Youth Employment Standards Act

Jennifer Fields, Division Manager
Jill Hookey, Regional Manager
Randall Harrison, Senior Investigator

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR & ECONOMIC
MICHIGAN'S WAGE & HOUR LAWS | May 26, 2021 \ OPPORTUNITY
22\




Wage & Hour Division

Currently 28 people in the Department of Labor
and Economic Opportunity (LEO) who administer 6
Michigan statutes:

Public Act 90: Youth Employment Standards

Public Act 390: Payment of Wages & Fringe
Benefits

Public Act 337: Improved Workforce
Opportunity Wage (Min. Wage & Overtime)

Public Act 338: Paid Medical Leave
Public Act 62: Human Trafficking Notification

Public Act 166: Prevailing Wages on State
Projects

Mission

To provide public service
through the fair, effective, and
efficient administration of laws
that protect the wages and
fringe benefits of Michigan
workers including paid medical
leave, provide for the safe and
legal employment of minors,
and require posting of notices
related to human trafficking,
youth employment, paid
medical leave, and minimum
wage.



Youth Employment Standards

Public Act 90




PUBLIC ACT 90

The Youth Employment Standards Act

« Covers all Michigan employers who employ
minors, people under 18 years old, along with
the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) on federally
covered businesses (stricter standard applies)

» Sets work permit requirements

* Prohibits employment in hazardous or
injurious occupations

» Regulates hours of employment
* Requires meal and rest periods

 Mandates adult supervision

« Contains posting requirement



PUBLIC ACT 90

Recent Amendments

- Effective March 24, 2021

* Removed the requirement that a youth work
permit application be made in-person by the
minor.

« Minors may contact any local school/
superintendent office to get a work permit
signed by an issuing officer.

"Issuing officer" means the chief
administrator of a school district,
intermediate school district, public school
academy, or nonpublic school, or a person
authorized by that chief administrator in
writing to act on their behalf.



PUBLIC ACT 90

Recent Amendments

« Effective March 24, 2021

* Removed the requirement that work permits
for minors under 16 years of age be on pink
paper and work permits for minors 16 and 17
years of age be on yellow paper.

* Requires a youth work permit issued to a minor
child under 16 years old indicate clearly on the
permit the minor is under 16 years old.

* Work permit for minors under the age of 16
years has been updated to print in
landscape orientation.

» Work permit for minors age 16 and 17 years old
remains in portrait orientation.

State of Michigan

Combined Offer of Employment and Work Permit/Age Certificate

Permit Number for School Use
(optional)

CA-6 for minors UNDER 16 years of age

Employer Information:

+The employer must have a completed work permit form on fle before a minor begins work.

+The employer must always provide competent adult supervision.

+The employer of the minor must comply with federal, state, and local laws and regulations including nondiscrimination against any applicant or employee because of race, color,
religion, national origin or ancestry, age, gender, height, weight, marital status, or disabiliy.

+The employer must retur the work permit to the issuing officer upon termination of the minor's employment.

Directions: Please type or print using an ink pen. See back of this form for summary of requirements.

Section I: To be Completed by Minor Applicant

Name of Minor: Address: City: ZIP:

Age: Date of Birth Month/Day/Year: | Last Four Digits of Social Contact Telephone Number for Minor: | Application Submitted Electronically: [ ] Yes [ JNo
Security Number: If yes, provide email to retur approved form:

Name of School (present or last attended).

‘ Address: City: ZIP:

Last Grade Completed:

School Status (check one): [ ]in school [ ]home schooled [ ] irtual [ ] Not Attending

Type of Business (ie. fast food, retal sales):

Name of ParentGuardian (circle one):

Parent/Guardian Telephone: Parent/Guardian Email Address (optional):

Section ll: To be by the Employer - Offer of
Name of Business: Address: Ciy: ZP:
Earliest Starting Time am./p.m: | Latest Ending Time a.m./p.m.: | Hours per Day: | Number of Days per Week: | Total Hours of Employment per Week

Not more than 6 days

Signature of Employer:
)

Section Ill: To be Completed by School’s I«

This s to certify that:
(1) this form was properly completed,
(2) listed job duties are compliant with state a
(3) listed hours are compliant with state and f
(4) this form was signed by employer,
(5) I authorize the issuance of this work perm

Applicant's Job Title: Hourly Wage: | Job Duties/Tasks to be Performed by Minor:

Equipment/Tools to be Used by Minor:

State of Michigan Permit Number for School Use
Combined Offer of Empl t and Work Permit/Age Certificate (optional)
CA-7 for minors 16 and 17 years of age

Employer Information:
« The employer must have a completed work permit form on file before a minor begins work.
+  The employer must always provide competent adult supervision.
«  The employer of the minor must comply with federal, state, and local laws and regulations including nondiscrimination against any applicant
or employee because of race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, age, gender, height, weight, marital status, or disabiliy.
«  The employer must retum the work permit to the issuing officer upon termination of the minor's employment.

Directions: Please type or print using an ink pen. See back of this form for summary of requirements.
Section I: To be Completed by Minor Applicant

Name of Minor: Address: City: zIP:

Age: Date of Birth Last Four Digits of Contact Telephone Number for | Application Submitted Electronically: [ ] Yes [ JNo
Month/Day/Year: Social Security Number:| Minor: If yes, provide email address to return approved form:

Name of School (present or last attended): | Address: Cy: | zIP:

Last Grade Completed: Type of Business (eg., fast food, retall sales):

School Status (check one): [ ]in school [ ] home schooled [ ] online/cyberfvirtual [ ] Not Attending

Name of Parent/Guardian (circle one): Parent/Guardian Telephone: Parent/Guardian Email Address (optional):

Section Il: To be by the Employer - Offer of

Name of Business: Address: City: ZIP:

Earliest Starting Time a.m./p.m.. | Latest Ending Time a.m./p.m. | Hours per Day: | Number of Days per Week: | Total Hours of Employment per
Week:

Not more than 6 per week | No more than 24 hours when school is
in session and 48 hours when school is

not in session
‘Applicant's Job Title: Hourly Wage: Job Duties/Tasks to be Performed by Minor: Equipment/Tools to be Used by Minor:

Will the minor be working under an existing hours deviation granted by the Michigan Wage and Hour Division? [ ]No [ ]Yes
If yes, attach a copy of the approved Michigan hours deviation and retain parent/guardian consent at the worksite.

Signature of Employer: Title: Telephone: Date:
x)

Section lll: To be Completed by School’s Issuing Officer — Must be Signed by the Issuing Officer to be Valid

Number of Work Hours
Per Week When School
is in Session:

This is to certify that: Evidence of Age Confirmed by (issuing officer checks one):
(1) this form was properly completed,
(2) listed job i+~ “mnti=ot with state and fed~ < an-*




PUBLIC ACT 90

Minimum Age and Work Permits

* Permit valid if continuously employed; new

* Minimum age for employment is 14 with issuance if break in service or age changes
few exceptions: to 16.
* 11 to 13 may work as referees or * Permit should be returned to school when
umpires, golf caddies, and bridge employment terminates.
caddies. _
» Permit may be refused, suspended, or
* 13 may set traps for shooting events. revoked by issuing officer if:
* All non-exempt minors require a work « Minor’'s employment is in violation of
permit on file at the work location. federