-time in 39 weeks of the last 12 months, or 78
weeks of the last 24 months.

On-Call Pay

Sometimes an employee receives a payment not for the perfor-
mance of a specific service, but for standing ready to perform a specific
service if it should be needed by the employer. Remaining on-call to
the employer is, itself, a service, and the payment of on-call pay is a
payment for a service of the employee.

On-call pay is taxable to the employer (unless the employee’s
wages have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per
employee per year) and counted to calculate the claimant's weekly
benefit amount. It is also used to reduce a claimant’s entitlement to
unemployment benefits for the week for which the payment is made.

Payment in Lieu of Notice

Sometimes an employer has a written agreement or policy, or even
an unwritten practice, of giving employees a certain period of notice
before laying them off. If an employer with such a pre-existing policy
or practice lays off workers without giving them the usual notice, but
gives them a payment equal to what the employees would have earned
if they had gotten the notice and continued working from the date of the
notice to the effective date of the layoff, then the employer has given
a payment in lieu of notice.

An employer can assign this payment to a particular week. It will
then be taxable to the employer for that week for unemployment tax
purposes (unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded the
taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year). It will also be
used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and to reduce
the claimant's unemployment benefits for that week.

If the payment in lieu of notice is not assigned by the employer to
any particular week, it will be used for employer tax, benefit amount
calculation, and benefitreduction purposes in the weekin whichitis paid.

Pension/Retirement Annuity

The law provides that a payment made by an employer into either
a retirement fund, or into a fund to purchase a retirement annuity for
the worker, will not be taxable to the employer for unemployment insur-
ance purposes, and will not be used to calculate the claimant's weekly
benefit amount, or for benefit reduction purposes.
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In addition, any payment made to a worker at the time of retire-
ment out of such a retirement fund or out of an annuity purchased
by the employer on behalf of the worker for retirement purposes, will
not be taxable to the employer, or counted to calculate the claimant's
weekly benefit amount. However, the amount of a retirement benefit
can be used to reduce a worker’s unemployment benefit, not on the
basis of being earnings, but on the basis of being a retirement benefit
which, under the law, is deductible under certain circumstances from
unemployment benefits.

There are various types of pension plans or annuities. There is the
traditional “defined benefit’ company pension plan that pays a specified
benefit to a retiree. There is the newer “defined contribution” company
pension plan that specifies the amount of the employer’s contribution
during the claimant’s period of employment and that turns over the
entire accumulated amount in the employee’s pension account when
the employee retires. There is the deferred compensation pension
plan commonly referred to as a “401(k)” plan, and there is the type of
plan available under IRS Code Section 403(b) to employees of schools
and non-profit organizations under which the employer purchases an
annuity for the employees. There is also a Keogh plan under which
a self-employed employer provides retirement benefits for his or
her employees. In each of these cases, if the worker receives the
retirement benefit from a base period employer while the worker is
collecting unemployment benefits, the unemployment benefits are
subject to reduction.

Profit-Sharing Payment

Under a profit-sharing plan, employees receive payment not on
the basis of any particular job requirement, but rather as a percentage
of profits made by the company. This payment will not be taxable to
the employer for unemployment insurance purposes, and will not be
used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, or for benefit
reduction purposes.

Reimbursement of Expenses

If an employee spends his or her own money on gasoline, meals,
parking, or other expenses related to the performance of service to
the employer, and the employer reimburses the employee for those
business expenses, the reimbursement is not payment for a service
but rather is repayment for a business expense. ltis not taxable to the
employer for unemployment compensation purposes, and cannot be
used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount. The payment
will also not be used to reduce unemployment benefits.

However, to the extent the payment exceeds reimbursement for
actual business expenses incurred by the unemployed worker, it will
be taxable to the employer (unless the employee’s wages have already
exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year),
and will be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount. It
will also, in that case, be used to reduce unemployment benefits in the
week the reimbursement payment was received.

Room and Board

When an employer provides meals or lodging on its premises, and
the purpose of doing so is solely for the benefit and convenience of

the employer, then the value of the meals or lodging is not taxable to
the employer, and is not used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount. The cash value of the meal or lodging is also not used to
reduce a worker's unemployment benefit for the week.

Ifthe purpose of providing meals or lodging for workers is not solely
for the benefit and convenience of the employer, but is intended, at
least in part, as compensation for the worker, then the full cash value
of the meals or lodging is taxable to the employer, is used to calculate
the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and would be used to reduce the
worker’s unemployment benefit for the week for which the payment is
made. The cash value of the meals or lodging is the amount agreed
upon between the employer and worker. If an amount is not agreed
upon, then the value of the meals will be the amount established by
Administrative Rule 112, and adjusted annually based on The Con-
sumer Price Index:

Full Room and Board, per WeekK...........cccceveesrrernenas $64.96
Lodging, without meals, per Week..........cccovvcrerrcrnenenee $20.87
Lodging without meals, per day ........ccccccoerrerrrenninne $ 3.22
Meals without lodging, per week ..........cccoevverineeninnes $44.66
Meals without lodging, per day..........ccccrerrereereereerenenn. $ 745
Meals without lodging, per meal..........ccocovvernrnrnenns $ 229

Separation Pay (See Severance Pay)

Severance Pay (Also includes Separation Pay,
Termination Allowance, Dismissal Allowance,
Wage Continuation Pay)

These are payments made by an employer at the time the employee
is separated from employment. These payments are taxable to the
employer for unemployment tax purposes, up to the annual limit of
$9,500 per employee. These payments will be used to calculate the
claimant's weekly benefit amount. These payments will also be used
to reduce a claimant’s entitlement to unemployment benefits, even if
the payment is made to the unemployed worker over several weeks
or months while the unemployed worker is receiving unemployment
benefits.

Anemployer can make the severance paymentat the time of separa-
tion but allocate the payment over any period chosen by the employer.
Allocated severance pay will reduce benefits in each week allocated.
Alump sum severance payment will reduce benefits in the week paid.

Short Work-Week Benefits

Some employers have a contract, policy, or practice thatrequires the
employer to pay employees an amount equal to their full week’s wages
when the employees come to work for a certain number of hours or
days during a work week and then are laid off for the rest of the week.

The payment of such benefits will be taxable to the employer for
unemployment compensation purposes (unless the employee’s wages
have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee
per year), and will be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount, and for benefit reduction purposes.
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Sick Pay

Paid on Account of Sickness, under a Plan, or More than 6
Months after Employment Ends.

Payments of sick pay, paid under an established employer plan,
and paid to compensate the employee or his/her family for a period
of actual sickness or disability, are not taxable to the employer for un-
employment compensation purposes, and cannot be used to calculate
the claimant's weekly benefit amount, nor to reduce unemployment
benefits otherwise payable. However, if the employer is the State of
Michigan, sick pay is used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount, even if the payment is made on account of actual sickness
or disability of the employee.

In addition, sick payments made voluntarily by an employer rather
than under a plan, but made more than 6 months after the end of
the employee’s last day of work, will not be taxable to the employer for
unemploymentcompensation purposes, and will notbe used to calculate
the claimant's weekly benefitamount, or for benefit reduction purposes.

Paid to Liquidate a Worker's Sick Leave Balance, or Paid within 6
Months after Employment Ends.

If sick pay is paid to an employee for a reason other than sickness,
such as when an employee retires and is paid, in cash, for all or part
of their accumulated sick leave hours, then the payment is taxable to
the employer for unemployment compensation purposes (unless the
employee’s wages have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of
$9,500 per employee per year) and is used to calculate the claimant's
weekly benefit amount, and for benefit reduction purposes in the week
the payment is made.

Also, if the employer does not have a sick leave plan, a payment
made on account of sickness or disability within the first 6 months
after the end of the last month the unemployed worker worked for the
employer, will be taxable to the employer forunemployment compensa-
tion purposes (unless the employee’s wages have already exceeded
the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year) and will be
used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and for benefit
reduction purposes in the week the payment is made.

Stipend

Anamountpaid toaworkerto allow the worker to meet living expenses
while engaged in a training or work-relief program is not a payment
for services and therefore is not taxable as wages for Ul purposes,
nor usable to qualify for benefits, nor used to reduce unemployment
benefits when paid.

Stock Options

If the employer grants an employee the right to purchase a share
of the employer's stock at a future date for a predetermined price,
the "stock option" so granted is taxable to the employer at the time of
the grant, and is remuneration to the worker at that time as well. If,
however, the stock option does not have a readily ascertainable fair
market value at the time the option is granted, then the amount will
be taxable to the employer and counted as remuneration at the time
the option is exercised.

Subchapter S Distributions

A shareholder in a Subchapter S Corporation acquires individual
income tax liability for a portion of the corporation’s annual income,
including a portion of the corporation’s distribution of dividends. The
Corporation provides each shareholder in the corporation with a copy
of Form 1120S, Schedule K.

Line 1 of Schedule K reports the shareholder-employee’s share
of profit and loss of the corporation. That amount is not wages for
the shareholder-employee, and is not taxable to the employer for
state unemployment tax purposes. It is also not used in figuring the
shareholder-employee’s weekly benefit amount, or for benefit reduc-
tion purposes.

Line 20 of Schedule K shows the “Total property distributions
(including cash) other than dividends.” To the extent this dividend is
intended as a payment to the shareholder-employee in lieu of reason-
able compensation for services performed for the corporation by the
shareholder-employee, this amount is a wage. If the amount of the
dividend paid to a shareholder-employee is more than reasonable
compensation for his or her services, only the amountthat s reasonable
compensation for his or her services is considered wages to him or her.
Only that amount is taxable to the employer for state unemployment
tax purposes, and only that amount is used to calculate the claimant's
weekly benefit amount, and for benefit reduction purposes.

Supplemental Unemployment Benefits (SUB)

Some employers have a plan, either administered by a Trustee or
directly by the employer, setup consistentwith the criteria outlinedin IRS
Publication 15-A, "Employer's Supplemental Tax Guide," that privately
pays additional benefits to supplement unemployment benefits already
paid the worker by the UIA. This is a payment of a benefit, not of a
wage for services performed and, whether paid by a Trustee or by the
employer directly, it will not be taxable to the employer for unemploy-
ment tax purposes, will not be used to calculate the claimant's weekly
benefitamount, and will not be used to reduce unemployment benefits.

Termination Pay
(See Severance Pay)

Tips

The amount of all tips received by an employee and actually
reported by the employee to the employer as provided under Section
6053(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, are taxable to the employer
for unemployment tax purposes (unless the employee’s wages have
already exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per
year), and are used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount,
and for benefit reduction purposes.

Transportation Fringe, Qualified

Aqualified transportation fringe is a benefit paid by some employers
to reimburse employees for certain costs of commuting to work, such
as the use of a personal vehicle, the cost of a public transportation
pass, or the cost of parking. The employee elects to divert a portion of
salary to cover the cost of this benefit. Although this benefitis excluded
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from gross income of an employee under both the Internal Revenue
Code, and the Federal Unemployment Tax Act, under the Michigan
Employment Security Act the cash value of the qualified transportation
fringe is taxable to the employer if included in the first $9,500 of wages
paid to the worker in a year. This amount is also used to calculate the
worker’s weekly benefitamount, and to reduce the worker’s unemploy-
ment benefit payment for a week.

Travel Expenses

If an employee spends his or her own money on gasoline, meals,
parking, or other expenses related to travel on behalf of the employer,
and the employer reimburses the employee for those travel expenses,
the reimbursement is not payment for a service but rather is repayment
for abusiness expense. Itis not taxable to the employer for unemploy-
ment compensation purposes, and cannot be used to calculate the
claimant's weekly benefit amount. The payment will also not be used
to reduce unemployment benefits. This is true even if there are no
actual receipts to support the claim that the payment is a reimburse-
ment of expenses.

However, to the extent the payment exceeds reimbursement for
actual travel expenses incurred by the unemployed worker, it will be
taxable to the employer (up to the yearly limit of $9,500 of wages) and
will be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and to
reduce unemploymentbenefits in the week in which the reimbursement
payment was received.

If the payment is a general “travel allowance” rather than a spe-
cific reimbursement for actual travel expenses, and is intended as an
estimated or blanket payment for employees who travel, rather than
as payment to reimburse those employees for actual travel expenses,
then the travel allowance is taxable to the employer, and is used to
calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and for benefit reduc-
tion purposes.

Vacation Pay

A payment for a vacation will be taxable to the employer for unem-
ployment tax purposes (unless the employee’s wages have already
exceeded the taxable wage limit of $9,500 per employee per year) and
will be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, and for
benefit reduction purposes, if the vacation pay is paid, or vests, within
14 days of the end of the vacation. The payment vests when the
employee gains the absolute right to the vacation payment.

It will be counted to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount
in the quarter it is paid (and will be taxable for that quarter to the em-
ployer) unless the employer assigns the vacation payment to a week
that falls in a different quarter. However, the employer cannot assign
the vacation pay to a different period other than the week it was paid
if there is an employment contract that prevents the assignment, or
that assigns the pay to a different, specified period.

If the employer has the final word on whether a worker can take
vacation, the employer can assign accrued vacation pay to any week,
regardless of when the paymentwas actually made. If aworker has the
option to take vacation pay instead of taking a vacation, the vacation
pay is considered a bonus and cannot be allocated by the employer.

So, assuming the employer has the final word on when the worker
can take vacation, then any vacation pay the worker accrues during
the year can be designated by the employer to any period of layoff
thereafter. Employers sometimes use this option to give the unemployed
worker earningsinaweek when the unemployed worker is unemployed
and might otherwise be entitled to unemployment benefits. The vaca-
tion pay will then be used to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit
amount and will be used as wages taxable to the employer (unless the
employee’s wages have already exceeded the taxable wage limit of
$9,500 per employee per year). In addition, unemployment benefits
otherwise payable for the weeks to which the employer assigns the
vacation pay will be reduced.

To assign vacation pay, though, the employer must first give a writ-
ten Notice to the unemployed worker, and to the unemployed worker's
collective bargaining representative if any, before his/her last day of
work and prior to the period to which the pay will be allocated. If the
Notice is not given properly, then the vacation pay will not be used to
reduce unemployment benefits in any week.

The Notice must include the following:

« thatthe employer intends to make the assignment of vacation pay;

+ the period to which the employer is assigning the vacation pay; and

« that the assignment of vacation pay to a period of unemployment
may make the unemployed worker ineligible for unemployment
benefits for that period.

The Notice to the unemployed worker must be made in one of
the following ways:
+ include the Notice in the contract of employment;
+ deliver the Notice to the unemployed worker and union represen-
tative of the unemployed worker; or
+ post the Notice on the job before the claimant’s last day of work
and give a copy to the claimant’s union representative.

The employer should provide information on the Monetary Deter-
mination, Form UIA 1575E, under "Employer Notification of Possible
Disqualification or Ineligibility for Benefits," to tell the UIA about the
assignment of this special payment to a designated period, as such
assignmentofthe paymentwill reduce unemploymentbenefits otherwise
payable for that week.

If the vacation pay does not vest within 14 days of the vacation, then
it cannot be used to calculate to claimant's weekly benefit amount, or
for benefit reduction purposes, and will not be taxable to the employer
for unemployment compensation purposes.

Wage Continuation Pay
(See Severance Pay)

Workers' Disability Compensation

The amount a worker receives in Workers' Disability Compensation
in a week is not used to reduce the worker's entitiement to unem-
ployment benefits for the week, although the fact that a worker is
receiving Workers' Disability Compensation raises a question about
the worker's ability to work. If the worker is still able to perform
some work he/she has performed or for which he/she has been
trained, the worker could still satisfy the "ability to work" requirement
to receive unemployment benefits.
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Likewise, a payment of "Workers' Disability Compensation Differ-
ential" under Section 361(1) of the Workers' Disability Compensation
Act is not used to reduce the worker's weekly unemployment benefit
payment.

All Other Compensation for Personal Service

Any other kind of payment an employer makes to a worker to
compensate the worker for performing a service is counted as wages
to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount, is used to reduce a
worker's unemployment benefits otherwise payable in the week, and
is taxable to the employer to the extent that the employer has not yet
already reached the taxable wage limit of $9,500.00 in a calendar year
for that employee.

Final Report and Payment, and Filing of
Discontinuance or Transfer of Payroll or
Assets in Whole or Part - Form UIA 1772

Upon discontinuance of a business, or transfer of business or of
payroll or assets, in whole or in part, two forms must be filed with the
UIA, Form UIA1772, Discontinuance or Transfer of Payroll or Assets in
Whole or Part, and section 3 Form UIA 1028 showing this is the Final
Report, due within 15 days of the discontinuance.

In some cases, employers have not notified UIA that the business
has been discontinued. It is important to notify UIA if you are no longer
in business; otherwise, you may be assessed penalties for nonreport-
ing quarters, even for quarters that you were not in business. A copy
of Discontinuance or Transfer of Payroll or Assets in Whole or Part,
Form UIA 1772, has been provided in this Handbook. Form UIA 1772
can be mailed or faxed to the UIA Tax Office. The tax teams and their
telephone numbers are listed on page 10-C.

For information about filing the Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax
Reportonthe Internet, go to the UIAWebsite: www.michigan.gov., click
on"Employers", and scroll down to "Electronic Wage Detail Reports and
clickon"UIAOnline Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report. Then click
on Register/File 1028 and sign in to your account or register for one.

Reimbursing Employer Billing for Benefit Charges -
Form UIA 1763

Form UIA 1763, Reimbursing Employer Billing for Benefit Charges,
is a billing provided each calendar quarter to Reimbursing Employers
(those non-profit organizations and governmental units that repay the
UIA, dollar-for-dollar, for unemployment benefits paid out), showing
charges and credits to the employer's account during the quarter.
Payment is due within 30 days after the date of billing (state agencies
have 60 days). However, payments from local governmental entities
such as school districts, cities, and counties are due within 30 days
after the beginning of the entity's next fiscal year.

Domestic Employment

Beginning in 2012, an employer that is liable solely on the basis
of employing domestic workers (that is, workers in the employer’s
household) may pay state unemployment taxes annually, rather than
quarterly, upon approval by the UIA. A domestic employer must still
file wage and tax reports quarterly, though.

Required Filing Online

An employer that, as of January 1, 2013, had more than 25 em-
ployees, will be required to file quarterly reports online beginning with
the report due for the first quarter of 2013. Employers with more than
5 but fewer than 26 employees on January 1, 2013 will be required to
file quarterly reports online beginning with the report due for the first
quarter of 2014. An employer with 5 or fewer employees on January
1, 2013 will be required to file quarterly reports online beginning with
the report due for the first quarter of 2015, but the UIA Director, upon
request of the employer and a showing of economic hardship, can
extend the effective date of the online filing for an employer with 5 or
fewer employees.

Due Dates:

The Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report, Form UIA 1028, is
due by the 25th day following the end of each calendar quarter. A
$50 penalty may be assessed by UIA for each failure to file a report
on time, or failure to file a complete and correct report within 30 days
of the due date. If the Agency notifies the employer of an error and
the employer provides a corrected report within 14 days, no penalty
will be assessed. When a report is filed past the filing date for the
next calendar quarter, a $250 penalty applies, and an additional $250
penalty applies for each full quarter the report is late thereafter. Due
dates are as follows:

UIA 1028 REPORTING SCHEDULE
Quarter Ending Date Due Date
1 March 31 April 25
2 June 30 July 25
3 Sept. 30 Qct. 25
4 Dec. 31 Jan. 25

If an employer employed 25 or fewer employees on the pay pe-
riod containing January 12, 2013, or in the corresponding pay period
in succeeding years, and in a year experienced 50% or more of its
annual unemployment tax liability in the first calendar year, then
the employer can apply to the UIA, for the following year, to spread
out its first quarterly liability evenly over each of the remaining
three quarters, and no interest or penalty will result if the deferred
payments are made on schedule. Taxes for each of the succeeding
quarters must be still paid in full and on time.

Mailing Addresses

Submit each report to the correct mailing address provided on the
preprinted form. Proper mailing addresses are shown below:

Form UIA 1028 - Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report
Unemployment Insurance Agency
Tax Office

P.O. Box 33598
Detroit, Ml 48232-5598
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If a large package, or mail requiring a signature, is sent, use this
address:

Unemployment Insurance Agency
clo Chase Government Operations
9000 Haggerty Road

Belleville, MI 48111

Correspondence/Protests

Unemployment Insurance Agency
P.O. Box 8068

Royal Oak, MI 48068-8068
Detroit, MI 48202

Responsibility of an employer to
post Notice of Liability

An employing entity determined by the UIA to be an employer is
required to posta Form UIA 1710, Notice to All Employees, in alocation
where it will be easily seen by all employees. However, in the case
of domestic employment, the homeowner must only inform domestic
workers that the homeowner is registered with the UIA. A copy of the
Notice can be downloaded from:

www.michigan.gov/documents/UIA/ UC1710 77109 7.pdf

Responsibility of an employer to pro-
vide individual unemployment compen-
sation notice to separated employee

When aworker is separated from employment for any reason (even
if they quit or are fired), the employer is required to give the worker a
copy of the Form UIA 1711, Unemployment Compensation Notice to
Employee, showing the employer’s name and UIA account number,
and the address where requests for wage and separation information
can be directed.

Collection of unpaid taxes

The law provides several methods that the UIA can use to collect
unpaid unemployment taxes, as well as interest, penalties, damages,
and court costs.

Any monies collected are applied to the oldest open quarter in the
following order: court costs, damages, penalties, interest and principal
taxes.

Assessments

Form UIA 1448, Notice of Assessment, is a Determination by the
UlAthat an employer owes the UIA taxes, and the amount of the taxes
owed, as well as any interest or penalties. Assessments are mailed
on a daily basis. An employer who disagrees with the amount of the
assessment can protest the assessment, just as in the case of any
other Determination. A protest of an assessment cannot be used,
however, to protest the payment of any benefits, or any determination
of liability or tax rates.

Liens

When an assessment is made against an employer and the as-
sessment remains unpaid, the UIA may file Form UIA 1449, Notice
of Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency Tax Lien(s), with the
Register of Deeds of the county in which the employer’s property or
other assets are located, or with the Secretary of State.

The Lien ensures that before the property can be sold, the taxes,
penalty, and interest owed to the UIAwill be paid. Wheneverthe amount
owed to the UlAis paid, the Agency files Form UIA 1450, Certificate of
Discharge of Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency Tax Lien(s),
indicating that the Lien is no longer in effect.

Notice to Withhold

Form UIA 1492, Notice to Withhold, can be issued to any person
or organization that owes money to an employer who, in turn, owes
taxes, penalties, and/or interest to the UIA. This Notice orders the
person or organization not to pay money or transfer assets to the
employer worth a stated amount (the amount the employer owes the
UIA). When a Warrant is issued, the money or property owed to the
employer must be given, instead, to the UIA. For example, the UIA
may attach bank accounts and income tax refunds, and may place a
levy on automobiles and other property.

Warrants

Form UIA1461-1, Warrant, permits the UlAto receive monies being
held as a result of the Notice to Withhold.

Collection suit

The UIA may start a lawsuit against the employer, in civil court, to
collect the taxes, interest, and penalties owed. In addition, damages
of 10% of the taxes owed is added. If the UIAwins a judgment in court
and the employer still fails to pay, the UIAcan prevent the employer from
doing any further business in Michigan until the amount owing is paid.
Negligence penalty

In addition to the penalties already described, if the failure of an
employer to pay taxes owing to the UIAwas the result of the employer’s
negligence or intentional disregard of the law or administrative rules
(but there was no fraud by the employer), the UIA can add an additional
penalty of 5% on all taxes owed.

Administrative and
criminal penalties
In addition to the penalties for failing to pay unemployment taxes
on time, there are special administrative and criminal penalties for
certain fraudulent acts by employers, claimants, and UIA employees.
Thefollowingis a description of the penalties applicable toemployers:

Willful or Knowing Violation of Law,
or Intentional Failure to Comply

An employing unit, or an owner, director, officer or agent of an
employing unit, who willfully violates, or intentionally fails to comply
with the law in connection with a claim for benefits or the payment of
unemployment taxes, can be personally required to pay the amount
involved, plus damages equal to four times that amount. If the em-
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ployer or an officer, agent, owner or director is prosecuted, the amount
described above can be assessed, as well as a criminal penalty of up
to 5 years imprisonment and 10,400 hours of community service. The
applicable penalty depends on the amount of money involved.

False statement or representation,
or failure to disclose

If an employing unit, or an officer, agent, owner or director of an
employing unit, makes a false statement or representation to the UIA
knowing it to be false, or fraudulently fails to disclose a material fact,
the Agency can require the employer or the officer, agent, owner or
director to pay the amount involved, plus damages equal to up to three
times that amount.

If the employer or an officer, agent, owner or director is prosecuted,
the amount described above can be assessed, as well as a criminal
penalty of up to two years imprisonment and 4,160 hours of com-
munity service. The applicable penalty depends on the amount of
money involved.

Requiring an unemployed worker to make a false
statement, as a condition of employment

If an employing unit, or an officer, agent, owner, or director of an
employing unit, requires an unemployed worker to make a knowingly
false statement or representation to obtain or increase benefits or to
avoid or reduce a tax payment, the Agency can require the employer
or the officer, agent, owner, or director to pay the amount involved,
plus damages equal to up to three times that amount, but not less
than $5,000.00.

If the employer, officer, agent, owner, or director is prosecuted,
the amount described above can be assessed, as well as a criminal
penalty of up to $10,000.00, and imprisonment up to 10 years, and up
t0 20,800 hours of community service. The applicable penalty depends
on the amount of money involved.

Conspiracy to Violate Michigan
Employment Security Act

If an employing unit, or an officer, agent, owner, or director of an
employing unit, conspires with another to violate the Michigan Employ-
ment Security Act, the Agency can require the employer, or officer,
agent, owner, or director to pay the amount involved, plus damages
equal to up to three times that amount.

If the employer, officer, agent, owner, or director is prosecuted, the
amount described above can be assessed, as can a criminal penalty.
The criminal penalty will be the amount involved plus three times that
amount as a penalty, and a further penalty ranging up to five years
imprisonment and 10,400 hours of community service. The applicable
penalty depends on the amount of money involved.

SUTA Dumping

Ifan employeris found to have knowingly engagedin SUTADumping
forthe sole or primary purpose of reducing their unemploymentinsurance
tax rate, the penalties described above can apply, and in addition, the
employer's tax rate will be increased to the maximum possible rate for
the year the SUTA Dumping occurred and for the next 3 years (but in

no event will the tax increase be less than 2%). See a more complete
description of SUTA Dumping in Part A of this Handbook, and in Fact
Sheet No. 114 in Part | of this Handbook.

Conclusion

We at the UIA hope that the information provided in this booklet is
clear and assists employers in understanding, and complying with, the
reporting and record-keeping requirements of the Michigan Employment
Security Act, and in being aware of the administrative and criminal
penalties that can be imposed under the law.
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Discontinuance or Transfer of Payroll or Assets in Whole or Part

Information shown on this report is used to determine termination of liability under Section 24 of the Michigan
Employment Security (MES) Act. Completion of this report is required even though you may not be currently
employing any workers. Failure to provide this information may result in a determination being made based on
information available to the Agency. Penalties may be imposed under Section 54(a) or 54(b) of the MES Act for an
intententional failure to comply with State law.

Employee Leasing companies must complete a separate Form UIA 1772 for each client entity terminating
its contract.

PART 1: EMPLOYER INFORMATION

1. Name and Address used prior to discontinuance or transfer of payroll or assets in whole or part.

a) Name: UIA Employer Account Number (EAN):
b) Business Address:
c) Telephone: ( ) Federal Employer ID (FEIN):

2. Current name and address used since discontinuance or transfer of payroll or assets in whole or part.

a. Name:
b. Business Address:
c. Telephone:( )

3. Provide the following information concerning the owner(s), partners, corporate officers, LLC member(s), etc.,
of the organization and the person(s) who safeguard the company’s books and records. If necessary, please
attach additional pages to provide information on all owners.

a. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: 0 Yes [ No
b. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: [0 Yes [0 No
c. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: O Yes O No
d. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: O Yes [ No
e. Name: SSN: Birth Date:
Address:

Title: Telephone: ( ) Record Holder: [0 Yes [0 No
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UIA1772

(Rev. 8-12)
4. Reason(s) for discontinuance or transfer of payroll or assets in whole or part (check one or more).

(m Sale O Reorganization O New Partnership
Lease O Bankruptcy O Incorporation
Foreclosure O Dissolution/ O No Employees

Discontinuance
o Merger O Death | Employee Leasing Company or

Professional Employer Organization
(PEO) (attach copy of agreement)

O Client Entity terminated its contract with an employee leasing company or PEO.

O Other (explain):

5. Provide the following information:

a. Date of discontinuance of payroll in whole or part:

b. Date of last payroll :

6. Provide the following information:
a. Number of business locations in Michigan:
b. Number of business locations in Michigan that have been discontinued:

c. Did you discontinue all employment in Michigan? O Yes O No
If not, how many employees were retained?

d. Have you continued or resumed business in Michigan? O Yes [0 No

If you answered yes, please complete the section below if the information differs from what was provided in
question 1.

LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS ADDRESS

NATURE OF BUSINESS DATE(S) RESUMED BUSINES

7. Employer Leasing Company (ELC) or Professional Employer Organization (PEO) must provide
applicable information.

a. Was the client entity’s business discontinued? COYes [ONo
Business name and FEIN of client entity:

b. Business/mailing address of client entity:

c. Number of employees leased to client entity immediately before the discontinuance or transfer:

d. Gross payroll of client entity immediately before the discontinuance or transfer:
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Complete Part Il and part Il only if your business was sold or transferred.

PART Il: Please provide the name(s) of the person(s)who acquired the Michigan assets, Michigan
organization, Michigan trade, or Michigan business. (“Acquired” refers not only to assets purchased, but
also assets acquired by rental, lease, use, inheritance, merger, mortgage, foreclosure, gift, or other
transfer. If more than one individual or organization is involved, answer all parts of this question for each
purchaser, using separate sheets. If preferred, additional forms will be supplied upon request.)

New Owner's Name New Owner's UIA Account Number or FEIN, if known.

New Corporate Name or DBA Area Code & Telephone Number

Current Street Address (nota P.O. Box)

City, State, ZIP Code

PART Ill: ACQUISITION INFORMATION: Please complete this section carefully. It might be necessary to
consult your accountant, attorney, or financial advisor for a complete valuation of your entire business to
accurately determine the percentage of transfer for each category below.

What Percent?  Date Acquired

% |:| None

1. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the assets of any
former business ? I:l All I:l Part

2. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the
organization (employees/payroll/personnel) of any

former business? What Percent? | Date Acquired
a. If all or part, indicate the percent and date acquired. I:l All |:| Part % I:l None
b. Did the above acquire all or part of the
employees/payroll/personnel of any former business
by leasing any of those employee/payroll/personnel? I:' Yes |:| No (If yes, please provide a copy of your lease agreement)
3. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the trade I:' I:l What Percemo? Date Acquired
(customers/accounts/clients) of any former business? Al Part %o I:l None

4. Did the above acquire all, part, or none of the former owner's What Percent? |Date Acquired
Michigan business (products/services) of any former I:' All I:l Part %o I:l None
business?

Month Day Year

5. Was your Michigan business described in 1-4 above
being operated at the time of acquisition? If no, enter the |:| Yes |:| No
date it ceased operation.

6. Is the above conducting/operating the Michigan business
i Y
acquired from you? I:' es D No

7. Is the above substantially owned, merged, or
controlled in any way by the same interests who owned
or controlled the organization, business or assets of D Yes D No
your business?

8. Did the above hold any secured interest in any
of the Michigan assets acquired from you? [] Yes [[INo ifyes, enter balance owed | $

9. Please enter the reasonable value of the
Michigan organization, trade, business or
assets sold or transferred?

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Upon discontinuance, disposition or transfer of all of your Michigan payroll and/or assets, taxes
become immediately due and payable, and your final Quarterly Tax Report must be filed within 15
days.

TERMINATION OF COVERAGE WHEN COMPLETE TRANSFER OF MICHIGAN BUSINESS IS
INVOLVED. If you disposed of your Michigan business and the Agency finds that a total transfer of
your experience account is required, your coverage will be terminated as of the transfer date.
HOWEVER, should you have persons in your employ subsequent to the date on which your Michigan
payroll and/or assets were transferred, you are required to notify this Agency immediately because you
may be liable for taxes on your payroll regardless of the number of individuals in your employ.

DISCONTINUANCE OR PARTIAL TRANSFER OF MICHIGAN BUSINESS DOES NOT TERMINATE
YOUR COVERAGE. Even though you may have disposed of a part, or all of your Michigan business
in separate transactions, or discontinued all Michigan operations, you are required to continue to
report and pay taxes on any wages paid to Michigan workers whom you may employ until such time
as your coverage is legally terminated.

As prescribed in RuleR 421.115 of the Michigan Administrative Code, all documents,
agreement or records describing the transactions indicated in Part 1 Item 4, Part Il, and Part Ill
above, should be kept available for examination by this Agency for six years.

CERTIFICATION

| certify that the information contained in this report is accurate and complete to the best of my
knowledge and belief. | understand that if | fail to provide accurate and complete information
concerning the discontinuance of a business or the transfer of payroll or assets of a business, |
may be subject to penalties of up to four times the amount of resulting unpaid unemployment
taxes and imprisonment for up to five years.

Date: Name:

(Phone Number w/Area Code of Person Signing this Report) (Title)
Directions for Submitting Form:

You may submit this Form through your MiWAM account at www.michigan.gov/uia or you may send a
completed UIA Form 1772 via fax to: (313) 456-2130 or email to: EmployerLiability@michigan.gov. If you
are mailing this Form, please send it to the following:

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY
Tax Office
P.O. Box 8068
Royal Oak, Michigan 48068-8068

QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Employer Ombudsman (OEQO) at 1-
855-4UIAOEO (855-484-2636), 313-456-2300, or by e-mail at OEO@michigan.gov

LARA is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
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23- B Form UIA 1763 - Reimbursing Employer Billing for Benefit Charges

Authotized by MCL 427.13¢{1)

A 5,
State of Michigan @
LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
Unemployment Insurance Agency RICK SNYDER,
Tax Office - Reimbursing Unit GOVERNOR
3024 W, Grand Blvd., Suite #11-500 REIMBURSING EMFPLOYER BILLING
Detroit, Michigan 48202 FOR BENEFIT CHARGES
www.michigan.gov/uia (313) 456-2085

(313) 456-2132 FAX

Maiiing Date:
UIA Empioyer Account No.:

Balance Forward*:
As of (date printed):

Accrued interest:
As of due date

Benefit Charges For

(Quarter/Period Ending}:
Reimbursing employers are required to pay, in lieu of tax payments, an amount equal o the full amount of regular
benefits, training benefits, and the amcunt of extended benefits not paid for by the Federal Government. The benefit
charges above summarize the Weekly Charges or Credit Notices {Form UIA 1136) and Quarterly Charges or Credit
Notices (Form UIA 1770} previously mailed to you.

Balance Due: Retain For Your Records
Payment Due Date: Check Number:

Daily Interest Accural: Date:

If there is a Credit Balance, no payment is necessary. Amount Paid $

Note: As provided in Section 54 of the MES Act, a $25.00 Wage Report Penaity will be assessed o your account for
failure to timely submit the Wage Detail Report, Form UtA 1017, and a $10.0C Payroll Report Penalty will be assessed
lo your account for failure to timely submit the Reimbursing quarterly Payroil Report, Form UIA 1020R. This amount,
if applicable, is reflected in the Balance Forward* indicated.

“BALANCE FORWARD INCLUDES PAYMENTS AND INTEREST POSTED AS OF DATE INDICATED
This billing is due and payment upon receipt, and Is past due !f unpald after the due date on this biil,
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Make your check or money order payable to UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY.
2. Place your seven digit employer account number on the tace of your check or money order.
3. Detach and return the payment statement below, with your payment in the enclosed envelope,

Cut here and return bottom portion with payment.

UIA 1763-1 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY PAYMENT NOTICE
LARA is an Equal Opportunily Employer/Program.
DO NOT SEND CASH

Amount Due Amount Enclosed

UIA Employer Account No.:

$ $

Period Ending: MAIL TO: UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY
P.O. Box 33598
Detroit, Michigan 48232-5598
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Form UIA 1710 - Notice to All Employees m

Notice To All Employees:

Information about
Unemployment Benefits

This employer is covered by the ...

MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT SECURITY ACT

Unemployment benefits are payable to qualified and eligible workers
of this employer through Michigan’s Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA).

How to file an unemployment claim:

If you become unemployed, you can file your new unemployment
claim or reopen an established claim:

Online through the Michigan Web Account Manager (MiWAM):
www.michigan.gov/uia

By Phone - call UIA’s toll free claims line:
1-866-500-0017

Payment Options: When you

file for unemployment benefits, you

will choose how you want to receive your
benefit payments. You can select a
debit card or direct deposit into

your checking or savings account.

For more information about these
payment options, visit UIA’s website

at www.michigan.gov/uia.

TA L E N T Unemployment Insurance Agency
INVESTMENT AGENCY

STATE OF MICHIGAN - TALENT INVESTMENT AGENCY
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY

TIA s an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable
accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

State ochh ga n, Talent Iny estme nt Agency, U nemployment Insurance Agency; UIA 1710
Authority: Michigan Administrative Code, Section R 421.105; Quantity: 20,000; (Rev. 5-15)
Co: t$600(3¢proopy)P dfrwnhfd If nds.
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mﬁﬂ - Unemployment Compensation Notice to Employee

UIA1711 Authorized by
(Rev. 01-16) MCL 421.1, et seq.
State of Michigan
U Tale?t Invesltment AgeAncy ﬂ
Rick Sn r nemployment Insurance Agency _
gozmﬁe 3024 W. Grand Blvd., Detroit, M| 48202 TALENT Sharon Moffett-Massey
www.michigan.gov INVESTMENT AGENCY UIA Director

UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

Keep This Form

Please ensure that you read both sides of this form prior to filing a claim for unemployment benefits. If
you become unemployed, this information may help to determine your unemployment benefit entitlement.

When to file a claim for unemployment benefits:

A claim for unemployment benefits begins the week it is filed. Therefore, you should file your claim for benefits during your first
week of unemployment.

To receive unemployment benefits, you must both be eligible and qualified. You must:
« File a claim, and report for benefits as directed by the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA).

* Register for work each time a new, additional or re-opened claim is filed as directed by the UIA.

« Have sufficient earnings in the past 18 months.

* Be able to work.

*  Be available for work. You must immediately inform the UIA and all base period employers of any changes to your contact
information (mailing address and telephone number) and respond to all UIA requests to update your contact information.

« |If directed by the UIA, appear at a specified location provided in a mailed notice for an evaluation of your eligibility for
unemployment benefits.

« If requested by the UIA, provide a statement of wages (wage affidavit) for purposes of calculating your unemployment
benefits as state law requires that you produce evidence of those wages (pay stubs, W-2, employer payroll records, etc.).

* Be actively engaged in seeking work.

« Conduct a systematic and sustained work search effort and provide proof of those efforts by submitting your work search
efforts as directed by the UIA.

To file a claim for benefits, you will need the following:

1. This form and any similar forms you received from any employer in the past 18 months, or pay stubs with employer
name, employer payroll record, or W-2 Form.

2. Your Social Security number, complete mailing address (zip code), telephone number, and county of residence.

3. Your driver’s license or state identification card.

4. Your Alien Registration Number and the expiration date of your work authorization if you are not a citizen or national of
the United States.

5. Name(s) of employer(s), date(s) of employment, and reason for separation from each employer you worked for in the
past 18 months.

6. Information from your financial institution if you choose to have your benefits directly deposited into your checking or
savings account.

Filing Claims by Telephone
Day and Time to File Claims by Telephone

If the last two digits of your Social Security Number are:

00 through 15 Monday 8:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m., ET
16 through 33 Monday 12:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m., ET
34 through 48 Tuesday 8:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., ET
49 through 66 Tuesday 12:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m., ET
67 through 81 Wednesday  8:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m., ET
82 through 99 Wednesday 12:30 p.m.- 4:30 p.m., ET

If you miss your assigned day and time, claims are accepted on Thursday or Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. ET.
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Reset Form
UIA1711

(Rev. 01-16)
Reverse Side

Filing Claims on the Internet

You may file your new, additional, or reopened claim on the UIA website at www.michigan.gov/uia. Select “Michigan Web
Account Manager (MiWAM)” logo to sign up for a web account with UIA. You do not have to have a MiWAM account to file
a claim. However, if you do have a MiWAM account, first login, click on the “Claimant Services” tab and select the “File a
claim” link under the filing options. You may file your claim through the Internet if ALL of the following requirements are met:

*  You have worked under only one Social Security number.

*  You have not filed a claim for unemployment benefits against another state during the past 12 months.

Before filing online, ensure you have the information from Items 1 through 6 (listed above), a pen or pencil, and paper to
make notes of information you will receive from the UIA. You can write the information you need on this form so that it is
available when you file your claim.

The Internet Filed Claim system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, regardless of the last two digits of your Social
Security number.

If you have a problem or question about your claim, you can call the UIA at 1-866-500-0017 (TTY customers use 1-866-
366-0004). UIA staff is available to assist you from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., ET, Monday through Friday.

To Be Completed by the Employer

Rule R 421.204 of the Michigan Administrative Rules requires that a completed copy of this form, or an equivalent
written notice, be given to each employee before, or when he/she is separated from your employ. A $10.00 penalty
for non-compliance with this rule may be imposed by the UIA. Please complete the following information in the
spaces below.

Your 10-digit UIA Account Number:

Your 9-digit Federal Identification Number:

Employer’s Name with Doing Business As (DBA), and complete mailing address where wage and separation
information is available for the worker listed on this form.

Name DBA
Address for Employment City, State, Zip Code
Name of Contact Person Telephone Number

Reason for Separation

Employers with questions may contact the Office of Employer Ombudsman (OEO) at 1-855-484-2636,
or OEO@michigan.gov.

TIA is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Form UIA 1136 - Statement of Unemployment Benefits Charges or Credits
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Morelmach Company

55555 Some Avenue
City, State  48708-8026
MAIL DATE: 03182004

UIA Employer Account No.: 0000000 D00

Employer Name: Morelmach Company
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In accordance with Section 30{f) of tha MES Azt, "For banefit years beginning after the comversion date prescribed
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nanehargeable benefits account if the claimant during that week earms renumeration with thal employer thal
equals or exceeds the amount of benelits charged to thet employer,”

THIS IS NOT A REQUEST FOR PAYMENT - SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON REVERSE SIDE

LARA is an egual opporlunily employerprogram.
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Form UIA 1801 - Notice of Hearing

UIA 1801 &' State of Michigan Authorized by
(Rev. 12/11} DEPARTMENT OF LIGENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS MCL 4211, el seq.
MICHIGAN ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING SYSTEM P
CEDE RO LSES WHE
Mailed or Personally Served Cn:
i n J 4
NOTICE OF HEARING Appeal No:

NOTICE OF HEARING
PLEASE READ THE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON THE BACK OF THIS NOTICE

Hearing Date: Time;

Place:

Issue(s) Invoived In Dated

IMPORTANT

Please be on time for this hearing. You must be prepared to present your case. Postponements
will only be granted at _the discretion of the Judge, and if your request is timely.

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON REVERSE SIDE OF THIS NOTICE. AUTHORITY AND JURISDICTION MCL 421.33
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Purpose of this chapter

The purpose of this chapter is to explain, in plain English, how employers are taxed under Michigan’s
unemployment insurance system, created by the Michigan Employment Security Act.

This chapter only summarizes the provisions of a rather complex law. It is not intended to cover every
aspect of unemployment taxes, and is not intended to substitute for the law itself. We hope that by
understanding the tax system better, you may be better able to control some of your unemployment

insurance costs.

This chapter has been prepared as part of a general guide

to unemployment taxes and benefits in the State of Michigan.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation. It is written

to assist in understanding the Michigan Employment Security Act which
is the unemployment compensation law in Michigan.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



2-C

What is Unemployment Insurance?

Unemployment insurance is a form of social insurance, admin-
istered in Michigan by the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA).
It is designed to provide unemployment benefits to help workers re-
place some of their lost wages after they have become unemployed
through no fault of their own, such as by a layoff.

The benefits allow workers enough time to look for a job reason-
ably similar to the one they had. It also helps an employer by keep-
ing experienced workers in the area and available to return to the
employer when times get better. Finally, it helps the entire commu-
nity during an economic downturn, because unemployment benefits
are spent locally to buy food, clothing, and other necessities of life
that local merchants sell.

Unemployment insurance is like fire insurance you carry on your
building, or health insurance you carry on yourself, your family,
and your employees. Insurance is a fact of business life. It protects
against the uncertainties of the future. Unemployment insurance
works the same way, except that it is not optional, and the “premi-
ums” you pay are in the form of a tax.

Employers pay either "contributions” or
"reimbursements"

The UIA keeps an “account” for each employer that pays Michi-
gan unemployment taxes. The account keeps track of taxes paid
and benefits charged, but it is a bookkeeping account only, and does
not contain actual dollars. In most cases, when a worker becomes
unemployed from the employer and collects unemployment benefits,
a charge is made to the employer’s account. When the employer
pays taxes, the account is credited.

There are two methods for employers to pay unemployment
insurance. Private, for-profit employers, which include most employ-
ers, are called "contributing" employers. Each calendar quarter, a
contributing employer files a report with the UIA, Form UIA 1028,
Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report. Employers use the report
to compute and pay their unemployment insurance tax and to report
quarterly wages. The tax is based on a formula that uses the em-
ployer’s past experience with the unemployment of its workers, and
the size of its payroll as a measure of its potential risk of unemploy-
ment.

The second method of paying for unemployment insurance is
available only to units of government, Indian tribes, tribal units and
non-profit organizations. Generally, a non-profit organization is one
whose purpose is either educational, religious, cultural, or scientific
(as defined in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code), and
is exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501(a) of that
Code. This second method is called the "reimbursing" method and
the employers who use it are "reimbursing" employers.

A non-profit organization can file a written request with the UIA to
become a reimbursing employer. A governmental unit or Indian tribe
is automatically a reimbursing employer, unless it requests, in writ-
ing, to be a contributing employer. An Indian Tribe is a reimbursing
employer, but may elect to be contributing. A non-profit organization
wishing to switch from the contributing to the reimbursing method
must notify the UIA within 30 days of being found to be a liable em-
ployer, or not less than 30 days before the beginning of the calendar
year in which the change will be effective.

A reimbursing employer does not pay quarterly taxes to the UIA.
But if unemployment benefits are paid to former employees, the
reimbursing employer must repay the UIA, dollar-for-dollar, for
unemployment benefits paid out.

Who is required to pay unemployment insurance
taxes?

Unemployment insurance taxes are required to be paid by
an employer that has been determined by the UIA to be a liable
employer. (Before being determined to be a liable employer, a
company is known as an employing unit.)

Generally, a liable employer is an employing unit that either (1)
employed 1 or more employees in each of any 20 different weeks
in a calendar year (i.e., a January 1 through December 31 year); or
(2) paid $1,000 or more in payroll in a calendar year to employees
covered by unemployment insurance; or (3) acquired the trade,
organization (i.€., all employees), or business, or at least 75% of the
assets of a liable employer. (This last situation is called successor-
ship and is discussed in more detail later in this Handbook.)

The requirements are different for employers of agricultural or
domestic workers. An employer that pays a total of $1,000 or more,
in cash, to all its domestic employees (such as housekeepers or
babysitters) in any calendar quarter in the current or preceding year,
is a liable domestic employer.

An employer that (1) pays a total of $20,000 or more, in cash,
to all its agricultural workers in a calendar quarter, or (2) employs
10 or more agricultural workers in at least 20 different weeks, in the
current or preceding year, is a liable employer. Agricultural employ-
ees furnished by a crew leader are employees of the crew leader.
Agricultural workers include, in general, those who raise food or
horticultural crops and those who raise or tend animals for use as a
product source.

If you are not now registered with the UIA as an employer,
and you believe you may fall into one of the categories described
above, you should request from the UIA Form UIA 518, Michigan
Business Taxes Registration Booklet. It is available on our website
(www.michigan.gov/uia) or from the UIA Tax Office, Cadillac Place -
Suite 11-500, 3024 W. Grand Blvd., Detroit, Michigan 48202.
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Which employer pays the taxes in
special employment relationships?

1. EMPLOYEE LEASING COMPANY (ELC)

A. Definitions

1) An “Employee Leasing Company” (ELC) is also known as a
“Professional Employer Organization” (PEQ). The ELC is an
independently established business entity that provides em-
ployees to a client entity, pays the wages of those employees,
reports and withholds applicable taxes from the wages of those
employees, administers the benefits for those employees, and
provides whatever other payroll, human resources, and other
management assistance services that are agreed upon with its
client entity.

The employees provided to the client entity may have previously
been employed directly by the client entity. The relationship
between the client entity and ELC is intended to be long-term
or continuing, rather than temporary or intermittent, and the
employees are, generally, not subject to re-assignment. Also, a
majority of the workers at a client entity’s worksite, or a majority
of workers in a specialized group within that workforce, consists
of employees assigned by the leasing company.

2) A*“Client Entity,” also known as a “Work-site Employer,” is the
business entity that contracts with an Employee Leasing Com-
pany for the purpose of providing to the client entity employees
and related services.

3) A“Captive Provider” is an ELC that limits itself to providing
services and employees to only one client entity and that entity’s
subsidiaries and affiliates, and does not hold itself out as avail-
able to provide leasing services to other client entities that do not
share an ownership relationship with the ELC.

B. Criteria for Recognition of ELC Status in Michigan
An ELC that meets the requirements of Section 41 of the Michi-
gan Employment Security Act is a “liable” employer and respon-
sible to pay unemployment taxes on the employees leased to the
client entity. For unemployment tax purposes in Michigan, the
ELC, and not the client entity, will be considered the employer of
the leased employees if all of the following conditions are met:;

1) An employing entity representing itself to be an ELC must comply
with the requirements of Administrative Rule 190 to be consid-
ered by the Agency to be an ELC for purposes of the Michigan
Employment Security Act and this rule. If the Agency deter-
mines the entity is not an ELC within the meaning of this rule, the
payroll of workers at the client entity will be (re)assigned to the
client entity, and the client entity’s prior experience rating will be
reinstated; and

2) Administrative Rule 190 requires that for an ELC to be the
employer of the leased employees, the ELC must administer all
payroll and benefit services for the client entity, pay the wages of
the worker, and have the right both in contract and in fact to hire,
promote, reassign, discipline, and terminate the leased workers.
These rights cannot be delegated by the ELC to the client entity.
The client entity’s officers may be considered employees of the

leasing company when they are acting as operational managers,

or performing services, for the client entity; and

The ELC retains the right to exercise direction and control over

the daily activities of the workers or can delegate such right to

the client entity; and

Neither the ELC, nor any individual owner of the ELC, nor

owners of the ELC in the aggregate, has an ownership interest

in excess of 20% in the client entity, including its subsidiaries

and affiliates, nor does the client entity have in excess of a 20%

ownership interest in the ELC; and

5) Neither the ELC nor any individual owner or other employee of
the ELC has direct or indirect control over the client entity; and

6) The ELC does not limit itself to providing services and employees
to any one client entity, including that entity’s subsidiaries and af-
filiates, but holds itself out to the public in general as available to
provide such leasing services. It shall not be a “captive provider’
of employee services as that term is defined in this rule.

Operational Requirements with which the ELC must comply

1) The ELC is responsible for maintaining records pertaining to the
employees of the ELC who perform services for the client entity.
The ELC is also responsible for making such records available to
the Agency, on request.

2) The ELC must promptly provide the Agency, on request, with a
copy of the employee lease agreement with any of its client enti-
ties, and with a list of the ELC’s client entities.

3) The ELC must comply with federal, state, and local employment
and business registration laws, regulations, and ordinances. If
the ELC does not so comply, the Agency may decline or cease to
recognize an employing entity as an ELC.

4) An ELC that became a liable employer on January 1, 2011 or
later must file, online, a single quarterly wage/tax report on behalf
of each of its client entities ("client-level reporting"), using the
UIA account number of each client entity to report the tax and
wage information individually for each client entity. An ELC that
was a liable employer before January 1, 2011 must comply with
this "client-level reporting" requirement not later than January 1,
2014,

5) The ELC must notify the UIA within 30 days of the addition or
deletion of any client entity.

6) Aclient entity of an ELC that begins reporting by "client-level
reporting" will resume its own former unemployment tax rate if it
has been a member of an ELC for less than 8 calendar quarters
(12 calendar quarters beginning in 2014); it will become an em-
ployer in the first year of liability if it has been 8 quarters or more
(12 calendar quarters beginning in 2014), since it was a liable
employer outside of an ELC.

7) An ELC must provide the mailing address and the physical ad-
dress of each of its client entities.

8) The FUTA tax credit will be certified by the UIA for the client
entity, unless an ELC completes and provides to the UIA, by
November 30, for the certification provided by UIA to the IRS the
following January 31, a form attesting to the payment of wages to
the leased employees, on a form provided by the UIA.

w
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TEMPORARY HELP FIRM (THF)

. Definitions

A “Temporary Help Firm” (THF) is an employer whose primary
business is to provide a client entity with the temporary services
of one or more individuals under contract with the employer.
Employment with a temporary help firm is characterized by a se-
ries of limited-term assignments of an individual to a client entity
based on a contract (not necessarily a written contract) between
the THF and the client entity. The assignment is usually for a
specified period. A separate employment contract (not necessar-
ily a written contract) exists between the THF and each individual
it hires as an employee. The employee of the THF is subject to
reassignment by the THF. Completion of an assignment for the
client entity by an employee employed by the THF does not, in
itself, terminate the employment contract between the THF and
the individual.

. Liability for Unemployment Taxes

ATHF that meets the requirements of Section 41 of the MES Act
is a “liable” employer and must pay unemployment taxes on its
employees. Some of these types of firms may call themselves
leasing companies but for purposes of this rule they fall within the
definition of a THF.

PAYROLLING

. Definitions

“Payrolling” is the practice of establishing a related or associated
company for the purposes of reassigning the employee payroll
functions from one business entity to the related business entity,
usually to take advantage of the lower unemployment tax rate of
the related business. Direction and control of the involved em-
ployees are not transferred along with the payroll to the related
business entity, though, and therefore the related entity is not an
employee leasing company.

. Liability for Unemployment Taxes

The related business entity to which the payroll is assigned will
therefore not be considered the “employer” for unemployment
insurance tax purposes because the entity for which services are
performed is the actual employer which exercises direction and
control over the employee.

COMMON PAYMASTER

. Definitions

“Common Paymaster” is the arrangement by which different ser-
vices performed by one individual are divided among two or more
employers that are related through commonality of ownership,
and the individual is compensated by one of those employers
that acts as the “common paymaster.” Under such an arrange-
ment, different employers bengfit from the services of the same
individual, but these services are reflected in the experience
rating of, and the payment of unemployment taxes by, only one
of the employers.

Generally , entities are “related” if the entities are corporations
that are members of a controlled group of corporations. If the
corporations do not issue stock, then they are related if they

share 50% or more of their directors or 50% or more of holders of
the voting power to select the governing members. Corporations
are also related if they share 50% or more of their officers, or if
they share 30% or more of their employees.

B. Liability for Unemployment Taxes
The two or more related entities that compensate an individual
may elect to have one of those entities act as the common
paymaster of that individual. The unemployment tax would be
paid on the first $9,500 of that employee’s aggregate wages
from all of the related entities. The related entity that acts as the
common paymaster is the one with highest state unemployment
tax rate from among the related entities for which the individual
performs services.

Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) and Limited Liability
Partnerships (LLPs)

In addition to the traditional ways businesses have been orga-
nized, such as sole proprietorships, partnerships, and corporations,
some new business organizations have been developed, by statute,
and become popular in recent years.

A Limited Liability Company (LLC) is an unincorporated business
entity formed by one or more persons called “members.” These
members are identified in the LLC’s Articles of Organization. A
“person” can be an individual, a partnership, another LLC, a trust, an
estate, an association, a corporation, a governmental entity, or any
other legal entity. The LLC has the flexibility and tax advantages
of a partnership, and the protection against personal liability of a
corporation, yet is neither a partnership nor a corporation.

Under current IRS regulations various business organizations
such as an LLC may choose to be taxed, for federal tax purposes,
as a different entity, such as a corporation. For Michigan unemploy-
ment tax purposes, however, an LLC with two or more individual
members will be taxed as a partnership. Members who perform
services for such an LLC are not employees and the LLC will not be
taxed on their services, nor will they be entitled to unemployment
benefits. The LLC is responsible for payment of unemployment
taxes on the services performed by its non-member employees.

Also, regardless of the election an entity might make for federal
tax purposes, for Michigan unemployment tax purposes, an LLC
with a single member who is an individual (rather than a corporation
or other business entity) will be treated as a sole proprietorship. The
single member in an LLC is not an employee and consequently the
LLC is not responsible for paying unemployment taxes on services
performed by the member, nor is the member entitled to unemploy-
ment benefits. A single-member LLC must pay unemployment taxes
on services performed by its non-member employees as with any
other business organization.

IRS regulations allow some business entities to be disregarded
as the employer of its employees for federal tax purposes. Instead,
the parent or owner organization of the disregarded entity reports
wages and pays federal unemployment taxes on the services
performed by the employees of the disregarded entity. Michigan
unemployment law generally does not provide for disregarded enti-
ties. Each entity will be examined to determine its status under the
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Michigan Employment Security Act and will be required to report
wages and pay taxes to an assigned account where the entity is de-
termined to qualify as the employing unit. If the Agency determines
that a business entity meets the definition of an employer under the
Michigan Employment Security Act, and administrative rules, then
that entity is responsible for reporting the wages and paying the
unemployment tax on services performed by its employees.

A Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) is established by means
of a “Registration Form.” As with members of an LLC, partners in
an LLP are not entitled to unemployment benefits and the LLP is
not liable for the payment of state unemployment taxes on wages
paid such individuals who perform services for the LLP. However,
state unemployment taxes must be paid on wages paid for services
performed by non-partners of the LLP.

Which employees are covered by
Unemployment Insurance?

Most services performed by an employee for an employer
are covered by unemployment insurance. Even if an employee is
temporary or seasonal, or working during a probationary or training
period, his or her services are probably covered by unemployment
insurance. But employees who are covered by unemployment
insurance will be entitled to unemployment benefits only if they earn
enough wages, properly file a claim, and meet all other eligibility
requirements.

Certain services performed by employees, however, will not
qualify them for unemployment benefits, because the services are
not covered services.

For example, services performed for a “for-profit” employer by
a student as part of a program for academic credit, j.e., “co-op stu-
dent,” are not covered. Neither are services of high school students
who are under 18 in the week they perform the service and who
work restricted hours or during a school break following which they
return to school.

Also not covered are services performed by a student for his or
her school, if the worker is “primarily a student” at the school.

A worker for a religious organization is usually not covered,
although some religious groups have volunteered to cover their
workers in Michigan.

Salespeople who work for real estate brokers, or investment or
insurance companies, and who are primarily paid on commission,
are also not covered by unemployment insurance, nor are most
home improvement or home remodeling salespersons.

Employees of public or non-profit schools are covered by unem-
ployment insurance, but benefits are not payable to them between
terms or during school holiday periods, if they are reasonably as-
sured of returning to work following the break. The same applies to
professional athletes between seasons.

All elected government officials and most appointed government
officials are not covered for benefits based on their service in public
office.

Some workers are regarded by employers not as employees but
rather as independent contractors. In general, if a worker makes his
or her services available to the public at large, and provides his or
her own tools and works his or her own hours without any particular
direction or control, the worker can be regarded as an independent
contractor. But if the worker regularly performs almost all services
for one company, and relies for his or her livelihood on performing
work for that employer, he or she will probably be regarded by the
UIA as an employee.

If the family business is a partnership or sole proprietorship, then
a worker is not covered at all by benefits if the business is owned
by the worker’s child or spouse, or if the business is owned by the
worker’s parents and the worker is under age 18.

How much is the
Unemployment Insurance Tax?

For a reimbursing employer, the amount of the liability will be
equal to the amount of unemployment benefits paid out to former
workers and charged to the UIA account.

For a contributing employer, the Michigan unemployment tax is
determined by multiplying the first $9,500 of each covered em-
ployee’s wages paid each calendar year, by the employer’s own
unemployment tax rate. Each calendar quarter, the employer will
receive a Form UIA 1028, “Employer’s Quarterly Wage/Tax Report
that requests information about payroll for the calendar quarter.

4

The form reminds the employer of the tax rate for that year, and
requests payment of the tax on each employee who had not yet
reached the $9,500 limit for the current year. It also asks for the
total wages paid in the quarter on all employees, even if they have
reached the $9,500 limit.

How is the unemployment
tax rate computed?

For an employer that became liable before January 1, 2012, in
the first two years of a business’s liability, the tax rate is set by law at
2.7%, except for employers in the construction industry, whose rate
in the first two years is that of the average employer in the construc-
tion industry, which is announced by the UIA early each year. In
2013, the average construction rate is 8.8%.

The rates in the third and fourth years of liability are partly
based on the employer’s own history of benefit charges and taxable
payroll. This history is known as an employer’s unemployment insur-
ance experience (this will be more fully explained later).
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For an employer that was liable before 2012, in the first two
years of liability the employer's rate was assigned at 2.7%; the third
year of liability used 1/3 of the employer's Chargeable Benefits Com-
ponent (CBC) + 1.8%; the fourth year used 2/3 of the employer's
CBC + 1.0%; in the fifth year of liability and thereafter, the em-
ployer's calculated CBC, Account Building Component (ABC), and
Nonchargeable Benefits Component (NBC) were used to calculate
the rate.

For an employer that became liable in 2012, the first year's tax
rate is an assigned rate of 2.7%; the second year's rate is 2.7% +
1/3 of the employer's calculated CBC; the third year's rate is 2.7% +
213 of the employer's CBC; in the fourth year and thereafter, the rate
is the employer's CBC + ABC + NBC.

For an employer that became liable in 2013 and thereafter, the
first year's tax rate is 2.7% + 1/3 of the employer's calculated CBC;
the second year's rate is 2.7% + 2/3 of the employer's CBC; in the
third year and thereafter the rate is the employer's CBC + ABC +
NBC.

The Chargeable Benefits Component and the Account Building
Component are affected by the employer’s payroll, and the unem-
ployment benefit charges to their account. Since these components
reflect each company’s experience, they are known as the experi-
ence components, and the entire taxing computation is known as
experience rating. Generally, employers that have many former
workers drawing unemployment benefits have higher tax rates,
while employers that have few former workers drawing benefits have
lower tax rates.

Michigan’s unemployment tax system is one of the most highly
“experience rated” systems in the country. This generally means
that a Michigan employer’s tax is more closely based on the actual
benefit charges to its account, and the size of payroll, than employ-
ers in most other states.

Chargeable Benefits Component (CBC)

This component takes into consideration the amount of un-
employment benefits charged to an employer’s account over a
36-month period. The calculation period ends the previous June 30.

For example, the 36-month period used to compute the tax rate
for calendar year 2013 and thereafter would be the 36-month period
ending the previous June 30.

This amount is then divided by all of the taxable payroll during
that same period of months. Taxable payroll is the first $9,500 of
each covered employee's annual wages.

To summarize, the Chargeable Benefits Component is figured
like this:

CBC = 36 months of benefits paid
36 months of taxable payroll

The result is rounded to the next higher 0.1%. The Chargeable

Benefits Component can range from zero to 6.3%.

Account Building Component (ABC)

Unemployment insurance, like any insurance system, uses past
experience to try to achieve solvency for the insurance system. In
the case of unemployment insurance, the Account Building Compo-

nent serves this purpose. It does this by comparing an employer’s
individual UIA employer account (the Actual Reserve) with the state-
wide average UIA employer account. It then takes into consideration
each employer’s total payroll for the 12-month period ending the
previous June 30.

Specifically, the calculation works as follows: subtract the Actual
Reserve from the Required Reserve, multiply the result by “0.50”
and then divide the result of all of the above by total payroll (not
just taxable payroll) for the 12-month period ending the previous
June 30. The yearly tax rate notice (Form UIA 1771), mailed in late
December each year, shows the amount of the Required Reserve.

The Actual Reserve is all the money an employer has paid in
taxes to the UIA (based on the ABC and CBC components) since
the business began, minus all the benefits that have been charged
to the employer’s account since the business began. In other words,
it is the “net amount” in an employer’s UIA account, and may be
either a positive (+) or a negative (=) number. If negative, the em-
ployer is known as a negative balance employer.

The Form UIA 1771 shows all taxes paid to the employer’s ac-
count and all benefits charged against the account.

The Required Reserve is calculated by taking the employer’s
total payroll for the 12 months ending the previous June 30, and
multiplying that amount by 3.75% (.0375).

To summarize, the Account Building Component is figured like
this:

ABC = [(Required Reserve) - (Actual Reserve)] X 0.5
12 months of total payroll

The result is rounded up to the next higher one tenth of one
percent (0.1%). The amount of the Account Building Component is
limited, and cannot exceed 3.0%.

Because the Account Building Component is rounded up, a small
voluntary payment to the UIA can make a difference in the employ-
er’s tax liability. It is generally not cost-effective to use a voluntary
contribution to try to reduce the Account Building Component by
more than 0.1%. Once made, a voluntary payment is irrevocable. If
paid, it must be received by the UIA within 30 days of the mailing of
the annual tax rate notice (Form UIA 1771) or within 120 days after
the beginning of the calendar year, whichever is earlier. Please see
the “Voluntary Payment Worksheet” on page 11-C of this Handbook,
to see if a voluntary payment could benefit you.

Nonchargeable Benefits Component (NBC)

This component is the only one of the three components of the
unemployment tax rate that does not reflect an employer’s own
experience. This component is generally a flat 1.0% for all contrib-
uting employers with five or more years in business. However, for
employers with no, or very few, benefit charges the Nonchargeable
Benefits Component (NBC) can be lower than the standard 1.0%.
The following reductions apply:

+ The NBC is 0.5% if the CBC calculates to less than 0.2%

+ The NBC is 0.1% if the employer had no benefit charges in the 5
years ending the prior June 30.

+ The NBC is 0.09% if the employer had no benefit charges in the 6
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years ending the prior June 30.

+ The NBC is 0.08% if the employer had no benefit charges in the 7
years ending the prior June 30.

+ The NBC is 0.07% if the employer had no benefit charges in the 8
years ending the prior June 30.

+ The NBC is 0.06% if the employer had no benefit charges in the 9
years ending the prior June 30.

This component is used to pay the costs of unemployment ben-
efits that are pooled among employers, i.e. benefits not charged di-
rectly against any specific employer’s account and benefits charged
against employers that have gone out of business.

For example, if a worker is disqualified for benefits for quitting
a job or for being fired, and then earns the required amount to
requalify, unemployment benefits may be paid to the worker if he or
she later becomes unemployed. Those benefits will not be charged,
however, to the account of the employer involved in that quit or
firing. Instead, they are paid from the Nonchargeable Benefits Ac-
count.

Another example is a bankrupt employer whose former workers
will receive benefits, even though the UIA probably will not receive
further tax payments from the employer. Those benefits will be
financed from the pooled reserves of all employers. The Non-
chargeable Benefits Component provides the money for this pooled
reserve.

For an employer whose business has existed for 3 years or
more, the unemployment tax rate will equal the Chargeable Benefits
Component plus the Account Building Component plus the Non-
chargeable Benefits Component. The lowest possible rate is .06%.

Solvency Tax

If the UIA has to borrow money from the federal government to
pay unemployment benefits, then a special solvency tax triggers
on to pay the interest on the federal loan. It is assessed only on an
employer with 5 or more years of liability whose Actual Reserve is a
negative number. As mentioned before, these employers are called
negative balance employers.

The solvency tax is calculated in the same way as the Account
Building Component, but will not exceed the lesser of 1/4 of the
calculated Account Building Component, or 2.0%. For most employ-
ers who pay in, it will be 0.75%.

It may benefit a negative balance employer to make a voluntary
payment by the 30th day after the Rate Determination is mailed to
bring the negative balance up to zero, to avoid the solvency tax.
See Fact Sheet #121, "Solvency Tax".

Obligation Assessment

Because of a prolonged economic downturn in 2009 and 2010,
Michigan's Unemployment Compensation Fund (Trust Fund)
became insolvent and Michigan had to borrow from the federal
government to pay unemployment benefits. As required under the
Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), the credit employers re-
ceived against their FUTA when they paid their state unemployment
tax in full and on time was increasingly reduced, resulting in yearly

increases in FUTA. Also, the federal government charged Michigan
interest on those loans.

Michigan law was amended to allow the state to secure bonding
to pay off the federal loans and interest, and Michigan Employment
Security Act was amended to provide for an "Obligation Assess-
ment" (OA) to pay off the bonds over a number of years.

The OAis applied on all contributing employers until the bonds
are repaid. The bonds are scheduled for a 7-year repayment. The
OAis structured to incorporate your experience rate and a base
assessment of $63. The calculation for the OA takes into consider-
ation an employer's tax rate, the OA ratio, a base assessment, and
the taxable wage base. The OAratio is computed by dividing the
yearly amount required to retire the bonds by the estimated amount
of revenue to be collected in 2015. This number will be set by the
State Treasurer. See the calculations on pages 12 and 13.

What is the tax rate when a new owner acquires
an existing business, or businesses merge?

If a new owner acquires the organization, trade, or business, or
75% or more of the assets, of an existing business, and the existing
business was liable for the payment of Michigan unemployment
taxes, then the new business becomes a successor employer.
Abusiness can acquire another business by a sale, or through
foreclosure, lease, bankruptcy, or merger. The new owner is known
as the successor, and this process of acquiring an existing business
is called successorship.

The new or existing business also becomes responsible for the
payment to the UIA of any unpaid unemployment taxes and interest
owed by the old business, up to the reasonable value of the assets
at the time of acquisition.

Either the purchaser or seller may request from the UIA, in
writing, not less than 10 days before the transfer of business, a
Clearance of Account as to any amounts owing to the UIA. Once the
UIA gives this Clearance of Account to a person, it will stand behind
the accuracy of such clearance.

By law, the seller must provide the buyer with certain unemploy-
ment insurance information at least two days before an offer to
purchase is accepted. On a Form UIA 1027, Business Transferor's
Notice to Transferee of Unemployment Tax Liability and Rate, which
is provided by the UIA, the seller must give information about the
business's unemployment tax rate, outstanding liabilities, and other
details about jobless benefit payments and taxes. The seller must
also list for the buyer employees laid off in the year before the sale
and give the names of all current employees. The seller and his/her
agent face civil and criminal penalties for failing to give the buyer
this information.

If a new or existing business acquires 75% or more of the assets
of another business, and within 12 months either continues the
previous or a similar business, or uses the trade name or good will
of the previous business, then there is a mandatory transfer of the
unemployment tax experience, or history, of the previous business.

This tax experience, or history, includes benefit payments
charged against the old business, and tax payments made by the
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old business. It is very important you understand that when a new
employer inherits this experience, or history, from the old employer,
this really means that the new business is inheriting all the ingredi-
ents of the employer's tax rate. This also means that if unemploy-
ment benefits are being paid to former employees of the old busi-
ness, any benefits chargeable to the old business will, in fact, be
charged to the new employer's account.

If a new or existing business acquires less than 75% of the as-
sets of an existing business, then there can be a voluntary transfer
of the unemployment experience of the previous business. This may
be to the advantage of the new business if the previous business
had a low unemployment tax rate.

In order to effect a voluntary transfer, the UIA must be notified of
the transfer of assets within 30 days after the end of the calendar
quarter in which the transfer occurred, and the UIA must receive a
written request from both the old and new businesses requesting the
transfer of the account.

If there is a transfer of business (whether mandatory or volun-
tary), a portion of the unemployment tax history of the previous em-
ployer, including payroll, unemployment tax payments, and benefit
charges, will be merged into the account of the new employer and
will become part of the new employer’s experience. (As you can
see, this is more involved than just computing the average rate of
the two employers.)

The amount of the previous employer’s experience that will trans-
fer is based on the amount of payroll (paid for the four completed
quarters before the transfer) associated with the assets transferred
to the new business. If the payroll associated with these assets is
less than 100%, then the transfer of experience is called a partial
transfer.

As an example, if a transfer of business (whether mandatory or
voluntary) involved the transfer of assets associated with a certain
percentage of the payroll, such as 60%, then 60% of the unemploy-
ment experience of the former employer would transfer to the new
business. This means that 60% of the payroll, 60% of benefit charg-
es, and 60% of tax payments attributed to the old employer would
transfer to the new employer. The tax rate of the new business will
be based on all of those experience factors that have transferred,
plus any applicable experience of the new owner.

Unemployment taxes under the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)

In addition to the state tax, contributing employers also pay a
federal unemployment insurance tax. The Internal Revenue Service
administers the federal tax. If an employer has paid the state
unemployment tax, on time, then the employer will be entitled to
a credit on the federal unemployment tax return. If the state tax is
paid late, the credit is reduced by 10%. The net federal tax, after full
credit, is 0.6%, multiplied against the first $7,000 of wages of each
employee covered under the federal law.

In states like Michigan that have received advances from the
federal government to pay benefits, the tax credit is reduced by

0.3% the first year advances are outstanding, then 0.6% the second
year, etc. until the advances are repaid. But 1/2 the increased FUTA
is recoverable as a state unemployment tax credit. See Fact Sheet
#130.

What happens to state and federal
unemployment tax payments?

The state unemployment taxes employers pay to the UIA are
used only for the payment of unemployment benefits to Michigan
workers. All regular state benefits are paid from these taxes, as
are half of any Extended Benefits paid to former employees. These
regular and extended benefit payments are usually charged to
the employer’s account. However, in most cases, if a unemployed
worker was disqualified for benefits when he or she left work, and
then requalifies and is paid benefits, the benefits will not be charged
to the employer’s account.

The federal unemployment taxes paid to the Internal Revenue
Service (Form IRS 940), are used to pay the costs of administration
of the unemployment insurance and Job Service programs in all
states. It also pays the federal share of Extended Benefits, and is
used to build a fund from which states may borrow, if necessary, to
pay benefits.

Notification of state
unemployment tax rates

Early each year, the UlA issues its Form UIA 1771, Tax Rate De-
termination for Calendar Year for that calendar year. It shows
an employer’s prior Actual Reserve, benefits charged and taxes paid
(based on the CBC and ABC components) since the last annual
determination, and the employer’s new Actual Reserve.

It also shows the employer’s 12-month total and taxable payrolls,
and the Required Reserve, as well as the employer’s 48 (and in
2013 and thereafter, 30) month taxable payroll, and the benefit
charges in that same period. It then shows the calculated amount of
each component of the tax rate, and the rate itself.

How, when and where to pay
your unemployment taxes
Near the end of each calendar quarter, the UIA mails every
contributing employer Form UIA 1028, “Employer’s Quarterly Wage/
Tax Report.” The form asks for information about the total and the
taxable wages you paid to employees during the quarter. The com-
pleted form is due to the UIA by the 25th day of the month following
the end of the calendar quarter. The due dates are as follows:
Jan.-Mar. - April 25 Jul.-Sept. — October 25
Apr.-Jun. - July 25 Oct.-Dec. — January 25
If you don'’t receive a tax return form for a certain calendar
quarter, you should request one, because you still must file your
report on time. Call 1-800-638-3994 and press option "5", or from
the Internet go to www.michigan.gov/uia.
It is very important that the UIA receives all your quarterly tax
reports, even if you are unable to pay the tax due or there was no
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payroll for a quarter. The law imposes a penalty for failure to file a
tax report on time, and assesses interest for failure to make a tax
payment on time.
Mail Form UIA 1028, Employer's Quarterly Wage/Tax Report and

payments to:

Unemployment Insurance Agency

P.O. Box 33598

Detroit, MI 48232-5598

Effect of Missing Tax Report(s)

If any tax reports are missing from the period used to compute
the rate (the four quarters ending each June 30), the UIA will com-
pute the rate using the tax reports that are on file for that period, and
will add a penalty of 3.0%. If no tax reports are on file for that period,
then the UIA cannot compute the rate and the law requires the UIA
to assess the employer the maximum possible tax rate, even if your
experience would have resulted in a lower rate. A penalty of 3.0% is
also added.

If all of the missing reports are provided within 30 days of the
mailing of Form UIA 1771, Rate Determination, the rate is calculated
using the missing information, and the penalty is dropped. If the
missing reports are filed beyond 30 days but within 1 year, the pen-
alty is dropped to 2.0%. If there was "good cause" for the lateness in
filing then the penalty is dropped entirely. If the missing reports are
filed beyond 1 year but within 3 years, the rate is recalculated but
the penalty remains at 3.0%.

If your annual Tax Rate Determination shows your rate as the
maximum, and the space called “See Code Below” is marked “02,” a
penalty has been added due to at least one missing quarterly report.

You should send in the missing report(s) within 30 days, so that
your rate can be correctly computed and the penalty removed. Even
if you previously submitted the report the UIA says is missing, you
should send in a duplicate within the 30 days, so that your rate can
be correctly computed and the penalty removed.

A contribution report not received timely, but filed within 10 days,
is subject to a 10% penalty. A report not received, or received with
incomplete or incorrect information, is subject to a penalty of $50.00
if the report is not later than the end of the quarter, and $250.00 per
quarter if the report is more than 1 calendar quarter late.

Also, if a quarterly tax report is missing, the credit against the
federal FUTA tax cannot be applied, and the FUTA tax may be as-
sessed at its maximum, as well.

Reimbursing employers are billed quarterly for unemployment
benefits paid to former workers during the quarter. Payment is due
within 30 days after the billing (or, for local governmental entities
and school districts, within 30 days after the start of their next fiscal
year).

Reimbursing employers must also file Form UIA 1028. For In-
dian Tribes, the billing is annual and payment is due within 30 days
after the start of the calendar year.

Effect of SUTA Dumping

If an employer is found to have knowingly engaged in SUTA
Dumping (see Page 3-A of this Handbook) for the sole or primary
purpose of reducing their unemployment insurance tax rate, the
employer will be assigned the maximum possible tax rate for the
year the SUTA Dumping occurred and for the next 3 years (but in no
event will the tax increase be less than 2%).

Protest/Appeal Rights

Any determination made by the UIA concerning an employer’s
liability, the coverage of a worker’s services, an employer’s tax rate,
or the payment of benefits to a worker, can be appealed. After a
“determination” is issued, a protest may be filed and a “redetermina-
tion” is issued. From a redetermination, the matter may be appealed
to a Referee.

The protest or appeal must be in the UIA’'s possession (not
merely postmarked) within 30 calendar days after the determination
or redetermination was mailed or personally served.

The Michigan Administrative Hearing System has published a
booklet to help employers and claimants in preparing for an Admin-
istrative Law Hearing. The booklet is called “A Guide to Unemploy-
ment Insurance Appeals Hearings.” It is reproduced in Section E
of this Handbook. There is also a webcast that explains the appeal
process, and one that shows a mock hearing. Go to www.michigan.
gov/uia and click on Webcasts.

Helpful Telephone Numbers

In a booklet this brief, it is necessary to summarize the provisions
of law and administrative rules. If something we've discussed here
is unclear, or if you'd like more information about the topic, you are
welcome to call or write us for a fuller explanation. The address for
all correspondence is UIA TAX QUESTIONS, Cadillac Place — Suite
11-500, 3024 W. Grand Blvd., Detroit, Michigan 48202. The following
are useful sources of UIA tax information.

Contributing Employers
TAX STATUS
Voice: 1-313-456-2080, Fax: 313-456-2131
Email: EmployerLiability@michigan.gov
+ Register a New Business
« Sale/Discontinuance of a Business
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10-C

+ Taxability of Services/Wages

+ Seasonal Designation

* Protest/Appeal of a Tax Status Issue

+ Recent Audit
TAX MAINTENANCE
Voice: 1-313-456-2010, Fax: 313-456-2131
Email: Tax Support@michigan.gov

+ Tax Rates

+ Overpayments

+ 940 Certification

* Protest/Appeal of a Tax Rate

+ Audit Adjustments

+ Verification of Payments on your Account
COLLECTIONS
Voice: 1-313-456-2072, Fax: 313-456-2001
Email: TaxCollections@michigan.gov

+ Notice of Assessment

+ Pay-off Amount for a Judgement

+ Arrange a Payment Plan

+ Tax Lien or Discharge

+ Statement or Clearance of Account
TEAM SUPPORT
Voice: 1-313-456-2180, Fax: 313-456-2130

* Request Forms

+ Address Change

+ General Information

Reimbursing Employers
Voice: 313-456-2085, Fax: 313-456-2132
Email: ReimbursingUnit@Michigan.gov

Field Audit
Voice: 248-379-1244

Other Important Contacts

Michigan Business One Stop

Voice: 313-456-2188, Fax: 313-456-2132
Email: MiWAMSupport@michigan.gov

Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC)
Voice: 1-800-482-2959, Fax: 313-456-2132

Sample calculations

To help you understand how an employer’s unemployment insur-
ance tax rate is calculated and how a voluntary tax payment might
reduce that tax rate, we have prepared an example of each calcula-
tion for you to review.

Voluntary payments

The first example includes a sample voluntary payment cal-
culation and a worksheet you can do yourself. By completing the
worksheet, you can determine if a voluntary tax payment may
benefit you.

The voluntary payment is irrevocable. To be on time, it must be
received by the UIA within 30 days of the mailing of the rate notice
(Form UIA 1771), but not later than the 120th day of the calendar
year.

The sample voluntary payment calculation uses the same
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amounts for “Required Reserve,” “Actual Reserve” and “Present ABC,” as are used in the sample tax rate calculation on
page 12.

Voluntary Payment Worksheet
PresentABC DesiredABC

1. Enter Required Reserve (from FOrm UIA 1771) ...

2. Enter Total Payroll (from FOrmM UIA 1771) ...
MUIIPIY LINE 2 DY “4” ..ottt
.Add .00071 t0 DESIFEA ABC. .....oeuiereiieeieeeeieieere ettt sttt se s
. Multiply Line 3 by @amount 0n N 4. ..ot
. SUBLract LiN€ B froM LINE 1 ..eureceee et
. Enter most recent Actual Reserve (from FOrm UIA 1771) ..o
. SUDLract LiN€ 7 from LINE B .......cucvuieiiei e

.Add .01 to Line 8. THIS RESULT IS YOUR VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION. .......cccccoosniririniss == ==========
The amount on Line 9 is what you would need to pay the UIA, as a voluntary payment,
in order to achieve your desired Account Building Component.
10. Enter your estimated taxable payroll for the current calendar year..............cccooevviveeieceiierenne,
11, MUHIPlY LINE 10 DY .00 ...ttt sesess SEE===mm====
The amount on Line 11 is the additional tax you would have to pay if you did not make the voluntary payment. If line
11 is greater than line 9, it is to your advantage to make a Voluntary Payment.
The voluntary payment is irrevocable. To be on time, it must be received by the UIA within 30 days of the mailing of
the rate notice (Form UIA 1771), but not later than the 120th day of the calendar year.

© 0o N oo o B~ w

Sample Payment Worksheet
Here is a sample voluntary payment calculation. The amounts for “Required Reserve,” “Actual Reserve,” and “Present
ABC’ are the same as used in the sample tax rate calculation on the next page.
Present ABC = 0.3% = .003
Desired ABC = 0.2% = .002

1. Enter Required Reserve (from FOrM UIA 1771) ... 26.638.50
2. Enter Total Payroll (from FOrmM UIA 1771) ... 710,359.87
3. MUIIPIY LINE 2 DY “4” .ottt $2.841.439.48
4. Add .0001 to Desired ABC. (.010 + .0001 = .0101) .ocuienirrieniireireireiireie et 0021
5. Multiply Line 3 by @amount 0N INE 4. ..o s $5,967.02
B. Subtract LiNe 5 from LINE 1 ....cuuieieceeicieireeteie ettt $20,671.48
7. Enter most recent Actual Reserve (from FOrm UIA 1771) ... 20,534.12
8. SUDLACt LINE 7 fTOM LINE B ...ttt ettt en et n et et taranas 137.34
9.Add .01 to Line 8. THIS RESULT IS YOUR VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION. ......ccccovvriurirnrirrernieincineeineenn, 137.37
10. Enter your estimated taxable payroll for the current calendar year. ............ooveveininenieiesseeis 203,455.00
11, MUItPlY LINg 10 DY L007 ..ottt 203.45

If you wish to reduce your ABC by 0.1%, use .001 as the multiplier in this step.
If you wish to reduce your ABC by 0.2%, use .002 as the multiplier in this step.

The amount on Line 11 is the additional tax you would have to pay if you did not make the voluntary payment shown on
Line 9. Therefore, if Line 11 is greater than Line 9, it is to your advantage to make the voluntary payment.

11-C
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Below is a sample rate calculation showing how each of the tax components is calcu-
lated.

Sample Tax Calculation

Form UIA 1771 (Tax Rate Determination) gives you all the information you will need to calculate your unemployment
tax rate. Suppose, for example, your Form UIA 1771 showed the following numbers:

ACTUALRESERVE: ... 50,100.20
TOTAL PAYROLL (12 Months): ................. 2,428,871.34
REQUIRED RESERVE: .......cccccovvvieiiininiins 91,082.68
TAXABLE PAYROLL (36 Months): ............. 2,972,332.91
BENEFIT CHARGES (36 Months): ................. 32,869.00

Chargeable Benefits Component:
The calculation is done this way:
36 months of benefit charges (ending 6/30) = CBC
36 months of taxable payroll (ending 6/30)
Taking the sample numbers from above:

32,869.00 =.0110=1.1%
2,972,332.91
The result is rounded to the next higher 0.1%. (In this example, the fourth decimal place was a “zero,” and no rounding
was done.)

Account Building Component:
The calculation is done this way:
(Required Reserve) - (Actual Reserve) X .50 = ABC
12 months of total payroll (ending 6/30)

Taking the sample numbers from above:
(91.082.68 - 50.100.20) X .50 = 0.0084 = 0.9%
2,428,871.34

If there is any remainder (as there is here with the “4” in the fourth place to the right of the decimal), the result is rounded
up to the next higher 0.1%.

Nonchargeable Benefits Component:

This component can range from .06% to 1.0% for employers who have been in business for four or more years. The
longer an employer goes without having benefit charges, the lower this rate can drop, until it reaches .06%.

Obligation Assessment Rate:

This rate is calculated using several factors.

1. Amultiplier called the "Obligation Assessment Ratio" or OA Ratio. This is calculated using the principal, interest,
and administrative expenses on bonds outstanding in 2015, divided by the anticipated regular unemployment taxes paid by
contributing employers in 2015. In 2015, the "Obligation Assessment Ratio" is 0.168337.

2. A'"Base Assessment" per employee, for all employers, which is $63.00.
3. Each contributing employer's unemployment tax rate for the year in question.

4. The taxable wage base in effect. Itis currently $9,500.00
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The Obligation Assessment Rate for 2015 is calculated for each employer using the following formula:
(2015 rate x OA Ratio) + (Base Assessment + Taxable Wage Base)

In this example, the employer's CBC, ABC, and NBC resulted in a 2015 Tax Rate of 3.0%. Here is the calculation of this employer's
2015 Obligation Assessment:

(3.0% x 0.168337) + ($63 -+ $9,500) =
0.00505011+ 0.00663158 =
0.01168169 =
1.168% rounded to 1.17%

Since OA rates are rounded up to the next higher multiple of 0.01%, this employer's Obligation Assessment Rate is 1.17%.

Solvency Tax:

This tax component applies to a tax year only when there are outstanding federal advances to the Unemployment Insurance
Trust Fund as of the June 30 preceding that tax year. Itis only assessed on a contributing employer with 5 years or more of liability
that has a negative balance in its experience account, meaning that its former workers have been paid more in unemployment
benefits than the employer has paid into its experience account. It is calculated the same way as the Account Building Component,
but cannot exceed the lesser of % of the percentage calculated, or 2.0%. For most employers to whom it applies, it will be 0.75%
(.0075). If an employer makes a voluntary payment by the 30th day after the date of mailing of a tax rate determination and that
payment causes the employer’s balance to be either zero or a positive amount, the employer will not be subject to the solvency tax
for that tax year.

The Solvency Tax is currently not in effect.

Unemployment Tax Rate:

For an employer with three or more years of business experience, the unemployment tax rate is computed by adding
together the three components:

Chargeable Benefits Component: ~ 1.1%

Account Building Component 0.9%
Nonchargeable Benefits Component: 1.0%
Obligation Assessment 147%

UNEMPLOYMENT TAX RATE: 4.17%

13-C
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Form UIA 1771 — Annual Tax Rate Determination
UIA 1771 o State of Michigan , LARA . uhorizedBy
(Rev. 08-12) epartment of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs B P \ICL 421.1 et seq.
Unemployment Insurance Agency e e
Rick Snyder 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, MI 48202 Shaun Thomas
GOVERNOR www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR .
Mail Date: December 27, 2013
STULL WU TR | TR BT TR R U T Letter ID: L0005705763
UNEMPLOYMENT SERVICES Account #: 0000000000
1000 SOME ROAD Employer: CBA MANAGEMENT INC

SOME CITY, MI 48390-1171

TAX RATE DETERMINATION FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2014
THIS IS NOT A REQUEST FOR PAYMENT

Your Unemployment Insurance tax rate, as provided under sections 18(d), 19, 22 and 22b of the Michigan Employment Security Act (Act), is shown below as
"YOUR COMPUTED RATE." Your penalty (if applicable) is shown as "NON-REPORTING PENALTY." For information on the "OBLIGATION ASSESSMENT",

"SUTA PENALTY

RATE," and other important information, see explanations on back.

ORMULA FOR EACH COMPONENT

A
RESULT
IF FIGURES BASED ON EMPLOYER ACCOUNT

NonChargeable Benefits Component (NBC) (Maximum 1%)
Amounts paid based on this component will not appear in the "Taxes Credited" line of the ABC calculation below. 0.06%
Chargeable Benefits Component (CBC) (Maximum 6.3%)
36 months of Benefit

Charges (ending 6/30/2013) (248.16) 0.00%
1,221,720.80

36 months of Taxable Payroll (ending 6/30/2013)

Account Building Component (ABC) - Negative Numbers Shown in Parenthesis
Actual Reserve
Prior Actual Reserve (as of 6/30/2013) 22,671.84
Total Payments Credited to Reserve (as of 7/31/2013) 148.77
Total Voluntary Payments Credited to Reserve 0.00
Total Taxes Credited to Experience Account + 148.77
Minus Benefits Charged (12 months ending 6/30/2013) - 0.00
Equals Actual Reserve (as of 6/30/2013) p— 22,820.61
Required Reserve
12 months of Total Payroll (ending 6/30/2013) 630,363.01
Multiplied by Cost Criterion >< 0.0375
Equals Required Reserve (6/30/2013) — 23,638.61
ABC Calculation [ 236361 — 22820861 7V 0.50 (Maximun 3%)
(Required Reserve - Actual Reserve) X ABC multiplier 0.50 0.10%
12 months Total Payroll (ending 6/30/2013) 630,363.01
Your Computed Rate

Taxable Wage base for the year is: 9,500.00
Your taxable payroll for 12 months ending 6/30/2013 was:  414,606.38

APPEAL STATEMENT: Any protest or appeal from this determination must be filed  For getail how this rat
either through MiWAM, in person, by mail, or by fax (313) 456-2130 and must be or dwal's on now IS rate was
received within 30 calendar days of the "Date Mailed" shown above, or if such 30th
day is a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, by the end of the next business day.

Non-Reporting Penalty 0.00%

Obligation Assessment = | 0.68%

5

.00%

.
A

SUTA Penalty Rate

Solvency Rate

calculated, see the Years of Liability
Table on raysrse side. Your years of Your Total Rate Plus 0.84%
liability is: Penalty (If applicable)

o
o
Q
<

A T TR+ e n ot ooty Etorrretn

Page 10f2 0000231
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EJF@J 7021_ 2 Letter ID: L0O005705763

TAX RATE AND EXPLANATION OF TERMS
For Assistance Call 313-456-2010

TABLE- A Section 19(a)(1) of the Act Table B - Section 19(a)(1) of the Act
vears of Liability | all Employers Except Those Covered by Table B Only for Employers in the Construction Industry
1 2.7% Average construction contractor rate as determined by the Agency.
2 2.7% Average construction contractor rate as determined by the Agency.
3 1/3 CBC + 1.8% 1/3 CBC + 2/3 average construction contractor rate
4 2/3 CBC + 1.0% 2/3 CBC + 1/3 average construction contractor rate
5 and over CBC+ABC+NBC CBC+ABC+NBC

If you became newly liable prior to the year 2012, it takes 60 months (5 years) to become fully liable.
If you became newly liable during the year 2012, it takes 48 months (4 years) to become fully liable.
If you became newly liable after the year 2012, it takes 36 months (3 years) to become fully liable.

Explanation of Terms Used on the Front of This Form:

Chargeable Benefits Component (CBC): This component takes into account the individual employer’s benefit charges during
the XX months ending the preceding June 30, and the individual employer's taxable payroll for the same period for the rate year.
The result is rounded to the next higher 0.1%. The maximum for this component is 6.3 %.

Account Building Component (ABC): This component compares the employer's Actual Reserve and Required Reserve, in
order to measure the adequacy of the employer's reserve to cover potential benefit charges. The result is rounded to the next
higher 0.1%. The maximum for this component is 3 %.

Voluntary Payment: Because of the rounding of the Account Building Component (ABC), an irrevocable voluntary payment, as
provided under Section 19(d), may reduce a rate by 0.1% or more, thereby saving the employer some unemployment taxes.
Voluntary payments must be received by the Agency within 30 days of the mailing of this notice but no later than the 120th day of
the year to be included in the current tax rate calculation. Payments after this time period will be included in the calculation of your
tax rate for the next calendar year. Voluntary payments can be submitted through your MiWAM account. Checks or money orders
MUST be mailed separately to UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY, Tax Office- 3024 W. Grand Blvd., Suite 12-500 Detroit,
MI 48202. Write "Voluntary Payment" on the face of the check or money order.

Nonchargeable Benefits Component (NBC): This component does not reflect the experience of the business, but is assigned to
recover costs, which are pooled among all employers. Most employers pay a uniform rate of 1%. However, if there are no benefit
charges for the last nine years, ending last June 30, the rate could be as low as 0.06% Amounts paid based on this component will
not appear in the "taxes credited to experience rating account" portion of the rate calculation.

Non-Reporting Penalty:As required by Section 18(d)(2) of the Act (as amended by Public Act 296 of 1993), a penalty of 3% has been
added to your computed rate because the tax report(s) for the calendar quarter(s) shown on the front of this form is missing. THIS WILL
RESULT IN A HIGHER TAX RATE. The penalty portion of the rate will be removed and your rate recalculated ONLY if the missing
report(s) are filed within 30 DAYS from the mailing date of this determination, even if you believe you previously submitted

the report(s), and even if you had no payroll during the quarter. If you file the missing report(s) past 30 days but within 1 year, your rate
will be recalculated and the penalty reduced to 2.0%. If you file the missing reports past the 1 year but within 3 years, your rate will be
recalculated but the penalty will remain at 3.0%.

Obligation Assessment: Public Acts 267 and 268 of 2011 grant the State of Michigan authority to issue bonds to reduce or
eliminate Federal debt incurred by the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund. On December 29, 2011, the State of Michigan,
through the Michigan Finance Authority, issued $3,320,951,556.55 in bonds and retired the debt and accrued interest. The
obligation assessment represents the amount required by law to repay the bonds. The Obligation Assessment is levied against all
contributing employers and is not credited to the employer’s experience account.

SUTA Rate Penalty: As required by Section 22b(1), a SUTA Rate Penalty has been added to your computed rate because it has been
determined that you knowingly violated or attempted to violate Section 22(b)(1) of the Michigan Employment Security (MES) Act. The
"SUTA Rate Penalty" box (if applicable) is the difference between your computed rate and the maximum possible rate for the year.
The SUTA Rate Penalty must be at least 2.0%. The penalty rate is effective for the year in which the Agency determines you engaged
in SUTA Dumping, and for the next three years.

Solvency Tax: When the Ul Trust Fund has interest-bearing advances from the federal government, a Solvency Tax becomes
effective. This tax is levied against all fully experienced employers with a negative (Actual Reserve) balance. Solvency tax monies
are not credited to the employer's experience account. The Solvency Tax, if applicable, is computed in accordance with the
provisions of Section 19a(2) of the MES Act. Employers can avoid the Solvency Tax by making a voluntary payment to pay off their
negative reserve, which will generate a balance of zero or more in their Actual Reserve.

Taxable Wage: This is the amount of each covered workers yearly wages that is taxable for unemployment tax purposes.
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Purpose of this chapter

In this chapter, we explain what happens when a worker files a claim for unemployment benefits. We
explain the law that requires the employer to give us quarterly wage information and that requires
the employer to notify the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) if the employer believes benefits
should not be charged to the employer's account. We explain how the employer can require UIA to
reconsider any decision we make to charge benefits to the employer's account. We also give other
basic information about the requirements of the law, known as the Michigan Employment Security

Act.

This chapter has been prepared as part of a general guide

to unemployment taxes and benefits in the State of Michigan.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation. It is written to
assist in understanding the Michigan Employment Security Act which is
the unemployment compensation law in Michigan.
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Filing a Claim for
Unemployment Benefits

What happens when a worker files a
new claim for unemployment benefits?

When a worker files a new claim for benefits, the UIA must decide
two things:
(1) Did the worker earn enough in wages in his or her recent work
history to be entitled to unemployment benefits, and
(2) What is the reason the worker is no longer working, and whether
the worker is eligible and qualified to draw unemployment benefits.
Once the worker files a claim with the UIA, we call the worker the
unemployed worker or sometimes the "claimant" for unemployment
benefits. The unemployed worker and employer are both interested
parties in the claim. As such, both are equally entitled to see the file of
the claim, and to formally protest or appeal any adverse determination
made by the UIA concerning the claim.

Information we ask the unemployed
worker to provide

The unemployed worker can file an Application for Unemployment
Benefits by phone or internet. If required, the unemployed worker also
registers for work with an office of the Michigan Works! Agency. We
receive wage information from all Michigan employers every calendar
quarter (on Form UIA 1028). When a claim is filed, we check our wage
database to see whether the unemployed worker had sufficient earnings
to be entitled to establish a new claim. We consider the total wages
paid to the unemployed worker in the first 4 of the last 5 completed
calendar quarters. This period is called the base period of the claim.

The calendar quarters are 3-month periods that run as follows:

Quarter 1 - January 1 through March 31

Quarter 2 — April 1 through June 30

Quarter 3 - July 1 through September 30

Quarter 4 - October 1 through December 31

In some cases, the unemployed worker will not have sufficient
wages during the base period to establish a new claim. We will then
check the wages paid to the unemployed worker in the 4 most recently
completed calendar quarters, known as the alternate base period.

If we find sufficient wages to establish the claim, we ask the unem-
ployed worker about the reason he or she was separated from each
of the employers in the base period of the claim, and from the most
recent employer. We also ask the unemployed worker about his or
her dependents. If the unemployed worker disagrees with any of the
wage information or about any of the employers we located in our wage
database for that unemployed worker, we ask the unemployed worker
to correct the information.

We then mail the unemployed worker and the chargeable employers

Form UIA 1575C, Monetary Determination (Form UIA 1575E for the
chargeable employers), that shows our calculation of the claimant's
weekly benefit amount and the number of weeks of benefits allowed.
Also shown are the number of dependents allowed, the names of each
of the claimant’s base period employers, wages paid by each of those
employers, and the reason indicated by the unemployed worker for
separation from each of those employers.

Information we ask the
employer to provide

We send the employer a copy of Form UIA 1575E, Monetary De-
termination. We notify the employer that the employer’s UIA account
will be charged, as shown, unless the employer provides the UIA with
information showing the unemployed worker was separated forareason
that would disqualify the unemployed worker from receiving benefits.
The employer's response to the monetary determination must be re-
ceived by the UIA within 10 calendar days after the mail date shown
on the form. If the employer has no disagreement with the Monetary
Determination, then no response from the employer is necessary. If
the Agency needs more information from the employer regarding a
claimant's separation from employment, computer-generated Form
UIA 1713, "Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or
Disqualification" is sent to the employer.

If the employer provides information they feel should disqualify the
unemployed worker or should result in no benefits being charged to
the employer, the UIA may ask for further information from the unem-
ployed worker and the employer. A member of the Agency’s staff may
telephone the employer for follow-up information, or may send Form
UIA 1713, Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or
Disqualification. If the decision made by the UIA involves whether
the unemployed worker should receive benefits, a Non-Monetary
Determination will be issued. The Non-Monetary Determination can
generally be appealed by either the unemployed worker orthe employer.

The UIA might conclude that benefits are properly payable to the
unemployed worker because the reason for unemployed worker's
separation from work is not disqualifying, or because the unemployed
worker has already requalified for benefits. However, even if benefits
are payable, the employer’s account may still be noncharged for
the benefits. These benefits will be charged to the Nonchargeable
Benefits Account rather than to the employer's account, and do not
affect the employer’s unemployment tax rate. In the case of a quit, the
employer's account will usually be automatically noncharged. In the
case of a discharge, the employer will need to respond to the Monetary
Determination to explain why the quit should have been disqualifying.
Then the employer's account can be noncharged. The employer is
notified of whether or not the employer’s experience account will be
charged by Form UIA 1955, Redetermination of Charges.
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What happens if the UIA’s information
is wrong and the employer does not
respond?

If the UIA does not receive a response from the employer, then the
UIA will set up the claim on the basis of wages previously reported or
as provided by the unemployed worker. The UIA will also charge the
employer for benefits paid to the unemployed worker. Once the UIA
has paid benefits based on the information the employer provided or
the unemployed worker reported, the law says we cannot credit the
employer’s account for any overpayments for weeks of benefits paid
before we received the employer’s information, if the information we
used proves inaccurate. The unemployed worker is not required to
repay the Agency for those overpayments. That's why it's so impor-
tant that the UIA receives the employer's response to the monetary
determination within 10 calendar days of the mailing date shown on
the form if any information on it is incorrect.

Protest/Appeal Rights

Ifyou, the employer, have responded to the Monetary Determination
and provided information showing the wage or separation information
indicated there is wrong, the UIA will issue a Monetary Redetermina-
tion. Or, perhaps you did not respond to the Monetary Determination
because the information shown was correct, but you still believe the
unemployed worker should not receive unemployment benefits. You
can send in a written “protest” (a statement that you disagree with the
Monetary Determination and explaining why) and the Agency will issue
a Monetary Redetermination. Even if no benefits will be charged to
your account, the UIA will still send you a Charging Redetermination
advising you of that fact.

The Monetary Redetermination will either affirm, modify, or reverse
the Monetary Determination. You may appeal the Monetary Redeter-
mination and request a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge,
if you continue to disagree.

The protest to the Monetary Determination or the appeal of the
Monetary Redetermination must be in writing. It must be received by
the UIA within 30 days of the date we mailed you the determination
you disagree with. In counting the 30 days, every day is counted (even
weekends and holidays) starting with the first date after the date of
mailing. However, if the 30" day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday,
then the protest or appeal is due by the end of business on the next
day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

Explain in the protest or appeal the reasons you believe the benefit
amountorduration iswrong, orwhy you believe the unemployed worker
is not entitled to unemployment benefits. Both the unemployed worker
and the employer have the right to protest or appeal the UIA’s decision
to pay benefits, or not to pay benefits, or the amount and duration of
the benefits.

If a protest or appeal is received later than the 30™ day but within
1 year of the original determination or redetermination in dispute, the
UIA can still take further action on it if good cause can be shown for
why the protest or appeal was received late. If the UIA believes there
was not good cause for the lateness, the UIA will issue a Denial. The
Denial can be appealed directly to an Administrative Law Judge. If

the original, disputed document was issued more than 1 year prior to
the protest or appeal, the Agency cannot reconsider it.

An Administrative Law Judge decision, likewise, can be appealed,
in writing and within 30 days, to the Michigan Compensation Appellate
Commission (MCAC). From the MCAC, an appeal can be pursued
through the courts.

Paying Unemployment Benefits

What the law says about paying
unemployment benefits

The Michigan Employment SecurityAct explains how unemployment
benefits are paid in Michigan. The worker must be unemployed, have
sufficient qualifying wages, and mustbe otherwise eligible for benefits.
This Section of the Employer Handbook will explain the terms shown
in this paragraph in bold letters. It will describe the provisions of the
law that establish how unemployment benefits are paid in Michigan.

The unemployed worker must be
unemployed and have had enough
earnings since last claim

A worker may file a claim while "employed" but may not receive
benefits until he or she becomes "unemployed." A worker is "unem-
ployed" when he or she is working less than full-time in a week, as
determined by the employer, and has earned less than 1.6 times his or
her unemployment benefitamount during the week. If the unemployed
worker had a previous claim, he or she must have earned, since the
beginning of the previous claim, an amount equal to at least 5 times
his or her weekly benefit amount on that claim, before he or she can
establish a new claim.

The unemployed worker must have
enough base period wages
Qualifying wages
When a worker files a new claim (that is, when he or she does not
already have a claim in effect), the UIA must consider all the wages
the worker received during the base period of the claim. The base
period of the claim is usually the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar
quarters. However, if a worker lacks enough wages in that base period
to qualify for a claim, then the Agency must consider an alternate base
period, the most recent 4 completed calendar quarters.
The calendar quarters are 3-month periods that run as follows:
January 1 through March 31
April 1 through June 30
July 1 through September 30
October 1 through December 31
To setup a claim, the UIAmust find the following in the base period:
+ wages in at least 2 quarters
+ wages in the “high quarter” of at least $2,871.00
+ wages in the entire base period of at least 1.5 times the wages in
the “high quarter”
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The "high quarter" is the calendar quarter in the base period in
which the unemployed worker's wages are the highest dollar amount.

QTR1 | QTR2 |QTR3 [QTR4 |QTR5 | QTR6
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In the diagram above, the claim is filed in Quarter 6. The wages
considered by the UIAin determining the claimant’s base period earnings
are the wages found in quarters 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the claim (not necessarily
corresponding to quarters 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the calendar year). The base
period is shown in the bolded border. The 5" quarter is called the “lag
quarter.” Itis the quarter for which wages are being processed and may
not be in the UIA's wage database yet.

The claim in this case meets each of the three criteria for setting up
the claim: there are at least 2 quarters of wages, the wages in the “high
quarter” (that is, the quarter of the claimant’s highest wages) are at least
$2,871.00, and total base period wages are at least 1.5 times the high
quarter wages.

If wages in the base period had failed to satisfy the “1.5 times high
quarter” requirement, then the UIA would have considered the alternate
earnings qualifier (AEQ) as applied to the same base period. To qualify
using the AEQ, the unemployed worker must have had wages in at least
2 calendar quarters in the base period, and must have had wages in the
"higher quarter" of at least $2,871.00, and total base period wages are
at least 20 times the state average weekly wage. In 2014, the state
average weekly wage is $893.44. Therefore, the unemployed worker
could qualify using the AEQ if the unemployed worker had base period
wages of at least $17,868.80 .

If the unemployed worker does not have sufficient wages to qualify
for benefits in the regular base period using either the regular method of
qualifying or the AEQ, then the UIA will apply, first, the regular method
and then the AEQ method of qualifying to the alternate base period.

The alternate base period is the 4 most recently completed calendar
quarters (shown, below, in the bolded border). There is no lag quarter:
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Ifwages forthe mostrecently completed quarter have notbeenreceived
by the time the claim is filed, the claimant’'s statement of wages will be
used. The employer will be informed of wages the unemployed worker
reported, and will have the opportunity to respond.

Establishment of a Benefit Year

If a new claim can be established based on the claimant's base period
wages, using any of the methods described above, then a 52-week period
called the benefit year is set up for the unemployed worker. The unem-
ployed worker will receive benefits (up to 20 weeks maximum), if entitled,
on a weekly basis during that 52-week period. Even if an unemployed
worker is employed, or disqualified from receiving benefits, or ineligible
based on failing to seek work or being able to work and available for
work, a benefit year will still be established if the claimant's base period
wages so permit.

The unemployed worker can request that a previously estab-
lished benefit year be cancelled, until the unemployed worker has
actually cashed a benefit check and therefore received benefits on
that benefit year. Once benefits are paid, the benefit year can no
longer be cancelled.

Preservation of Benefit Entitlement

During or after a period of disability, an unemployed worker may
request preservation of base period wages the worker could not previ-
ously use because of the disability. If the worker presents a doctor’s
statement verifying the disability, and the worker cannot otherwise
establish a claim, the worker’s benefit year may be extended, and
unused base period wages may be used to pay benefits. However,
benefits cannot be paid more than 156 weeks after the start of the
original benefit year, or after the beginning of the disability. Since
the benefit year is backdated to the beginning of the disability, the
base period could go back several years.

“Excluded services” that are not
counted as qualifying wages

Some types of work cannot be used in counting qualifying wages
in the base period. The UIA calls these types of work excluded
services. Forexample, the services of high school students under
age 18 who work fewer hours than if they had not been students are
excluded from employment. They will notbe entitled to benefits based
on that service and the employer will not be taxed on those wages.

The services of a student in a co-operative education program
are also excluded as are services of military members of the National
Guard, elected officials, legislators, judges, church workers, and
others. Amore complete listing of services excluded from coverage,
and from the unemployment tax, is found in this Handbook under
“Liability of Employers and Coverage of Employees.”

In addition to services that are excluded from coverage for un-
employment benefits, service by a self-employed person, or by an
independent contractor, cannot be used as qualifying base period
wages. Generally, an independent contractor is one who performs
a specialized service that is not an integral part of the business (that
is, the service is a support service but is not central to the overall
function of the business).

For example, a mechanic is central to the business of an auto
repair garage, so if a mechanic regularly worked for a garage, he or
she would likely be considered an employee of the garage, rather
than an independent contractor.

Although mechanics are central to the business of an auto
repair garage, in some cases a particular mechanic may work free-
lance and make him- or herself available to work in many different
garages. In that case, the mechanic would likely be considered an
independent contractor.

Usually, the independent contractor makes him- or herself avail-
able to the employer community at large, and does not limit him- or
herselfto performing services forasingle company. He or she usually
brings his or her own “tools” to do the job. Anindependent contrac-
tor generally is not under the direction or control of the company.
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The Appeal Process
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Ifyou orthe unemployed worker have appealed a Redetermina-
tion to an Administrative Law Judge, a Notice of Hearing will be
mailed to you and the unemployed worker. It tells you when and
where the hearing will be held, and what issue or issues will be
considered. If you believe another issue should be considered,
you should raise that issue at the hearing.

You may have a lawyer or other representative with you at the
hearing. You may also obtain subpoenas through the UIA office to
require witnesses to appear. More information about whathappens
atan Administrative Law Hearing and about how to prepare for the
hearing is available in the booklet, "A Guide to Unemployment Ap-
peals Hearings." Itis also reproduced in Section E of this Handbook.
The Michigan Administrative Hearing System has also produced
a video presentation about the administrative hearing process. It
is available online at the UIA's Website: www.michigan.gov/uia
and click on Webcasts: Go to "Employer Webcasts" and click on
"A Guide to UIA Appeals Hearings." The most important thing to
remember about an Administrative Law Hearing is that you should
take the most knowledgeable witness(es) from your company

to explain the reasons behind the claimant's separation from
employment. The best witness is not necessarily the President
of the company. The best witness is the one who saw and heard
the events that resulted in the separation.

Itisimportantto presentall your evidence and witnesses atthe
Administrative Law Hearing, because evenifthe case is appealed
further, it is unlikely that any further information will be allowed to
be presented in the case, after the Administrative Law Hearing.

When an appeal is filed, either party can request the assis-
tance of an Advocate (who is not a UIA employee) to discuss the
appeal and to attend the hearing and represent the party before
the Administrative Law Judge. This is a free service available to
claimants and employers involving most separation issues, on
request. However, the request for an Advocate must be made
within certain time frames.

Formore information about the Advocacy Program, call 1-800-
638-3994, menu item "2".
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How the UIA figures the claimant’s
weekly benefit amount, the
number of weeks of benefits, and
how employers will be charged

Once we find that the claimant’'s base period wages are sufficient to
establish a claim, we determine the amount per week the worker could
receive in unemployment benefits, and the number of weeks benefits
could be paid. Finally, we determine which employers’ accounts will
be charged for benefits, and how much those charges could be.

Figuring the claimant’s
weekly benefit rate

The UIAwill find the calendar quarter in the claimant’s base period
in which the unemployed worker had the highest wages. That quarter
is known as the high quarter. The UIA then multiplies the high quar-
ter wages by 4.1% (.041) to determine the claimant's weekly benefit
amount. The result is rounded down to the nearest dollar. However,
the weekly benefit amount cannot exceed $362. The benefit rate, if
not already at the maximum, will be increased by $6.00 per dependent,
up to 5 dependents.

If the worker has been found to have fraudulently failed to report
earnings while collecting benefits on a prior claim, then the unreported
amounts will not be permitted to be used as wages in establishing a
subsequent claim, if the employer chargeable on the subsequent claim
brings that fact to the Agency's attention.

Generally, a dependent is an individual for whom the unemployed
worker has provided over half the cost of support for atleast the 90 days
prior tofiling the claim. Aspouse, minor child (or some disabled children
over 18, or students up to age 22), some elderly disabled parents, and
some orphaned or disabled siblings can be counted as dependents.
Once a dependent is allowed on a claim, the dependent will remain on
the claim during the entire 52-week benefit year of the claim.

In the example below, the unemployed worker earned $2900 in
his or her high quarter. Therefore, this unemployed worker would be
entitled to a weekly benefit amount of $118.00 ($2,900 x .041)
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Figuring the number of weeks
benefits can be paid

To determine the number of weeks benefits could be paid on a
claim, the UIA takes 43% (.43) of the claimant's base period wages,
and divides that product by the claimant’s weekly benefit amount.

In the case of an unemployed worker with base period wages of
$4,400, and a weekly benefit rate of $118.00, the calculation works
this way:

+ Take 43% of the claimant's base period wages:

$4,400 x .43 = $1,892

+ Divide the product of the above calculation by the claimant’s
weekly benefit amount:
$1,892 + $118 = 16.03

The result, 16.03, is rounded down to the nearest half-number.
The unemployed worker in this example could receive benefits for 16
weeks.

Regardless of the result of the calculation, the minimum number
of weeks of benefits payable is 14, and the maximum number is 20.

Benefit Year

The "benefit year" is the 52-week period in which the claimant can
draw out benefits to which he or she has been determined to be entitled.

Shared-Work Plan

An employer may elect to participate in a "Shared- Work Plan" if
the employer meets the requirements to participate in a Plan and if
the Plan has been approved by the UIA.

Under a Plan, a worker whose hours of employment have been
reduced may be paid correspondingly reduced unemployment benefits,
based on the percentage by which the worker's full-time hours and
wages were reduced. For example, if a worker's hours and wages
were reduced by 20%, and the worker's full weekly benefitamount was
$300, then the worker could receive a reduced weekly benefit payment
of $300 x 0.20 = $60.00

AShared-Work Plan can be applied to any work unit operated by the
employer and consisting of at least 2 employees, or to the employer's
entire operation. To qualify to participate in a Shared-Work Plan, the
employer must:

* be current in its payment of unemployment taxes;

* have a "positive reserve" balance in its account;

+ have paid wages for at least the previous 12 quarters;

+ not hire new employees into the affected work unit nor transfer
employee into the unit during a Plan, nor reduce hours of work
below the number permitted under a Plan; and

« certify that participationin a Planis in lieu of the temporary layoffs
of at least 15% of the workers in the affecteed unit.

APlan will only be available for a work unit if the hours and wages
of workers in that unit have been reduced by at least 15%, but not more
than 45%. Benefits will be payable under a Plan for a 52-week period,
but benefits for a worker will not exceed 20 times the worker's weekly
unemployment benefitrate. The usual work search and refusal of work
requirements will not apply to participants in a Plan, except with regard
to the employer sponsoring the Plan. Employees participatingina Plan
may participate in a training program approved by the UIA if provided
by the employer or under the Workforce Development Act of 1998.
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How employers will be
charged for benefits

We now know how much the unemployed worker could receive
in unemployment benefits, and for how many weeks those benefits
could be payable.

The liability of the employer (that is, the benefit charges kept in
the UIA employer’s account and used to calculate the employer’s tax
rate) works like this:

First 2 weeks of benefit payments

The entire benefit payment for each of the first 2 weeks of the claim
will be charged to the claimant's most recent employer at the time the
claimwas filed if that employer is liable for paying unemployment taxes
in Michigan. That employer, known as the last employer, may or may
not also be a base period employer. However, if the unemployed
worker did not earn, with the separating employer, an amount at least
equal to at least $2,072, then the separating employer’s account will
not be charged the entire first 2 weeks of benefit payments. Instead,
each week of benefits, beginning with the first week, will be charged,
proportionally, to all base period employers.

Benefit payments after the first 2 weeks

Whether or not the last employer is charged the entire amount of
the first 2 weeks of benefits, the base period employers are charged
their proportional share of the claimant's weekly benefit payments
beginning with the third week of benefits.
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There are 4 different employers in the base period shown above.
Total wages paid in the base period are $4,400. Of that amount,
each base period employer paid the unemployed worker the following
amounts in the base period:

Employer A paid a total of $1.100

($350, $500, and $250 in quarters 1, 2, and 3, respectively)

Employer B paid a total of $1,300

($150, $900, and $250 in quarters 1, 2, and 3, respectively).

Employer C paid a total of $1,500

(in quarter 2)

Employer D paid a total of $500

(in quarter 4)

Each base period employer’s proportional share of total wages paid
to the unemployed worker in the base period is as follows:

Employer A = $1,100 + $4,400 = .25 = 25%

Employer B = $1,300 + $4,400 = .295454 = 29.5454%, truncated
to 29.545%, rounded to 29.55%

Employer C = $1500 + $4,400 = .340909 = 34.0909%, truncated
to 34.090%, rounded to 34.09%

Employer D = $500 + $4,400 = .113636 = 11.3636%, truncated
to 11.363%, rounded to 11.36%

These percentages represent each employer’s proportional share
of the claimant’s base period wages. If the percentages do not total
100%, then the amount needed to bring the total to 100% will be added
to the percentage share of the employer with the largest pro rata share
of the benefit charge.

These are the same percentages that are multiplied against the
claimant’s weekly benefitamount to determine each employer’s share of
the charge for the claimant’s weekly benefit payment. In this example,
the unemployed worker has a weekly benefit amount of $118.00.

Employer A's account will be charged 25% of the weekly benefit
charges.
25 x $118 = $29.50
Employer B's account will be charged 29.55% of the weekly
benefit charges.

2955 x $118 = $34.87
Employer C’s account will be charged 34.09% of the weekly
benefit charges.
.3409 x $118 = $40.23

Employer D’s account will be charged 11.36% of the weekly
benefit charges.

1136 x $118 = $13.40

If, after rounding, the benefit charges do not total the claimant’s
weekly benefit amount, the difference will be added to the charge of
the employer with the largest charge.

The maximum possible liability each employer will have on this
claim is as follows:

EmpA: $29.50 for 16 weeks = $472.00

Emp B: $34.87 for 16 weeks = $557.92

Emp C: $40.23 for 16 weeks = $643.68

Emp D: $13.40 for 16 weeks = $214.40

Since Employer D was the last employer, and Employer D paid
wages greater than $2,072, Employer D will also be charged 100% of
the first two weeks of benefits.

100% x $118 = $118
Emp D: $118 for 2 weeks = $236

Therefore, the total that could be charged to the account of Em-
ployer D is $214.40 (proportional share of base period wages) and
$236 (100% of first 2 weeks of benefits), for a grand total of $450.40.

If an employer paid total wages to a worker of $200 or less, benefits
will not be charged to that employer's account, but will instead be
charged to the Nonchargeable Benefits Account.

Sometimes an employer hires a worker for part-time work, but the
worker was also, concurrently, working for another employer, maybe
even full-time. If the worker is laid off from that other job, he or she
might qualify for benefits, and one of the chargeable employers in the
base period of that claim will be the part-time employer. If the part-
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time employer is a "contributing" employer (pays a quarterly, calculated tax amount to UIA) and pays the part-time worker, in gross wages, as
much as, or more than, the employer's benefit charge for that worker for that week, the employer can request to have its account "noncharged."
Once that request is made, no more benefits will be charged to that employer for the claimant's benefits for the remainder of the benefit year.
Starting in 2014, the claimant will have the ability to link the wages he/she reports in a week to a particular employer, whose account will then
be automatically noncharged, if the conditions described above are met.

What happens to the benefit charges when an unemployed worker is separated
from work for reasons that would disqualify the unemployed worker from benefits?

When deciding whether the unemployed worker is entitled to unemployment benefits, the UIA will consider the reason given by the unem-
ployed worker for each separation from work in the base period, as well as in the “lag” quarter and “filing” quarter.

+ When the separation was either a discharge for misconduct or a voluntary leaving without good cause attributable to the employer, and the
unemployed worker subsequently requalified by earning the “rework” amount, benefits will be paid without reduction.

The account of the employer involved in that disqualifying separation, however, will not usually be charged for benefits if the claimant quit.
If the claimant was discharged, the employer must respond to the monetary Determination by explaining the circumstances of the discharge.
If the circumstances would disqualify the claimant for benefits, the employer's account will not be charged. If the employer's account is not
charged, then a pooled account called the Nonchargeable Benefits Account will be charged.

If the unemployed worker has not requalified by earning the “rework” amount, the unemployed worker will not be paid benefits until that
rework amount is earned. The “rework” amount in the case of a "voluntary leaving" disqualification is 12 times the unemployed worker's weekly
benefit amount; in the case of a "discharge" for misconduct, it is 17 times the unemployed worker's weekly benefit amount.

+ When the unemployed worker was discharged for what the UIA concludes was assault and battery; theft; willful destruction of property;
theft after notice of layoff or discharge; or possession or use of drugs, or failing or refusal to take a drug test, then the proportional amount
of the unemployed worker ‘s weekly benefit amount otherwise attributable to that employer will not be paid to the unemployed worker. The
claimant’s benefits will be reduced by 13 weeks, and the unemployed worker will have to satisfy a 26-week period of requalification before

receiving benefits.

Reductions in a Unemployed Worker’s Weekly Benefit Payment

Earnings

Sometimes an unemployed worker will have some earnings while drawing unemployment benefits. If that happens, the unemployed worker
may be able to continue drawing partial benefit payments. For every $1.00 the unemployed worker eamns in a week while drawing unemploy-
ment benefits, the benefit payment is reduced by 40 cents. However, when the combination of the earnings and the unemployment benefits in
a week exceeds 1.6 times the unemployed worker's unemployment benefit rate, then for every $1.00 the unemployed worker earns in excess of
that amount, the benefit payment is reduced by $1.00. Starting October 1, 2015, benefits will be reduced 50 cents for every dollar earned, and
the combination of benefits and wages will be limited to 1-1/2 times the claimant's weekly benefit rate.

When an unemployed worker receives any unemployment benefit payment in a week, even if the benefit amount is very low because benefits
were reduced by the unemployed worker’s earnings in the week, the unemployed worker’s balance of weeks of benefit payments will still be reduced
by 1 week. An unemployed worker may elect not to claim a week of benefits, rather than to receive a benefit payment for a very small amount.

The following calculation chart can be helpful in determining how earnings will affect a claimant’s weekly unemployment benefits:

However, if an unemployed worker is working full-time in a week, the unemployed worker will not receive unemployment benefits for that
week, regardless of the unemployed worker’s earnings.
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WORKSHEET FOR CALCULATING WEEKLY BENEFITS
WHEN UNEMPLOYED WORKER HAS EARNINGS IN THE WEEK

NEW
STEPS INSTRUCTIONS FOR THIS STEP CALCULATION
UNTIL 9/30/15
A Enter the weekly unemployment benefit amount. $120
Enter the amount of the gross earnings (before taxes)
B in the calendar week (Sunday through Saturday week). $140
Round down to the nearest whole dollar.
Cc Multiply "B" by "0.4". $ 56
D Subtract "C" from "A". Round down to the nearest whole dollar.
If the result is zero or less than zero, enter "0" as your answer. $64
E Add together "B" and "D". $204
F Multiply "A" by 1.6. $192
Subtract "F" from "E". Round down your answer to the
G nearest whole dollar. If the result is zero or less than zero, $12
enter "0" as your answer.
Subtract "G" from "D". Round down your answer to the nearest
H whole dollar. The answer you get will be the amount of the un- $52
employed worker's unemployment benefit payment for the week.

Sometimes a worker has earnings in 2 consecutive calendar weeks that would prevent the payment of benefits in each of those calen-
dar weeks. However, if there is a period of 7 consecutive days within that 2-week period when the unemployed worker had no earnings,
benefits can be paid for that 7-day period. That period is called a flexible week.

Retirement Benefits

If The Unemployed Worker Contribution

To The Cost Of The Benefit Was: The Weekly Unemployment Benefit Will Be:

Zero
More than Zero, but less than half

Reduced by the full monthly retirement benefit, prorated to a weekly amount
Reduced by half the monthly retirement benefit, prorated to a weekly amount

Half or more Reduced by no amount (no reduction in unemployment benefits)

If an unemployment worker is receiving benefits based on work
with an employer who is also chargeable for some or all of the un-
employed worker's unemployment benefits, then the unemployment
benefits could be reduced. However, if the worker rolled over his or
her retirement benefits into an Individual Retirement Account (IRA),
with no income tax impact that year the worker is not considered to
have "received" the retirement benefit when rolling it over and it will
not affect the unemployment benefits.

Ifthe unemployed worker has the option to receive aretirement benefit
either in lump sum, or on a monthly basis, the benefits will be reduced
as shown above, even if the unemployed worker chose to receive the
paymentin lump sum. If there is no option and the unemployed worker
received the payment in lump sum, the reduction will be made only in
the week in which the lump sum was paid.

If an unemployed worker, at retirement, elects to roll over an em-
ployer retirement account into an IRA (Individual Retirement Account),
the pension will not be considered “received” for unemployment benefit
purposes, and will not be used to reduce the claimant’s unemployment
benefits.
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If a retirement benefit is converted at the time of retirement into an
annuity, the annuity payments will be treated as retirement benefit pay-
ments and used to reduce unemployment benefits as described above.

Lost Earnings

If an unemployed worker turns down work in a week with his or her
employer, then whatever amount the unemployed worker would have
earned by accepting thatwork may be considered to have been earned,
and may be used to reduce the unemployment benefits in accordance
with the table above. Also, the unemployed worker may be disqualified
for refusing an offer of suitable work, without good cause (discussed
later in this booklet). See Fact Sheet No. 144 for more details about
what an employer should do if a worker turns down work (such as "to
stay on unemployment").

Special Payments

Certain “special payments” made by an employer, such as vacation
pay, holiday pay, severance pay, wage continuation pay, and payment
in lieu of notice, can be used to reduce (even to zero) a claimant’s right
to unemployment benefits in a week to which these payments are
either allocated or paid. The reduction can occur even if the period of
allocation is after the unemployed worker is laid off, or quits, or is fired.
Amore complete explanation of these special payments can be found
in the tables in Section B of this Handbook, on pages 4 through 13.

Restitution

Sometimes an unemployed worker is overpaid benefits. This can
happen through an error by the UIA, or because the UIAwas unaware
of earnings the unemployed worker received in a week, or because the
unemployed worker was later determined to be ineligible or disquali-
fied for benefits.

If the UIA makes an incorrect benefit payment, a Determination of
Restitution will be mailed to the unemployed worker and the employer,
requiring repayment and usually crediting the employer’s account. The
employer’s account will be credited as of the calendar quarter in which
the Restitution Determination becomes final.

If the overpayment was the result of missing or inadequate infor-
mation from the employer, the claimant will still be required to repay
the improperly paid benefits, from the beginning of the improper pay-
ments; the employer's account will be credited unless the employer
demonstrates a pattern of late or inadequate information as required
by law or in response to an Agency request.

If the employer disagrees with the amount of restitution, or if the
Determination finds the employer’s account cannot be credited with
the restitution and the employer disagrees, the employer can protest
the Determination. The unemployed worker can also protest.

TheAgency recoups restitution, plusinterestand penalties, once the
appeal period has expired, by cash payments, by deducting restitution
from future benefit payments, by intercepting state and, under certain
circumstances, federalincome tax refunds due the unemployed worker,

or pursuing administrative garnishments or a judgment for collection
in the courts. The UIA can also intercept lottery prizes of $1,000 or
more. The UIA can also levy a claimant's bank account or put a lien
on property. If more than $3,500 was improperly paid to a claimant
due to intentional misrepresentation, the claimant can be prosecuted
for a felony.

If the restitution was the result of intentional misrepresentation by
the claimant, repayment will be required as of the date the fraudulent
payments began.

Income Tax Withholding

The unemployed worker has the choice of having the Agency with-
hold 10% of the benefit check for federal income taxes, and of having
approximately 4.35% withheld from his or her unemployment benefit
check for state income taxes. If the unemployed worker elects to have
any tax withheld, both taxes must be withheld.

When is an unemployed worker
disqualified or ineligible for
unemployment benefits?

Unemployment compensation is paid to workers who are unem-
ployed through no fault of their own. If a worker becomes unemployed
as a result of their own action, such as by quitting a job or being fired
for misconduct, he or she will be disqualified from receiving benefits,
unless he or she requalifies. If an unemployed worker remains unem-
ployed because he or she fails to take reasonable action to become
re-employed, he or she will be held ineligible for benefits for that week.

For example, a worker who fails to seek work, or be able to work,
or be available for work, will not be eligible for benefits for a week of
unemployment. This portion of the booklet will discuss disqualification
and ineligibility in much further detail. A Non-Monetary Determination
is issued to the claimant and employer adjudicating an eligibility or
qualification issue.

Disqualification
An unemployed worker is disqualified for benefits if he or she is

separated from work under certain circumstances, orifhe or she refuses
an offer of suitable work without good cause.

Voluntary Leaving

The workerwill be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits
if he or she quits a job without good cause attributable to the employer,
unless the worker later requalifies for benefits. A complete explanation
of requalification is found elsewhere in this booklet, under the heading,
"Requalifying for Benefits, After Disqualification."

Good cause attributable to the employerincludes reasons thatwould
cause a reasonable person to leave his or her job, but does notinclude
personal reasons such as babysitting problems. Good cause attributable
to the employer could include such things as safety hazards on the job
or job discrimination the employer allows to continue.
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Before a worker quits a job, he or she must bring to the employer’s
attention the situation the worker feels needs correction, and the
employer must be given adequate time to correct the problem. In
most cases, an employee who quits a job without giving such an
opportunity to the employer to correct the problem will be considered
to have quit without good cause attributable to the employer.

However, if a worker quits a job after accepting permanent, full-time
work with a new employer, and the worker actually goes to work for
the new employer, then the worker will not be disqualified for leaving
the former employer to accept the new work. All of the wages earned
with the former employer will transfer to the new employer and
can be used to pay benefits charged to the new employer. Also,
if a worker accepts a recall to a former employer or a union hiring hall
referral, the worker will not be disqualified and the unemployment li-
ability will transfer to the recalling employer or the employer assigned
by the hiring hall.

Also, if a worker tries a new job that would have been considered
by the UIA to be unsuitable for that worker, but quits that job within
a reasonable trial period (60 days for an unemployed worker with an
established claim), the worker will not be disqualified from receiving
unemployment benefits based on that quit and the employer's account
will not be charged. In addition, if a worker is the spouse of a full-time
member of the U.S. armed forces, and leaves a job due the reassign-
ment of the spouse by the military to a different geographic area, then
the worker will not be disqualified for unemployment benefits when he
or she voluntarily leaves work to move with the spouse. The account of
the employer will not be charged for those benefits; the nonchargeable
benefits account will be charged instead.

A worker who negligently loses a requirement for the job, such as
a driver license, will be disqualified for voluntarily leaving the job. The
first thing that must be proved in a case involving voluntary leaving is
that the unemployed worker left the job and was not fired. The employer
must prove that. Then, the requirement to prove the case shifts to the
unemployed worker. To avoid disqualification, the unemployed worker
must show either that he/she left the job involuntarily, or that he/she
left with good cause (that is, with good reason) attributable to the
employer. A good personal reason for leaving a job will not prevent a
disqualification. The claimant’s good cause for leaving the job must,
in some way, be attributable to the employer. To show that he/she left
"involuntarily," the worker must provide medical documentation of a
condition preventing him/her from continuing in that job, and must have
unsuccessfully sought alternative employment from the employer and
a leave of absence.

Misconduct

The Michigan Supreme Court has defined misconduct in an un-
employment compensation case, in its decision in the case of Carter
v Employment Security Agency, 364 Mich 538, 541 (1961):

“IMisconductinan unemployment compensation caseis] ... conduct
evincing such willful or wanton disregard of an employer’s interests
as is found in deliberate violations or disregard of standards of be-
havior which the employer has the right to expect of his employee,

or in carelessness or negligence of such degree or recurrence as to
manifest equal culpability, wrongful intent or evil design, or to show
an intentional and substantial disregard of the employer’s interests
or of the employee’s duties and obligations to his employer. On the
other hand, mere inefficiency, unsatisfactory conduct, failure in good
performance as the result of inability or incapacity, inadvertencies
or ordinary negligence in isolated instances, or good-faith errors in
judgment or discretion are not to be deemed ‘misconduct’ within the
meaning of the [unemployment compensation] statute.”

Misconduct for which a worker will be disqualified must therefore
show an intentional disregard by the worker of the employer’sinterests,
or must show gross negligence (thatis, a high degree of carelessness)
by the worker.

For example, acts of misconduct could include unexcused absence
ortardiness, insubordination to a supervisor, competing againstan em-
ployer, and other such actions contrary to the interests of the employer.

If a worker is discharged for either a single act of misconduct, or
the last in a series of acts of misconduct connected with the work, the
worker will be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits. In
the case of a discharge for a series of incidents, the final incident must
show some degree of wrongdoing. In most cases, a worker must have
beenwarned of the factthat his or her actions were unacceptable, before
the worker can be disqualified. In some cases of gross misconduct,
however, prior warnings are not necessary.

For example, a worker who is discharged for a serious incident of
insubordination, such as arguing with the employer in front of custom-
ers, will probably be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits.
Even a single incident of something that is harmful to the employer is
enough to show a substantial and intentional disregard of the interests
of the employer.

Inthe case of absence or tardiness, each incident, taken separately,
might not be serious enough to disqualify a worker from receiving
unemployment benefits. However, if the employer counsels the worker
and explains that the pattern of absence or tardiness, or both, is be-
coming a serious problem, and the worker continues the pattern and is
discharged, the worker could be disqualified for misconduct. The fact
that the employer gave the worker a warning and the worker continued
to be absent or tardy shows that the worker knowingly violated the
interests of the employer.

The worker will also be disqualified if he or she is discharged for
intoxication at work. Aworker who was informed at the time of hire how
to contact the employer for an absence, and then is a 3-day no-call/
no-show, will be disqualified for a discharge for misconduct.

Even if the employer fires a worker for misconduct, the employer
also has to show that the act of misconduct happened in connection
with the work in order for the worker to be disqualified from receiving
unemployment benefits. For example, if a worker is fired because he
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had a fist fight with a co-worker after working hours, and off of the
company property, and the fight was not related to the work, then the
worker would not be disqualified. The reason is that the firing was not
for an incident that occurred in connection with the work, even though
it involved a co-worker.

If a worker is fired because he or she is unable to do the job (for
example, the worker can't learn the job, or can’t meet production
standards), then the worker will not be disqualified from receiving
unemployment benefits even though the employer may have been
perfectly justified in firing the worker.

Whether the discharge is for misconduct connected with the work
or for intoxication at work, the worker will not receive unemployment
benefits, unless the worker later requalifies. A complete explanation
of when requalification begins can be found elsewhere in this chapter,
under the heading, Requalifying for Benefits, After Disqualification.

Inresponding, if necessary, to Form UIA1575E , "Monetary Determi-
nation," or completing Form UIA 1713, Request for Information Relative
to Possible Ineligibility or Disqualification, if required, it is important for

the employer to explain to the UIA what incident or series of incidents
led to the claimant’s discharge and why the employer should not be
charged for benefits.

If warnings were given to the unemployed worker, you should tell
the UlAthe dates the warnings were given, and who gave the wamnings
to the unemployed worker. If they were written warnings, copies should
be sent to the UIA. Also, the dates of the absences or tardinesses, or
otherincidents that led to the discharge, should be provided to the UIA.
Copies of any warnings should also be taken to the Administrative Law
Judge Hearing by a witness who can testify about them.

The courts have said that the burden of proof (that is, the re-
sponsibility to justify disqualification) is on the employer, when the
employer discharges the employee. If an employer only tells the UIA,
on the Form UIA 1575E, or Form UIA 1713, that the worker was fired
for misconduct, without any description of the acts involved, or any
details about warnings given to the employee, the UIA probably will
not have enough information to disqualify the unemployed worker or
to noncharge the employer's account.

REASON FOR DISQUALIFICATION

REASON FOR
DISQUALIFICATION

Voluntary leaving without good cause attributable to employer

X [xRmOosm=m
xmms
xmms

at work, or suspension for misconduct

Discharge for misconduct connected with work, or intoxication

X

Discharged for incarceration leading to conviction, except if on day parole, or if con-
victed for traffic offense causing absence from work of less than 10 days

Discharged for assault and battery connected with work

Discharged for theft connected with work

Discharged for wilful destruction of property connected with work

possessing a controlled substance at work

Discharged for failing a drug test, refusing to take a drug test, or using or

X Ix|x|X

Discharged for work stoppage contrary to collective bargaining agreement (wildcat)

Failed without good cause to apply for suitable work, when notified of the job

Failed without good cause to report to former employer for job interview

Failed without good cause to accept suitable work when offered

X | x| X[

a work assignment, if notified of that requirement

Discharged for failing to report back to Temporary Help Firm within 7 days of leaving

X

Unemployed due to labor dispute (strike or lockout)

Committed theft before last day of work but after being notified of layoff or discharge X

Conviction for theft within 2 years of discharge

X

1/Disqualification is for duration of unemployment, but labor dispute disqualification can be terminated by two weeks work with wages

each week equal to the unemployed worker’s benefit rate.
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Refusal of work, or of a job interview, or to
apply for work

Aworker will be disqualified if he or she fails, without good cause, to
accept an offer of suitable work, or to go for a job interview for suitable
work, or to apply diligently for suitable work of which the claimant was
informed by the UIA, or fails to apply for work with employers that could
reasonably be expected to have suitable work available.

A worker who applies for a job but fails the pre-employment drug
test, or refuses to take the drug test, will be considered to have refused
the offered work, and will be disqualified (unless good cause is shown
for the refusal to take the test), if the situation is brought to the Agency's
attention by the involved employer.

To determine whether work is suitable, the UIA must consider such
factors as risk to the worker’s health, safety, and morals, the worker’s
physical fitness and prior training, work experience and prior earnings,
the length of unemployment and prospects for finding a job in the area,
and the distance of the job from the worker’s residence. In order to
be suitable the job cannot be vacant due to a labor dispute and must
provide wages and hours consistent with other jobs in the area. Further,
the job cannot require the worker to join a union, resign from a union,
or refrain from joining a union.

Before a worker has received 50% of his/her benefits on a claim,
a job that pays a worker at least 70% of the gross pay rate he or she
received immediately before becoming unemployed will be regarded
as suitable work at least with respect to wages. If a worker refuses
an offer of such work, the worker could be disqualified from receiving
unemployment benefits. After the claimant has received 50% of his/
her benefits on a claim, the claimant must accept work that he or she
has not necessarily performed in the past or been trained in, if it pays
at least the state minimum wage ($7.40/hour), at least the average
wage for that job in the locality, and at least 120% of the claimant's
weekly benefit amount.

An employer should notify the UIA when a worker refuses an offer
of work. The UIA will then determine whether the worker should be
disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits. See Fact Sheet
No. 144 for further details about how an employer should report a
refusal of work to the UIA.

Labor disputes

If a worker goes on strike over wages, hours, or other terms and
conditions of employment, or is locked out by the employer over those
issues, the worker will be disqualified from receiving unemployment
benefits for as long as the labor dispute continues. The disqualification
will begin with the start of the week the unemployment began, and end
at the end of the week when the labor dispute ended. In some cases,
shut-down periods in anticipation of the labor dispute, and start-up
periods following the labor dispute, are also included in the period of
disqualification.

A worker who goes on a “sympathy strike” will be disqualified for
unemployment benefits, as will a worker who is not on strike or locked
out but who is still likely to benefit from the result of any settlement
reached with the workers who are striking or are locked out.

Also, if a worker who is not on strike or locked out s laid off because
of the labor dispute involving other workers for the same employer at
the same establishment (generally, a worksite), the worker will still
be disqualified for as long as the strike or lockout involving the other
workers continues.

The disqualification of a worker who is on strike or is locked out will
end, however, if that worker is permanently replaced. It will also end if
the worker works for two consecutive weeks with another employer and
earns as much as his or her potential weekly unemployment benefit
rate in both of those weeks.

Other disqualifications

A worker will also be disqualified from receiving unemployment

benefits if the worker is:

+ discharged for theft connected with the work (a conviction within 2
years will reopen the UIA's decision).

« discharged for willful destruction of property
connected with the work

+ discharged for assault and battery connected with the work

« discharged for failing a drug test, for refusing to take a drug test,
or for possessing or using a controlled substance at work

« discharged for failing to report back to a temporary help firm
within 7 days of leaving a work assignment, if notified of that
requirement by the temporary help firm

+ placed on disciplinary layoff

+ involved in a wildcat strike

« discharged for being in jail after conviction for a crime (other than
a traffic conviction if the jail time is less than 10 days)

+ discharged for a theft that occurs after a notice of layoff but before
the last day of work.

Requalifying for benefits, after
disqualification
There are two methods to requalify after a unemployed worker is

disqualified fromreceiving benefits. The type of requalification required
depends on the reason for disqualification.

Requalification by Rework

If a worker is disqualified for quitting a job, or being fired for mis-
conduct, the worker can requalify for benefits by returning to work in
covered (non-excluded) employment (thisis called “rework”) and earning
+ 12 times the worker’s weekly unemployment benefit rate in the case

of a voluntary leaving, or
+ 17 times the worker’s weekly unemployment benefit rate in the case
of a suspension or discharge for misconduct.

However, if the worker was disqualified for one of the reasons
mentioned and requalifies by rework, any unemployment benefits the
worker receives based on base period earnings paid by the employer
the individual was disqualified from, will not be charged to the account
of that employer in the case of a voluntary leaving. In the case of a
discharge, the employer's account will not be charged if the employer
notifies the UlAthatthe employer's accountshould notbe charged.
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Requalification by serving
requalification period

Some disqualifications require a worker to satisfy a period of requali-
fication. Ifaworkeris disqualified and required to serve arequalification
period of 13 or 26 weeks (such as for assault and battery, theft, or
willful destruction of property, or refusal of suitable work), the worker
can serve a week of requalification by either of the following methods:

* earn at least $220.00 in the week.

« certify to the UIA that he or she was able to work, available for
work, and seeking work during the week.

Ifaworker is disqualified for 13 weeks and requalifies, he or she will
lose benefits (but not more than 13 weeks). After that benefit reduc-
tion, any remaining benefits can be charged to the employer’s account.

If a worker is disqualified for 26 weeks and requalifies, the worker’s
benefits will be reduced by up to 13 weeks. In addition, the worker will
not receive the proportional share of weekly benefits chargeable to the
employer involved in that separation.

The disqualifications for unemployment benefits, and the requali-
fications for each disqualification, are summarized in the table on the
previous page.

Eligibility
Generally, an unemployed worker is ineligible for benefits for a
week if an unemployed worker fails to take those reasonable actions
that could result in his or her re-employment. An unemployed worker
will be ineligible, therefore, to receive unemployment benefits for a
week if the unemployed worker does not meet each of the weekly
eligibility requirements:
+ files the claim on time
+ registers for work with The Michigan Works! Agency when the new
claim is filed
* is able to work
* is available for full-time, suitable work
* is seeking work
* reports, as directed, to the UIA (typically by calling MARVIN, or in
some cases by filing by mail, when authorized by the UIA)
* participates in re-employment activities required under the worker
profiling system
An unemployed worker will remain ineligible for benefits for as
many weeks as the unemployed worker fails to meet any of the weekly
eligibility conditions.

Filing a claim on time

To be filed on time, a new claim must be filed on or before Friday of
the week following the week containing the last day of work.

If an unemployed worker has good cause (thatis, a good reason) for
being late in filing a claim, a 14-day extension can be granted for filing
the claim. Good cause reasons can include attendance at a funeral,
working or reliance on a promise of work, or acts of God that prevent
the filing of the claim.

Registration for work

In most cases, when an unemployed worker files a new claim
for benefits, or renews a claim for benefits, the unemployed worker
must go to the Michigan Works! Agency to register for work and seek
assistance in finding a job. An unemployed worker does not have to
register with the Michigan Works! Agency, however, if the unemployed
worker indicates to the UIA that he/she is expected to return to their
previous work within 120 days.

Ability to work

To be able to work, an unemployed worker must be able to do
some kind of work he or she performed in the past, or was trained
to perform. The work does not have to be the kind he or she most
recently performed.

Availability for work

To be available for work, a worker must be willing to accept any
full-time work that is suitable for the worker. Factors that determine
suitability of work include the worker’s prior earnings, experience,
travel distance, prior training, physical fitness, and risk to the worker’s
health, safety, and morals. The worker must be available to perform
the work, generally, on any day of the week and on any shift when the
work is normally performed.

An unemployed worker does not have to be available for work,
however, if the claimant's employer has asked the UIA to waive (set
aside) this requirement when the worker will be on layoff for 45 days
or less. The availability requirement can also be waived for a week in
which a unemployed worker is attending vocational training.

Anunemployed worker is also excused from being available for work
on the day of the death of a close relative (such as a child, spouse, par-
ent, brother, sister, and some other relatives), and for the next 4 days.

A claimant will be considered unavailable for work, and therefore
ineligible for unemployment benefits, if the claimant (1) fails to keep
an employer chargeable on the claim notified of his or her contact
information, or (2) fails, without good cause, to respond within 14
days to a contact request from the UIA, or if (3) mail to the claimant
is returned to the UIA as undeliverable and the claimant cannot be
reached by telephone. Also, a claimant who fails to appear in person
at a location selected by the UIA for an audit of his/her claim will be
held "unavailable" for work.

Seeking work

To be seeking work, an unemployed worker must be actively en-
gaged in looking for work in a way generally used by a worker in that
occupation to find work. Although the most common way to seek work
is to file applications with employers, there are other methods as well.

For example, a worker who normally receives work assignments
through a union hiring hall, and who registers with the union hiring hall
when he or she becomes unemployed, is satisfying the seeking work
requirement by doing what he or she would normally do to find a job.
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Other workers who would normally send out applications or resumes
are also effectively seeking work.

Under some circumstances, the seeking work requirements can be
waived (set aside) by the UIA. If you, the employer, are expecting to
recall the unemployed worker within 45 days, you can request the UIA,
in writing, to waive the requirements that the unemployed worker must
register for work and must seek work. You should make the request in
writing to your nearest UIA branch resolution office before claimants
start to receive any benefit payments.

The seeking work requirement can also be waived by the UIA if
the claimant’s layoff is expected to be temporary (not more than 15
days), or when the state's unemployment rate reaches 8.5% and the
unemployed worker does not work in a high demand occupation. Also,
an unemployed worker who is attending training approved by the UlAis
notrequired to be available for work or seeking work for any week when
the unemployed worker is in such training. An unemployed worker is
also excused frombeing available forwork, and from the usual reporting
day to claim benefits, on the day of the death of a close relative (such
as a child, spouse, parent, brother, sister, and some other relatives),
and for the next 4 days.

To be considered "actively engaged" in seeking work, a claimant
must conduct a "systematic and sustained" search for work, and must
report the name of each employer where the claimant sought work, the
physical or online address of the employer, and the date and method
by which work was sought with the indicated employers. This work
search will be subject to audit by the UIA. The claimant must report to
the UIA these details of the work search either online, or in writing by
mail or fax to the UIA, or by appearing at least monthly at a Michigan
Works! Agency location.

Reporting, as directed, to claim benefits

After every completed two-week period of unemployment, an
unemployed worker must report and certify to the UIA that they were
satisfying each of the requirements of the law to be entitled to benefits
(that is, the unemployed worker must be eligible and qualified for
benefits during that period). Generally, the certification must be filed,
by telephone, within 7 days after the end of the week being claimed.

Anunemployed workerwho has good cause for being late inreporting
onaclaim can be given a 14-day extension tofile. Also, an unemployed
worker can be excused from reporting to claim benefits on the day of
the death of a close relative (such as a child, spouse, parent, brother,
sister, and some other relatives), and for the next 4 days.

Most unemployed workers for unemployment benefits now report
to the UIA by telephone or online, using an interactive voice response
system known as MARVIN (Michigan’s Automated Response Voice
Interactive Network). The number to call for telephone MARVIN is
1-866-638-3993. A schedule by social security number is followed
Monday through Wednesday; on Thursday and Friday anyone can
call the number from 8:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.

Using a scheduled appointment time, an unemployed worker
responds, using the keypad of a touch-tone telephone (or by going
on-line) to prompts from MARVIN, and reports to the UIA whether he
or she has been satisfying each of the weekly eligibility requirements
to be entitled to unemployment benefits. An unemployed worker also

reports any earnings he or she has had during a week. New and re-
opened claims for unemployment benefits may be filed by telephone
at 1-866-500-0017, or on the internet at www.michigan.gov/uia. The
UIA no longer maintains local branch offices where claims can be filed.

Participating in Profiling Activities

The UlA's profiling system uses a computer model to identify workers
likely to exhaust unemployment benefits and to need re-employment
services to find a job. Factors considered are the worker’s education
and training, the industry in which the individual last worked, and the
type of job the unemployed worker performed.

Aworker identified as needing such assistance must participate in
re-employmentand job search services. If the worker fails to participate
in these services, the worker will be held ineligible for unemployment
benefits in every week in which they fail to participate.

Denial Periods

The law provides for a denial period in which a worker cannot
receive unemployment benefits, even if the worker is otherwise eligible
and qualified for benefits.

Adenial period applies to employees of public and non-profit schoals,
and to employees of charter schools and educational service agencies.
It also applies to school crossing guards. The denial period applies
between regular school terms or years and during school holiday
periods. A denial period also applies, between terms, but not within
terms, to employees of employers that contract with K-12 educational
institutions or institutions of higher education to provide professional
or non-professional employees to those educational institutions. There
is also a denial period that applies to professional athletes between
athletic seasons. Adenial period only applies to these periods, however,
if these workers have reasonable assurance of returning to work after
the period between regular work seasons.

A denial period also applies to seasonal workers between work
seasons, if the workers were hired primarily to perform services dur-
ing regularly recurring periods of 26 or fewer weeks in a period of 52
consecutive weeks.

The worker must be notified that the employer has applied to the
UIA for designation as seasonal, or has been determined by the UIA
to be a seasonal employer. The worker must usually be notified at the
beginning ofthe season thathe/she is being hired as a seasonal worker.

At the end of the season, the worker must be given reasonable
assurance of being rehired by the employer for the next season. If the
worker is not actually rehired the next season, the worker can collect
retroactive unemployment benefits for the period between seasons
if the worker reported regularly to the UIA during the period between
seasons.

The seasonal denial period does not apply to workers in the con-
struction industry.
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Which State’s Law Will Be Used to
Decide if a Claim is Paid?

In most cases, when an unemployed worker files a claim for unem-
ployment benefits in Michigan, the Michigan unemployment insurance
law applies to the claim. Sometimes, though, an unemployed worker
has worked in one or more states in addition to Michigan. In those
cases, the unemployed worker may be able to establish a claim under
the law of Michigan alone, or under the law of one of those other states,
alone. In some cases, though, the unemployed worker may not have
enough weeks of work in any one state to establish a claim, but may
have enough weeks of work in the combination of states to file a claim
known as a Combined Wage Claim (CWC). Generally, the law that
applies to a Combined Wage Claim is the law of the state where the
Combined Wage Claim is filed. Although this can be a little confusing,
the following more detailed explanation is provided for those employers
who wish to understand this kind of claim more thoroughly.

The following principles are used to determine which state’s law
applies to a claim:

« If an unemployed worker qualifies for benefits from only one state,
he/she would be paid benefits under the law of that state, regardless
of where he/she files the claim. If the claim is filed in a state other
than the one where the unemployed worker qualifies for benefits,
the claim will be an Interstate Benefit (IB) claim.

« If an unemployed worker qualifies for benefits from each of two
different states, the unemployed worker can either choose which of
those two states to file the claim against (and the law of that state
would apply), or can opt to file a combined wage claim (CWC). The
law of the state where the CWC claim is filed would apply (unless
combining wages still does not qualify the unemployed worker for
benefits under that state’s law).

+ If an unemployed worker does not qualify for benefits in either of the
two states, the unemployed worker may still be able to combine the
wages earned in the states to qualify for a combined wage claim
(CWC). The law applicable to that CWC will be the law of the state
in which the CWC claim is filed, (unless combining wages still does

notqualify the unemployed worker for benefits under that state’s law).

If benefits are otherwise chargeable to an employer's account
solely on the basis of a combined wage claim, the benefits will not be
charged to the employer's account, but will be charged instead to the
Nonchargeable Benefits Account.

The chart below helps illustrate how these principles operate to
determine which state’s law applies to a claim. In the example used in
the chart, the unemployed worker has worked in Michigan and Texas.

Notifications to Employer
about Claims Status

Form UIA 1575E,
Monetary Determination

As discussed earlier in this Handbook, when a new claimis filed, the
UIA checks the wage database to determine whether the unemployed
worker had sufficient wages in the base period, or the alternate base
period, to qualify for benefits. The wage information also allows the
UIA to calculate the claimant's weekly benefit amount and potential
number of weeks of benefits. The wage data also allows calculation of
the proportion of benefits that will be charged to each base period em-
ployer’s account, if the unemployed worker receives a week of benefits.

In addition, we ask the unemployed worker for the reason he or she
was separated from employment with the last employer (in the filing
quarter), from any other employer in the filing quarter, from any lag
quarter employers, and from any base period employers.

The UIA sends Form UIA 1575E to the last employer and to each
base period employer, notifying them of the potential charges to their
accounts, and of the separation reason given by the unemployed worker.
If a base period employer believes the claimant’s firing should have
been disqualifying, the employer is requested to notify the UIA of that
fact within 10 days. Otherwise, benefits will be paid in accordance
with the information on the Form UIA 1575E. If the UIA concludes the
claimant’s reason for separation was disqualifying, the account of the
employer will not be charged for any benefits paid the unemployed
worker. In the case of a quit, the base period employer's account will

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Claimant Claimant Claimant
Claimant Claimant Claimant Claimant qualifies for, qualifies for qualifies for
qualifies only qualifies only qualifies in qualifies in and opts for, both Michigan both Texas
for, or opts for, for, or opts for, both Texas neither Texas combined combined and combined
Michigan claim Texas claim and Michigan nor Michigan MI-Tex claim MI-Tex claim MI-Tex claim
Files in Mich. M T M/T-IB/ICWC Ccwce M/CWC M/CWC T-IBICWC
Files in Texas M T T/M-IB/ICWC CcwC TICWC M-IB/CWC TICWC

M = Michigan law applies; T = Texas law applies; T-IB = The claim is filed in Michigan but is a Texas claim so Texas law applies; M-IB = The claim is filed in Texas but is a Michigan
claim so Michigan law applies; CWC = The claim is a Combined Wage Claim which follows the law of the state in which it is filed, unless that state's law the unemployed worker
still does not qualify for a claim even by combining wages, in which case the claim will be a CWC claim, filed on an interstate basis, and will follow the law of the other state; / =

unemployed worker ha a choice between filing the alternative types of claims shown.
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automatically be noncharged.

Step-by-Step Look at Form UIA 1575E,
"Monetary Determination”

The first thing to notice on this form is the Mail Date in the upper,
right-hand side of the sheet. Most employers will not need to respond
to this form, because they will agree with the reason shown for the
claimant’s separation from employment, and with the wage informa-
tion shown.

However, if you, as an employer, do not agree with the wages as
shown, or with the reason shown for the unemployed worker’s sepa-
ration from employment, or if you believe your account should not
be charged in the case of a firing because the circumstances would
have disqualified the worker from benefits, then your response must
be received by the UIA within 10 calendar days after the mail date
shown on the form. Day number 1 of the 10-day period is the day after
the Mail Date. If you or your agent have a pattern of not providing
information and benefits are improperly paid as a result, your account
might not be credited for benefits that were improperly paid. If the
separation from employment was a "voluntary leaving" or "quit," the
employer has a 30-day period in which to provide a reason why their
account should not be charged. Information needed in that period will
be effective from the beginning of the claim. Therefore, to protect
your unemployment experience account, you must be certain that
your response, if necessary, with new, additional, or corrected
wage or separation information, is received by the UIA within the
10-day or 30-day period.

You may respond by mail or by fax or through your MiWAM account.
The address and fax number of the office to which the form should be
mailed or faxed is shown near the top of the form.

Claim Information

The first major portion of the Form is labeled “Claim Information.”
It begins by giving the name and Social Security Number of the un-
employed worker involved in the claim. Also shown are the dates the
unemployed worker’s Benefit Year begins and ends. This is the period
during which any benefits allowed on this claim will be paid.

The next item shows the claimant's weekly benefit amount and the
claimant's "high quarter wages" used to calculate the weekly benefit
amount. This is the amount paid to the worker by all employers in the
calendar quarter in which the worker had the highest gross wages.
Thisamount, multiplied by 4.1% (.041), gives the unemployed worker’s
preliminary Weekly Benefit Amount. That amount can be increased
by $6.00 per dependent, and up to 5 dependents can be claimed but
cannot exceed $362.00.

Under “Number of Dependents” you will find a figure indicating the
number of dependents reported by the unemployed worker and used
to calculate the benefit amount.

The next line shows the total number of weeks of benefits to which
the claimant is potentially entitied. However, if a claimant is found
ineligible or disqualified from receiving benefits, that number could
be reduced, even to zero. The calculation for the number of benefit
weeks is discussed earlier in this Chapter.

The last line shows the beginning and ending dates of the “base

period” of the claim, which is the period of 4 calendar quarters used
to determine whether the claimant had sufficient wages to qualify for
benefits.

The next item may show special information about the claim about
which the employer should be notified, such as that the claimant is
job-attached and not required to register for work with the Michigan
Works! Agency.

Next there is a grid that shows the name of each employer charge-
able on the claim — both the “separating” employer on the claim,
which is the claimant’s most recent employer before he/she became
monetarily entitled to benefits, and all base period employers. If you
are identified on a claim but never employed the claimant, you need
to notify the Agency. As mentioned earlier in this Chapter, if the sepa-
rating employer paid the claimant less than $2,072 in gross wages
during the base period of the claimant, that employer’s account will
not be charged. Also as mentioned earlier, if benefits start to be paid
improperly because the employer has a pattern of failing to provide
timely and adequate information, benefit will have to be repaid but the
employer’s account might not be credited.

The gross base period wages UIA records show for the claimant
from each employer are shown next; if the claimant’s gross wages from
you are mis-stated, you need to notify the Agency.

The next area of the grid shows the “Separation Reason (reported
by claimant)”. If you disagree with the information shown (for example,
the reason shown is “lack of work” but actually you fired the claimant),
you need to let the Agency know. You can use the area at the bottom
of Page 3 of this Form UIA 1575E to report your disagreement with the
“Reason for Separation” given by the claimant and shown on Page 1
of the Form UIA 1575E.

The next area of the grid shows the maximum potential benefit
charged to the “Separating Employer.” Typically, that amount is twice
the claimant’s weekly benefit amount. Any benefits that are payable to
the claimantbut notchargeable to the employer’s accountis shown next.

Finally, the maximum benefit charges to each employer on the claim
(first the “separating employer” and then the “base period employers”)
are shown. The maximum benefit is the amount paid to the claimant
and charged to the employers’ accounts if the claimant draws out ben-
efits at his or her maximum weekly benefit amount (without reduction
for earnings or special payments) for the entire number of weeks the
claimant was determined entitled to benefits.

Page 2 of the Monetary Determination provides instructions about
when and how to file a protest to the Monetary Determination.

Page 3 of the Monetary Determination allows an employer to enter
any “Special Payments” made to the claimant after the beginning of the
Benefit Year. These payments may count as “earnings” and reduce a
worker’s benefits for the week in which the payment was made, or the
week(s) to which the employer allocates the payment, regardless of
whenitwas actually paid. See the description of “Special Payments” in
this Chapter, and in Chapter B, and also the Fact Sheet on that subject.

Also on Page 3 of the Monetary Determination you can enter
information about a retirement benefit you are paying to the claimant,
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based at least in part upon service they performed for you during the
base period of the claim. You can show the monthly amount of the
pension, its effective date, and the date of the first pension payment.
You will also need to indicate whether you contributed to the pension,
and if so, whether it was less than half the cost of the pension, or half
or more of the pension cost. That will affect the calculation of the effect
of the pension on the claimant's unemployment benefits. See a fuller
explanation in this Chapter and the Fact Sheet on the subject as well.

Form UIA 1955,
Redetermination of Charges

When a base period employer notifies the UIA of reasons why they
should not be charged for benefits, they are sent this form. The form
lets them know if they will be charged, the reasons for charging or not
charging their account and the effective date of the decision.

Form UIA 1563,
Notice to Chargeable Employer
of Claim Renewal

When an unemployed worker returns to work, and then again be-
comes unemployed and resumes drawing benefits chargable against
your account, we send you Form UIA 1563, Notice to Chargeable
Employer of Claim Renewal.

This tells you that the unemployed worker is once again claiming
benefits chargeable to you, and that you can expect to see new benefit
charges against your account. If you have a reason to believe the
unemployed worker may not be entitled to benefits, you should notify
the UIAso we can further investigate the claimant’s right to the benefits.
Reasons you could provide for why the unemployed worker might not
be entitled to benefits could include the fact that the unemployed worker
is employed, or is not able to work or available for work.

Form UIA 1564,
Notice to the Employer of Claim

Renewal

Sometimes an unemployed worker renews a claim after being
employed and then becoming unemployed again. In those cases the
UIA sends a notice of the claim renewal to the benefit year employer
from which the unemployed worker just became unemployed (which
will not necessarily be a base period employer currently chargeable
for the unemployment benefits).

Ifthe unemployed worker quit the job without good cause attributable
to the employer, or was discharged for misconduct, or for any other

reason that could disqualify the unemployed worker from receiving
unemployment benefits, we ask the employer to tell us that information.

If the unemployed worker left that job under disqualifying circum-
stances, we disqualify the unemployed worker until the unemployed
worker requalifies.

Form UIA 1136,

Statement of Unemployment Benefits
Charged or Credited to Employer’s
Account

Each week we send you a notice of any charges or credits made to
your account. You can also view this form in your MIWAMM account.
Also any earnings reported by the claimant for the week are shown.
A charge to the account means a benefit check has been paid to a
former worker who filed a claim for benefits. The statement identifies
the unemployed worker by name and Social Security Number, the week
for which the benefits were paid, and the amount paid.

If you believe the unemployed worker was ineligible for benefits
for any of the weeks for which we paid benefits, be sure to file a writ-
ten protest to Form UIA 1136 within 30 days of the date it was mailed
to you. Be specific as to your reason for believing the unemployed
worker is not entitled to benefits for the week. For example, you may
have information that the unemployed worker was employed during
the week, or was on vacation and therefore not available for work or
seeking work during the week, or left a job during the week and should
be disqualified. Also, if the unemployed worker worked for you and
earned more than the benefits charged to your account for that week,
you must notify the UIAin writing so that your account can be credited.
Once you notify the UIA of that fact, benefits will be noncharged to
your account for the remainder of the claimant's benefit year. This only
applies to "contributing" employers.

However, Form UIA 1136 cannotbe used in place of atimely response
to Form UIA 1575E, Monetary Determination, or in place of a protest
to a Nonmonetary Determination (Form UIA 1302) with regard to the
Agency’s decision not to disqualify the unemployed worker based on
his or her reason for separation from work.

Form UIA 1770,
Summary of Statement of
Benefit Charges and Credits

Each calendar quarter, we send you a statement summarizing the
benefit charges to your account during the quarter. This statement
includes all the information contained on the individual Form UIA 1136
we previously sent you during that calendar quarter.

Like the individual Form UIA 1136, this Form is a Determination of
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the unemployed worker’s eligibility for benefits, and may be protested,
in writing, within 30 days of the date it was mailed to you. However,
Form UIA 1770 can only be used to protest the calculation of charges
to the employer’s account. It cannot be used in place of a previously
mailed nonmonetary determination or Form UIA 1136 to protest the
Agency’s decision not to disqualify an unemployed worker or not to
hold the unemployed worker ineligible for benefits.

Form UIA 1301, Restitution (List of
Overpayments)

As mentioned earlier, when the Agency determines that an un-
employed worker owes restitution (repayment of improperly paid
benefits), a Determination is mailed to the unemployed worker and
employer, indicating the amountdue. Unless the improper paymentwas
due to the employer’s failure to provide wage and separation informa-
tion when requested, or to provide complete and accurate wage and
separation information, the employer’s account will be credited in the
calendar quarter in which the Determination of Restitution becomes
final, even if the Agency does not actually receive repayment from the
unemployed worker.

Form UIA 1807, Notice of Hearing

As discussed earlier, when either the unemployed worker oremployer
appeals a Redetermination, the claim is transferred to the Michigan
Administrative Hearing System. The unemployed worker and employer
receive a Notice of Hearing showing the date, time, and place of the
Hearing, and the issues to be discussed at the Hearing.
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Form UIA 1575E —
Notice of (Re)Determination (Monetary)

State of Michigan

UIA 1575E pﬁ Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Authorized By

(Rev. 10-13) Af = ? i Unemployment IgsurancegAgenc))// cemss o hesomr s VICL 421.1 et seq.

RICk Snyder H . CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. Shaun Thomas
3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202

GOVERNOR www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR

Mail Date: October 17, 2013
L ey Y LT e [T L e L L Letter ID: L0000067719
SUE'S EATERY EAN: 2001306 000
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: SUE'S EATERY

DETROIT MI 48202-6024

Mail To: UIA
PO Box 169
Grand Rapids MI 49501-0169

FAX: (517) 636-0427
MONETARY DETERMINATION

Dear SUE'S EATERY,

JAMES SPICER's claim for unemployment insurance benefits was filed on 10/15/2013. The
claim has been processed to determine if JAMES SPICER has met the requirements and is
monetarily eligible to receive benefits.

It is determined that JAMES SPICER is able to establish a claim for unemployment benefits.
The claimant meets the monetary requirements.

However, the claimant reported a separation reason of FIRED with you. A determination must
be issued regarding whether or not the claimant is qualified to receive benefits based on this
separation. This determination will be sent in a separate mailing.

This determination is effective beginning 10/13/2013.

Claim Information
® Claimant Social Security number: ###-##-1111
Benefit year begins (BYB): 10/13/2013
Benefit year ends (BYE): 10/11/2014
Weekly benefit amount: $246.00. Figure based on high quarter wages of $6,000.00
Number of dependents: 0
Number of weeks of benefits: 20.00
Base period begins 07/01/2012 and ends 06/30/2013

Base Period Wages and Employer Account Charges

Separatin Total Potential
Base Period Separation Reason 9 Non-Charge Maximum
Employer Name X Employer
Wages (reported by claimant) Charge Amount Charge to
9 Account

LARA is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
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Form UIA 1575E — Page 2
Notice of (Re)Determination (Monetary)

(UF\I’A 15;25:53) Letter ID: L0000067719
ev. -

Total Potential

Separating Non-Charge | Maximum

Base Period | Separation Reason

Employer Name Wages (reported by claimant) Employer Amount Charge to
Charge A

ccount

SUE'S EATERY $17,000.00 Fired $492.00 $0.00 $4,920.00

Employer Charging Messages

*Total Potential Maximum Charge is the full amount charged to your account if the claimant is
paid the full weeks of benefits (no earnings/remuneration to reduce any benefit payments and
all weeks allowed are paid).

*You are identified as the separating employer. Therefore, your account is charged 100% for
the first two weeks of benefits.

Protesting Charges

Your account will be charged for benefits as shown unless you notify the Unemployment
Insurance Agency (UIA) of any possible ineligibility/disqualification and provide specific details.
Benefits paid in accordance with this monetary (re)determination will be considered properly
paid and will not be changed unless the UIA receives new, corrected, or additional
information from you within 10 calendar days after the mail date shown on this form if the
claimant was terminated, or within 30 calendar days if the claimant quit (voluntary leaving).

To meet the 10 day deadline, information must be received no later than 10/28/2013.

If you disagree with this determination and provide information showing your account should
not be charged after the 10 day deadline described above, but within 30 days of the mail date,
any redetermination of chargeability will be effective with the week in which the information is
received except for a voluntary leaving separation. A redetermination of chargeability on a
voluntary leaving separation is effective from the beginning of the claim if the information is
received within 30 days.

To meet the 30 day deadline, information must be received no later than 11/18/2013.

If your request for a redetermination of chargeability is received after the 30-day period, it will
be denied unless you establish a good cause for failure to protest within the 30-day period.

How to Protest

¢ Protests must be made in writing. You can submit your protest on your MiWAM account,

or mail or fax your protest to the UIA address listed on the front of this form.

¢ Clearly state the reason for disagreeing with the (re)determination.

¢ List the claimant's name and Social Security number.

* |nclude the company name and UIA account number.

* Provide supporting documentation to support your protest.
For assistance, call the Office of Employer Ombudsman at 1-855-484-2636 (TTY callers use 1
-866-366-0004).

This determination becomes final unless the UIA receives your protest no later than:
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UIA 1575E Letter ID: L0000067719
(Rev. 10-13)

Form UIA 1575E — Page 3
Notice of (Re)Determination (Monetary)

11/18/2013

[This is an Overflow Page.]
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Form UIA 1575E — Page 4
Notice of (Re)Determination (Monetary)

UIA 1575E
(Rev. 10-13)

Other Protests
In addition to specifically protesting this determination, you may also use the charts below to
notify the UIA of any other circumstances regarding possible disqualification of ineligibility for
benefits using the same "How to Protest" rules shown earlier.

Claimant Name: JAMES SPICER
Social Security Number: ###-##-1111

Letter ID: L0000067719

If you are making special payments to the claimant after the Benefit Year Beginning (BYB) date,
complete the information below.

Gross dollar
Amount

Period From Period To Date Paid
(month/dayl/year)| (month/day/year)| (month/day/year)

Earnings

Holiday/Vacation Pay

Severance

Pay in Lieu of Notice

Sick Pay

Lost Earnings

Ooaojooaoag

Sales commission or
Consultation fee

O

Short Work Week or
On-Call Pay

Payment

Additional Information:

Separation Information
The claimant indicated the separation reason with you as FIRED. You are being sent separate
correspondence with fact-finding questions through your MiwWAM account and/or a separate
mailing. Please respond to those questions as requested.

If you are paying the claimant a retirement pension, complete the information below.

Monthly Effective Date of First
Amount Date

Check the box below that reflects the amount the claimant
contributed to his/her retirement.

O O O
Did not contribute Contributed less Contributed 1/2 or
than 1/2 the cost more of cost

AR ORI+ i om et pperit EmptoerProren.
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Form UIA1713 —
Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or Disqualification

State of Michigan

UIA 1713 C/E ”ﬁ” f K : I Authorized By
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs AﬂA
(Rev. 06-11) AY = ? Unemployment Insurance Agency ucemeine w recumomy aeent  VICL 42711 et seq.
RICk Sn del’ J . CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. Shaun Thomas
Y 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202
GOVERNOR www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR

Mail Date: March 3, 2014
Letter ID: L0000238274
EAN: 2001306 000
SUE'S EATERY

SUE'S EATERY
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name:
DETROIT MI 48202-6024

Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or Disqualification

JAMES SPICER
HH-##-1111
October 13, 2013

Claimant Name
Social Security Number
Benefit Year Begin

A question of eligibility and/or qualification has been raised on this claim. Please respond to the questions on
the reverse side of this form. You should keep a copy for your records. The completed form must be received
by UIA within 10 calendar days of the mail date shown. Failure to respond to this request for information
will result in issuance of a determination based on available information.

Respond by Mail: UIA
PO Box 169
Grand Rapids Ml 49501-0169

Fax:
Office of Employer Ombudsman:
TTY Customers:

(517) 636-0427
1-855-484-2636
1-866-366-0004

Respond online: You can submit "Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or Disqualification"
responses electronically through MiWAM. To access MiWAM, go to www.michigan.gov/uia, and click on the
link, "UIA Online Services for Employers". If you already have an existing MiWAM account, log in and select
"Additional Fact Finding is required for your claim". If you do not have an existing MiWAM account, you can
register to create an account by selecting "Register As a New User", and follow the prompts. Online responses
must be submitted within 10 calendar days of mail date shown above.

If it is determined that you intentionally made a false statement, misrepresented the facts or concealed
material information to prevent or reduce the payment of benefits to an individual, then the penalty provisions
of Sections 54 and 62(b) of the Michigan Employment Security Act will be applied and you would be subject to
any or all of the following:

®* |Imprisonment for not more than two years
®* The performance of community service of not more than two years but not to exceed 4, 160 hours
* A combination of (i) and (ii) that does not exceed two years

LARA is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
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Form UIA1713 —
Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or Disqualification — Page 2

UIA 1713 CIE Letter ID: L0000238274
(Rev. 06-11)

Additional information is necessary regarding Poor Attendance.

On what date was the claimant fired?

Who fired the claimant? Give name and title.

On what date did the incident which caused the firing occur?

Before the claimant was fired, did they receive any verbal or written warnings for the violation which caused
their termination?

Yes No

Please provide the type and date for each warning:

Did claimant give you proper notification of his absence or tardiness at the earliest possible time?
Yes No

What was the reason for the claimant's last absence or tardiness?
Child Care
lliness of a Family Member
Medical Condition
Other Personal Reasons
Personal lliness
Transportation

Under company policy, was medical documentation required for any absence related to illness? If yes, submit
a copy of company policy.

Yes No

Did the claimant provide the documentation?
Yes No
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Request for Information Relative to Possible Ineligibility or Disqualification — Page 3

UIA 1713 CIE Letter ID: L0000238274
(Rev. 06-11)

You may provide a statement and evidence regarding this issue before a (re)determination is made on this
matter. You must provide a response to the questions above and if you failed to previously report this
information, explain why. This form must be received by the Agency within 10 calendar days of the mail date
shown on page 1. Submit copies (not the originals) of any records which you believe support your position,
such as pay stubs, layoff slip, federal income tax form, W-2, etc. If you require additional space, attach
additional page(s). Please include the claimant's name and Social Security Number on all documents that you
submit.

Certification: | certify that the information | have reported is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief. | understand that there are penalties of fines and/or imprisonment and/or community service for false
statements as indicated on the front side of this form.

Signature Date Telephone Number

Print Name Title
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Form UIA 1302 —
Notice of (Re)Determination (Non-Monetary)

UIA 1302 g, State of Michigan

Authorized By
Unemployment Insurance Agency HIGEASING AD FEDULATORY AEFAIRS

: : Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs AnA
(Rev. 10-11) thf‘ P 9 gulatory 55-,@[,”"!, WA= \iC1 4211 et seq.

Rick Snyder
GOVERNOR

3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202 Shaun Thomas .
www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR

Mail Date: March 3, 2014

L RO 11 TR TLLLLE C ST T LR R T T Letter ID: L0000238279
SUE'S EATERY CLM: C0001110-0
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: JAMES SPICER

DETROIT MI 48202-6024

Notice of Determination

Case Number: 0-000-015-645 BYB: October 13, 2013
SSN: HHE-HE-1111 Employer Number: 2001306-000
Claimant: JAMES SPICER Involved Employer: SUE'S EATERY

Issues and Sections of Michigan Employment Security Act involved: Misconduct and 29(1)(b).

You were fired from SUE'S EATERY on October 05, 2013 for excessive attendance violations.

There was no disciplinary action prior to your being fired. You properly notified your employer about your
last absence which was due to other personal reasons. Misconduct in connection with work has not

been established.

You are not disqualified for benefits under MES Act, Sec. 29(1)(b).

If you disagree with this (re)determination, refer to "Protest Rights and Appeal Rights" on the reverse
side of this form.

0 0TI i n et ooty EmerProstern
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Form UIA 1302 — Page 2
Notice of (Re)Determination (Non-Monetary)

UIA 1302 Letter ID: L0000238279
(Rev. 10-11)

Protest Rights and Appeal Rights

Any protest or appeal must be filed by mail, fax or web account and received within 30 calendar days from the date
this notice was issued on the front side of form. If the 30th day is a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or Agency non-
work day, the protest or appeal must be received by the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) by the end of the
next day which is neither a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, nor Agency non-work day. If a protest or appeal is not
received within 30 days, a decision will become final and restitution may be due and owing.

If you disagree with a determination and want to protest:
* You may mail, fax or submit an online response to the following: UIA, PO Box 169, Grand Rapids M|l 49501-
0169, fax to: (5617) 636-0427, or through your web account at www.michigan.gov/uia.
* Protests must be signed or verified unless submitted through your online claim web account. However, the
Agency may accept a protest that lacks a signature if the protest can be verified. The Agency will notify you.
* Attach copies of any documents, employer notices, correspondence, or other types of information that may
clarify the issue you are protesting. Please retain the original documents for your files, as these documents
will not be returned.
* All correspondence must have the claimant's name and Social Security Number, and the name of the
employer (if applicable).
* |If the 30-day protest period has already lapsed, your statement must indicate why your protest was not
submitted on time.
If you disagree with a redetermination and want to appeal, request a hearing before an Administrative Law
Judge:
®* You may mail, fax, or submit an online response to the following: UIA, PO Box 124, Grand Rapids, Ml 49501-
0124, fax to: 1-616-356-0739, or through your web account at www.michigan.gov/uia.
* All written appeals must be signed or verified. However, the Agency may accept an appeal that lacks a
signature if the appeal can be verified. The Agency will notify you.
IMPORTANT ADVOCACY INFORMATION: After you appeal your redetermination to the Administrative Law
Judge, an Advocate may be able to assist you at the hearing. This service is free to claimants and employers. If you
are interested in using an Advocate, once you have received your Notice of Hearing, call the Advocacy Program at 1
-800-638-3994 and press Option 2. Provide the Advocate Representative with the Appeal Number from your Notice
of Hearing form. Some restrictions in service may apply.

TO THE CLAIMANT: If you protest or appeal, protect your rights by continuing to certify for benefits. Report using
MARVIN, either by telephone or via the Internet at www.michigan.gov/uia, and click on either heading, "UIA Online
Services for Claimants", or "Certify With MARVIN Online" pending the redetermination or decision on your
protest/appeal. If you go back to work, report this fact when you certify.

In accordance with the provisions of the Michigan Employment Security Act, benefits (re)determined payable in
accordance with this (re)determination will be paid, even though a protest may be filed at a later date. However, if a
later redetermination or decision holds that you were not entitled to receive all or part of these benefits, you
will be required to repay the benefits improperly received.

If you have any questions, call the UIA at 1-866-500-0017 (TTY callers use 1-866-366-0004).

METHOD OF SATISFYING 13-WEEK AND 26-WEEK REQUALIFICATION: Disqualifications imposed for a 13-
week or 26-week requalification period will be terminated when you complete the required period. You will be
credited with a week of requalification for each week in which you:

1. Certify as directed and meet the same requirements that apply to claiming a benefit payment, or

2. Earn at least 1/13th of the minimum high quarter earnings required to establish a benefit year, rounded down

to a full dollar amount. For a benefit year beginning 1/4/2009 and after, the amount is $220.00.

To re-qualify by certifying, you must report using MARVIN, either by telephone OR via the Internet at
www.michigan.gov/uia, and click on either heading "UIA Online Services for Claimants" or "Certify With MARVIN
Online."

METHOD OF SATISFYING A REWORK REQUIREMENT: A disqualification imposed for a voluntary quit can be
terminated after you have worked and earned an amount equal to, or greater than, 12 times your weekly benefit
amount. A disqualification imposed for a suspension or discharge for misconduct can be terminated after you have
worked and earned an amount equal to, or greater than, 17 times your weekly benefit amount. The earnings must be
with an employer liable under the Michigan Employment Security Act or the unemployment compensation law of

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Form UIA 1302 — Page 2 Cont...
Notice of (Re)Determination (Non-Monetary)

UIA 1302 Letter ID: L0000238279
(Rev. 10-11)

another state.

ELIGIBILITY FOR BENEFITS AFTER COMPLETION OF REQUALIFICATION OR REWORK: After the
requalification or rework requirements are completed, the claimant may be eligible for benefits. If wages earned with
the employer involved in the (re)determination fall within the base period of the claim, benefits may be paid to the
claimant on the basis of such wages. However, if the requalification requirements are imposed due to a separation
under Section 29(1)(h),(i),(j),(k), or (m) of the MES Act, the claimant is not entitled to benefits based on wages
earned with the involved employer before the week of disqualification.

INTEREST: Interest accrues at the rate of 1% per month (computed on a daily basis), Section 15(a) of the MES Act.

PENALTIES: If it is determined that you intentionally made a false statement, misrepresented the facts or concealed
material information to obtain benefits, then the penalty provisions of Sections 54 and 62(b) of the Michigan
Employment Security Act will be applied and you will be subject to any or all of the following: You would have to
repay money received and pay a penalty of two times (if less than $500 of improper payments) or four times (if $500
or more of improper payments) the amount of benefits fraudulently received. The two times penalty would be
increased to a penalty of 4 times the amount of improper payments if it were a second or subsequent offense. Your
benefits will be stopped and you will lose remaining benefits. You will be required to pay court costs (if prosecuted)
and fines, face jail time, or you may be required to perform community service, or all of these. Intentional
misrepresentation to obtain benefits in excess of $3,500 is a felony and you may be prosecuted in criminal court.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency
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Form UIA 1955 - Charging Redetermination

o, State of Michigan -
URI,A 1%51513 4{&% Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs MCLA:thO{'Z?d By
( rev. Ol ) Jemaid Unemployment Insurance Agency LESNSING b L Auns Al -1 etseq.
Rick Snyder 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, M 48202 ' " Shaun Thomas .
GOVERNOR . www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR
Mail Date: November 6, 2013
IllllIIIIIIIIillII“I"I"lIIIIIII”I'IIIIII"I“"II'I"IIIIIIII Letter ID: L0000421029
SUE'S EATERY EAN: 2001306 000
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: SUE'S EATERY

DETROIT MI 48202-6024

UIA
PO Box 169
Grand Rapids M|l 49501-0169

Fax: 1-517-636-0427
REDETERMINATION OF CHARGES
Dear SUE'S EATERY,

Your protest of Form UIA 1575E, Monetary Determination, sent on 17-Oct-2013 was received on 05-
Nov-2013.

Claimant: SUZANNE JAMES
Social Security Number: ###-##-1111
Separation reason as reported by the claimant: Laid Off -

You reported the claimant's separation as Fired. Your notification of this situation was not received
within 10 calendar days of the date the monetary determination was mailed to you. Benefits paid prior

to the receipt of your naotification are proper and remain charged to your account under Section 32(b)
of the MES Act.

The claimant's separation is considered to have been under disqualifying circumstances. The
claimant has requalified with subsequent employment. Your UIA account will not be charged
beginning with the effective date shown below. Benefits will be charged to the Nonchargeable
Benefits Account (NBA) as provided under Section 29(3)(h) of the MES Act.
The Redetermination of Charges is effective as of 03-Nov-2013.

APPEAL RIGHTS
If you disagree with this redetermination and wish to appeal, request a hearing before an
Administrative Law Judge. This redetermination becomes final unless your appeal is received by the
UIA no later than:

06-Dec-2013

The due date is 30 calendar days from the mail date.

@ O I+t m Bt pporant EmptoverProsrer:
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Form UIA 1955 - Charging Redetermination — Page 2
UIA 1955 Letter ID: L0000421029
(Rev. 01-13)

You may mail, fax, or submit an online response to the following: UIA, PO Box 169, Grand Rapids MI
49501-0169, fax to: (616) 356-0739, or web account at www.michigan.gov/uia.

All written appeals must be signed or verified.

All correspondence submitted by a claimant must have the claimant's name, Claim ID, and the name
of the employer.

All correspondence submitted by an employer must have the claimant's name and Social Security
number, and the name of the employer.

If the 30-day appeal period has already lapsed, your statement must indicate why your appeal was
not submitted on time.

This statement is for experience account purposes only. Any benefit charges not credited on or
before June 30 will appear on your next annual contribution rate determination (Form UIA 1771). If
you have any questions concerning this form, call the Office of Employer Ombudsman at 1-855-
4UIAOEO (855-484-2636) (TTY customers use 1-866-366-0004).

@ RN AT Ay s et ooty EmpeserPresem
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Form UIA 1563, Notice to Chargeable Employer of Claim Renewal

State of Michigan

UIA 1563 ﬁf’ De f : ; Authorized By
partment of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
(R"ev. 04-13) ‘r = Unemployment Insurance Agency s o e e MCL 421.1 et seq.
Rick Snyder 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202 Shaun Thomas .
GOVERNOR i www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR

Mail Date: January 6, 2014
T T L L L L e L e L L ey L T Letter ID: L0000047732
SUE'S EATERY EAN: 2001306 000

3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: SUE'S EATERY
DETROIT MI 48202-6024

Mail To: UIA
PO Box 169
Grand Rapids MI 49501-0169

FAX:  (517) 636-0427

Notice to Chargeable Employer
of Claim Renewal

Claimant Name: SUZANNE JAMES Social Security Number: ##H#-##-1111
Employer Account Number: 2001306000

Dear SUE'S EATERY,

On 05-Jan-2014 SUZANNE JAMES renewed a claim for unemployment benefits. You are being
notified of this renewal because the claimant has unused benefit entittement on an unemployment
claim that included wages earned with you. You were informed of this benefit entittement on Form
UIA 1575E, Monetary Determination, that was sent to you on 06-Nov-2013.

The claimant was most recently separated with:
DAVID P. SHELDON, DPM
346 E. FRONT ST. TRAVERSE CITY MI 49684-2553

If you believe the claimant should be disqualified or is ineligible for benefits, please notify the
Unemployment Insurance Agency in writing using your MiWAM account, mailing to the address
above, or faxing to the number above. Remember to include the claimant's name and Social
Security number on the correspondence.

If you have any questions, contact the Office of Employer Ombudsman at OEO@michigan.gov or call
1-855-484-2636 (TTY callers use 1-866-366-0004). Outside of Michigan call 313-456-2300.

@ DT OO ARy s et Opporars Emloerrearer
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Form UIA 1564 - Notice of Claim Renewal

State of Michigan

UIA 1564 T f : f AnA Authorized By
Departi t of L d Regulatory Aff:
(Rev. 02-13) ‘t@*’j} epa qu?gmglo;/(r"sgrs\t"}gsir:anczgxgigg' o A,'!'ﬁwr!u;ﬁmmmf&@ MCL 421.1 et seq.
Rick Snyder 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, M 48202 CUTHERTIEL SEIESMIIE Shaun Thomas .
GOVERNOR . www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR
Mail Date: February 5, 2014
L Y LU e PP L L T L L] GUTR | B TR T Letter ID: L0007863061
EASTONS EATERY EAN: 2034100 000
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: EASTONS EATERY

DETROIT MI 48202-6024

Mail To: UIA

PO Box 169

Grand Rapids Ml 49501-0169
FAX: (517) 636-0427

Notice to the Employer
of Claim Renewal
Social Security Number:###-##-1111

Claimant Name: SUZANNE JAMES
Employer Account Number: 2034100000

Dear EASTONS EATERY,

On 04-Feb-2014 SUZANNE JAMES renewed a claim for unemployment benefits. The claimant
reported a separation of work with you.

® Separation reason: Laid Off

¢ |ast day of work: 04-Feb-2014
You are being notified of this renewal because any benefits paid as a result of this claim may be
charged to your account in this benefit year or on a future claim.

If you believe the claimant should be disqualified or is ineligible for benefits, please notify the
Unemployment Insurance Agency within 10 days of the mailing date, using your MiWAM account,
mailing to the address above, or faxing to the number above. Remember to include the claimant's
name and Social Security number on the correspondence.

If you have any questions, contact the Office of Employer Ombudsman at OEO@michigan.gov or call
1-855-484-2636 (TTY callers use 1-866-366-0004). Outside of Michigan call 313-456-2300.

® [NV TN TEREIT - oo et cppority EmloerProgren.
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Form UIA 1136 —
Statement of Unemployment Benefits Charged or Credited to Employer’s Account

e State of Michigan .
UIA 1136 *‘é”ﬁ? De ; ; ; Authorized By
partment of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
(R_e" 09-13) ‘t . Unemployment Insurance Agency %ﬁ'ﬁ?ﬁ%}ﬁgﬁ%ﬁ&%ﬁ%ﬁ MCL 421.1 et seq.
Rick Snyder A~ 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202 Shaun Thomas ‘
GOVERNOR www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR

Mail Date: April 7, 2014
e el O O b e Letter ID: 0000047737
SUE'S EATERY EAN: 2001306 000
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: SUE'S EATERY
DETROIT MI 48202-6024

STATEMENT OF UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS CHARGED OR CREDITED TO EMPLOYER'S ACCOUNT
CALENDAR WEEK ENDING 04/05/2014
The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) is required by section 421.21(a) of the Michigan employment Security

(MES) Act to provide employers with statements summarizing the total benefits charged/credited against an
employer’s account. Please see charges and credits listed below.

Claimant’s SSN Claimant’s Payment/  Certification Adjustment Claimant Charges /
Name Adjustment Week Ending Type Reported Credits
Date Date Earnings
#1111 S. JAMES 04/01/2014 10/19/2013  Adjustment $0.00 $246.00
#1111 S. JAMES 04/01/2014 10/26/2013  Adjustment $0.00 $246.00
#1111 J. SPICER 04/01/2014 11/09/2013  Adjustment $0.00 $246.00
#1111 J. SPICER 04/01/2014 11/02/2013  Adjustment $0.00 $246.00
#1111 J. SPICER 04/01/2014 11/02/2013  Adjustment $0.00 $246.00
TOTAL: $738.00

In accordance with Section 20(f) of the MES Act, if benefits for a week of unemployment are charged to a contributing employer,which the claimant during
that week earns renumeration that equals or exceeds the amount of benefits charged to that employer, those benefits shall be charged to the non-

chargeable benefits account and will not appear on this statement.

THIS IS NOT A REQUEST FOR PAYMENT - SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON NEXT PAGE

@ VOO A OO NECAT++ epsvioen Sat opportaity Emptoertrogrem
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Form UIA 1136 —
Statement of Unemployment Benefits Charged or Credited to Employer’s Account — Page 2

EJF\I’A 1 3 361 3 Letter ID: L0000047737
ev -

How to Protest: If you disagree with these charges and/or credits, you may protest and request a redetermination.
Your protest of charges/credits should include the claimants name, social security number, employer account number,
date the adjustment was issued, week ending date involved, the amount of the charge/credit, and the reason for
disagreeing with the charge/credit. If you disagree with the charges based on the claimant working full-time hours,
availability or ability, please provide a description of the situation involving the claimant’s eligibility.

Claimant name SSN Week Ending |Reported Actual Working Full - |Was not Able /
date Earnings Earnings Time Available

O O

O O

Additinal Information:

Timely Protests: To be filed on time, protests must be received by the UIA within thirty (30) calendar days from the
MAIL DATE shown on this form. If the 30th day is a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or Agency non-work-day, the
protest must be received by the next day which is neither a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday or Agency non-work-day.
Direct your protest to the address or fax number listed below.

QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Employer Ombudsman (OEQO) at 1-855-4UIAOEO
(855-484-2636) or by e-mail at OEO@michigan.gov

UIA
PO Box 169
Grand Rapids Ml 49501-0169

FAX: (517) 636-0427

Mail or Fax to:

Adjustment Type Codes Listed on Detail of Charges and Credits

01- NORMAL EMPLOYER CHARGE FOR BENEFITS PAID TO UNEMPLOYED WORKER - NEWCHARGE
02-NORMAL EMPLOYER CHARGE/CREDIT ADJUSTMENT - ADJUSTMENT

03-CREDIT DUE TO RESTITUTION - RESTITUTION

04-EXTENDED BENEFITS - EB

05- YEAR OLD VOID

06-RESTITUTION ADJUSTMENT

07-CHARGE FOR BENEFITS PAID BY ANOTHER STATE ON COMBINED WAGE CLAIM

08-ADJUSTMENT FOR BENEFITS PAID BY ANOTHER STATE ON COMBINED WAGE CLAIM
09- RECHARGE DUE TO CANCELLATION OF RESTITUTION
10-ANY OTHER TYPE

@ RO+ s et ety EmpeerPreser.
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Form UIA 1770 —
Summary of Statement of Benefit Charges and Credits

i State of Michigan Authorized B
EJF\!’;\J 27291 2) A{ﬂﬂf Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs I_ABA MCL f21?1”ze$ seq)f
’ ApEmad, Unemployment Insurance Agency LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS

Rick Snyder 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202 USTON A OREN, BUSTNESS MACED Shaun Thomas

GOVERNOR Lot www.michigan.gov/uia DIRECTOR

Mail Date: August 4, 2014

UL | UL UL TR T L R R T T Letter ID: L0000421083

SUE'S EATERY Account #: 2001306 000
3024 W GRAND BLVD Employer: SUE'S EATERY

DETROIT MI 48202-6024

Summary of Statement of Benefit Charges and Credits
Calendar Quarter Ending June 30, 2014

Number of
Claimant SSN Claimant Name Items Total
#HAHAE1111 JAMES S 2 $492.00
#1111 SPICER J 3 $246.00
Total for Operating Unit: 2001306 000
For Quarter Ending: June 30, 2014 5 $738.00

THIS IS NOT A REQUEST FOR PAYMENT - SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON FINAL PAGE

36-D
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© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Form UIA 1770 —
Summary of Statement of Benefit Charges and Credits — Page 2

kJRIQ\; 27201 2 Letter ID: L0000421083

RIGHT OF PROTEST: THE UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AGENCY (UIA) IS REQUIRED PURSUANT TO SECTION 21 OF
THE MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT SECURITY ACT (MCL 421.21) TO PROVIDE EMPLOYERS WITH THE INFORMATION
CONTAINED IN THIS STATEMENT. THIS STATEMENT CONSTITUTES A DETERMINATION UNDER THE MICHIGAN
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY ACT. IF YOU DISAGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT (DETERMINATION) AND WANT TO
PROTEST, REQUEST A REDETERMINATION IN WRITING. ANY PROTESTS MUST BE FILED BY MAIL OR FAXED TO THE
ADDRESS OR FAX NUMBER SHOWN BELOW. PROTESTS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE UIA WITHIN 30 CALENDAR
DAYS FROM THE DATE OF MAILING SHOWN ON THE FRONT OF THIS FORM. IF THE 30™ DAY IS A SATURDAY,
SUNDAY, LEGAL HOLIDAY, OR AGENCY NON-WORK DAY, THE PROTEST MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE UIA BY THE
NEXT BUSINESS DAY. GOOD CAUSE MAY BE CONSIDERED ON LATE PROTESTS OR APPEALS.

This statement (Determination) is a listing of the information shown on weekly determinations of benefit charges
and credits (FORM UIA 1136) previously mailed to you, and covers only those items charged or credited in the
calendar quarter indicated. Any credits which you may have received for a date after the end of the calendar

guarter shown on this statement will be listed in a subsequent quarterly statement. If this statement is incorrect as

to mathematical accuracy of transcription of the various items, please advise the UIA immediately. This statement
cannot be used to protest UIA’s previous (re)determination(s) regarding an unemployed worker’s eligibility or
qualification for benefits.

REIMBURSING EMPLOYER: You will receive a billing for these charges unless they have been credited to your
account by your billing date.

CONTRIBUTING EMPLOYER: This statement is for experience account purposes only. Any benefit charges not
credited on or before June 30 will appear on your next annual contribution rate determination (FORM UIA 1771). In
order to correct the charges and reduce your rate, these charges must be protested within 30 days after the mailing
date of this statement.

EXTENDED BENEFIT CHARGES: When payable in Michigan EXTENDED BENEFIT CHARGES designated by charge type
“EB” on the employer’s listing of detail charges and credits are charged to a NON-GOVERNMENTAL employer’s
account as follows: 1) 100% of the first week and 2) 50% of the remaining weeks’ dollar amounts. GOVERNMENTAL
entities are charged 100% of EB costs. This statement and all weekly determinations of charges or credits (FORM
UIA 1136) show only that portion of benefit payments made to unemployed workers that are chargeable to the
employer.

If you have any questions concerning this form, call our Employer Customer Relations Hotline at 1-800-638-3994
(TTY customers use 1-866-366-0004).

Unemployment Insurance Agency
P.O. Box 169

Grand Rapids, Ml 49501-0169
Fax: 1-517-636-0427

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Form UIA 1301 —
Notice of Determination (Restitution Due)

State of Michigan

UREA 13;0“]14 ‘t’pﬁ‘f Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
( _ev. -14) ) w3 Unemployment Insurance Agency

Rick Snyder 3024 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, Ml 48202
GOVERNOR R

www.michigan.gov/uia

TRU R G IR | LR BT T L TR | R L AT R
SUE'S EATERY
3024 W GRAND BLVD
DETROIT Ml 48202-6024

Restitution

38-D

Authorized By
MCL 421.1 et seq.

LICEMSINA. AND REAIRAIINY AFFAINS

CUSTOMER DAIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED Shaun Thomas
DIRECTOR ‘
Mail Date: November 12, 2013
Letter ID: L0000296530
CLM: C0001109-0
Name: SUZANNE JAMES

(List of Overpayments)

0-000-015-649
SUZANNE JAMES

Case Number BYB:

Claimant:

October 13, 2013
Involved Employer: SUE'S EATERY

Should your disqualification or ineligibility be reversed, restitution shall cease if you are not otherwise

disqualified or ineligible for unemployment benefits.

Week Ending Principal Penalty Total
19-Oct-2013 $246.00 $0.00 $246.00
26-Oct-2013 $246.00 $0.00 $246.00

$492.00 $0.00 $492.00

Claimant must pay to the Agency in cash, by check, money order, EFT via MiWAM or deduction from benefits, restitution
in the amount of $492.00 under MES Act, Section 62(a) as itemized above.

Reason for overpayment does not come within the criteria for waiver. If you are unable to repay the balance owed due to
indigency, you may request, or reapply for, a waiver due to your financial status at any time via fax at (617) 636-0427,
mail at UIA, PO Box 169, Grand Rapids Ml 49501-0169, or your MiWAM account.

Repayment arrangements should be made with the Benefit Overpayment Collection (BOC) Unit. For information on
repayment or repayment arrangements, contact BOC at 1-800-638-6372 from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time
Monday through Friday. Checks or money orders must be made payable to the "State of Michigan for UIA." Submit the
check or money order with the payment voucher that will be attached to the monthly statement. The address is: State of
Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency - Restitution, Dept #771760, PO Box 77000 Detroit, Ml 48277-1760. DO
NOT SEND CASH. You may also make restitution payments through your MiWAM account by setting up electronic funds
transfer (EFT) payments.

LARA is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.

© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Form UIA 1807 - Notice of Administrative Law Hearing

carz: State of Michigan .
UIA 1807 SR Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs AnA Authorized By
(Rev. 02-13) ‘r = ? K/Iichigan Administra?ive Heari%gs Syystem !t'!s-sm_m‘uwmmmms MCL 421.1 et seq.
Rick Snyder 3026 W Grand Blvd, Suite 2-700, Detroit, MI 48202~ “*"* SIS Michael Zimmer .
GOVERNOR o WWW'michigan_gov/uia Executive Director
Mail Date: March 21, 2014
U T e e e L T e Letter ID: L0000421081
JAMES SPICER CLM: C0001110-0
3024 W GRAND BLVD Name: JAMES SPICER

DETROIT MI 48202-6024

NOTICE OF TELEPHONE HEARING
PLEASE READ THE IMPORTANT HEARING INSTRUCTIONS INCLUDED WITH THIS NOTICE

Appeal Number: 13-017452 Date Appeal Filed: March 20, 2014
Appellant: SUE'S EATERY VS Respondent: JAMES SPICER
EAN: 2001306 000 SSN: #1111
Hearing Date: March 25, 2014 Time: 2:30 PM
(Eastern Standard Time)
Location: ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE: R OZBURN Telephone: 1(517) 335-2484
MAHS LANSING Fax: 1 (517) 241-8541

OTTAWA BLDG, SECOND FLOOR
611 WEST OTTAWA (ID REQUIRED)
LANSING, M| 48933-8933

Parties:

JAMES SPICER SUE'S EATERY

3024 W GRAND BLVD 3024 W GRAND BLVD
DETROIT, Ml 48202-6024 DETROIT, Ml 48202-6024

This is a telephone hearing. Parties will be contacted at the numbers listed above. If you have any
questions or concerns, please contact the Judge's office.

Issue(s) involved in adjudication dated: March 11, 2014
SEC. 29(1)(b)

IMPORTANT: Please be on time for this hearing. You must be prepared to present your case. Postponements
will only be granted at the discretion of the judge, and your request must be timely.

@ 0O I At on et Goporanty EmeloerPrsra.
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Form UIA 1807 - Notice of Administrative Law Hearing m

UIA 1807 Letter ID: L0000421081
(Rev. 02-13)

HEARING INSTRUCTIONS

APPEARANCES: This appeal has been assigned to an Administrative Law Judge before whom you will have the right to
testify as to the facts, offer other evidence and explain your reasons for agreeing or disagreeing with the (Re)Determination in
dispute.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR TELEPHONE HEARINGS: The front of this Notice of Hearing indicates which parties will testify over
the telephone, and whether they should call in for the hearing or if the Administrative Law Judge will call them. You must be
prepared to proceed at the hearing time indicated. If the Judge is to call you, please make sure your telephone number is
correct. The employer should notify the Judge’s office of the appropriate contact person. IF YOU DO NOT ANSWER WHEN
THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE CALLS OR DO NOT CALL AT THE APPROPRIATE HEARING TIME, YOU MAY
RECEIVE AN UNFAVORABLE DECISION. Representatives will be contacted at the same telephone number as the party
they represent unless other arrangements are approved prior to the hearing. When presenting testimony over the telephone, it
is important to speak slowly and clearly. Do not interrupt unless you have an objection to a question. You will receive
instructions at the start of the hearing regarding what to do if you get disconnected.

FAILURE TO PARTICIPATE: Failure to participate in this hearing may result in a decision against you. If you are a claimant,
the decision could result in the loss of future benefits. You could also be required to repay benefits you previously received. If
you are an employer, the decision could result in charges to your UIA account.

REPRESENTATION: You have the right to be represented. This could be by an advocate (if one is available), an attorney or
an agent of your choice. Your representative must file a written appearance either on Form 1848, Certification of Agency and
Appearance, or on their office letterhead. The appearance may be submitted to the Judge as soon as possible prior to the
time of the hearing.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION—ADVOCACY PROGRAM: The parties involved in this hearing may be eligible for advocacy
assistance. The Advocacy Program is designed to offer no cost assistance to qualifying parties for this hearing. If you are
interested in using an Advocate or you need more information, immediately call the Advocacy Program at 1-800-638-3994 as
soon as possible before the hearing.

WITNESSES: A witness is a person who was present, and saw, heard or has direct knowledge of the issue in dispute. For
certain limited purposes, a witness may include the customary custodian or record keeper of pertinent records. If you wish to
have any witnesses heard, you must arrange to have them present at your location to testify at this hearing. Failure to have
your witness present at your location may result in a decision against you. If you believe a necessary witness will not appear
voluntarily, you should apply to the ALJ at the address on the front of this form for a subpoena. Any disputes over the
issuance or avoidance of a subpoena must be presented to the Judge at or before the time of the hearing.

RECORDS: If you wish to offer any papers or records relevant to this case, YOU MUST EITHER BRING THEM TO THE
HEARING OR, FOR TELEPHONE HEARINGS, SEND THEM TO THE JUDGE AND TO THE OTHER PARTY in advance of
the hearing. The Judge will rule on whether or not they will be admitted as evidence. Records or written statements, including
those which are signed and/or notarized, cannot be substituted for witnesses with personal knowledge of the issues. Before
the hearing, you may obtain copies of relevant records from the Agency files. You may also obtain copies of documents which
the other parties may have submitted for consideration at the hearing. Carefully read all documents before the hearing so that
you may be able to answer or ask questions at the hearing. If you wish to offer video or electronic evidence at the hearing you
must bring the equipment to view it, as well as a copy to remain with the ALJ.

UNEXPECTED ISSUES: If some new issue comes up at the hearing that is not noted on the Notice of Hearing, you can ask
for adjournment so you can prepare to meet the issue. The Administrative Law Judge will grant such an adjournment unless
both parties knowingly agree to proceed on the new issue.

ACCOMODATIONS OR INTERPRETER: If you need a foreign or sign language interpreter, notify the Judge immediately
upon receiving this Notice of Hearing. The Judge will arrange for an interpreter for the hearing. People requiring additional
accommodations (such as information in alternative formats) in order to participate in the hearing should call the telephone
number listed on the front of this Notice before the hearing.

INFORMATION: If you want additional information regarding the hearing or appeals process, contact the telephone number
listed on the front of this form.
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The best ways for employers
to control their unemployment

compensation costs

The following are some reminders to employers about how you can
help the UIA assure proper benefit payments, and in that way reduce
your unemployment insurance costs:

1. Take the opportunity to provide updated or corrected information in
response to a request from the UIA, and do so within the prescribed
time limits.

For example, Form UIA 1575E, Monetary Determination, provides
you with wage information found on our wage database. The form
also asks you to respond with any correction as to the reason for
the unemployed worker’s separation from employment.

When you receive Form UIA 1575E, be sure you understand the
statements on it. If you do not understand the form, call the UIA's
Office of Employer Ombudsman at 1-855-484-2636 (4-UIAOEO) or
313-456-2300, or contact them by email at "OEO@michigan.gov".
If you disagree with the wage or separation information shown on
the form, provide corrected information within the 10 days (or 30
days, in the case of a "quit") allowed.

Form UIA 1563, Notice to Chargeable Employer of Claim Renewal,
is a notice to base period employers that an unemployed worker
whose claim includes the employer in the base period is about
to resume drawing benefits. This tells the base period employer
that benefit charges might resume. It gives the employer the op-
portunity to notify the UIA if they have information showing that the
unemployed worker might not be entitled to benefits. For example,
the unemployed worker might be employed, or be on vacation and
not available for work or seeking work.

Form UIA 1564, Notice of Claim Renewal, asks a benefit year
employer to notify the UIA if the unemployed worker's reason for
separation from employment might result in disqualification. If that
benefit year employer is later part of a base period on a new claim,
notifying the UIA of a disqualifying separation in response to Form
UIA 1564 could prevent charges for benefits.

2. Monitor the notices of benefit charges to your account as you
receive the weekly notice on Form UIA 1136. If you have reason
to believe the unemployed worker was not satisfying the weekly
eligibility conditions to receive benefits, or was not receiving the
correct amount per week, immediately protest in writing to the UIA.

3. Notify the UIA if a claimant refuses an offer of work, even if it only
involves a few hours of work you, as a chargeable employer, have
available for a worker collecting unemployment benefits. See Fact
Sheet No. 144.

4. Keep accurate and complete records, especially about the atten-
dance and disciplinary warnings you have given your employees.
These records can be very helpful at an administrative law hear-
ing on the issue of discharge for misconduct, especially when the
witness who gave the warnings is present at the hearing to testify
from those records.

5. Ifyou decide to appeal to an Administrative Law Judge for a hearing,
make sure you present your case as well as possible. Itis especially
important that the witnesses with first-hand knowledge of the events
concerning the separation from employment appear at the hearing.

Read the "Guide to UIA Administrative Law Hearings," Part E of
this Handbook, before going to the hearing. It gives you further
suggestions about how best to prepare for the hearing.

Consider taking advantage of an Advocate available at no cost to
you through the UIA's Advocacy Program. An Advocate can pro-
vide information, consultation, and representation at the hearing.
An Advocate is not an employee of the UIA or of the State, but is
familiar with the unemployment compensation law and procedures.
Call the UIA's Advocacy Program at 1-800-638-3994, menu item
2, to find out more about the Advocacy Program and to secure the
services of an Advocate.

6. Of course, the best way to avoid charges to your account for unem-
ployment benefits is to avoid, as far as possible, laying off workers.

Conclusion

The UIA appreciates the cooperation of the employer community
in making sure that unemployment benefits are only paid to claimants
who are eligible and qualified to receive them.

If you have further comments or questions about our service, we
invite you to bring them to the attention of our Office of Employer
Ombudsman, as mentioned above.
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Purpose of this chapter

The purpose of this chapter is to help you understand what happens at a hearing conducted by the Michigan
Administrative Hearing System (MAHS). We'll also tell you how to prepare for the hearing, so you can make your best
case to the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). We hope that after you have read this chapter, you will understand whom
and what to take to the hearing, what you must prove, and how to do so.

The information in this chapter is not legally binding, but is provided for informational purposes. There is also a video
that may be viewed as a webcast on the UIA's website: www.michigan.gov/uia and click on webcasts. The video will
further help you to understand what happens at a hearing.

Two groups of independent ADVOCATES are available to assist you in presenting your case before the Administrative
Law Judges. THERE IS NO COST TO YOU FOR THE USE OF AN ADVOCATE. One group is available only to assist
unemployed workers; the other group is available only to assist employers. The employer advocates will assist in both
matters related to unemployment benefits and unemployment taxes. You can choose your own ADVOCATE from
among those available in your area. They have all passed a comprehensive examination regarding their knowledge of
the unemployment insurance law and procedures.

For more details about the ADVOCACY PROGRAM, call 1-800-638-3994, menu item"2". If you wish to have an
ADVOCATE represent you, call as soon as you have filed your appeal to the Administrative Law Judge or the MCAC.

This chapter has been prepared as part of a general guide

to unemployment insurance hearings in the State of Michigan.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation. It is written to
assist in understanding the Michigan Employment Security Act which
is the unemployment compensation law in Michigan.
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Introduction

Unemployment Insurance hearings are conducted by the Michi-
gan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) The purpose of this
chapter is to help you understand what happens at an unemploy-
ment insurance hearing, so you can make your best case to the
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). We hope that after you have read
this booklet, you will understand whom and what to take to the hear-
ing, what you must prove, and how to do so.

The information in this chapter is not legally binding; it is provided
for informational purposes only.

Free Representation

Independent Advocates may be available to assist you in pre-
senting your case before the Administrative Law Judges. THERE IS
NO COST TO YOU FOR THE SERVICES OF AN ADVOCATE.

One group of Advocates assists only unemployed workers; the
other group assists only employers. The employer advocates will
assist in both matters related to unemployment benefits and unem-
ployment taxes.

You can choose your own Advocate from among those avail-
able in your area. They have all passed a comprehensive examina-
tion regarding their knowledge of the unemployment insurance law
and procedures.

The Advocacy Program is operated by the Unemployment Insur-
ance Agency (UIA). For more details about the Advocacy Program,
call the UIA at 1-800-638-3994 and choose menu item #2. If you
wish to have an Advocate represent you, call as soon as you have
filed your appeal from the UIA’'s Redetermination with the MAHS.

Basic terms used at an

Administrative Law hearing

We'll begin by explaining some of the terms used most often in a
hearing.

An ALJ is an attorney who works for the Michigan Administrative
Hearing System, hearing and deciding cases involving unemploy-
ment compensation. The ALJ’s job is to hold a hearing to consider
the evidence — oral and in writing — presented by all parties at the
hearing. After this hearing, the ALJ issues a written decision making
findings of fact and conclusions of law. The ALJ may also question
the witness(es). The ALJ then decides how the law must be applied
to those facts.

Parties are the people whose rights might be affected by the out-
come of an unemployment compensation case. There may be three
parties at a hearing: the unemployed worker (the individual seeking
the unemployment benefits), the employer (the business that is, or
may be, charged for the payment of benefits, or whose tax rate or
liability for taxes is in question), and the Unemployment Insurance
Agency (UIA).

If a case gets to the ALJ, it usually means that there is a dis-
agreement about the previous UIA decision (Redetermination). An
employer may feel that the unemployment benefits should not be
paid, or that the employer should not have to pay unemployment

taxes, or that his/her tax rate is wrong. An unemployed worker may
feel that the UIA should not have denied his or her claim for benefits.
The UIA may be at the hearing to support its previous rulings.

Evidence can be anything used by a party to convince the ALJ
about the facts of the case.

The most common type of evidence is called testimony, which
means statements made, under oath or affirmation, at the hearing,
by a party or one of the party’s witnesses, who has first-hand knowl-
edge of the events.

Evidence can also be in written form, but there must be someone
present at the hearing who can testify (give testimony) from their
own knowledge about any documents. In reaching a decision later,
the ALJ must decide how much importance to give to each state-
ment or document admitted as evidence.

Witnesses are people who are brought or subpoenaed (ordered
to appear) to the hearing by either party to give testimony about
facts they personally know about. The ALJ may limit the number of
witnesses testifying about the same facts.

These are the terms we'll need to get started. Throughout the
rest of this chapter of the Employer Handbook, we'll be explaining
some additional terms, as they come up.

Why is it important
to attend the hearing?

There are several reasons why it is important for you to attend
the hearing:

1. If you are the party who appealed the case and you do not
appear at the hearing, the ALJ may dismiss the case (that is, cancel
the appeal) for lack of prosecution (that is, failure to appear to carry
forward the appeal). This means the UIA Redetermination is af-
firmed.

2. If you are the party required to “make the case,” and you are
not present at the hearing, then no one will be present at the hearing
to “make the case.” You will probably lose.

3. The ALJ attaches importance only to sworn testimony, and to
documents supported by sworn testimony. For that reason, even
though the UIA may have agreed with your point of view in the past,
the ALJ must take a fresh look at the evidence, and cannot give
much weight to the documents found in the file unless someone is at
the hearing to testify about them.

4. The hearing is generally your last chance in the appeal pro-
cess to present the facts of your case. Even though there are fur-
ther steps available in the appeal process after the hearing, with rare
exceptions the only evidence that will be taken into consideration
during the rest of the appeal process is the evidence presented at
the hearing.

Appeals to the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission
(MCAC) and the courts usually involve only arguments about the
law, not about the evidence. For that reason, the administrative
hearing is critical in the appeal process.
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What happens first?

The Agency first issues a decision called a Determination, which
tells whether unemployment benefits will be paid, how much will be
paid per week, and how many weeks will be paid. If either party
disagrees with the Determination, they can protest, indicating their
reasons for disagreeing. The Agency will review the case and issue
a Redetermination. The Redetermination may affirm the Determina-
tion, or it may modify or reverse the Determination.

One of the parties (unemployed worker or employer) may dis-
agree with the Redetermination. That party sends or delivers to the
Agency a written appeal, asking for a hearing before an ALJ of the
Michigan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS).

If the appeal is received on time, it is scheduled for a hearing. If
the appeal is received late, the ALJ must dismiss the appeal. How-
ever, if a party withdraws the late appeal before the hearing, and the
appealing party requests the UIA reconsider its last decision, then
the Agency will determine whether the reason for the lateness of the
appeal amounts to “good cause.” If good cause is found the late-
ness of the protest or appeal will be excused. If the appealing party
appeals an adverse UIA decision, the ALJ will issue an order either
finding or not finding good cause, and will make a decision about the
issue of the case.

After the appeal is filed, all parties will receive a Notice of Hear-
ing, telling them where and when the hearing will take place. The
hearing is held either at a regional hearing location or by telephone.

MAHS mails the Notice of Hearing at least 10 days before the
scheduled hearing date (or 20 days in advance for a fraud case.)
The back of the Notice of Hearing contains some very important
information you need to review about the hearing. Be sure to read it
carefully before the date of the hearing!

Preparation before the hearing

You are entitled to have an attorney, or an Advocate from the
UIA's Advocacy Program, or other representation with you at the
hearing, although representation is not required. If either party does
not have an attorney, Advocate or representative at the hearing, the
ALJ will ask questions. Each party should also be prepared to ask
questions of all witnesses. If you or your attorney, Advocate, or rep-
resentative, or a witness, are unable to attend the hearing, you may
write or fax the ALJ and request an adjournment (postponement) of
the hearing, giving the reasons for the request.

The ALJ will only grant adjournments for exceptionally good
reasons. Generally, having another appointment which could be
rescheduled is not a sufficient reason for an adjournment. In an
emergency, call the ALJ's office before the hearing and explain the
situation. Sometimes, if not all necessary witnesses are available,
the hearing is held with the available witnesses, and the hearing is
concluded on another day.

Even if you choose to represent yourself, you need to decide
whether to have witnesses at the hearing. You should ask your
witnesses to participate in the hearing well in advance of the hearing
and tell them the date and time of the hearing.

Advise your witnesses to tell the truth about what happened, but
do not tell them what to say or how to say it.

If a witness might not appear voluntarily, you may obtain a
subpoena to require that person to appear. The subpoena may be
obtained from the UIA or the ALJ’s office. The party should give the
witness the subpoena in a reasonable time before the scheduled
hearing. The UIA will not deliver subpoenas for the party. After the
hearing, a person who appears at a hearing under subpoena can re-
ceive a smalll fee for his or her time, as well as mileage. This fee will
be paid and mailed by the Michigan Administrative Hearing System.

If the case involves a quit or a firing, the parties should bring
as witnesses those persons who have personal knowledge of the
details of the quit or firing, such as a supervisor or co-worker.

Since you will have an opportunity at the hearing to ask ques-
tions of the other party and their witnesses, you should consider
asking the ALJ’s office, in advance of the hearing, if you can look at
the case file. From the file, you can see what statements the other
party made to the UIA. Often, those are the same statements they
will make at the hearing. Knowing what statements the other party
will likely make may help you in deciding who your witnesses should
be, and what questions you should ask the other party.

Before the hearing, it is a good idea to write down questions you
wish to ask the other party, as well as important points you wish to
make on your own behalf. Take your notes to the hearing; they will
give you added confidence and allow the hearing to proceed more
smoothly. However, because your notes can only be used to refresh
your memory, your testimony cannot consist of reading your notes
aloud.

Before the hearing, decide what documents (attendance records,
employer policy statements, doctors’ statements, check stubs) you
will need to make your case. Also, be sure to take the witnesses
who can testify as to their own knowledge of the documents. Doc-
tors’ statements and government records (such as safety inspection
reports) may generally be admitted without the presence of a wit-
ness.

If you are hearing-impaired or have difficulty speaking or under-
standing English, you may request that a qualified interpreter attend
the hearing to translate for you. If you need an interpreter, you
should notify the ALJ’s office as early as possible. If you take your
own interpreter, the ALJ may postpone the hearing until the ALJ's
office can schedule an independent interpreter.

Who and what should be

taken to the hearing?

Naturally, the unemployed worker and employer should attend
the hearing. Unemployed workers should attend because their right
to benefits is in question. Employers should attend because the
ALJ's decision may affect their liability or cause their accounts to be
charged for benefits paid. (Sometimes, a representative of the UIA
also attends the hearing.) The ALJ may also permit observers at the
hearing.
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In deciding whom, if anyone, you should present as a witness,
it is important to keep in mind that the hearing operates within the
general requirements of the rules of evidence much like a court.

The ALJ will not accept most hearsay testimony, that is, testimony
not within the witness’s own first-hand knowledge. For example, the
ALJ cannot permit a party or witness to answer a question by saying
“l don’t know what happened, but from what Joe tells me...." If “Joe”
knows what happened, then “Joe” should have appeared at the
hearing. Nobody else can testify as to what “Joe” would have said
had he been at the hearing. If, for example, a worker’s attendance
is at issue, the person with the most personal knowledge should
appear as a witness to describe the worker’s attendance and any
warnings given by the employer to the worker.

In addition to presenting witnesses with personal knowledge of
the facts, parties may wish to introduce documents to support the
testimony of the witnesses. Documents include such things as at-
tendance records, written warnings, dates of verbal warnings, layoff
notices, and letters or other correspondence that bear on the case.
The employer’s keeper of business records should be present at the
hearing to testify about them, and to testify that they are the actual
records.

Another reason it is important to present witnesses, in addition
to documents, is that only a person who is present at the hearing
(in person or by phone) can be cross-examined by the other party.
A notarized statement generally cannot, therefore, be used at the
hearing in place of a witness.

What happens at the hearing?

When parties scheduled for an in-person hearing arrive at a
regional location of MAHS, they should first notify the information
clerk of their arrival and/or sign the sign-in sheet where their case is
listed. Itis located in the lobby area.

The parties (and their attorneys, representatives, Advocates, wit-
nesses, and any others) should then be seated in the waiting area in
the lobby. Itis a good idea to arrive at the hearing location 10 or 15
minutes early.

The ALJ calls the case and decides who can enter the hearing
room. The ALJ sits at a desk, or sometimes behind a judge’s bench,
and the parties and their witnesses and representatives usually sit at
a table in front of the ALJ’s desk. The ALJ will direct the parties and
witnesses where to sit.

The ALJ begins by introducing him- or herself by name, making
sure he or she has the names of all the parties, witnesses, represen-
tatives, Advocates and attorneys.

Hearings are recorded. If an appeal is later taken, the record-
ing will be reviewed. A written "transcript" may be requested by
the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission. A party can
request a transcript, but there is a charge. There is no charge for a
downloaded recording. Call MAHS at (313) 456-0423. If the record-
ing is very long, a CD will be required, for which there is a charge
of $25.00. A transcript currently costs $3.25 per page, and can be
ordered directly from the vendor, which is currently Regency Court
Reporting. Call them at 248-360-2145 to arrange for purchase of a
transcript.

It is important for everyone to speak loudly and slowly, and not
rustle papers or interrupt others, so that a clear recording can be
made. The recording (and transcript, if prepared) and the docu-
ments which are accepted as exhibits become the “record” of the
hearing that is reviewed at higher levels of appeal.

At the hearing, the ALJ asks the parties and witnesses to raise
their right hands, and then administers an oath or affirmation to each
of the parties and witnesses, asking them to swear or affirm that
they will tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

The ALJ then identifies each of the participants in the hearing for
the record, and summarizes the issue being appealed and the UIA's
Redetermination.

Often, the ALJ requests that the witnesses be sequestered, that
is, asked to sit outside the hearing room while the other witnesses
are testifying, so that the witnesses are not influenced by each
other’s testimony. An ALJ may also determine that the testimony of
the witnesses is “cumulative,” that is, that they will all be testifying
to the same set of facts. In that case, the ALJ may accept the testi-
mony of only one of the witnesses, and not permit the party’s other
witnesses to testify.

The ALJ usually asks the party with the burden of proof to pres-
ent his or her case first. There is a more complete discussion of who
has the burden of proof, and what that means, on page 5-E.

If the party with the burden of proof has a representative, Ad-
vocate, or attorney, that person usually asks the party and the wit-
nesses questions. This process is called direct examination. If
the party with the burden of proof does not have a representative,
Advocate, or attorney, the ALJ may ask the questions. Even if the
party has a representative, Advocate, or attorney, the ALJ may ask
additional questions to clarify testimony. The ALJ will also give the
party with the burden of proof an opportunity to present his or her
case in narrative fashion.

After the party with the burden of proof presents testimony, the
other party has the opportunity to ask questions of each witness.
This is called cross-examination. If the party has a representative,
Advocate, or attorney, that person conducts the cross-examination;
if the party does not have a representative, Advocate, or attorney,
the ALJ conducts the cross-examination, or may ask the party to do
s0. Next, the other party presents direct testimony, and that party’s
witnesses may be cross-examined.

Sometimes during a hearing, an issue comes up that was not
originally part of the case, and was not indicated on the Notice of
Hearing. In that situation, the ALJ permits an adjournment to allow
the parties to prepare for that issue. If they feel prepared to give
evidence on the new issue, the parties can agree to give up their
right to an adjournment, and continue with the hearing.

The ALJ is responsible for getting all of the information needed
to fully understand the facts of the case. An important function of
the ALJ is fact-finding. In some cases, this may mean that the ALJ
takes over the function of direct-or cross-examination, and that the
ALJ will exclude the testimony of some witnesses.
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The ALJ is also responsible for ensuring that the rules of evi-
dence are generally followed throughout the hearing. For that
reason, the ALJ may rule that certain testimony is hearsay or is not
relevant to the case and cannot be allowed, or that certain docu-
ments cannot be accepted, or that the testimony of certain wit-
nesses will not be permitted.

The ALJ is responsible for directing the progress of the hearing.
When the ALJ attempts to closely control the hearing, he or she is
not being rude. Rather, the ALJ is ensuring that the hearing is not
prolonged by testimony unrelated to the issues.

At the conclusion of the hearing, the ALJ may give the parties an
opportunity to make closing statements, summarizing their positions
on the issues in the case if the ALJ believes such statements will
assist him or her in deciding the facts of the case.

The procedures followed at in-person hearings are also followed
for hearings held by telephone, as much as possible. However,
when a hearing is going to be held by telephone, each party must
mail to the ALJ and the other party, a copy of any documents ex-
pected to be discussed at the hearing. These documents should
be mailed in time to reach the ALJ and other party at least 3 days
before the scheduled hearing.

What happens after the hearing?

After the hearing, the ALJ reviews the testimony of the parties,
some of which may conflict as to the facts. The ALJ may also take
into account the demeanor of the parties and their witnesses, that is,
the manner in which they presented testimony and answered ques-
tions and the consistency of a witness’s testimony. This may help
the ALJ determine the credibility (believability) of the parties and
witnesses.

Based on these factors, the ALJ makes “findings of fact,” that are
included in the ALJ’s written decision. In addition, the ALJ decides
how the unemployment compensation law applies to the facts of
the case, and makes conclusions of law. The most important factor
the ALJ uses in making his or her decision is this: HAS THE PARTY
WITH THE BURDEN OF PROOF SUCCESSFULLY MET THAT
BURDEN?

The ALJ will usually issue a decision within 60 days of the date
of the hearing. Any losing party may appeal the decision to the
Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission (MCAC). The last
page of the decision includes information about how to appeal. It
is also possible to request a rehearing before the ALJ, but this will
be granted only at the discretion of the ALJ, based upon the reason
stated in the request for rehearing.

The ALJ cannot talk about the case with a party, before or after
the hearing, because this would be unfair to the absent party. Thus,
the ALJ cannot take a party’s telephone call. The ALJ’s office per-
sonnel can answer questions about the scheduling of the case or
issuance of the decision.

BURDEN OF PROOF:

The Key to Making Your Best Case

In every hearing, the ALJ's attention is focused on one primary
issue: Has the party with the burden of proof carried that burden by
substantial evidence, with first-hand testimony, and other admissible
evidence?

Misconduct Cases

In a misconduct case, the burden is always on the employer to
prove:

(1) That the unemployed worker engaged in misconduct, and

(2) That the misconduct occurred in connection with the work.

In unemployment compensation cases, the Michigan Supreme
Court has defined “misconduct” as a willful or wanton disregard of
the employer’s interest, or negligence of such seriousness as to
imply disregard of the employer’s interest.

However, the mere inability to do the job, or a good faith error in
judgment, is not considered misconduct. In some cases, the em-
ployer may have a perfectly good and valid reason to discharge an
employee, but that reason still might not amount to misconduct for
purposes of the unemployment compensation law.

The exact wording of the Michigan Supreme Court definition of
misconduct is found on page 6-E.

The employer may need to show, through testimony and, if pos-
sible, documents, that (1) the employer had a policy on the particular
conduct involved; (2) the employer applied the policy equally to all
employees; and (3) the employer had not previously condoned the
actions that resulted in the discharge. In some cases, it is useful
for the employer to show that the unemployed worker had received
warnings about infractions, but that the unemployed worker contin-
ued in the misconduct after the warnings.

However, where the employee’s misconduct is a serious offense,
the employer need not warn the employee prior to discharge.

Voluntary Leaving Cases

In a voluntary leaving case, the burden is on the unemployed
worker to prove:

(1) That the leaving was voluntary but with good cause attrib-
utable to the employer, or

(2) That the leaving was involuntary (for example, due to per-
sonal health reasons).

To show that a leaving was with good cause attributable to the
employer, the unemployed worker must prove that some condition
existed that would have made continued employment unacceptable
to a reasonable person. This condition must have been brought to
the employer’s attention and the employer failed to correct it.

Unsafe working conditions, failure to pay wages when due, or
failure to provide promised benefits or promotions (things over which
the employer has control but fails to correct) are examples of situa-
tions that could amount to good cause attributable to the employer
for the worker to voluntarily leave a job.
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To prove that a leaving was involuntary, the unemployed worker
may, for example, prove that a health reason, verified by a doctor,
prevented the worker from continuing to do the job, that the worker
informed the employer of this fact and unsuccessfully tried to find
another job with the same employer, and that the worker unsuccess-
fully tried to be placed on a leave of absence from that employer.
(However, a person who is unable to do any work he or she has
done in the past, or work he or she was trained to do, is no longer
part of the labor force, and would not be eligible for unemployment
benefits until again able to work.)

Refusal of Suitable Work Cases

In a refusal of suitable work case, the burden of proof is on the
employer to show:

1) That an offer of work was made to the unemployed worker;
That the work offered was suitable;

That the offer was for a job that really existed,;

That the offer was specific; and

That the unemployed worker refused the offer.

Elements of suitability of a job include, for example, wages,
distance from claimant’s residence, length of unemployment, and
risk to claimant’s health, safety, or morals.

The burden then shifts to the unemployed worker to show that he
or she had good cause for refusal of the suitable work.
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Eligibility For Benefits

In an eligibility case, the burden of proof is always on the unem-
ployed worker to prove that he or she filed a claim and, for every
week he or she is claiming benefits, he or she was:

(1) Able to work;

(2) Available for full-time, suitable work;

(3) Actively seeking work, unless this requirement has been ex-
cused; and

(4) Reporting for benefits as directed by UIA, or had good cause for
not reporting or filing as directed.

Itis a good idea for the unemployed worker to keep notes about
where he/she looked for work each week, and to take these notes to
the hearing.

Liability/Tax Issues
An employer’s liability/tax issues may include, but are not limited
to, the following:

« The employer believes that he/she should not have been deter-
mined liable to pay unemployment taxes.

« The employer believes that he/she should not have been deter-
mined a successor of another employer’s business
* The employer disagrees with the tax rate.
If appealing these issues, the employer must bring supporting
documents to the hearing, as well as appropriate witnesses.

Telephonic Hearings

In some parts of the state, Administrative Law hearings are
generally held by telephone, and parties are notified, in the Notice of
Hearing, if their hearing will be held that way. However, either party
in a hearing has the right to request that the hearing be held in per-
son. If such a request is made, the hearing will be held in person,
although that may somewhat delay the scheduling of the hearing so
as to accommodate the Administrative Law Judge’s travel schedule.

The Notice of Hearing indicates which parties will testify over the
telephone, and the telephone number at which each will be con-
tacted. The Administrative Law Judge will telephone each party and
their witnesses at the time shown on the Notice of Hearing. If the
telephone number shown is not appropriate, the Administrative Law
Judge should be notified immediately. The employer should notify
the Judge’s office of the appropriate contact person and phone
number. Your attorney, Advocate, or other representatives may ap-
pear in person at the same telephone number where a party is being
called for testimony.

If you wish to offer any papers or records relevant to the case, it
is necessary to send them to the Administrative Law Judge and to
the other party in advance of the hearing. Such documents must
be received by the Administrative Law Judge and the other party at
least three days before the hearing date. Be sure to allow for pos-
sible mail delays.

A witness would typically be present at the same location as the
party requesting the presence of that witness. However, if that is not
practical or perhaps, in the case of a witness appearing by subpoe-
na, not desirable, a withess may appear at the location where the
Administrative Law Judge is located, or at another site the witness
arranges, with the approval of the Administrative Law Judge.

Although it is desirable to have parties, their representatives,
their witnesses, and the Administrative Law Judge present at as
few different sites as possible, it is possible through telephone
conferencing to include as many different sites as necessary in the
telephone hearing. However, it is solely within the discretion of the
Administrative Law Judge, and the limits of available technology, as
to how many remote locations will be included telephonically in the
hearing.

The following is the definition of misconduct adopted by the Michigan Supreme Court in the case of Carter v Employment Security

Agency, 364 Mich 538, 541 (1961):

“‘IMisconduct in an unemployment compensation case is] ... conduct evincing such willful or wanton disregard of an employer’s inter-
ests as is found in deliberate violations or disregard of standards of behavior which the employer has the right to expect of his employee,
or in carelessness or negligence of such degree or recurrence as to manifest equal culpability, wrongful intent or evil design, or to show
an intentional and substantial disregard of the employer’s interests or of the employee’s duties and obligations to his employer. On the
other hand, mere inefficiency, unsatisfactory conduct, failure in good performance as the result of inability or incapacity, inadvertencies
or ordinary negligence in isolated instances, or good-faith errors in judgment or discretion are not to be deemed ‘misconduct’ within the

meaning of the statute.”
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If a party requests the presence of a witness, either voluntarily or
by subpoena, it is the responsibility of that party to inform the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge before the hearing, of the telephone number
where that witness may be contacted on the date and at the time
of the hearing, if the witness will be at a location different from the
party’s location. Likewise, it is the responsibility of the party to notify
the Administrative Law Judge, in advance, of the telephone number
of any attorney or agent.

It remains the discretion of the Administrative Law Judge whether
the hearing will be conducted in person or by telephone.

Some final words

The best advice for parties appearing before an Administrative

Law Judge is to be prepared for the hearing:

1. Know what the issue (question) before the Administrative Law
Judge will be. Itis indicated in the Notice of Hearing. Also, read
the important information on the back of the Notice of Hearing.

2. Know who has the burden of proof.

3. Know what has to be proved in order to carry that burden of
proof.

4. Review the file in advance, so that you can plan the major points
you wish to make, and can plan the questions you wish to ask
the other party.

5. Take to the hearing the necessary papers and witnesses. Make
sure that the witnesses are persons who can offer testimony of
their own knowledge.

6. Arrive at the hearing on time.

If the decision of the ALJ is not in your favor, you may either re-
quest a rehearing before the ALJ (for example, if you have additional
facts that were not available to you at the time of the original hear-
ing), or you may appeal the ALJ’s decision to the Michigan Com-
pensation Appellate Commission (MCAC), which is a separate
agency from the UIA and from the portion of the Michigan Admin-
istrative Hearing System that holds ALJ hearings. The 30-day time
limits for filing either a request for rehearing before the ALJ, or an
appeal to the MCAC, will be on the last page of the ALJ’s decision.

You must file within the time limits given. If your request for
a rehearing is late but within one year of the ALJ’s decision, your
request will be considered to be a request for a reopening of the
case before the ALJ, who will then have to decide whether you have
“good cause” for requesting a reopening.

When it receives an appeal, the MCAC reviews the recording of
the ALJ hearing, or may request a written transcript of that hearing.
The MCAC will then decide whether the ALJ properly weighed the
facts presented at the hearing and properly applied the law to the
facts. Occasionally, if requested by the parties, the MCAC will allow
parties to appear in person before the Commission to present oral
arguments.

We believe that if you follow the suggestions made in this
booklet, you will be able to make your best case. We hope that by
reading this booklet, you will know how to prepare for the hearing
and what to expect, and will feel more at ease when attending the
hearing.

In addition, the Michigan Administrative Hearing System wel-
comes your comments about your hearing and about this chapter
(what should be added, what needs clarification, etc.). Please direct
your comments, in writing, to the Director, Michigan Administra-
tive Hearing System, 611 W. Ottawa, 2nd Floor, Lansing, Michigan
48933.
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Voluntary Leaving
(Quit)

What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 29(1)(a) of
the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law provides that if a
worker quits a job without having a good cause “attributable to the
employer” (that is, the worker quits and the employer is not at fault
for the quit), then the worker will be “disqualified” from receiving
unemployment benefits. The worker must then get another job and
have earnings with that employer to “requalify” for benefits. But the
employer from whom the worker quits will not be charged for the
benefits, even if the worker re-qualifies and draws benefits.

Cases where a worker will likely be disqualified. If, at

the time of hire, a worker was informed how to contact the employer
in the event of an absence, and the worker is absent for 3 days or
more without contacting the employer, the worker will be considered
to have voluntarily left the work without good cause attributable to
the employer.

If, at the time of hire, a worker was informed that holding a
certain license, for example, was a requirement for obtaining the job
and remaining employed in the job, and then as a result of his or her
negligence the worker loses the requirement and therefore the job,
the worker will be considered to have voluntarily left work without
good cause attributable to the employer.

Cases where a worker will likely not be disqualified. In some
cases, a worker's medical condition prevents him or her from
continuing to work and the worker must "involuntarily" leave employ-
ment and will not be disqualified for quitting. But before quitting,
the worker must first have (1) obtained a statement from a medical
professional showing that continuing in the current job would be
harmful to the worker's physical or mental health; (2) unsuccessfully
requested alternative work from the employer within the worker's
capabilities, and (3) unsuccessfuly requested a leave of absence
until the worker is again able to do the job.

If a worker quits a part-time job to continue working another con-
current job, the worker will not be disqualified if he or she then loses
the remaining job through no fault of his or her own. Benefits will not
be charged to the employer's account.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Often a worker leaves one job to accept full-time work with
another employer. Section 29(5) and pertinent case law say that
a worker will not be disqualified if an individual leaves work with a
liable Michigan employer to accept permanent full-time work with
another liable Michigan employer or to accept a recall from a previ-
ous employer or a referral to another employer from the individual's
union hiring hall, and performs services for that employer. If this
situation is found to be the case, the wages earned with the em-
ployer the worker left will be transferred to the new employer.

What court cases have said: Unemployment compensation
cases say that before quitting, the worker must first tell the employer
about the problem and must give the employer a chance to correct
it. If the problem continues, and the worker quits the job, he or she
would not be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits [as-
suming the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) agreed that the
employer’s conduct provided the worker with an acceptable reason
for leaving]. The worker must show that he or she left the job for a
reason that would cause a reasonable person, under similar condi-
tions, to leave the job.

However, the worker must still be able to work at a job he or she
is qualified to do, by past experience or training, to be eligible for
benefits.

Examples: If a worker quits a job because his or her spouse
was transferred, the worker had a good personal reason to quit the
job, but since there is no fault by the employer, the worker would be
disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits. However, if the
worker's spouse was a full-time member of the United States armed
forces and the leaving is due to the military duty reassignment to a
different geographic location, the leaving will not be disqualifying,
The employer's account will not be charged for those benefits.

As another example, if a worker first notifies his or her employer
that certain safety conditions at the worksite pose a safety hazard,
and the employer does not, or cannot, correct the problem, then the
worker would not be disqualified if he or she quits the job.

Form UIA 1982-A
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Proof at the Hearing: If either the employer or the unemployed
worker appeals the case to an Administrative Law Judge, the em-
ployer must first prove that the worker quit the job. The worker must
then prove that the employer was at fault for the quit because of
something the employer did, or allowed to happen, in the workplace.

A statement at the hearing by either party is a form of proof.

The statements at the hearing of witnesses may also be helpful in
proving a case, since they give added weight to the statements of
the worker or employer. Documents supported by testimony at the
hearing may also be used as proof.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide as-
sistance to employers and unemployed workers in preparing for an
Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 29(1)(b)
of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The Act provides that
if a worker is fired from a job due to misconduct that occurred in
connection with the work, then the worker will be “disqualified” from
benefits. The worker must then get another job and have earnings
with that employer to “requalify” for benefits. But the employer from
whom the worker was fired will not be charged for the benefits, even
if the worker requalifies and draws benefits.

What court cases have said: Unemployment compensation
cases say that to be misconduct, the actions by the worker must
be harmful to the interests of the employer, and must be done
intentionally or in disregard of the employer’s interests. Actions that
are grossly negligent will also be considered misconduct. A single
incident of misconduct or of gross negligence may be enough to
disqualify a worker from unemployment benefits. A worker who
commits many infractions may be disqualified, even if none of the
infractions, alone, would be misconduct resulting in disqualification.
However, the final incident in a series, for which the worker is fired,
must itself show an intentional disregard of the employer’s interests.

However, if the actions by the worker show merely the worker’s
inability to do the job correctly, or show an isolated case of bad
judgment or negligence, then the worker will not be disqualified from
receiving unemployment benefits. (This does not necessarily mean
the employer did not have a good reason for firing the worker.) Acts
committed by the worker that have no connection with the work will
not result in disqualification if the employer fires the worker for them.

Examples: If a worker is consistently absent or tardy from work,
without a justifiable excuse, the worker could be disqualified from
receiving benefits. If a worker is discharged based on an arrest
occurring on the worker’s own time and not connected with the job,
then the worker would not be disqualified.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Discharge for

Misconduct
(Firing)

If a worker is discharged for being unable to meet production
quotas, but is otherwise a cooperative worker, that worker will prob-
ably not be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits.

Proof at the Hearing: If either the employer or the unemployed
worker appeals the case to an Administrative Law Judge, then the
employer must prove that the worker engaged in misconduct and
that the misconduct occurred in connection with the work. Except
in the most serious offenses, the employer must also prove that the
worker was aware of the employer’s work rules and that the actions
of the worker were harmful to the employer.

A statement at the hearing by either party is a form of proof.
The statements at the hearing of withesses may also be helpful in
proving a case, since they give added weight to the statements of
the worker or employer. Documents supported by testimony at the
hearing may also be used as proof.

For Further Help: The Unemployment Insurance Agency
Advocacy Program can provide assistance to employers and/or
unemployed workers in preparing for an Administrative Law Judge
hearing on this issue. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

Form UIA 1982-B
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Labor Dispute
(Strikes & Lockouts)

What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 29(8) of
the Michigan Employment Security Act, and by UIA Administrative
Rule 251. The law says that if a worker is unemployed due to a
labor dispute involving the worker’s employer, and the worker is
“directly involved” or “directly interested” in the labor dispute, the
worker must be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits.

The law says a worker will be considered “directly involved” in a
labor dispute if the worker (1) voluntarily stops working while a labor
dispute is in progress at the workplace; or (2) voluntarily stops work-
ing in sympathy with workers involved in a labor dispute at another
workplace; or (3) becomes unemployed when any group of workers
in the work establishment are involved in a labor dispute, even if the
worker is not a part of that labor union. A worker will be considered
“directly interested” in a labor dispute if the worker is helping to
finance a labor dispute (other than through the payment of regular
union dues), or if the worker would benefit from the settlement of
the labor dispute, such as by higher wages, better hours, or other
improvement in conditions of employment.

The disqualification will be ended if a worker finds work with
another employer, works at least two consecutive weeks with that

employer, and earns each week at least what the worker would have

received each week in unemployment benefits.

What court cases have said: Court cases have said that the
disqualification must be imposed whether the labor dispute is in the
form of a strike by the workers, or (with some exceptions) a lockout
by the employer. Cases have also said that the disqualification ends
when a worker is permanently replaced, because at that point the
worker’s unemployment is due to the replacement and not to the la-
bor dispute. However, if a replaced worker is then offered a specific
job by the employer, and the union has also been notified by the
employer of the vacancy, then the worker who refuses the job would
once again become subject to the labor dispute disqualification.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Examples: A worker who becomes unemployed when his or her
union goes on strike against the employer is disqualified from receiv-
ing unemployment benefits. A worker who works in a plant’s office
is disqualified when other workers at the plant, such as production
workers, go on strike and cause the plant to shut down, because the
office worker is considered “directly involved” in the labor dispute
even though the office worker is not a member of the striking union.
Likewise, a worker who cannot work because the employer has
locked out the workers in the same work establishment, must be
disqualified.

Proof at the Hearing: If either the employer or the unemployed
worker appeals the case to an Administrative Law Judge, then the
employer must prove that a labor dispute existed at the work estab-
lishment. The workers must prove either that there was no labor
dispute, or that their unemployment was not due to the labor dispute
(for example, that they had been permanently replaced).

For Further Help: The Unemployment Insurance Agency
Advocacy Program can provide assistance to employers and/or
unemployed workers in preparing for an Administrative Law Judge
hearing on this issue. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 32a, 33,
and 34 of the Michigan Employment Security Act, Unemployment
Insurance Agency (UIA) Administrative Rule 270, and the Michigan
Compensation Appellate Commission's Administrative Rule 109.

When the UlAissues a “determination,” either the unemployed
worker or the employer (whichever party disagrees with the determi-
nation) may “protest” the determination and request a redetermina-
tion. Also, when the UIA issues a “redetermination,” either party may
“appeal” the redetermination to a hearing before an Administrative
Law Judge.

To be received “timely” (on time), the signed or verified protest
or appeal must be received by the UIA not later than the end of the
30th day after the date of mailing of the determination or redetermi-
nation. In counting the 30 days, every day of the week is counted
beginning with the day after the determination or redetermination
is mailed. Even weekend days and holidays are counted. But if the
30th day is a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or Agency non-work
day, then the protest or appeal period ends at the end of the next
day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or Agency non-
work day.

Late Protest of a Determination

If an unemployed worker or employer is late in filing the protest,
the UIA must first determine whether there was “good cause” for
filing late. Good cause can include inability to file due to illness, or
having new information that was not available when the determina-
tion or redetermination was issued. If the UIA finds there was good
cause for late filing, the UIA will issue a redetermination. If the UIA
finds there was not good cause, the UIA will issue a “Denial.” The
Denial can be appealed directly to an Administrative Law Judge.

Late Appeal of a Redetermination

If an unemployed worker or employer is late in filing an appeal
to an Administrative Law Judge, the case cannot be considered by
the Administrative Law Judge. The Administrative Law Judge lacks

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Good Cause
(Late Protest or Appeal)

legal authority to hold a hearing when an appeal is filed late. The
unemployed worker or employer may wish to withdraw (cancel) the
appeal and request the UIA to reconsider the matter. The UIA must
then find out whether there was “good cause” for the late filing of the
appeal. If the UIA finds there was good cause for the late filing, the
Agency will issue a redetermination. The redetermination can then
be appealed (on time!) to the Administrative Law Judge. If the UIA
finds there was not good cause, the office will issue a “denial.” The
denial can be appealed (on time!) directly to an Administrative Law
Judge.

What Happens When A Denial Is
Before the Administrative Law Judge

When a “denial” is before the Administrative Law Judge, the
Administrative Law Judge must first decide whether the UIA was
correct in issuing the Denial. (Again, the Denial says that there
was not good cause for the lateness of the protest or request for
reconsideration.) The Administrative Law Judge will probably want
to hear details about the late filing and about the main issue in the
case. If the Administrative Law Judge decides the UIA was right to
issue the Denial, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a decision
so stating. If the Administrative Law Judge decides there was good
cause for the late filing, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a
decision saying that and also deciding the main issue of the case.
Either decision can be appealed to the Michigan Compensation
Appellate Commission.

What court cases have said: Court cases have said that to
be “filed” on time, the written and signed protest or appeal must be
received by the UIA, the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commis-
sion or another employment security agency, by the end of the 30th
day from the date the determination or redetermination was mailed
or personally served. Mailing the protest or appeal is not enough. It
must be received by the UIA by the 30th day.
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Examples: The employer mailed an appeal to the UIA on Sun-
day, a day when mail is not collected. The following day, Monday,
was the 30th day of the appeal period. Because the appeal was
received late by the UIA, the employer will have to withdraw the
appeal and request reconsideration by the UIA and explain why the
appeal was late. Then the UIA must decide whether the employer
had good cause for the late filing of the appeal.

Suppose the employer says he or she did not mail the appeal
until the 29th day because the employer’s regular bookkeeper had
been out of town for two weeks. This will generally not be good
cause for late filing of an appeal because the employer is still
responsible for the actions of its employees.

Proof at the Hearing: If either the employer or the unemployed
worker has been found to lack “good cause” for being “untimely”
(late) in protesting a determination or appealing a redetermination
to an Administrative Law Judge, then that party must show what the
good cause was.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing on this issue. Call 1-800-638-
3994, ltem 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Refusal of Work

What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 29(1)(e),
29(6), and 29(7) of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law
says that if an unemployed worker collecting unemployment benefits
refuses an offer of suitable work, without good cause, the unem-
ployed worker must be disqualified from receiving unemployment
benefits. The claimant's unemployment benefits will be reduced by
up to 13 weeks.

To requalify, the unemployed worker must do at least one of the
following in each of the 13 weeks:

(1) meet all of the weekly eligibility requirements of the law (that is,
be able to work, be available for work, be seeking work, and so
certify to MARVIN); or

(2) have earnings of at least $220.00.

The unemployed worker will not be disqualified unless the job the
unemployed worker refuses was “suitable,” based on the claimant's
prior earnings, length of unemployment, prior training and experi-
ence, distance of the job to the claimant's home, and safety risks.
Also, the offered work will not be suitable if it is available because
of a labor dispute, or if it pays less than the usual wage in the area
for that type of work, or if the worker would be required to join, or to
resign from, or to refrain from joining, a union.

If an individual refuses an offer of otherwise suitable work, the
individual will be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits
if it pays at least 70% of the worker's last gross wage.

However, once a claimant has received 1/2 of his/her state
unemployment benefits on a claim, the claimant must take a job that
is not necessarily one the claimant performed before or was trained
in. Also, at that point the claimant must accept a wage that is at
least the State's minimum hourly wage of $7.40, and that is at least
the average wage for the offered job in that locality, and that pays at
least 120% of that claimant's weekly benefit amount.

Even though the work may be suitable, the unemployed worker
will not be disqualified for refusing the work if the unemployed
worker has a “good cause” for refusing it.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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What court cases have said: Courts have said that the offer
of work must be specific, as far as hours, wages, fringe benefits,
conditions, and duties of the job. The offer must be made known
to the particular worker (verbally or in writing), not just posted in the
workplace.

Refusal of an offer of future work will not result in disqualification.
The offered work must be currently available.

Examples: If an employer posts a notice offering certain jobs to
all workers who sign up, a particular unemployed worker will not be
disqualified for failing to sign up, because the offer was not person-
ally made to that particular worker.

If a worker who is unemployed and lives 10 miles from his or her
old job, moves 60 miles from his or her old job and is then offered
his or her old job back, the old job would likely be unsuitable now
because of the distance from the worker’s current home. In deciding
whether a distance is too great, travel time, road and traffic condi-
tions in the area are considered. There is no definite number of
miles that is suitable or unsuitable.

If a worker has babysitting problems and cannot accept an offer
of suitable work, the worker would not be disqualified for the refusal
because he or she had “good cause” for refusing the offer. How-
ever, the babysitting problems may make the worker ineligible for
unemployment benefits, because the worker may be unavailable
for full-time, suitable work, as required to receive unemployment
benefits.

Proof at the Hearing: The employer must prove that a specific
offer of work was made to the unemployed worker, and that it was
suitable, and that the worker refused it. The unemployed worker
may show that the offer was not received, or may show why it was
not suitable, or may explain that he or she had good cause for refus-
ing the work.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing on this issue. Call 1-800-638-
3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 28 of the
Michigan Employment Security Act, and Administrative Rules 208,
210, and 216. The law says that to receive a benefit payment in any
week, an unemployed worker must be able to work; available for
full-time, suitable work; and must be actively engaged in seeking
work and reporting to the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
in person or by mail, as required. Also, a worker must participate
in a "profiling" session at a Michigan Works! Agency location if so
notified, and must appear at a UIA location for an in-person eligibility
evaluation, if so notified.

To be able to work, an unemployed worker must be able to do
a kind of work he or she performed in the past, or was trained to
perform. The work does not have to be the kind he or she most
recently performed.

To be available for work, an unemployed worker must be willing
to accept any full-time work that is suitable for the worker. Factors
that determine whether a job is suitable for a worker include the
worker’s prior earnings, experience, travel distance, prior training,
physical fitness, and risk posed to the worker’s health, safety and
morals. The worker must be available to perform the work generally
on any day of the week and on any shift when the work is normally
performed, to receive a benefit payment for the week. An exception
is when a close relative dies; the availability requirement is sus-
pended for five days. Also, an individual in training approved by the
UlAis not required to be available for work. To be seeking work,
an unemployed worker must be looking for work in a way generally
used by a worker in that occupation to find work. An active search
for work is required. Under certain conditions, such as for short-term
layoffs, or during periods of high unemployment, or while in UIA-
approved training, the seeking work requirement may be suspended
by the UIA.

An individual will become ineligible for benefits if during a benefit
year he/she fails to notify or update a chargeable employer with
contact information. Also, an individual must respond to the Agency
within 14 days of the later of the mailing of a notice to the address of

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Eligibility (anility, Availability,

Seeking Work, Reporting, Participating
in Profiling, Appearing at UIA Location
for Eligibility Evaluation)

record or of a telephone message requiring the individual to contact
the Agency, or show good cause for not doing so. If mail is returned
to the Agency as undeliverable and the telephone number is no
longer useful in contacting the claimant, he/she will no longer meet
the availability requirement unless good cause can be shown.

For benefit years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, to be ac-
tively engaged in seeking work, an individual must conduct a weekly
systematic and sustained search for work and report the name and
location of the employer, where and when work was sought, and
the method work was sought. The report must be provided to the
Agency by any of the following methods:

1. At monthly intervals using the Agency's online reporting
system; or

2. Awritten report at monthly intervals by mail or fax; or

3. By appearing at least monthly at a Michigan Works! Agency
office.

To be reporting to the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
on time, an unemployed worker must report by telephone using
“MARVIN,” the UIA's telephone reporting system, or by MARVIN
on-line, according to instructions given by the UIA. For "good
cause," an additional 14 days can be given for reporting. Good
cause includes a family death; attendance at a funeral; working;
reliance on a promise of work; incapacity of the unemployed worker
or a dependent; a storm; or seeking work out-of-state. Other cir-
cumstances may also qualify as good cause for late reporting. For
more details about reporting on time, see the Advocacy Fact Sheet
entitled “Filing Requirements for Initial and Continued Claims”.

To be participating in profiling activities, a worker identi-
fied as needing such assistance and notified to participate must
participate in re-employment and job search services. If the worker
fails to participate in these services, the worker will be held ineligible
for unemployment benefits in every week in which he/she fails to
participate.
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UIA's profiling system uses a computer model to identify workers
likely to exhaust unemployment benefits and to need re-employment
services to find a job. Factors considered are the worker’s education
and training, the industry in which the individual last worked, and the
type of job the unemployed worker performed.

To be registered for work, an unemployed worker must report to
an office of the Michigan Works! Agency and enter his or her résumé
on-line. In most cases, though, if an unemployed worker is expected
to return to his or her regular employer within 120 days of his/her
layoff date, the unemployed worker's application for benefits serves
as the registration, and the unemployed worker is not required to
report in that case to the Michigan Works! Agency.

What court cases have said: The courts have said an unem-
ployed worker must actively remain part of the labor force, in order
to receive unemployment benefits. However, a worker disabled
from one kind of work may still be able to do other work he or she is
qualified to do, and may still be eligible for benefits. A worker must
be willing to work any shift his or her work is performed, and must be
willing and able to rearrange things like school classes or babysitting
services to accept work on any shift.

Examples: A worker receiving workers’ disability compensation
may still be eligible for unemployment benefits if he or she can do
some kind of work for which he or she is qualified by past experi-
ence or training. A student may be available for work and eligible for
benefits if he or she would be willing to drop out of school, or would
be willing and able to change class times if offered work. A worker
who just reads the newspaper to find a job would not be actively
seeking work, and probably would not be eligible for unemployment
benefits. A worker who fails to call MARVIN or report to MARVIN on-
line during the required week will probably not be eligible for benefits
for the weeks not properly reported.

Proof at the Hearing: The unemployed worker has the burden of
proving that he or she was eligible for unemployment benefits.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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School Denial Period

What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 27(i) of the
Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that if an unem-
ployed worker for unemployment benefits had worked in any job for
a school, then benefits will not be payable based on work for the
school during a school holiday or recess period, or a period between
school years, if the worker has reasonable assurance from a school
of a similar job following the period of unemployment.

This applies to one who works for a school district, a community
college district, a college or university, a school run by the state,
a charter school, and to a school that is a non-profit organization.
It also applies to a person who works for an “educational service
agency” such as an intermediate school district. The denial period
between terms (but not within a term) also applies to employees of
a company that contracts with a school district, community college
district, or educational service agency or non-private school, college,
or university to provide such employees. It applies as well to school
crossing guards. It does not apply to a person who works for a
private school.

Unemployment benefits must be denied to such a worker during
a school vacation period (in most cases) or during a period between
school years or terms if the person has reasonable assurance from
a school of returning to a similar job following the denial period.

If a school worker (other than a teacher, researcher, or admin-
istrator) is given reasonable assurance of a similar job for the next
school year or term, and then is not actually offered the work when
school resumes, the worker can receive back benefits if the worker
originally filed a claim and reported reqularly to the Unemployment
Insurance Agency (UIA) during the period between terms.

A school worker may be able to receive unemployment benefits
during a denial period if there is another, non-school employer in the

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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worker’s recent work history (that is, in the base period of the claim).

Examples: If a school teacher worked in the summer of 2011 as
a construction worker and then returns to school, the teacher could
be entitled to unemployment benefits during the summer denial
period in 2012 based on the construction work, even though benefits
would be denied based on the school teaching job.

If a school janitor is assured of work in the fall and then the job
does not materialize, he or she could receive back unemployment
benefits for the whole summer, if he or she filed a claim with the
UIA at the beginning of the summer and continued to report to claim
benefits, as required by the UIA.

If the start of the school year in the fall is delayed by a labor
dispute, the denial period ends when the school year was sched-
uled to have resumed (although benefits would probably be denied
thereafter due to the labor dispute).

If the school or the school contractor gave reasonable assur-
ance, but the assurance was given at a time when a worker’s rehire
depended on the result of a millage election, the assurance could be
regarded as not reasonable, and benefits could be payable during
the school recess period, depending on how likely it is that the mill-
age will pass.

Proof at the Hearing: The employer must prove that it notified
the unemployed worker of reasonable assurance. It may have to
show the basis upon which the assurance was given.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 48 of the
Michigan Employment Security Act and Unemployment Insurance
Agency (UIA) Administrative Rules 112, 113, and 302. The law says
that to be entitled to unemployment benefits for a week, the worker
must be either “unemployed” or “underemployed”.

An “unemployed” worker is one who has no earnings in a week;
an “underemployed” worker is one who has some earnings in a
week but is still entitled to some unemployment benefits for that
week.

However, a person who is working full-time in a week is not
unemployed or underemployed and therefore cannot receive unem-
ployment benefits for that week.

Remuneration and

“Underemployed”

(Earnings)

“Earnings” can include: a payment of a wage; of room, board
or other living expenses; of vacation or holiday pay; or a payment
made by an employer to a separated worker in lieu of notice of a
discharge or layoff.

If an unemployed worker has earnings in a week while drawing
unemployment benefits, the unemployed worker may be able to
continue drawing partial benefit payments. The formula is that for
every $1.00 the unemployed worker earns in a week while drawing
unemployment benefits, the benefit payment is reduced by 40 cents.

WORKSHEET FOR CALCULATING WEEKLY BENEFITS
WHEN UNEMPLOYED WORKER HAS EARNINGS IN THE WEEK

STEPS INSTRUCTIONS FOR THIS STEP EXAMPLE
A Enter the unemployed worker's weekly unemployment benefit amount. $120
B Enter the amount of the unemployed worker's gross earnings (before

taxes) in the calendar week (Sunday through Saturday week). Round

down to the nearest whole dollar. $140
C Multiply "B" by "0.4" $56
D Subtract "C" from "A". Round down to the nearest whole dollar.

If the result is zero or less than zero _enter "0" as your answer $64
E Add together "B" and "D". $204
F Multiply "A" by 1.6. $192
G Subtract "F" from "E". Round down your answer to the

nearest whole dollar.

If the result is zero or less than zero. enter "0" as your answer. $12
H Subtract "G" from "D". Round down your answer to the nearest

whole dollar. The answer you get will be the amount of the

unemployed worker's unemployment benefit payment for the week. $52

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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However, when the combination of the earnings and the unemploy-
ment benefits in a week exceeds 1.6 times the claimant's weekly
unemployment benefit rate, then for every $1.00 the unemployed
worker earns, the benefit payment is reduced by $1.00.

The calculation chart can be helpful in determining how earnings
will affect a claimant’s weekly unemployment benefits.

If the reason a person is unemployed or underemployed in a
week is that he or she turned down work an employer offered, the
amount the person would have received is counted as if it were
actually received in order to determine whether the person was
unemployed or underemployed, that is, whether a reduced benefit
is payable.

Examples: If an unemployed worker for unemployment benefits
gets a weekly unemployment payment of $200.00, and he or she
earns $125.00 for work done in the week, the unemployed worker
would be underemployed and could receive a benefit payment of
$150.00.

If an unemployed worker for gets a weekly unemployment pay-
ment of $200.00, and he or she earns $210.00 for work done in the
week, the unemployed worker could receive a benefit payment of
$116.00.

If an unemployed worker for unemployment benefits gets a
weekly unemployment payment of $200.00, and he or she earns
$90.00 for work done in the week, but turned down other work for
the week that would have paid $50.00 more, the unemployed worker
would be regarded as having earned $140.00 for the week ($90.00
+$50.00 = $140.00), and would be entitled to a benefit payment of
$144.00.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

If the unemployed worker does not tell UIA about the actual
earnings, or offered work, for a week, and benefits are overpaid for
the week, repayment (restitution) will be required, and fraud penal-
ties will be imposed if it is determined that the unemployed worker
intentionally failed to tell UIA about the earnings.

Proof at the Hearing: The employer or the Agency would have
to prove that earnings were received for a week that should have
resulted in a lower benefit payment for the week. The unemployed
worker may have to prove that the Agency or employer records are
wrong. To prove fraud, intention to misrepresent information or to
conceal information must be proven.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 62(a)
of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that if an
unemployed worker receives a benefit payment to which he or she
is not entitled, the unemployed worker must repay to the Unemploy-
ment Insurance Agency (UIA) the improperly paid amount, plus
interest and possibly penalties.

The restitution, or repayment, may be paid to the Agency in cash,
or it can be deducted from future benefit payments, but not more
than 50% of any benefit payment can be used to pay back restitution
and interest. If the improper payment involved fraud, though, then up
to 100% of future benefit payments may be taken in order to collect
the restitution. The restitution can also be collected by intercept-
ing the claimant’s state income tax refund and, in some cases, the
claimant's federal income tax refund.

However, the UIA cannot collect restitution more than three years
after finality of the Determination, Redetermination, or Decision
establishing the restitution. The Agency must issue a Determination
requiring restitution within 3 years of the date benefits were first paid
in the involved benefit year, or within 6 years, if intentional misrepre-
sentation was at issue.

The law gives the Agency authority to forgive restitution under
certain circumstances, where requiring restitution would be contrary
to equity and good conscience and the improper payment was
not the fault of the unemployed worker. However, if the repayment
of restitution is waived, any restitution repaid before the waiver is
granted will not be refunded.

What Agency Guidelines say: The Agency can forgive
repayment of restitution when the incorrect payment was due to
the Agency’s clerical error in calculating the benefit payment; or
when the error occurred because the employer failed to provide the
Agency with requested information or provided incorrect information;
or when the unemployed worker has a low household income and
repaying the amount would cause the unemployed worker extreme
financial hardship.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Restitution

(Repayment of Improperly
Paid Benefits)

Examples: The unemployed worker gets confused and
reports earnings to the Agency for the wrong week. As a result,
the unemployed worker is paid benefits for a week when he or she
actually had earnings, and reports earnings for a week when the
unemployed worker had no earnings and would have been entitled
to benefits. Restitution must be set up for the week of the incorrect
payment, and up to 50% of future benefit checks will be used to pay
off the restitution, unless the unemployed worker voluntarily pays the
full amount of the restitution in one payment.

In another example, the Agency requests information from
the employer about a claimant's wages, and the employer does
not provide the information before benefit payments begin. The
unemployed worker is paid unemployment benefits of $200.00 per
week, based on the unemployed worker's statement of wages to
UIA. Later, the employer provides the correct wage information. In
this case, the unemployed worker will not be required to repay the
overpayments (unless the unemployed worker committed fraud),
and the employer’s account with the UIA will be charged for the
overpayments.

If the Agency decides that a worker who quit a job should not be
disqualified for benefits, and then a later Redetermination or Deci-
sion says that the worker should have been disqualified and that
benefits should not have been paid, the worker will generally have to
repay the benefits to UIA.

Proof at the Hearing: The Agency would have to prove that
benefits were overpaid. The unemployed worker could deny the
payments were overpayments, or could disagree with the Agency's
refusal to forgive repayment (that is, could prove that the UIA
abused its discretion when it denied forgiveness of collection of
restitution).

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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Retirement Benefits

What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 27(f) of the
Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that a “retirement
benefit” is a payment made by an employer under a plan, or annuity,
or pension that is paid based on a worker’s age, or years of service,
or disability.

Generally, if a worker is receiving a retirement benefit while also
receiving unemployment benefits, then the retirement benefit could
be used to reduce the unemployment benefit. This would occur only
when the employer paying the retirement benefit was also an em-
ployer in the “base period” (usually the first 4 of the last 5 completed
calendar quarters before the quarter in which the new claim is filed)
of the unemployment claim. Also, the reduction would only occur
if the employer paid part of the cost of the retirement benefit and
only if work performed in the base period of the claim affected the
worker's pension.

If the unemployed worker made no contributions (usually by
payroll deduction) to the cost of the retirement benefit, then the full
monthly amount of the retirement benefit would be divided between
each week of the month, and that amount would be subtracted from
the unemployment benefit payable for that week. The result could
be zero.

If the unemployed worker made some contribution to the cost
of the retirement benefit, but less than half, then half of the monthly
amount of the retirement benefit would be divided between each
week of the month, and that amount would be subtracted from the
unemployment benefit payable for that week. The result could be
zero.

If the unemployed worker paid half or more of the cost of the
retirement benefit, then the retirement benefit would not be used at
all to reduce the unemployment benefit.

What interpretations have said: Unemployment benefits
will only be reduced in the week in which a retirement benefit is
received. If an unemployed worker elects not to receive a retire-
ment benefit for a week or weeks, unemployment benefits will not be
reduced for the week or weeks, even if the retirement benefit is later
paid retroactive to the week or weeks.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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If an unemployed worker receives a lump sum payment of a
retirement benefit, but could have received the retirement benefit
as a periodic payment (such as once a month), the payment will be
considered to have been paid periodically for purposes of reducing
unemployment compensation. The periodic payment will be pro-
rated to a weekly basis and used to reduce the weekly unemploy-
ment benefit, dollar-for-dollar.

If a worker retires and elects to roll over the proceeds of his or
her retirement benefit account into an Individual Retirement Account
(IRA), with no income tax impact, the worker will not be considered
to have "received" the retirement benefit for unemployment com-
pensation purposes, and the retirement benefit will not be used to
reduce unemployment benefits as described in this Fact Sheet.

Examples: An unemployed worker worked for an employer in
the base period of the unemployment compensation claim, and that
employer contributed the entire amount to the worker’s pension. The
worker made no contribution. The monthly amount of the pension
is $400.00, and the weekly unemployment benefit amount is $275.
The full amount of the $400.00 pension is divided between 4-1/3
weeks in a month, which equals $92.38 per week. The entire $92.38
is subtracted from the $275.00 weekly unemployment benefit rate.
The resulting weekly unemployment benefit check will be $182.62,
rounded down to $182.00 as required by law.

If, instead, the worker made some contribution to the pension,
but less than half, then half of the $400.00 monthly pension, or
$200.00, would be divided by 4-1/3 weeks in a month. The result is
$46.19, and that amount is subtracted from the claimant's weekly
unemployment benefit rate of $275, resulting in a weekly unemploy-
ment benefit payment of $228.81, rounded down to $228.00 as
required by law.

Proof at the Hearing: The employer has the burden to prove
that unemployment benefits should be reduced based on receipt
by the unemployed worker of a pension, and also of proving the
amount of the employer’s share of the cost of the benefit.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide as-
sistance to employers and unemployed workers in preparing for an
Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 48(2),
27(c), and 50(c)(4) of the Michigan Employment Security Act, and
the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) Administrative Rule 302.
The law says that if the unemployed worker is entitled to vacation
pay, holiday pay, severance pay, or any of the other payments men-
tioned in the title of this Fact Sheet, these kinds of payments may be
used to reduce a worker's unemployment benefits. However, to re-
duce an unemployed worker's unemployment benefits, the employer
must "allocate" (assign) the vacation pay, holiday pay, severance
pay, or any other payments mentioned, to a specific period, or the
employment contract must do so. See the Fact Sheet "The Effect
of Severance Pay on Unemployment Benefits" for more information
about severance pay.

If an employer gives no notice to a worker before layoff, but gives
the worker payment instead (“in lieu” of the notice), then that pay-
ment would reduce the worker’s unemployment benefits.

A Supplemental Unemployment Benefit (SUB) payment by
the employer will not be used to reduce unemployment benefits.
However, a bonus, and a severance, separation, or wage continu-
ation payment will be used to reduce unemployment benefits in the
week paid, or over a series of weeks if so allocated by the employer.
Severance, separation, and wage continuation payments, as well as
holiday pay, vacation pay, bonuses and payments in lieu of notice,
will also be used as qualifying wages in determining monetary
eligibility for benefits.

What the Attorney General and the Courts have said: The
Attorney General has said that if a worker receives a vacation pay-
ment but has the choice and does not choose to take a vacation,
then the vacation pay will be considered a bonus. If the employee
did not take vacation, but did not have the choice of receiving the
vacation payment, then the vacation pay would reduce unemploy-
ment benefits if the employer allocates the pay to a week or weeks.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Special Payments
(Vacation Pay, Holiday Pay,
Severance Pay, Separation Pay,
Wage Continuation Payment,
Payment in Lieu of Notice, Bonus)

Courts have said that if a worker has the right to receive vacation
pay, and the worker actually takes vacation time off of work, then
unless otherwise specified by the contract the employer can assign
the vacation pay to any future period of time. However, the employer
must notify the worker in writing, and the worker’s union representa-
tive, if any, of the designation.

Examples: If a worker becomes entitled to three weeks of vaca-
tion pay on his or her anniversary date on March 1, the worker does
not have the option of receiving the payment without taking vacation,
and the employer has a plant shutdown scheduled for three weeks
in July, the employer can designate the vacation pay to the period
in July (unless the contract specifies otherwise), regardless of when
the vacation payment is actually paid to the worker (unless the
contract specifies otherwise). However, the written notice required
under Administrative Rule 302 must be given in advance of the plant
shutdown.

The designation in this way will likely prevent unemployment
benefits from being payable to the worker for the period of the plant
shutdown.

Proof at the Hearing: The employer has the burden to prove
that a particular kind of special payment was made, and that the
payment meets the requirements of the law and the Administrative
Rule, in order to reduce unemployment benefits.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

Form UIA 1982-K
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The Effect of
Severance Pay on
Unemployment
Benefits

What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 48 and
21(c) of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that
severance pay, wage continuation pay, and any other similar pay-
ment made by an employer as continuing wages or other monetary
consideration as the result of a worker’s separation from employ-
ment, except for Supplemental Unemployment Benefits (SUB), is
“‘remuneration” which must be used in determining whether the
worker is an “unemployed person” and must also be used to reduce
the worker’s unemployment benefits. Severance payments are also
used as qualifying wages to establish a claim for benefits.

Allocation of Severance Pay by the Employer:

The law provides that the severance payment may be allocated
by the employer to a week or weeks (regardless of when in the past
the severance payment was actually made). This period to which
the payment may be allocated can be specified by a contract or col-
lective bargaining agreement. If there is no contract or agreement
specifying the period of allocation, then the employer may designate
any period to which the severance payment may be allocated, and is
not required to notify workers of the allocation or impact on benefits.

How Allocated Severance Pay Reduces Ul Benefits:

The severance payment, like any other kind of “remuneration,”
will reduce unemployment benefits otherwise payable in the weeks
to which the severance payment is allocated. If there is no alloca-
tion by contract or by the employer, then the reduction in unemploy-
ment benefits will occur only in the week in which the severance
payment is actually made. The amount benefits will be reduced by
the severance payment is determined in the following way:

« If the severance payment attributed to a week equals or exceeds
1.6 times the claimant's weekly benefit amount, then the unem-
ployed worker is entitled to no unemployment benefits for the
week.
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+ If the claimant’'s earnings are less than 1.6 times the claimant’s
weekly benefit amount but greater than the claimant's weekly
benefit amount, then the full amount of the severance payment is
subtracted from 1.6 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount
(and the claimant’s balance of weeks of benefits will be reduced
by 1 week, if he/she claims benefits for that week).

+ |f the severance payment is equal to, or less than, the claimant's
weekly benefit amount, then 0.4 of the severance payment is
subtracted from the claimant's weekly benefit amount (and the
balance of weeks of benefits will be reduced by 1 week if he/she
claims benefits that week).

Lump Sum Versus Continuing Payments:

If the employer makes a Jump sum severance payment to a
worker at the time the worker is separated from employment, and
allocates that severance payment to a week or weeks other than the
week in which the payment is made, then the worker’s unemploy-
ment benefits otherwise payable for that week will be reduced by the
severance payment allocated to that week. The amount unemploy-
ment benefits will be reduced in a week depends upon how much of
the severance payment is allocated by the employer to that week.

If the employer makes a Jump sum severance payment to a
worker at the time the worker is separated from employment, but
does not allocate that severance payment to a week or weeks, then
the severance payment will reduce the unemployment benefits only
in the week in which the lump sum severance payment is made.

If the employer makes weekly or monthly payments of severance
pay (sometimes referred to as salary or wage continuation pay-
ments), that severance payment will be used to reduce unemploy-
ment benefits in the week in which it is paid, unless the employer
otherwise allocates the severance payments to other weeks.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation.
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Example 1:

The unemployed worker becomes unemployed after working full-
time during week ending September 8, 2012. The employer pays
the unemployed worker $5,000 in severance payment in that week
and does not allocate the severance payment to any period. The
unemployed worker files a new claim the following week. The claim-
ant’'s benefits are not reduced, as the severance payment was paid
prior to the start of the claim, and was not allocated to any period for
which the unemployed worker was claiming benefits. The sever-
ance pay could be used as wages for establishing a future claim.

Example 2:

Same facts as in Example 1, except that the employer allocates
the lump sum severance payment made the last week of employ-
ment to the next 6 weeks. Unless the employer specifies how much
will be allocated per week, the Agency will equally allocate the pay-
ment over the 6 weeks, and reduce benefits in accordance with the
formula explained above. The allocated payment could be used for
benefit payment purposes on a later claim.

Example 3:

If the employer were to make wage continuation payments
weekly, for the 1-year period following separation, benefits would be
reduced accordingly in each week. Those payments could be used
as “wages’” for a later bengfit claim.

Proof at the Hearing:

The employer is in the best position to know whether severance
pay was allocated, and the amount that was allocated to each week
of unemployment, and the burden is therefore on the employer to
provide that information.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide assis-
tance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for an
Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation.
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Independent
Contractors

What the law says: This issue is covered under Section 42(5) of
the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that if a person
performs service under the “direction and control” of another person,
then there is an “employer-employee” relationship. Under those
circumstances, the worker is “covered” by the Michigan Employment
Security Act and will probably be entitled to unemployment benefits
chargeable to that employer (if other eligibility factors are met).

On the other hand, if a person is an “independent contractor,”
he or she will be considered to be self-employed. A self-employed
person is not entitled to unemployment benefits.

What court cases have said: The fact that both the employer
and the employee state that there is an independent contractor
relationship, or the fact that there is actually a written contract, is not
binding. The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) must look to
the “reality” of the situation and determine if the relationship is really
that of independent contractor, or that of an employer-employee.

The courts have developed a test called the “economic reality
test” to determine if a person is an independent contractor, or is
actually an employee, even though he or she may be considered by
the employer to be an independent contractor. Below are the indica-
tors of the economic reality test. The test must result in a preponder-
ance of evidence. No one indicator is weighed more heavily over
another.

1. Whether the employer will incur liability if the relationship
terminates at will;

2. Whether the work performed is an integral part of the employ-
er's business;

3. Whether the employee depends upon the wages for living
expenses;

4. Whether the employee furnishes equipment and materials;

5. Whether the employee holds himself or herself out to the public
as able to perform the same tasks;

6. Whether the work involved is customarily performed by an
independent contractor;

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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7. The factors of control, payment of wages, maintenance of disci-
pline, and the right to hire and fire employees;

8. Weighing those factors which will most favorably effectuate the
purposes of the Michigan Employment Security Act.

Examples: A worker performs services as a painter. He/she ad-
vertises in the local newspaper in order to get jobs; maintains his/her
own brushes, ladders, and dropcloths, and buys his/her own paint;
and maintains his or her own business hours. He/She is paid by the
job. This worker would be an independent contractor and would not
be covered for unemployment benefits. The “employer’/contractor
would not be taxed for the remuneration paid to the worker.

Another worker, also a painter, comes to work every day at the
same company, which maintains a large office building. The company
provides the paint, brushes, ladders, and other materials to do the
painting. The company also sets the worker’s hours, and the worker
does not do any painting work for anyone else because the job is
full-time. This painter is an employee of the company. This would be
true even if the company and the worker consider the worker to be an
independent contractor, and even if they have a written “contract.”

Proof at the Hearing: The employer will have to show that, based
on the economic reality test, the worker satisfies most of the criteria to
be regarded as an independent contractor.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide as-
sistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for an
Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

Form UIA 1982-L
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 45, 46(b),
27(b)(1), 27(b)(4), and 27(d) of the Michigan Employment Security
Act. It says that when a worker becomes unemployed and files a
new claim for unemployment benefits, the Agency must take a look
at any wages the individual earned in the first 4, of the last 5 com-
pleted calendar quarters. That period is called the “base period.”

Base Period

There are four calendar quarters in a year. A calendar quarter is
a period of 3 months, ending March 31, June 30, September 30 and
December 31. The standard base period is the first 4, of the last 5
completed calendar quarters.

Suppose a worker filed a new claim for unemployment benefits
on July 15, 2011. The quarter in which the claim is filed is called the
"Filing Quarter." The quarter before the Filing Quarter is called the
"Lag Quarter." Itis the quarter in which employers send in wage
information for the previously completed quarter and in which that
wage information is entered into the UIA computer.

Looking at the diagram below, for a claim filed on July 15, 2011,
the base period is shown with the bold border. It is the first 4 of the
last 5 completed calendar quarters, so it is the period that began
March 1, 2010 and ended March 31, 2011.

QTR1 |OTR2 | QTR3 [OTR4 |QTR5 |QTR6
3u10 |70 |10m10 |(wvwn  |av |7v
to to to to to to
6/30/10 | 9/30/10 | 12/31/10 | 33111 |e/30/11 |9/30/11
| 3500 1$2000 | $500 $500 LAG _|FILING

To set up a claim, the UIA must find the following in the base
period:

* wages in at least 2 quarters

* wages in the "high quarter" of at least $2,871

+ wages in the entire base period of at least 1.5 times the wages
in the "high quarter"

How UIA Figures
Weekly Benefit Rate
and Number of Weeks
of Benefits Paid

In this case, the worker had earnings in at least 2 quarters,
had earnings of $2900 in the “high quarter” (that is, the quarter
with the highest earnings), and had earnings in the entire 4 quar-
ters of the base period of at least 1.5 times $2900 because total
base period wages were $4,400. This worker would qualify for a
claim. If this worker had not qualified for a claim using the method
described, the UIA would have applied the following alternate
earnings qualifier:

+ wages in at least 2 quarters

+ wages in the entire base period of at least 20 times the state
average weekly wage.

Twenty times the current (2014) state average weekly wage of
$893.44 is $17,868.80.

If neither the regular method of qualifying, nor the alternate
earnings qualifier, entitles the worker to a claim, then those same
two tests will be applied to an alternate base period. The alternate
base period is the last 4 completed calendar quarters. There
will be no Lag Quarter. The unemployed worker will be asked to
supply any missing wage information and will also be asked to
present documentary evidence supporting the worker's statement
of wages. The evidence can include tax records or pay stubs.
The employer will be notified of the wage information provided by
the worker and will be able to respond to any discrepancies.

QTR1 ) QTR2 | QTR3 QTR 4 QTR5 | QTR6
3/1/10 § 7/1/10 | 10/1/10 1111 4/1/111 MM
to to to to to to
6/30/10§ 9/30/10| 12/31/10 | 3/31/11 6/30/11 | 9/30/11
$500 $2,900| $500 $500 $600 FILING
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Benefit Year

If the UIA determines that the worker had enough wages to set
up a claim, then benefits on that claim are payable during the 52-
week period that usually begins the week the worker files the claim.
Weekly Benefit Amount

The UIA will find the calendar quarter in the base period in which
the worker had the highest wages. This wage amount is then mul-
tiplied by 4.1% (.041). To that result, $6 will be added for each de-
pendent allowed, up to 5 dependents. The result will be the worker's
weekly benefit amount. However, the result may not exceed $362.

For example, if the worker had $2,900 in earnings in the high
quarter of the base period, and 2 dependents were claimed and
allowed, then the worker's weekly benefit rate would be:

$2,900 x .041 = $118.90
$6 x 2 dependents = $12

Weekly Benefit Amount = $130.90 rounded down to = $130

Number of Weeks of Benefits Paid

The UIA takes 43% (.43) of the worker's base period wages and
divides the product by the worker's weekly benefit amount. The
result is rounded down to the nearest half-number.

For a worker with total base period wages of $4,350, and a
weekly benefit amount of $130, the calculation is as follows:

$4,350 x .43 = $1,870.50
$1,870.50 + $130 = 14.39 = 14 (rounded down to the
nearest %2 week)

The minimum number of weeks of benefit cannot be less than
14 and the maximum cannot be more than 20. The worker in this
example would receive 14 weeks of benefits.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Proof at the Hearing: If the issue at an Administrative Law
hearing is the amount of wages or the time period in which work was
performed, the employer will initially be asked to supply the informa-
tion, but the claimant can disagree with the employer and provide
evidence to disprove the employer's testimony.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994; Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is discussed in Sections 41(5)
(), 41(6), and 43 of the Michigan Employment Security Act. Gen-
erally, if a worker is an employee of another person or of a business,
the worker will be “covered” for unemployment benefits, charge-
able to the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) account of that
employer.

However, certain services are excluded from coverage for
unemployment compensation. The most common exclusions include
services performed by the following categories of workers:

1. Agricultural (farm) workers, unless the employer has a payroll,
in cash, of at least $20,000 in a calendar quarter or employed
at least 10 workers in each of 20 different weeks in a year.

2. Domestic (household) workers, unless the employer has a
payroll, in cash, of at least $1,000 in a calendar quarter.

3. The parent or spouse of the business owner, or the child of the
business owner if the child is under age 18.

4. Real estate salespersons, sales representatives of investment
companies, and insurance agents or solicitors, paid wholly or
mainly on commission.

5. College students working for the school they attend, if they are
primarily students. Also, the spouses of students at the col-
lege, if notified the employment is not covered for unemploy-
ment compensation.

6. Students under age 22 who work as part of a co-operative
or distributive education program. Also high school students
under age 18 who work for a private employer during restricted
hours, or during school vacations following which they return
to school, or who work as part of a co-operative or distribu-
tive education program. Finally, college students of any age

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Coverage of Services

who work for a private employer as part of a co-operative or
distributive education program.

7. Workers for a religious organization (although some religious
organizations have voluntarily elected to cover their workers.)

8. Elected officials and government officials in major policymaking
positions.

9. Workers in work-training or work-relief programs, or in the
Michigan Youth Corps, or in Americorps, if the worker received
the full, guaranteed stipend.

10. Some home improvement and home remodeling salespersons.

11. Services performed by independent contractors (see Fact
sheet on “Independent Contractor”)

Examples: If a person performs services in one of the above
categories, then that service cannot be used to establish or pay a
claim for unemployment benefits. However, if, in the base period of
the claim, the worker performed both excluded work and other work
that is not excluded, the worker might still be able establish a claim
based on the non-excluded work.

In general, state unemployment taxes are not due on workers
performing these excluded services, except for minor, high school
students described in item 6, above.

Proof at the Hearing: The burden of proof is on the employer to
show that the claimant’s services should be excluded. The unem-
ployed worker can then disagree with the employer’s testimony.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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Trade Readjustment
Allowances (TRA)

What the law says: This federal program was created under the
Trade Act of 1974 and is found in federal law in Volume 19 of the
U.S. Code beginning at Section 2271 (19 USC 2271, et seq.). In
addition, federal regulations on this program are found in Volume 20
of the Code of Federal Regulations beginning at Part 617 (20 CFR
617), Volume 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations beginning at
Part 91 (29 CFR 91), and 20 CFR 618.

TRA Certification

To qualify for TRA, you must have been laid off due to lack of
work. A company, group of workers, union, Michigan Works! Agency
or State agency staff, or other authorized representative, must apply
to the federal government for certification of the impact of foreign
trade on the business. The government must then decide whether
imports or a shift in production was the major reason for the job
cutbacks at a work place. If so, the government issues a "certifica-
tion" of that fact and indicates the period during which total or partial
separations will be covered by the certification.

Applying for TRA

A worker may apply for TRA at any time. However, if the com-
pany is not certified, the application will be held pending the U.S.
Department of Labor’s determination on the petition. The worker
must be laid off for lack of work on or after the “impact date” of the
certification and before its expiration or termination date. This is
called the “certification” or “window” period.

In order to be timely, the worker must apply for TRA within a year
of exhausting regular unemployment benefits (including extended
benefits) or within one year of the petition certification, whichever is
later.

Other Benefits Available Under the Trade Act

In addition to TRA weekly benefits, other benefits are available:
training benefits, transportation allowances to get to training, sub-
sistence allowances, job search allowances, relocation allowances,
and a wage subsidy if the worker finds a new job paying less.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Qualifying for TRA

To qualify for TRA, a worker must have been laid off due to lack
of work, and the layoff must have occurred after the "impact date"
(that is, the effective date) of the certification, and before its expira-
tion date. The worker must also have had enough qualifying em-
ployment with the affected employer. The worker must have worked
at least 26 weeks, with weekly wages of at least $30.00, during the
52 weeks ending with the last separation from the job affected by
foreign trade. In some cases, up to 7 weeks of employer-authorized
leave may be counted as part of the 26 qualifying weeks. Also, up to
26 weeks of disability benefits paid under a state or federal law can
be used to qualify for TRA as well as 26 weeks of being a member
of the reserve called up to active duty in the military.
TRA Training Requirement

To qualify for TRA, a worker must either be participating in or
enrolled in training, or must have received a waiver of this train-
ing requirement. "Enrolled" means the worker will begin training
approved under the Trade Act within 30 days. Depending on the
amendment under which the worker may apply for benefits, he or
she must enroll within eight weeks after the petition certification date
or within 16 weeks after the worker's last qualifying separation; or,
the worker must enroll within 26 weeks of the petition certification
date or last qualifying separation. The enrollment requirement may
be waived for certain specific reasons. For a training program to
be approved for a worker, it must usually be available in the area
of the worker’s residence, although an expansion of this area is
sometimes permitted; the program must be suitable for the worker
and one from which the worker would benefit; the worker must show
an aptitude for the training; it must be a reasonable cost; there must
be a reasonable expectation that jobs will be available in the subject
area of the training; and it must be shown there is no other suitable
employment for the worker unless he or she receives the training.

Form UIA 1982-O
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Waiver of Training

During the first 26 weeks of TRA payments (known as “basic
TRA"), the worker must be in a training program unless that require-
ment is waived (set aside). The requirement that a worker must be
in training in order to receive basic TRA may be waived for certain
specific reasons. To receive any additional weeks of TRA, the
worker must be receiving training and that requirement cannot be
waived. The same is true for weeks of completion TRA, which is
available under the 2011 amendments to the Trade Act.

Eligibility Period

A worker will only be eligible to receive TRA when he/she runs
out of regular (and extended) unemployment benefits.  Once he or
she becomes entitled to TRA, the unemployed worker will have a
period of 104 weeks in which to receive the basic TRA. Depending
on the amendment under which a person may apply for benefits, the
period to collect basic TRA might be extended to 130 weeks if train-
ing includes remedial education or prerequisite classes. However,
if the worker had a later qualifying separation for TRA, the 104- or
130-week period will be extended to run from that later layoff.

The eligibility period for additional TRA begins after the eligibility
period for basic TRA has expired or after the worker has exhausted
entitlement to basic TRA. However, the worker must be participating
in training approved under the Trade Act. Depending on the amend-
ment under which the worker may apply for benefits, this period
might be for 52 consecutive weeks or the end of approved training,
whichever occurs first. The eligibility period might be more than 52
weeks.

The eligibility period for completion TRA is 20 weeks.
Amount of Benefits Payable

The unemployed worker is entitled to 52 weeks of basic TRA at
the same weekly benefit rate that applied to the regular benefits paid
based on the benefit rate in effect when the worker was first laid off
due to imports. However, any unemployment benefits paid when the
worker became unemployed due to imports will be deducted from
the total amount of TRA payable. For example, if a person was en-
titled to 20 weeks of regular unemployment benefits and 10 weeks
of Extended Benefits (EB), that person could receive 22 weeks of
basic TRA.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Depending on the amendment under which the worker may apply
for benefits, up to 52 weeks of additional TRA at the same weekly
benefit rate might be payable if the worker is participating in training
approved under the Trade Act. The amount of additional TRA might
be 78 weeks that can be drawn within a 91-week eligibility period; or
65 weeks that can be drawn within a 78-week eligibility period.

Completion TRA is a maximum of 13 weeks, payable within a
20-week eligibility period.

Weekly Eligibility

All the filing requirements and eligibility requirements that apply
to collecting regular unemployment benefits apply to TRA also. A
worker who is not in approved training and who is claiming basic
TRA must list 2 places each week where he or she sought employ-
ment. The requirement that a worker must seek work cannot be
waived under TRA, unless the individual is in training.

Examples: The federal government issued a certification on
June 1, 2012, certifying that workers at ABC Company were laid off
due to foreign imports. The impact date for the certification is April
1, 2011. The certification expires after two years from the date it is
issued, on June 1, 2014. John Jones was laid off on September 25,
2011, which falls within the period mentioned in the certification.

When he became unemployed, he filed a claim with UIA for
regular unemployment benefits and collected 26 weeks of benefits
at $230.00 per week. He now applies for TRA for that period. From
his total of 52 weeks of TRA, the 26 weeks of regular unemployment
benefits Mr. Jones received will be subtracted, leaving him 26 weeks
of basic TRA at $230.00 per week. The weekly TRA benefit amount
would be the same as the weekly amount of unemployment benefits
paid in the benefit period of the regular claim in effect at the time of
the claimant’s first qualifying separation for TRA, or the first regular
claim established afterwards, even if the worker later received regu-
lar state unemployment benefits at a higher weekly amount.

Additional TRA, and possibly completion TRA, at the same
weekly benefit amount, might be payable if the worker is participat-
ing in training approved under the Trade Act.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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The Administrative
Law Appeal Process

What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 32a, 33,
and 34 of the Michigan Employment Security Act, and by Rules R
421.1101 to R 421.1317 of the Michigan Administrative Code.

When the UIA makes a decision about how much money an un-
employed worker will receive in unemployment benefits, or whether
a worker is eligible or qualified for benefits, or whether an employer
is liable for the payment of unemployment taxes and the amount
of the tax, UlAissues a “determination” to both the worker and the
employer in a case involving benefits, or to the employer in a case
involving employer taxes. In general, the determination will be “in
favor” of one party or the other. The party the determination does not
favor may “protest” the determination and request a “redetermina-
tion.” The request must be made in writing, must be signed by the
protesting party (worker or employer or their agent or attorney), and
must be filed within 30 days of the date when the determination was
issued.

Generally, another UIA employee will then review the case, may
ask one or both parties for additional information, and will issue a
“redetermination” either affirming (agreeing with), modifying (chang-
ing slightly but giving the same result as), or reversing (giving the
opposite result from) the determination. The party that disagrees
with a redetermination may “appeal” to a hearings officer called
an “Administrative Law Judge.” The appeal must be filed with UIA
within the 30-day appeal period. It must be signed or verified. An
Administrative Law hearing will then be scheduled. At the hearing,
the information in the UIA file will be of little value to prove a party’s
case; both parties to the case must come prepared to offer fresh,
sworn testimony, or other evidence, which can then be questioned
by the other party (the process known as “cross examination”).

One of the parties at the hearing will initially have the “burden
of proof.” To disqualify a worker, the employer must prove that the
worker should be disqualified; the worker can then disagree with the
employer’s testimony and present contrary evidence. In a case in-
volving a worker’s efforts to seek work, or the worker’s ability to work
or availability for work, the worker has the burden of proof to show
he/she should receive benefits, and the employer can disagree and
present contrary testimony. (For information on which party has the
“burden of proof” for a particular issue, see the individual Fact Sheet

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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on that issue.)

Appeal from the Administrative Law Judge’s decision may be
made to the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission, a sepa-
rate entity within the Michigan Administrative Hearing System of the
State of Michigan. The appeal period is 30 days. See the Fact Sheet
on the “Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission Appeals
Process” for further information on that subject.

What court cases have said: Courts have said that when a
case goes to a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge, the
Notice of the Hearing must tell the parties every issue that the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge will consider. If the Administrative Law Judge
decides at the hearing that another issue must be considered, the
Administrative Law Judge must give both parties a chance to come
back for a new hearing on a different date after preparing to discuss
the new issue.

Often, the Administrative Law Judge must determine the facts
from a number of inconsistent (not necessarily untruthful) state-
ments made by the parties. It is up to the Administrative Law Judge
to make a finding of facts based on his or her best judgment of
where the truth actually lies. Courts have also said that once the
Administrative Law Judge has made the decision, the Michigan
Compensation Appellate Commission may review and reverse the
Administrative Law Judge’s decision based on the facts presented at
the Administrative Law hearing.

If a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge is scheduled to
be held by telephone, the Notice of Hearing will say that, and will
give contact telephone numbers for the parties. It will also give spe-
cial instructions about sending documents in advance to the other
party and to the Judge.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
In addition, the Michigan Administrative Hearing System publishes a
booklet entitled “A Guide to UIA Administrative Law Hearings” (Form
MHR 1800) that explains in detail how to prepare for an Administra-
tive Law hearing. There is also a 20 minute webcast available on
the UIA's website that explains how the hearing works and how to
prepare for it.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 54, 54a,
54b, 54c, and 62(b) of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The
law provides the following penalties as to workers, employers, UIA
employees, and third parties for the various kinds of failures or
intentional misrepresentations described below:

I. INTENTIONAL FAILURE TO COMPLY -- Section 54(a)(ii)

If an amount is either obtained by a worker or withheld by an
employer or is obtained or withheld by an Agency employee as a re-
sult of an intentional failure to comply with the law, and if there is no
other penalty provided in the MES Act, the penalty will be as follows:

A. Repayment of the amount obtained or withheld, plus dam-
ages of 3 times that amount; or

B. The UIA may refer the matter to the prosecuting attorney. If
the UIA has not made its own determination whether the claimant
or employer willfully violated the Act or intentionally failed to com-
ply with the criminal penalties can include the penalty described
above, plus the following:

1. The amount obtained plus damages of 3 times that
amount, and one or more of the following penalties:

a. For amounts less than $25.000:

1.) Up to 1 year imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 1 year, but not more
than 2,080 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 1
year.
b. For amounts of $25,000, but less than $100,000:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

General Penalty

Provisions, Including

for Intentional Mis-

representation (Fraud)

c. For amounts over $100,000:

1.) Up to 5 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 5 years, but not more
than 10,400 hours; or
3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 5
years.
In addition, for an amount involving an overpayment or with-
held information exceeding $3,500, the matter can be referred for
prosecution as a felony.

Il KNOWING VIOLATION OF THE LAW-- Section 54(a)(iv)

If an amount has been obtained or withheld as a result of a
knowing violation of the law, the Agency may require:
A. Repayment of the amount obtained or withheld, plus dam-
ages of 3 times that amount; or
B. If no determination has been made by the Agency, then
the matter may be referred to the county prosecuting attorney for
criminal prosecution.
The criminal penalties can include one or more of the following:
a. If the amount obtained or withheld knowingly was
$100.000 or less:
1.) Up to 1 year imprisonment; or
2.) Community service of up to 1 year, but not more
than 2,080 hours; or
3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 1
year.
b. If the amount obtained or withheld knowingly was over

$100.000:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.
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ll. MAKING FALSE STATEMENT OR
REPRESENTATION -- Section 54b
If the Agency determines that a worker, employer, UIA employee,
or other person has made a false statement or representation know-
ing it to be false, or fraudulently failed to disclose a material fact,
intending to increase benefits or reduce benefits or taxes, the UIA
may recover the following amounts:
A. If the amount involved is less than $500, the UIA may
recover the amount involved, plus damages equal to 2 times
that amount, or 4 times that amount for a second or subsequent
offense.
B. If the amount involved is over $500, the UIA may recover the
amount involved, plus damages equal to 4 times that amount.
C. If the UIA has not made a determination in the matter, the
UIA may refer the matter for prosecution. If so referred, then one of
the following remedies may be sought by the prosecutor:
1. Repayment of the amount obtained or withheld, plus
damages of 3 times that amount; or one or more of the follow-
ing penalties:

a. For benefit amounts of at least $1,000 but less than
$25.,000:
1.) Up to 1 year imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 1 year, but not more
than 2,080 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 1
year.

b. For benefit amounts of $25.000 or more:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

c. For benefit amounts that do not result in a loss to the
Agency. The penalty sought by the prosecutor will be 3
times the amount of benefits that would have been obtained,
but not less than $1,000, and one of the following:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Amounts obtained or withheld exceeding $3,500 as a result of
one knowingly making a false statement or the knowing or the willful
failure to disclose a material fact may be referred for prosecution as
a felony.

IV. REQUIRING EMPLOYEE/CLAIMANT TO MAKE FALSE
STATEMENT -- Section 54a

If the UIA determines that an employer, a UIA employee, or a
third party, has required a worker for benefits, as a condition of
employment, to make a knowingly false statement or representation
to obtain or increase benefits, or avoid or reduce a tax payment, the
UIA may recover the following amounts:

A. The amount involved, plus an amount equal to 3 times that
amount, but not less than $5,000.

B. If the UIA has not made its own determination, the UIA may
refer the matter for prosecution. If so referred, then one of the fol-
lowing remedies may be sought by the prosecutor:

1. Repayment of the amount obtained or withheld, plus an
amount equal to 3 times that amount, but not less than $5,000,
plus a fine of not less than $5,000 and one or more of the fol-
lowing penalties:

a. Up to 10 years imprisonment; or

b. Community service of up to 10 years, but not more
than 20,800 hours; or

c. A combination of the above, not exceeding 10 years.

V. CONSPIRACY -- Section 54b

If the UIA determines that an employer, unemployed worker, UIA
employee, or third party conspired with another or others to violate
the Michigan Employment Security Act, the UIA may recover the
following amounts:

A. An amount involved as a result of the illegal act, plus dam-
ages equal to 3 times that amount.

B. If the UIA has made a determination in the matter, then the
matter may be referred for prosecution. The prosecutor may seek:

1. Repayment of the amount involved, plus damages of 3
times that amount; plus

a. For amounts obtained of 25,000 or less:
1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or
2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or
3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.
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b. For amounts obtained greater than 25,000:
1.) Up to 5 years imprisonment; or
2.) Community service of up to 5 years, but not more
than 10,400 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 5
years.

c. For benefit amounts that do not result in a loss to the
Agency. The penalty sought by the prosecutor will be 3
times the amount of benefits that would have been obtained,
but not less than $1,000, and one of the following:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

V1. EMBEZZL EMENT -- Section 54¢

If an employer, worker, UIA employee, or third party knowingly or
willfully appropriates or converts to his or her own use money to be
used for the payment of benefits or unemployment tax money, the
person is guilty of embezzlement, and one of the following amounts
may be recovered:

A. The amount involved as a result of the illegal act, plus dam-
ages equal to 2 times that amount if the amount is less than $500,
or 3 times that amount if the amount is $500 or more.

B. If the UIA has not made an administrative determination as
to penalty, the matter may be referred for prosecution. The pros-
ecutor may seek the amounts described above for administrative
penalties, plus one of the following criminal penalties:

a. For amounts of $1.000 or more but less than $25,000:
1.) Up to 1 year imprisonment; or
2.) Community service of up to 1 year, but not more
than 2,080 hours; or
3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 1
year.

b. For amounts of $25,000 or more but less than
$100,000:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

c. For amounts over $100,000:

1.) Up to 5 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 5 years, but not more
than 10,400 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

d. For benefit amounts that do not result in a loss to the
Agency. The penalty sought by the prosecutor will be 3
times the amount of benefits that would have been obtained,
but not less than $1,000, and one of the following:

1.) Up to 2 years imprisonment; or

2.) Community service of up to 2 years, but not more
than 4,160 hours; or

3.) A combination of the above, not exceeding 2
years.

VIl. ADDITIONAL PENALTY FOR CLAIMANT
INVOLVED IN BENEFIT FRAUD

In addition to the penalties described above, the benefit year of
a worker who is found to have intentionally made a false statement
or misrepresentation, or to have concealed material information to
obtain benefits, will be canceled and any right to benefits for that
benefit year will also be cancelled. If the individual files a claim for
benefits within 4 years of the cancellation of the rights to benefits,
the individual must repay all restitution and administrative penalties
before further benefits can be paid.

Example 1: An unemployed worker failed to report earnings
in weeks for which he/she was paid unemployment compensation,
indicating he/she had no earnings for those weeks. If reported, the
earnings would have made the unemployed worker ineligible for
benefits for those weeks. The unemployed worker intentionally
made a false statement or representation and thereby received
$1,400.00 in unemployment benefits.
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The unemployed worker will be required to repay the $1,400.00,
his/her current claim will be canceled, and any remaining benefits
on that claim will be forfeited. If the worker wants to file a new claim
in the next four years, he/she will have to first repay the $1,400.00
and will have to pay a penalty of $4,200.00 before benefits would
be payable on the new claim. However, if the UIA instead refers the
matter to the prosecutor who agrees to prosecute, then the penalties
could be imprisonment for up to a year, or community service of up
to 2,080 hours, or both but not exceeding 1 year, in addition to the
administrative penalty.

Example 2: An employer failed to properly report a worker's
full wages, in an effort to reduce the unemployed worker's benefit
entitement. The unemployed worker was entitled to $2,600.00 in
unemployment benefits based on the unemployed worker's work
with that employer, but because of the employer's fraud, only
$1,400.00 was paid to the unemployed worker. The employer made
a false statement or representation.

The employer will be required to pay $1,200.00 (the difference
between the $1,400.00 benefit amount the unemployed worker re-
ceived as a result of the employer's incorrect wage information and
the $2,600.00 benefit amount the unemployed worker should have
received), and will also be required to pay a penalty of $3,600.00,
triple the $1,200.00 amount involved in the misrepresentation.
However, if the UIA instead refers the matter to the prosecutor who
agrees to prosecute, then the penalties could be imprisonment for
up to a year, or community service of up to 2,080 hours, or both but
not exceeding 1 year.

Proof at the Hearing: The UIA will have the initial obligation to
show that a party committed fraud (intentional misrepresentation)
in connection with a claim. Then, the party may present evidence
proving the UIA wrong.

For Further Help: The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
Advocacy Program can provide assistance to employers and unem-
ployed workers in preparing for Administrative Law Judge hearings
on these issues. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Liability of an
Employer

What the law says: This issue is covered under Section 41 of
the Michigan Employment Security Act. It says that, in general, there
are three ways that an “employing unit” in Michigan can become an
“employer,” “liable” (that is, responsible under the law) for paying
unemployment insurance “contributions” (taxes) to UIA:

1. If the employing unit employs one or more persons in any
20 different calendar weeks (Sunday through Saturday) in a calen-
dar year (January 1 through December 31); or

2. Ifthe employing unit pays (or owes payment of) total
wages of $1,000.00 or more in a calendar year.

3. If the employing unit acquires the organization, trade,
or business, or 75% or more of the assets of a company that was
already an employer liable for the payment of unemployment taxes.
Becoming an employer in this way is known as “successorship.” (For
more information on successorship, see the separate Factsheet on
the “Transfer of Business” issue.)

In addition, an employing unit (such as a homeowner) can
become a “domestic employer” (liable for the payment of unemploy-
ment taxes on the wages of household workers) if the employer
pays $1,000.00 or more in cash wages to a domestic worker in any
calendar quarter.

An employing unit can become an “agricultural employer” (liable
for the payment of unemployment taxes on the wages of agricultural
workers) if the employer pays $20,000.00 or more in cash wages to
an agricultural worker in any calendar quarter, or employs 10 work-
ers in 20 different weeks in a year.

Examples: The ABC Company began its business on April 3,
2012 with two employees. The first employee the manager hired
was paid $600.00 a week: the second, an assistant, was paid
$300.00 a week. The employer reached $1,000.00 in payroll on April
17, 2012. Therefore, as of April 17 the employing unit became an
“employer” liable for the payment of unemployment taxes.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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The employer should file Form 518, “Registration Report to
Determine Liability” immediately after April 17, 2012 in this example.
The employer will be required to file a tax report (Form UIA 1020)
and a wage report (Form UIA 1017) for the quarter ending June 30,
2012. The reports are due July 25, 2012, and all reports thereafter
are due on the 25th day of the month following the end of the quar-
ter to which the reports apply.

In another example, the DEF Company began its business on
April 3, 2012 with two part-time employees. Twenty weeks later,
on August 18, the company had employed at least one of those
workers in 20 different weeks (the weeks do not necessarily have to
be consecutive weeks) in calendar year 2012 (though it had not yet
paid $1,000.00 in payroll). Therefore, as of August 18, the employing
unit became an “employer” liable for the payment of unemployment
taxes.

The employer should file Form 518, “Registration Report to De-
termine Liability” immediately after August 18, 2012 in this example.
Also, the employer should file a tax report (Form UIA 1020) and a
wage report (Form UIA 1017) for the completed quarter ending June
30. The tax report and payment are due 15 days after the employer
became liable (in this case, 15 days after August 18, which is
September 2). Beginning for the 3rd quarter of 2012, the employer
should file a new Form UIA 1028, replacing the other two quarterly
forms.

Finally, XYZ company bought the ABC company, an employer
already determined by UIA to be a liable employer. UIA determined
the XYZ company to be the “successor” to the ABC company. By
being the successor to a liable employer, the XYZ company itself be-
came a liable employer as of the date of the transfer of the business.

Proof at the Hearing: The UIA has the burden of proving that
the employing unit is an “employer” under the law, liable for the pay-
ment of unemployment compensation. The employer can present
evidence to the contrary.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: Section 41(2) of the Michigan Employment
Security Act covers how an employer (whether private or non-profit)
becomes a “liable” employer, responsible for making unemployment
tax payments; Sections 22 and 22b cover the transfer of experience
account factors from a former (predecessor) employer to a new
(successor) owner; Section 15(g) covers the related issue of the
transfer of the former business owner’s liability for state unemploy-
ment taxes and interest owed to the new owner of the business.

A transfer of business can occur by various means such as sale,
foreclosure, lease, bankruptcy, or merger.

Mandatory Transfers

The law says that there will be a mandatory “transfer of business”
for UIA purposes if:

1. The new owner was already an “employer” liable for the pay-
ment of unemployment taxes, becomes an “employer” on the
date of the transfer, or elects to become liable; and

2. There was a transfer of 75% or more of the assets of the former
business to the new owner, and either

3. The new owner has used the trade name or good will of the
former business, or has continued all or part of the business of
the former owner, or within 12 months of the transfer resumes
all or part of the business of the former owner.

However, regardless of whether any of the above conditions
is met, a “transfer” of business occurs if the new business has
substantially the same ownership, control, or management as the
former business.

Voluntary Transfers

The law says that if less than 75% of the assets of the former
business are transferred, then there can still be a transfer of busi-
ness if the following two conditions are met:

1. The UIA must be notified of the transfer of assets within 30
days after the end of the calendar quarter in which the transfer
occurred, and

2. The UIA must receive a written agreement from both the former
and new business owners requesting the transfer of the UIA
account.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Transfer of Business

(Successorship)

A buyer of a business might benefit from a voluntary transfer if it
results in a lower tax rate.

100% and Partial Transfers of UIA Account

When there is a 100% transfer of business assets, all of the for-
mer employer’s experience account transfers to the new employer.
This means that all of the former employer’s unemployment tax
payments and all benefit charges attributable to the former employer
transfer as part of the UIA “experience account” to the new owner.

When the Agency determines there is a partial “transfer of busi-
ness,” the amount of the former employer’s account that will transfer
to the new employer depends on the percentage of the former
employer’s payroll (paid for the four completed quarters before the
transfer) attributable to the assets that were transferred to the new
owner. If the payroll associated with these transferred assets is less
than 100%, then the transfer of experience is a “partial transfer.”

Examples: A portion of a business was transferred to a new
owner and the UIA account of the previous owner was also trans-
ferred. The previous owner had operated an office supply division
and a secretarial services division. Only the assets of the office
supply division were transferred to the new owner. Eighty percent of
the payroll the previous owner had paid had been paid to employees
of the office supply division. In this example, 80% of the benefit
charges would carry over from the UIA account of the former owner,
as would 80% of the tax payments from the former employer, and
80% of the wages.

Proof at the Hearing: The Agency has the initial burden of
proving that a transfer of business occurred; the new owner has
the opportunity to produce business records that could prove the
Agency was wrong.

For Further Help: The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
Advocacy Program can provide assistance to employers in prepar-
ing for Administrative Law Judge hearings on these issues. Call
1-800-638-3994; select option #2.
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Assessments

What the law says: This issue is covered in Section 15(b) of the
Michigan Employment Security Act. The law requires the Unemploy-
ment Insurance Agency (UIA) to bill an employer, claimant, or third
party for delinquent unemployment taxes or restitution of benefit
overpayments, interest, and penalties.

The determination that an employer, claimant, or third party owes
such amounts to the Agency is called an “assessment.” An as-
sessed party can disagree with the amount of the assessment, and
can protest and appeal the assessment determination.

The law authorizes the UIA to collect assessments through a
variety of methods, including placing a tax lien on the employer’s
property, seizing the employer’s assets, and filing a law suit. The
UIA may also seek a warrant to seize the bank accounts of the
claimant or employer for amounts owing, or may administratively
garnish an employee's wages.

When an employer makes a payment to the UIA, except when
fraud has been determined, the payment is applied first to the oldest
calendar quarter for which any payment is owed to the UIA, then
to the next oldest, and so on. Within a calendar quarter, the UIA
first applies a payment to the interest on the Obligation Assess-
ment, then to the principal amount of the Obligation Assessment,
then to penalties, interest, and finally to the remaining tax owed. If
fraud is found against a claimant, the payment is first applied to the
unemployment compensation trust fund, then in the order described
above.

Examples: An employer receives an assessment saying that
the employer owes a certain amount to the UIA for unpaid taxes,
interest, and penalties. However, the employer believes that he/she
made the payments to cover the amount the UIA says is owing. The
employer can protest or appeal this determination. The employer
must then provide the UIA with copies of the cancelled checks to
show that they paid the UIA the amount in question. If an assess-
ment redetermination is issued and the employer is still dissatisfied,
he or she can appeal the assessment amount to an Administrative
Law Judge.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Sometimes, though, an employer will protest or appeal an
assessment because the employer believes the business should
not be considered a “successor” to the former business or should
not become responsible for the unemployment tax rate of the prior
owner. The disagreement here is not actually with the amount of the
assessment, but rather with the “successorship” issue. Therefore,
protesting the assessment will not change the amount of the assess-
ment. In this example, it is the determination of successorship that
should have been protested, not the determination of assessment.
(But usually, by the time the determination of assessment is issued,
it is too late to protest the determination of successorship.)

Proof at the Hearing: The UIA has the burden of proving the
accuracy of the amount of the assessment. The employer can
bring business records to show that the amount of the assessment
is wrong (but not to show that the employer should not have been
considered a liable or a successor employer, or that the tax rate was
incorrect).

For Further Help: The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
Advocacy Program can provide assistance to employers and unem-
ployed workers in preparing for Administrative Law Judge hearings
on these issues. Call 1-800-638-3994; select option #2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered in Sections 15(a),
15(b), 15(i) 15(h), and 54(c) of the Michigan Employment Security
Act. The law says that the following penalties and interest apply for
late filings of tax returns or late tax payments:

Interest for Overdue Tax Payment and Unpaid Benefit Over-
payments — Section 15(a)

Interest accrues on unpaid taxes and unpaid benefit overpay-
ments at the rate of 1.0% a month, computed daily, but not more
than 50% of tax owed for the quarter. This means that for every day
during a month when there is a tax payment owing, additional inter-
est accrues. A new (successor) business owner can inherit the inter-
est charges due from the previous (predecessor) business owner.
Penalty for Failing to File a Tax Report — Section 15(i) and
Section 54(c)

In addition to the interest for a late tax payment, a separate
penalty applies when the employing unit, or an owner, director, of-
ficer, or agent of the employing unit fails to file a quarterly tax report
(Form UIA 1020). The penalty is 10% of the contributions due on
the un-filed report. (The penalty is applied once the report is filed
and the amount of contributions due is determined. However, the
UIA may also make an estimate of the amount of taxes due, and
assess a penalty, and interest, accordingly. See the Factsheet on
“Willful Neglect.”) The minimum penalty is $5.00 and the maximum
is $25.00 for each tax report the employer failed to file.

Negligence Penalty - Section 15(h)

If part of a missing tax payment is due to an employer’s negli-
gence or disregard of the UIA's rules, but is not due to fraud, the
employer will be assessed a penalty of 5% of the total amount owed,
in addition to any other interest or penalties already owed.

Fraud Penalty — 54(b)

If it is determined that some or all of a missing payment is due to
an employer’s fraudulent attempt to avoid tax payments, the penalty
will then vary, depending on the amount of tax withheld. The penalty
may be two times the amount fraudulently withheld if the amount
withheld is under $500 and up to four times the amount if $500 or
more, plus imprisonment up to 5 years, or community service of up

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Penalties and Interest
on Claimants and
Employers

to 10,400 hours, or a combination of both. In addition, a person who
obtains or withholds an amount of benefits or payments exceeding
$3,500 but less than $25,000 as a result of a knowing false state-
ment or willful failure to disclose a material fact, may be prosecuted
for a felony and be subject to fraud penalties. For detailed informa-
tion on fraud penalties, please refer to the Fact Sheet on General
Penalty Provisions, Including for Intentional Misrepresentation
(Fraud).

Examples: An employer hires a new bookkeeper in February
of 2010, and the bookkeeper does not file a UIA report for the first
calendar quarter of 2010 until August 8, 2011. The bookkeeper filed
reports for the second and third calendar quarters on time. However,
he does not make a tax payment on any of the calendar quarters
until November 1, 2011. That payment is for the first, second, and
third quarters.

Because the tax report for the first quarter was late, a 10% penal-
ty applies, with a maximum of $25.00. Because the tax payments for
the first and second quarters were late, interest accrues for overdue
payments from each of those quarters at the rate of 1.0% per month
on the entire tax amount owed.

The payment made on November 1 will be applied in the follow-
ing order: (1) penalty for the late tax report for the first quarter; (2)
interest for the first quarter; (3) principal for the first quarter; (4)
interest for the second quarter; (5) principal for the second quarter
(6) principal for the third quarter.

If an employee fails to file a quarterly wage report, a penalty of
$50 applies, and an additional $250 penalty applies for each ad-
ditional quarter the report is late. A report corrected within 14 days
of Notice from the UIA of an error will incur no penalty.

Proof at the Hearing: The UIA has the burden of proving the
amount of the interest and penalties. The employer can bring busi-
ness records to prove the UIA was wrong. The employer’s evidence
could include, for example, cancelled checks to prove that UIA
received a payment but failed to credit the employer, or received
the payment on time but recorded it as being received late. The
employer could also produce a certified mail receipt showing that the
item was mailed.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 15(i) of the
Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that if an employer
fails to file a Form UIA 1020, Employer’s Quarterly Tax Report,
and the tax return is late by more than 30 days, and UIA makes a
determination that the failure to file the reports is willful, the UIA may
assess the principal amount due, as well as interest and penalties.
This is called a “willful neglect” determination.

Example: The employer has not filed a tax report (Form UC
1020) for the calendar quarter ending March 31. The tax report was
due by the 25th day of the month following the end of the calendar
quarter; therefore, the report was due April 25, 2011 As of May 26,
the report is more than 30 days overdue. After making a determina-
tion that the default of the employer to file the report was willful,
the UIA may estimate taxes due and impose whatever interest and
penalties would apply to that estimated amount of taxes due.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Wiliful Neglect

Proof at the Hearing: The Unemployment Insurance Agenc has
the burden of proving that the employer failed to file the tax return
and that the failure to file was willful. The employer can bring busi-
ness records to disprove the UIA.

For Further Help: The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
Advocacy Program: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide as-
sistance to employers in preparing for an Administrative Law Judge
hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, option #2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 19 of the
Michigan Employment Security Act. The law provides that all private
for-profit employers, and all non-profit employers except those
choosing to pay "reimbursements" (dollar-for-dollar payments to the
UIA for benefits paid out) will pay unemployment taxes based on
a tax rate calculated by the UIA. There are three "components" of
the unemployment contribution (tax) rate: the Chargeable Benefits
Component (CBC), the Account Building Component (ABC), and the
Nonchargeable Benefits Component (NBC). In addition, beginning
with the 2012 tax rate, each employer’s tax rate Determination
will include an Obligation Assessment (OA). This assessment is
intended to pay off the bonds that were taken out to pay off Michi-
gan’s debt plus interest to the federal government for loans to pay
unemployment benefits. The OA will be assessed until the bonds are
paid off.

The law says that if an employer is a "contributing employer" (re-
sponsible for the payment of a quarterly unemployment tax), and if
the employer becomes newly liable beginning in 2013 (that is, is not
a successor to an existing business) then the employer's unemploy-
ment tax rates will be as follows:

1. For the first year of liability = 2.7% + 1/3 CBC + OA
2. For the second year of liability = 2.7% + 2/3 CBC + OA
3. For the third year of liability = CBC + ABC + NBC + OA.

The "year of liability" is determined by when the business first
operated under the original owner.

For an employer in the construction industry, the rate for the
first year is the average construction rate + 1/3 CBC + OA; for the
second year it is the average construction rate +2/3 of the CBC +
OA. For the third year and over, CBC+ABC+NBC+OA.

The three tax rate components plus obligation assessment are
calculated as follows:

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Unemployment
Tax Rate

Chargeable Benefits Component (CBC)

36 months of taxable payroll
36 months of benefits paid

Each 36-month period ends the previous June 30.

Account Building Component (ABC)

[(Required Reserve) minus (Actual Reserve)] X 0.5
Total payroll for 12 months ending last June 30

The Required Reserve is figured by taking total payroll for the 12
months ending the last June 30th and multiplying it by 0.0375, which
is called the "cost criterion." The Actual Reserve is figured by taking
all tax payments (except the portion applied to the Nonchargeable
Benefits Component) since the business began, and subtracting
from that, all benefit payments since the business began. The result
could be a negative number. If so, the Actual Reserve must be
added to the Required Reserve, in the formula given above.

Nonchargeable Benefits Component (NBC)

This component is the only one of the three components of the
unemployment tax rate that does not reflect an employer's own
experience. This component is generally a flat 1.0% for all contribut-
ing employers with four or more years in business. However, for em-
ployers that go for many years without benefit charges, the NBC can
be lower than the standard 1.0%. The following reductions apply:

+ The NBC is 0.1% if the employer had no benefit charges in the

5 years ending the prior June 30 or 0.5% if the employer has a CBC
under 0.2%

+ The NBC is 0.09% if the employer had no benefit charges in the
6 years ending the prior June 30.

+ The NBC is 0.08% if the employer had no benefit charges in the
7 years ending the prior June 30.
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+ The NBC is 0.07% if the employer had no benefit charges in the
8 years ending the prior June 30.

The NBC is 0.06% if the employer had no benefit charges in the
9 years ending the prior June 30.

Obligation Assessment Rate

While Michigan is paying off the bonds used to retire its debt
to the federal government, the Obligation Assessment Rate will be
added to each employer’s tax rate. It is calculated using the follow-
ing formula:

[Current Tax Rate x OA ratio]+[base assess.+ taxable wage base]

Each component of the OA is described below:

« Current Tax Rate — The employer's tax rate for the current year.

+ Obligation Assessment Ratio (OA Ratio ) — The OA Ratio is
used to calculate the experience based cost of the OA Rate. In
2013, itis 0.145015.

+ Base Assessment — The flat rate that is assessed to all covered
employees. In 2013, itis $63.00.

+ Taxable Wage Base — The maximum amount of wages paid to
an employee that are subject to unemployment insurance taxes. In
2013, itis $9,500.

The Obligation Assessment Ratio and Base Assessment will be
calculated yearly until all the bonds have been retired.

Amount of Quarterly Tax Payment

The tax rate applicable to an employer in a calendar year is
multiplied against the first $9,500 of each covered employee's gross
wages paid in the calendar year. This $9,500 amount is called the
"taxable wage base."

Example: Form UIA 1771, Tax Rate Determination for Calendar
Year 2013 provides all the information the employer needs to cal-
culate the unemployment tax rate. Let's say Employer A's Form UIA
1771 shows the following figures:

ACTUAL RESERVE: $41,532.00

TOTAL PAYROLL (12 Months): $2,428,871.34
REQUIRED RESERVE: $91,082.68

TAXABLE PAYROLL (36 Months): $2,972,332.91
BENEFIT CHARGES (36 Months): $32,869.00

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Chargeable Benefits Component:
The calculation is done this way:

36 months of taxable payroll
36 months of benefit charges

Taking the sample numbers from above:
32,869.00 =.0110=1.1%
2,972,332.91

The result is rounded to the next higher 0.1%. (In this example,
the fourth decimal place was a "zero," and no rounding was done.)

Account Building Component;
The calculation is done this way:

(Required Reserve) - (Actual Reserve) X 0.50
12 months of total payroll

Taking the sample numbers from above:

(91.082.68 - 42,532.00) X 0.50 = .0102
2,428,871.34

If there is any remainder (as there is here with the "2" in the
fourth place to the right of the decimal), the result is rounded up to
the next higher 0.1%, making the result 1.1%.

Nonchargeable Benefits Component:

This component is 1.0% for all contributing employers, but can
be as low as 0.06% for employers with no benefit charges against
their account for 9 years.

Obligation Assessment:
[2.4 x 0.145015] = 0.003480

[63 +9500] = 0.0066316
0.003480 + 0.0066316 = 0.010116 x 100 = 1.011%

Round up to 1.02%, because the 4th decimal place is greater
than zero.
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Unemployment Tax Rate:

For an employer with four or more years of business experience
(in 2012), and three or more thereafter, the unemployment tax rate is
computed by adding together the three components plus the obliga-
tion assessment.

. Chargeable Benefits Component: 1.1%

. Account Building Component 1.1%

. Nonchargeable Benefits Component: 1.0%

(or as low as 0.06%, if appropriate)

. Obligation Assessment: 0.8%
Total Computed Tax Rate: 4.0%.

The tax rate is mailed to employers yearly on Form UIA 1771.
This is a determination and can be protested/appealed like any other
determination. The time period for filing a protest or appeal from a
rate determination or redetermination is 30 days from the date of
mailing, the same as for all other determinations and redetermina-
tions.

Proof at the Hearing: The UIA has the burden of proving the
accuracy of the calculation, and of the numbers used to make the
calculation. The employer can bring business records to disprove
the UIA.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994; Item 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Section 18(d)(2)
of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that if any
of the quarterly tax reports due from an employer during the rate
computation period (the twelve months ending on the June 30 of the
previous calendar year) is missing, the UIA will figure the employer's
tax rate on the basis of whatever reports were filed, as long as at
least one report is on file, and will add a penalty of 3.0% because
one or more reports are missing. If all the missing reports are
submitted within 30 days after the rate Determination is issued, the
UIA will refigure the tax rate and will drop the penalty. If the report or
reports are submitted beyond 30 days, but within one year, the UIA
will refigure the rate and will drop the penalty completely if the busi-
ness had "good cause" for being late in filing, or will drop the penalty
to 2.0% if the business did not have "good cause" for being late in
filing. If all the missing reports are filed beyond 1 year but within 3
years, UIA will recalculate the rate and add a 3.0% penalty.

Early each year, the employer is sent Form UIA 1771, Tax
Rate Determination for Calendar Year . From the date that
Determination is mailed, the employer has 30 days in which to file
the missing reports and protest the rate. This is true even if the em-
ployer did not file because they had no payroll during the calendar
quarter. The employer’s tax rate will then be recalculated, using the
information the employer has then provided.

Example 1: Employer A forgot to file a UIA tax report (Form UIA
1028) for the first calendar quarter of 2009. The Agency needs the
information from that report about wages paid to workers during that
quarter, but will assign a rate of 6.7% based on the other 3 quarters
on file, and will add a penalty of 3.0%. The rate will be labeled "Code
2"

Form UIA 1771, Tax Rate Determination for Calendar Year___
will direct the employer’s attention to explanatory item “Code 2"
on the back of the Form. “Code 2” then explains that the rate was
calculated on the quarters on file, and that a penalty was added
because a quarter was missing. The Form also tells the employer
exactly which quarterly report was missing. The employer must
provide the missing report within 30 days to avoid having to pay the
rate, as calculated, plus the 3% penalty.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Maximum Tax Rates
When Quarterly Tax
Reports Are Not Filed

Example 2: The employer receives Form UIA 1771, imposing the
maximum tax rate applicable to that employer and indicating that the
tax report for the second quarter was not received by UIA. The em-
ployer believes the report was filed, and in fact the employer shows
the tax payment entered in his/her check register. The employer
therefore ignores the tax rate determination, believing the UIA will
eventually correct the rate.

The employer will receive a rate calculated on the available quar-
ters, plus a penalty of 3%, if the employer does not protest the rate
and present evidence (such as the cancelled check) to show that the
report was previously filed within 30 days. Unless the employer pro-
duces evidence with the letter of protest, such as a cancelled check
to show that the UIA made an error and failed to properly record the
receipt of the tax report, the employer will have to pay the rate as
calculated, plus the 3% penalty. This could be extremely costly for
the employer.

Proof at the Hearing: The UIA has the obligation to assert that
the employer’s tax report was not received. The employer must then
prove the UIA's assertion was wrong by presenting evidence that the
report was, in fact, received by the UIA on time. The employer must
also show that, based on the information in the report in question,
his/her tax rate should have been lower than the one assigned by
the UIA. If good cause for untimely filing the report is at issue, the
employer has the burden of showing the good cause.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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The Michigan Compen-
sation Appellate
Commission Appeal
Process

What the law says: The Michigan Compensation Appellate
Commission (MCAC) replaced the former Michigan Employment
Security Board of Review. Appeals to the MCAC are covered by
Sections 34, 37, and 38 of the Michigan Employment Security Act,
and by Rules of Practice found at R 421.1101 — 421.1317 of the
Michigan Administrative Code.

The law says that any party that loses its case before an
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) has a right to appeal the decision
to MCAC. An appeal to MCAC must be in writing and signed or
verified. It must be received by MCAC by the end of the 30th day
after the ALJ's decision or order was issued. If both of the involved
parties agree, they can request, by written stipulation filed with the
ALJ, to by-pass the MCAC and appeal directly to circuit court.

Atimely appeal to MCAC will be reviewed by a three-member
panel of commissioners. They will review the recording of the ALJ
hearing, and any exhibits made part of the official record. The MCAC
will then either affirm (agree with), modify (change the reasons
and/or partly change the result), or reverse (disagree with) the ALJ
decision. The MCAC may remand (send back) the case to the ALJ
for a further hearing in order to obtain additional facts necessary to
decide the case.

The MCAC does not generally conduct a new hearing concern-
ing the facts of the case. After the redetermination is issued, the
ALJ hearing is usually the last level in the appeal process where the
parties provide evidence that will be used by the MCAC and courts
for later appeals.

The purpose of the MCAC'’s review of a case is first to deter-
mine if the ALJ made correct findings of fact based on the evidence
presented. The MCAC is not required to agree with the Administra-
tive Law Judge’s findings. Secondly, MCAC determines if the ALJ
correctly applied the law as provided in the Michigan Employment
Security Act and precedent court decisions, to those facts.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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Transcripts are available only on request, and are subject to a
printing/processing fee. A download of the recording is available at
no charge by calling (313) 456-0423. If the recording is very long, a
CD may have to be prepared, for which there is a charge of $25.00.
Atranscript currently costs $3.25 per page, and can be ordered di-
rectly from the vendor, which is currently Regency Court Reporting.
Call them at 248-360-2145 to arrange for purchase of a transcript.

Oral Argument

A party appealing a case to the MCAC may make a written
request that it conduct an “oral hearing” in addition to reviewing
the recording and exhibits made part of the record during the ALJ
hearing. The MCAC grants such a request only in rare cases. The
written request for oral hearing must be received by the MCAC not
later than the 20th day after the MCAC mails the parties the “Notice
of Appeal”. The MCAC will then decide whether or not to grant the
request for oral hearing. An oral hearing, if granted, is not a new
opportunity for the parties to present the facts of their case, but is for
the purpose of presenting argument as to whether the ALJ decision
is correct or incorrect.

Written Argument

Generally, an application for written argument will be considered
only if a request oral argument was not approved. The request
for written argument must be approved by 2 or more members of
MCAC assigned to review the appeal, and will only be approved if
all parties are represented or all parties agree that written argument
should be considered.

A decision of the MCAC can be appealed by the losing party to
circuit court. The appeal period to circuit court is 30 days from the
mailing date of the Decision or Order.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This matter is covered by Sections 28(b)
and 32(b) of the Michigan Employment Security Act, and by Admin-
istrative Rule 210. The law says that for a worker to be eligible to
receive unemployment benefits for a week of unemployment, the
worker must, among other things, file the claim on time and report ,
on time, to certify for benefits.

TYPES OF CLAIMS

There are three types of claims that can be filed to start, or
restart, a claim for benefits:

A new claim is one that is filed to establish a claim that did not
previously exist.

An additional claim is one that is filed to reactivate benefits when
an unemployed worker already has a claim in existence, interrupts
the payment of benefits on the claim by returning to work, and then
becomes unemployed again.

A reopened claim is one that is filed when an unemployed worker
already has a claim in existence, but interrupts the payment of ben-
efits on the claim for a reason other than returning to work, and then
seeks to reactivate benefits.

A worker files a "continued claim" when the worker reports by
"MARVIN" to claim benefits by certifying as to his or her continued
eligibility for benefits.

TIMELINESS REQUIREMENTS

For a new or additional claim: The claim must be filed by the
Saturday after the end of the week containing the individual’s last
day of work. So a person laid off on September 6 (see the calendar
on this page) would have until Saturday, September 14 to file a new
or additional claim effective with the week of the layoff.

For a reopened or continued claim: The claim must be filed by
the Saturday after the end of the week containing the last day of
the period for which the worker is claiming benefits or is reporting to

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Filing Requirements
for New, Additional,
Reopened and
Continued Claims

certify for benefits. A reopened claim filed on October 11 is effective
for that week. A continued claim for the two weeks ending October 5
and October 12 must be filed by Saturday, October 19.

GOOD CAUSE FILING EXTENSION

For good cause (including such things as acts of God, delay in
mail delivery, funeral attendance, incarceration, and jury duty), an
additional period of 14 days will be permitted for filing the new, ad-
ditional, or reopened claim, or for reporting to file a continued claim.

For an individual who last worked on Thursday, September 12, a
new or additional claim, to be effective for week beginning Septem-
ber 8, must be filed by Saturday, September 21. For good cause,
that date can be extended 14 days to Saturday, October 5.

To file a reopened claim for the week ending October 12, or to re-
port to file a continued claim for the weeks ending October 5 and 12,
the claim must be filed by Saturday, October 19. For good cause,

SEPT/OCT/NOV

SU| M| TU | W |TH | F | SA
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 | 11 |12 | 13 | 14
15 (16| 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21
22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28
29 | 30} 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 | 10 | 11| 12
13 (14| 15|16 | 17 | 18 | 19
20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26
27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 1 2

the filing date is extended 14 more days to Saturday, November 2.

To file a reopened for the week ending October 12, or to report
to file a continued claim for the weeks ending October 5 and 12, the

Form UIA 1982-Z

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation.
© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



claim must be filed by October 19. For good cause, the filing date
is extended 14 more days to November 2.

If the unemployed worker does not have good cause for late
filing of a new, additional, reopened, or continued claim, then the
claim will be effective as of the week in which it is filed.

If the unemployed worker cannot file timely because services
from the Agency are unavailable, the claim will be timely if it is
filed on the next workday.

METHODS OF FILING CLAIMS AND REPORTING

New Claims, Additional Claims, and Reopened Claims

New, additional, and reopened claims may be filed either by
telephone or on the internet.

Telephone Filed Claims (TFC)

To file by telephone, an unemployed worker may call 1-866-
500-0017 at the time indicated in the chart below. The numbers
shown in the columns refer to the last 2 digits of the unemployed

| ) ol b o,
WO NCTIT o SulIdl cuunty 1 ITIJCT .

Time Monday| Tuesday [Wednesday | Thursday &

Friday
8:00 a.m.-| 00-15 34-48 67-81 Open
12:30 p.m. Call-In
(All Social
12:30 p.m. - 16-33 49-66 82-99 Security
4:30 p.m. Numbers)

If an unemployed worker's social security number was 123-
45-6789, the last 2 digits would be “89.” Looking at the table,
the number “89” would be in the group of numbers under the
“Wednesday” column, and they would be in the “12:30 p.m. to

4:30 p.m.” row. Therefore, a person whose social security number

ended with the digits “89” would call to file a new, additional, or
reopened claim on Wednesday afternoon, between 12:30 and
4:30. Times are Eastern zone.

If an unemployed worker misses calling on the right day and

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

time, he or she can call at any time between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30
p.m., on either Thursday or Friday of that same week.

Internet Filed Claims (IFC)

New, additional, and reopened claims may also be filed on the
Agency’s website at http://www.michigan.gov/uia, from 7:00 a.m.,
Monday through 7:00 p.m., Saturday.

Click on “File Unemployment Claim” to link to the site on the
internet where the claim can be filed.

Continued Claims (Bi-weekly Telephone Reporting)

With a few exceptions specifically granted by the Agency, such
as for individuals in certain kinds of training, or those with hearing
difficulties, all continued claims for unemployment benefits must be
filed by telephone or online using MARVIN (Michigan’s Automated
Response Voice Interactive Network). Unemployed workers are as-
signed a calling day and time. An unemployed worker who misses
calling at the assigned time can call in at any time between 8:00
a.m. and 7:00 p.m. on Thursday or Friday of the same week, without
penalty. Times are Eastern zone. The telephone number for calling
MARVIN is 1-866-638-3993. A worker with a CWAM account can
certify by online MARVIN at http://www.michigan.gov/uia and click
on "Certify with MARVIN online," at any time Monday through Friday,
7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. (Eastern Time).

Proof at the hearing: Where the question at a hearing is
whether the claim was filed on time, or whether the unemployed
worker had good cause for filing late, the burden of proof is on the
unemployed worker to show that he or she filed on time or had good
cause for being late.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994; Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is discussed in Sections 43(g) and
46(d) of the Michigan Employment Security Act.

Generally, Section 43(g) of the law prevents an unemployed worker
from receiving any unemployment benefits based on work for the
worker’s child or spouse, and based upon work for the worker’s parent
if the worker was under age 18 at the time the work was performed.
The work is considered to be performed for one of these relatives if
the relative was the sole proprietor of the business (that is, the sole
owner of a business that was not incorporated). The work is also
considered to be performed for these relatives if the business was a
partnership (that is, owned by several people but not a corporation)
owned entirely by two or more of the relatives mentioned above. A
single-member LLC is treated like a sole proprietorship. Otherwise,
an LLC is treated like a partnership.

The law no longer limits to 7 weeks the payment of benefits to family
members of family corporations.

Example 1: The unemployed worker works for his wife, who is the
sole owner of a business that is not incorporated. The unemployed
worker cannot be paid unemployment benefits based on services
performed for his wife’s unincorporated business.

Example 2: The unemployed worker works for his parents who are
the two partners in a partnership. While working for this partnership the
unemployed worker turned age 18. Since the partnership was owned
entirely by the unemployed worker’s parents, he could notdraw benefits
based on wages for that service until he turned age 18. The week
after the week in which the unemployed worker turned 18, he could
start accruing qualifying wages based on service for that partnership.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Payment of Benefits
to Unemployed

Workers Who Worked
for Family Member

Proof at the Hearing: If the question at the hearing is whether the
unemployed worker is entitled to any benefits, or to limited benefits,
the burden of proof is on the unemployed worker to show that the
unemployed worker is not related to the owners or shareholders of the
employer, or that the unemployed worker and employer notified the
UIA of the relationship, or that the unemployed worker was over age
18 at the time the services were performed, if the unemployed worker
was the child of the owner(s) or shareholder(s).

For Further Help: The UIAAdvocacy Program can provide further
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

Form UIA 1982-AA

It does not have the force or effect of law or regulation.
© 2014, State of Michigan, Unemployment Insurance Agency



Preservation of
Unused Benefit
Entitlement

What the law says: This issue is discussed in Section 28a of
the Michigan Employment Security Act. Generally, this provision al-
lows a worker who is not able to work and is therefore not entitled to
collect unemployment benefits, to keep unused base period wages
available for use when the worker is again able to work but remains
unemployed.

Generally, in order for a worker to be entitied to unemployment
benefits, the worker must have worked and had earnings in at
least 2 calendar quarters during the first 4 of the last 5 completed
calendar quarters, prior to filing a new claim. In the quarter with the
highest wages during that period, the worker must have been paid at
least $2,871, and during the entire 4 quarters must have been paid
at least 1.5 times the amount earned in the quarter with the highest
wages.

A worker is not entitled to unemployment benefits, though, if the
worker is not able to work, available for work, seeking work, and
satisfying certain other weekly eligibility requirements. If a worker
becomes disabled, the worker generally cannot collect unemploy-
ment benefits. By allowing a disabled worker to “preserve” unused
base period wages, the wages can be used at a later time to qualify
for benefits when the worker is again able to work but remains un-
employed. This allows the worker to use those wages even though
they no longer fall within the base period at the time the claim is
filed.

To preserve unused benefit entitlement, the worker must be
disabled as a result of an illness, injury, or hospitalization, and the
disability must have lasted for at least 14 consecutive days. Also,
the worker must request preservation of unused benefit entitlement,
and present a doctor’s statement, within 90 days after the latest of
the following dates: (1) date the disability began; (2) date a medical
inability to file the request ended; (3) date the worker was informed
by the UIA of the right to file for preservation of unused benefit
entitlement.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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However, in any event the worker must make the request within 3
years after the disability began.

The doctor’s statement must describe the disability, must indicate
that the individual is not able to work or available for work while dis-
abled, and must estimate how long the disability is expected to last .

In a case where a claim is already in existence, preserved
unused benefit entitlement may not be used to pay benefits more
than 156 weeks (3 years) after the week the claim began. Also, the
worker cannot use preserved unused benefit entitlement to set up a
claim if the worker has enough base period wages to set up a claim
without using preserved unused benefit entitlement. Preserved
unused benefit entitlement can be used to extend a claim already in
existence by the number of weeks the worker was disabled during
the claim, up to 52 weeks.

When a claim is not already in existence, preserved unused
benefit entitlement can be used to set up a new claim if the worker
did not have enough other (non-preserved) base period wages to
set up a claim in the usual way.

Example 1: An individual who was collecting unemployment
benefits became ill and was hospitalized. Her benefit claim period
(that is, her 52-week benefit year) ran out after she had been in the
hospital for 8 weeks. After the hospitalization, the worker was again
able to work and was ready to resume drawing unemployment ben-
efits. She did not have enough unused base period wages to set up
a new claim, so the unemployed worker was notified by UIA of her
right to request “preservation” of unused benefit entitlement from
her old claim. She made the request right away and also presented
a correctly completed doctor’s statement right away. Her old claim
period was extended by 8 weeks (the number of weeks of disability
that fell in her old benefit year), to allow the worker to draw out the
benefits she lost while she was hospitalized. In this example, pre-
served unused benefit entitlement was used to extend a benefit
claim that was already in existence.
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Example 2: Another worker was in the hospital for 3 months,
and then spent 6 months at home recovering. During that time, the
worker was laid off from his job for lack of work. When he recov-
ered, he did not have enough unused wages in the base period to
set up a new claim for benefits. The worker was informed by UIA of
his right to preserve unused benefit entitlement, and he made that
request right away. He also provided a correctly completed doctor’s
statement. Since the unemployed worker could not otherwise set up
a claim, the claim was established effective the week the disability
began, using the unused wages in the base period of the claim. (If
necessary, the benefit year will be extended from the end of the
period of disability, by the number of weeks of the disability that
fell within the benefit year.) In this example, preserved unused
benefit entitlement was used to set up a new claim because the
worker did not otherwise have enough base period wages to do
so.

Example 3: Another worker had 22 weeks of benefits remaining
on an existing claim when she became ill. She remained ill during
the remaining 48 weeks of the benefit year, and for the 2 years (104
weeks) after that. Her total period of illness was 152 weeks. When
she recovered, the worker requested, on time, to preserve unused
benefit entitlement. She also presented, on time, a correctly com-
pleted doctor’s statement.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Normally, her original claim period (that is, her benefit year)
would be extended by 48 weeks (the number of weeks of disability
during the original claim period) after the week the disability ended.
However, the law says that the original claim period cannot be
extended more than 156 weeks from the week it began. That leaves
this unemployed worker with only 4 weeks of benefits before her
156-week period expires, rather than the 22 weeks of benefits she
was originally entitled to.

Proof at the hearing: The burden of proof is on the worker to
show that he or she was injured, ill, or hospitalized for at least 14
consecutive days, and to show that the request to preserve unused
base period entitlement was made in time.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is discussed in Section 27(0) of
the Michigan Employment Security Act.

Generally, Section 27(0) provides for a denial of unemployment
benefits, under certain circumstances, to seasonal workers who
have reasonable assurance from their seasonal employer at the end
of a seasonal work period that they will be rehired when the new
season begins.

Responsibilities of the Employer

« Apply to the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA), not less
than 20 days before the estimated beginning of a season, to be
designated as a seasonal employer

+ Receive designation from the UIA as a seasonal employer
+ Post notice to workers, at the time of application, that application
for seasonal designation has been made

+ Post notice to workers, once seasonal designation has been
granted, of:

— the designation, and

— the beginning and ending dates of the normal seasonal work
period, and

— the fact that retroactive benefits may be payable to a worker
for the period between seasons if the work assured for the
next season does not materialize and if the worker timely
applies for the benefits

+ Notify a worker in writing, at the time of hire, of the employee’s
status as a seasonal worker, and notify the worker in writing of any
subsequent changes in that status

+ Give reasonable assurance to the worker at the end of the season
that work will be available in the next season.

Designation as a Seasonal Employer

To be designated by the UIA as a seasonal employer, the em-
ployer must offer work in seasonal employment.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Denial Periods for

Seasonal Workers
(Other than Construction
Workers)

To be seasonal employment, the employer must employ individu-
als primarily hired to work during regularly recurring periods of 26
weeks or less within any 52-week period. However, an employer in
the construction industry may not receive designation as a season-
able employer.

Application of Denial Period

A seasonal worker is one who is paid wages by a seasonal
employer for work performed only during the normal seasonal work
period. The Agency will determine each employer’s normal seasonal
work period. The benefits are denied during the period between nor-
mal seasonal work periods if the worker has reasonable assurance
of re-employment.

If a worker either begins working before the start of an em-
ployer’s normal seasonal work period, or finishes working after the
end of that employer’s normal seasonal work period, the worker no
longer satisfies the definition of seasonal worker and would not be
subject to the seasonal denial period for that year.

Example: The UIA has determined that the employer’s normal
seasonal work period lasts from May 12 until August 28. The unem-
ployed worker works from May 5 until August 20 in a particular year
and is given reasonable assurance of returning to the job the next
season.

However, a seasonal worker is one who is paid wages by a sea-
sonal employer for work performed only during the normal seasonal
work period. Since the unemployed worker in this example started
working before the start of the employer’s normal seasonal work pe-
riod, the worker no longer satisfies the definition of seasonal worker
and would not be subject to the seasonal denial period for that year.

Proof at the Hearing: If the UIA determines that the employer
is not a seasonal employer, the employer can appeal a redeter-
mination of that finding to an Administrative Law Judge. If the UIA
decides that the employer is a seasonal employer, the unemployed
worker can appeal that designation at any time to an Administrative
Law Judge.
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If the unemployed worker was denied benefits but should not
have been because the unemployed worker began work before the
start of the employer’s normal seasonal work period or finished work
after the end of the employer’s normal seasonal work period, the
unemployed worker can appeal the denial. The unemployed worker
can also appeal the denial of benefits if the unemployed worker did
not receive reasonable assurance of returning at the start of the
following season, or if the unemployed worker believes the reason-
able assurance that was given was not bona fide. The employer can
refute the claimant’s allegations, at the hearing.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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What the law says: This matter is covered by Section 29(1)(m)
of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says that an
individual will be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits
if the individual was fired from the job for illegally using or possess-
ing a drug ("controlled substance") at the workplace; for refusing to
take a drug test; or for failing a drug test.

For the disqualification to be imposed, the drug test must be given
in a non-discriminatory way. To be given in a "non-discriminatory"
way, the test must be given impartially and objectively in accordance
with a collective bargaining agreement; employer rule, policy, or no-
tice; or a labor-management contract. For example, a drug test may
be required after a worker has had an accident at work, or it may be
given to workers selected randomly.

Further, a worker who disagrees with the test result and expresses
that disagreement to the employer must be given a confirmatory test
on the same sample that also gives a positive result.

A worker who is disqualified from receiving benefits under this
provision can requalify for benefits by doing either one, or a combi-
nation of both, of the following for 26 weeks:

+ Certify to the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) that he or
she has met all of the requirements to receive a benefit payment
(such as being able to work, available for work, and seeking
work); and

+ Earn at least $220.00.

However, even after the 26-week requalification period has been
satisfied, the unemployed worker's original benefit entitlement is
reduced by 13 weeks, and no benefits can be paid to the individual
based on work with the employer involved in the firing due to the
involvement with drugs. Benefits can be paid based only on work
with other employers not involved in a drug disqualification (or a
disqualification for theft, willful destruction of property, assault and
battery, or theft after notice of layoff or discharge).

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Disqualification
for Discharge
Involving Drugs

Examples: The employer asks a worker to take a drug test after
the worker has an accident at the worksite. The worker refused and
is fired. This worker would be disqualified from receiving unemploy-
ment benefits, as the basis for giving the worker the test was the
accident, and this is a non-discriminatory basis upon which to test
the employee.

If a worker is fired for testing positive for a drug ("controlled sub-
stance") for which the worker has a valid prescription and which the
worker is using in a medically approved amount, the worker would
not be disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits, because
the controlled substance would not have been used or possessed
illegally.

Proof at the Hearing: If either the employer or unemployed
worker appeals the case to an Administrative Law Judge, then the
employer must prove that the worker used or possessed a drug
("controlled substance") illegally, or that the worker refused or failed
a drug test that was administered in a non-discriminatory way.

Areport by a drug testing facility showing a positive result is con-
clusive proof at the hearing of the result, unless there is substantial
evidence presented at the hearing to the contrary. If there is such
contrary evidence, though, the Administrative Law Judge may
request testimony of the drug-testing laboratory as to the results of
the test, the testing method used, and the "chain of custody" of the
sample tested.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide as-
sistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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What the law says: This issue is covered by Sections 20,
32(b), and 29(1) of the Michigan Employment Security Act, and by
Administrative Rule 205. The law says that when a new claim is
filed, the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) must notify the
unemployed worker’s last employer, and each of the employers in
the base period of the claim, about potential charges to the employ-
ers’ accounts.

The UIA mails out Form UIA 1575-WR, “Monetary Determina-
tion,” showing the wages employers reported for the unemployed
worker, the unemployed worker’s weekly benefit amount, the
number of weeks of benefits payable to the unemployed worker, the
maximum possible charge to each employer, and the reason the
unemployed worker gave for the separation from employment.

Form UIA 1575-WR, “Monetary Determination”

In some cases, the employer will disagree with the reason given
for the separation, as reported by the claimant and shown on the
Form. In that case, the employer should provide the reason they
believe was the accurate one.

If the Form shows that the individual reported a “Quit” from the
employer, the quit will be presumed to have been disqualifying
and the employer’s account will automatically be “non-charged” for
any benefits paid to the claimant. If the reason shown is “Fired,”
and the UIA has not sent the employer specific questions about
the firing, the employer should advise the Agency, in writing, of the
circumstances. If the circumstances of the firing would result in a
disqualification of the worker, the UIA will issue a “Redetermination
of Charges” and the employer’s account will not be charged for any
benefits otherwise payable to the claimant. Benefits may become
payable to a claimant, even if the circumstances were disqualify-
ing, if the claimant is able to requalify by “rework.” If a claimant
requalifies for benefits, the benefits become payable even if the
separation was disqualifying. The employer’s interest in responding
to a request for information from the UIA, or in providing informa-
tion in the absence of a request, is not to prevent the payment of
benefits, but rather to prevent those benefits from being charged to
the employer’s account.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

How UIA Charges an
Employer’s Account
For Benefits

If the employer notices a discrepancy in the wages shown, or in
the reason for separation, and the employer believes the unem-
ployed worker’s reason for separation would prevent the charging
of benefits to the employer, then the UIA must receive corrected
information from the employer, in writing, within 10 days from the
date the UIA mailed the form to the employer (or within 30 days if
the separation reason was "quit").

If the employer does not provide corrected information within
that 10-day (or 30-day for "quit") period, benefits will be paid on the
basis of the information the UIA has on file. If benefits later need
to be reduced or repaid by the unemployed worker, the employer’s
account will be credited only as to payments due for the week the
corrected information is received by the UIA, and weeks thereafter.

The Form UIA 1575-WR is the only determination Form that will
be sent to the employer and unemployed worker if the unemployed
worker has already requalified for benefits and if the employer
agrees with the wage information and charges to its account.

Form UIA 1955, “Redetermination of Charges”

If the employer responds in writing to Form UIA 1575-WR and
requests (with supporting reasons) that charges not be made to its
account, the UIA will consider whether the reason for the claimant's
separation was disqualifying. The employer’s account will not be
charged if the separation reason was disqualifying, even though the
unemployed worker may have already requalified for benefits and is
being paid. Form UIA 1955 will notify the employer whether the UIA
will be charging the employer’s account. This will often be the Re-
determination the employer appeals to an Administrative Law Judge.

Form UIA 1707, “Request for Information Relative to Possible
Ineligibility or Disqualification;” Form UIA 1713, "Fact-Finding
Form;" Form UIA 1302, “Nonmonetary Determination”

If the unemployed worker has not already requalified for benefits
at the time the claim is filed, then the employer will also be sent
Form UIA 1713 or Form UIA 1707. These forms ask for details
about the claimant’s separation from employment. The employer’s
answers to these questions, along with the unemployed worker’s
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statement, will be considered in determining whether the unem-
ployed worker will be disqualified from receiving benefits. The UIA
will issue Form UIA 1302, “Nonmonetary Determination,” indicating
whether the unemployed worker will be disqualified from benefits.

To prevent potential charges to its account the employer
should:

+ Carefully review Form UIA 1575E-WR and look to see if the wage
and separation information shown on the Form is correct. If the
information is incorrect, the employer has 10 days to send a
protest to the UIA (30 days for a quit).

+ Provide the correct information along with supporting facts and
documents explaining the reason the employer believes the claim-
ant should be disqualified for benefits. Or the employer should
request to be non-charged if they are a base period employer and
the claimant has met the requalification requirement.

+ Respond to the UIA’s request for information about the separa-
tion. The UIA will mail Form UIA 1713 or Form UIA 1707 to the
employer if the Agency knows that the reason for separation was
a “benefit reducing” reason such as theft, theft after discharge,
willful destruction of property, assault and battery, or discharge
for drugs. If Form UIA 1713 or Form UIA 1707 is not sent to the
employer, and the separation reason shown is something other
than "quit," the employer should provide, within 10 days, written
information about the separation in response to Form UIA 1575-
WR.

Notify the UIA if they know that an unemployed worker left his/

her job with the employer to take a full time permanent job with

another liable Michigan employer and performed work for the new

employer, or accepted recall or referral through a union hiring hall.

+ Notify the UIA if the unemployed worker was a part-time employee
and quit, but continued to work for another employer.

+ Notify the UIA if the unemployed worker is the spouse of an active
duty military person and quit to move with the military spouse to a
new geographic location assigned by the military.

+ Notify the UIA if the worker quit after a work period of not more

than 60 days.

How employers will be charged for benefits

If any employer paid a worker $200 or less in the base period
of the claim, that employer's account will not be charged for any
benefits on that claim.

Last Employer
If the wages paid by the unemployed worker’s last employer
before the unemployed worker filed a new claim equaled at least

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

40 times the state minimum hourly wage times 7 ($2072), then the
entire benefit payment for each of the first 2 weeks of the claim will
be charged to the unemployed worker’s last employer.

If the last employer did not pay the unemployed worker at least
$2,072, then each week of benefits, beginning with the first week,
will be charged, proportionately, to all base period employers. The
separating employer may or may not be a base period employer.

Base Period Employer(s)

The base period employers are charged their proportionate share
of the unemployed worker’s weekly benefit payments beginning with
week 3 of benefits (assuming the last employer was charged for the
first 2 weeks of benefits).

The proportionate charging of benefits is calculated by determin-
ing the percentage of the unemployed worker’s total base period
wages that were paid by each base period employer. That same
percentage is then applied to the unemployed worker’s weekly
benefit amount to determine the amount of each week’s benefits that
are charged to the account of each base period employer.

Example:

The unemployed worker has a weekly benefit amount of $118.00,
and is entitled to 16 weeks of benefits. The first 2 weeks will be
charged to the last employer. The unemployed worker received
wages in each of the quarters of the base period as follows:

Charges to Base Period Employers:

QTR1 | QTR2 | QTR3 | QTR 4 | QTR5 | QTR 6

A=$350 | A=$500 | A=$250 | D=$500 D=$2,100

B=$150 | B=§900 | B=$250 LAG FILING
C-$1500

There are 4 different base period employers in the base period
shown above. Total wages paid in the base period are $4,400.
Of that amount, each base period employer paid the unemployed
worker the following amounts in the base period:

Employer A paid a total of $1,100

($350, $500, and $250 in quarters 1, 2, and 3, respectively)

Employer B paid a total of $1.300

($150, $900, and $250 in quarters 1, 2, and 3, respectively)

Employer C paid a total of $1,500

(in quarter 2)

Employer D paid a total of $500

(in quarter 4)
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Each base period employer’s proportionate share of total wages
paid to the unemployed worker in the base period is as follows:

Employer A = $1,100 + $4,400 = .25 = 25%

Employer B = $1,300 + $4,400 = .2954.54 = 29.5454%, trun-
cated to 29.545%, rounded to 29.55%

Employer C = $1,500 + $4,400 = .340909 = 34.0909%, trun-
cated to 34.090%, rounded to 34.09%

Employer D = $500 + $4,400 = .113636 = 11.3636%, truncated
to 11.363%, rounded to 11.36%

These percentages represent each employer’s proportion-
ate share of the unemployed worker’s base period wages. If the
percentages do not total 100%, then the amount needed to bring the
total to 100% will be added to the percentage share of the employer
with the largest pro rata share of the benefit charge.

These are the same percentages that are multiplied against the
unemployed worker’s weekly benefit amount to determine each
employer’s share of the charge for the unemployed worker’s weekly
benefit payment. In this example, the unemployed worker has a
weekly benefit amount of $118.00, and was entitled to benefits for
18 weeks.

Employer A’s account will be charged 25% of the weekly
benefit charges.

25 x $118 = $29.50

Employer B’s account will be charged 29.55% of the weekly
benefit charges.

2955 x $118 = $34.87

Employer C’s account will be charged 34.09% of the weekly
benefit charges.

.3409 x $118 = $40.23

Employer D’s account will be charged 11.36% of the weekly
benefit charges.

1136 x $118 = $13.40

If, after rounding, the benefit charges do not total the unem-
ployed worker’s weekly benefit amount, the difference will be added
to the charge of the employer with the largest charge.

The maximum possible liability each base period employer will
have on this claim is as follows:

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.

Employer A: $29.50 for 16 weeks = $472.00

Employer B:  $34.87 for 16 weeks = $557.92
Employer C:  $40.23 for 16 weeks = $643.68
Employer D:  $13.40 for 16 weeks = $214.40

Total Charges to Last Employer’s Account:

Since Employer D was both a base period employer and the
last employer, and Employer D paid wages greater than $2,072,
Employer D will also be charged 100% of the first two weeks of
benefits. 100% x $118 = $118, for 2 weeks = $236.00.

Therefore, the potential charge to the account of Employer D is
$214.40 (proportionate share of base period wages) plus $236.00
(100% of first 2 weeks of benefits), for a grand total of $450.40.

Proof at the Hearing: If the subject of the hearing, as described
in the “Notice of Hearing,” is the amount and duration of benefits as
described in the “Monetary Determination” (Form UIA 1575-WR),
then either the unemployed worker or the employer can disagree
with the UIA's calculation, or with the wages that formed the basis of
the UIA's calculation.

If the subject of the hearing is whether the employer’s ac-
count should be charged, as described in the “Redetermination of
Charges” (Form UIA 1955), then the employer will have the burden
of proving that the circumstances of the claimant’s separation from
employment were disqualifying (even if the unemployed worker has
requalified for benefits and started receiving them).

If the subject of the hearing is whether the unemployed worker
is entitled to benefits, as described in the “Non-Monetary Deter-
mination” (Form UIA 1302), then the employer has the burden of
showing that the separation was disqualifying (for example, that the
discharge was for misconduct or the quit was without good cause
attributable to the employer) and the benefits are not payable. The
unemployed worker has the burden of showing that the separation
was not disqualifying and benefits should be payable (for example,
that the discharge was not for misconduct or the quit was with good
cause attributable to the employer).

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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Coverage of Workers
Performing Domestic
(Household) Services

What the law says: This matter is covered by Sections 43(e)
and 41(6) of the Michigan Employment Security Act. The law says
that services performed by domestic (household) employees are
excluded from coverage for unemployment benefits unless the
employer had paid, for domestic services, at least $1,000 in any
calendar quarter in the current or previous calendar year.

Domestic services include services performed in a private home
and those performed for a local college club or local chapter of a
college fraternity or sorority not operated for profit. Examples of
domestic services would include cooking, cleaning, nursing, babysit-
ting and home child care, gardening, and other similar domestic
services.

Upon request to, and approval by, the UIA, a domestic employer
may pay the unemployment tax annually, rather than quarterly, but
the quarterly reports are still required.

Although an individual may own a business as a sole proprietor
and be liable as an employer with respect to that business, he/she
would not be liable as a "domestic employer" until he/she has paid
at least $1,000 in a calendar quarter for domestic services.

Example 1: Mary Jones employs a babysitter to take care of
her small children after school for a few hours a day. Typically she
employs the babysitter for 15 hours a week, at an hourly rate of
$5.00, for a total of $975.00 in a calendar quarter. Mary decides to
give the babysitter a dollar an hour increase, in keeping with the
rates for babysitters in the area. At $6.00 per hour, the babysitter's
quarterly wages become $1,170 a calendar quarter. At that point,
Mary must register with the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA)
as a domestic employer, and must begin filing quarterly wage and
tax reports and paying contributions retroactive to the beginning of
the year.

Example 2: John Smith runs a tool and die shop as a sole
proprietor. He is a liable employer and pays state and federal unem-
ployment taxes with regard to his employees in that business.

The information on this sheet is intended to provide a general understanding of the subject matter.
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John's elderly Mother comes to live with him and he pays a visit-
ing nurse to come in once a day to bathe her. He pays her $15.00
per visit, for 5 visits a week. Eventually John finds it necessary to
employ an additional visiting nurse for weekends, paying that ad-
ditional nurse $15.00 per visit as well.

With the additional domestic service, John's payments for do-
mestic services exceed $1,000 in a calendar quarter, and John must
register with the Unemployment Insurance Agency as a domestic
employer and must begin filing quarterly wage and tax reports on
those services, and paying contributions on those services for the
entire year in which liability was incurred.

Example 3: After years of enduring bad food they prepared
themselves, the brothers of the local college chapter of the Alpha
Phi Omega Fraternity engaged the services of a professional cook.
The fraternity chapter paid the cook for 4 hours of work per weekday
at an hourly rate of $10.00. The duties of the cook involved shop-
ping for and preparing the dinner meal, serving the dinner, and
cleaning up the kitchen after the meal. The cook's quarterly wages
were $2,600, more than enough to require the local chapter of the
fraternity to become a liable domestic employer under the Michigan
Employment Security Act.

Proof at the Hearing: If the question at the hearing is whether
the unemployed worker is entitled to unemployment benefits, the
key questions will be (1) whether the unemployed worker performed
domestic services for the employer, and (2) whether the employer
has paid the threshold amount for domestic services alone in any
calendar quarter in the current or preceding calendar year.

For Further Help: The UIA Advocacy Program can provide
assistance to employers and/or unemployed workers in preparing for
an Administrative Law Judge hearing. Call 1-800-638-3994, Item 2.
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EXECUTIVE ORDER
No. 1094-2
[ E.R.O. No. 1994-2]

MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT SECURITY COMMISSION
MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT SECURITY ADVISORY COUNCIL
EXECUTIVE REORGANIZATION

WHEREAS, Article V, Section 2, of the Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1963 empowers the Gov-
ernor to make changesin the organization of the Executive Branch or in the assignment of functions among its units
which he considers necessary for efficient administration; and

WHEREAS, the Michigan Employment Security Commission was created by Act No. 1 of the Public Acts
of 1936 (Ex. Sess.), being Section 421.1 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws; and

WHEREAS, the Michigan Employment Security Advisory Council was aso created by Act No. 1 of the
Public Acts of 1936 (Ex. Sess.), being Section 421.1 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws; and

WHEREAS, the functions, duties and responsibilities assigned to the Michigan Employment Security
Commission can, with certain exceptions, be more effectively organized and carried out under the supervision and
direction of the Director of Employment Security; and

WHEREAS, the functions, duties and responsibilities assigned to the Michigan Employment Security Ad-
visory Council can be more effectively organized and carried out under the supervision and direction of the Director
of Employment Security; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary in the interests of efficient administration and effectiveness of government to
effect changes in the organization of the Executive Branch of government.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, John Engler, Governor of the State of Michigan, pursuant to the powers vested in
me by the Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1963 and the laws of the State of Michigan, do hereby order the
following:

1. All the statutory authority, powers, duties, functions and responsibilities, including the functions of
budgeting, procurement and management-related functions of the Michigan Employment Security Commission,
created under Section 3 of Act No. 1 of the Public Acts of 1936 (Ex. Sess.), being Section 421.3 of the Michigan
Compiled Laws, are hereby transferred, except as set out below, to the Director of Employment Security by a Type
III transfer as defined by Section 3 of Act No. 380 of the Public Acts of 1965, as amended, being Section 16.103 of
the Michigan Compiled Laws, and the Michigan Employment Security Commission is hereby abolished; provided,
however, that the authority, powers, duties, functions and responsibilities set out below are transferred as follows:



(@) PursuanttoArticleV, Section 2, of the Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1963, the power
to appoint the Director of Employment Security contained in Section 5 of Act No. 1 of the Public
Acts of 1936 (Ex. Sess.) being Section 521.5 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, is hereby vested in
the Governor.

(b) All budgeting and management-rel ated matters shall be reviewabl e by the Department of Man-
agement and Budget and subject to the Management and Budget Act, Act No. 431 of the Public Acts
of 1984, as amended, being Section 18.1101 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws, including,
without limitation, the following:

(1) The planning, establishment and maintenance of automated, information pro-
cessing systems and the design, implementation and maintenance of effective and
efficient support systems.

(2) The acquisition, construction, improvement or demolition of facilities and the
rental and |lease of facilities subject to the provisions of Section 223 of Act No. 431 of
the Public Acts of 1984, being Section 18.1223 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.

(3) The purchase of or the contracting for providing supplies, materials, services,
insurance, utilities, third-party financing, equipment, printing and other items.

(c) All matters subject to the provisions of Act No. 2 of the Public Acts of 1921, asamended, being
Section 17.1 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws, shall be carried out pursuant to the general
supervisory control of the State Administrative Board in accordance with the rules and procedures
of the State Administrative Board.

2. All the statutory authority, powers, duties, functions and responsibilities of the Michigan Employment
Security Advisory Council, created under Section 3aof Act No. 1 of the Public Acts of 1936 (Ex. Sess.), asamended,
being Section 421.3aof the Michigan Compiled Laws, are hereby transferred to the Director of Employment Security
by a Type IlII transfer as defined by Section 3 of Act No. 380 of the Public Acts of 1965, as amended, being Sec-
tion 16.103 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, and the Michigan Employment Security Advisory Council is hereby
abolished.

3. The Director of Employment Security shall provide executive direction and supervision for the imple-
mentation of the transfers. The assigned functions shall be administered under the direction and supervision of the
Director of Employment Security and all prescribed functions of rule making, licensing and registration, including
the prescription of rules, regulations, standards and adjudications, shall betransferred to the Director of Employment
Security.

4. All records, personnel, property and unexpended balances of appropriations, allocations and other funds
used, held, employed, available or to be made available to the Michigan Employment Security Commission and
the Michigan Employment Security Advisory Council for the activities transferred to the Director of Employment
Security by this Order are hereby transferred to the Director of Employment Security.



5. The Director of Employment Security shall make internal organizational changes as may be administra-
tively necessary to complete the realignment of responsibilities prescribed by this Order.

6. The Director of Employment Security shall immediately initiate coordination to facilitate the transfer
and develop a memorandum of record identifying any pending settlements, issues of compliance with applicable
federal and State laws and regulations or other obligations to be resolved by the 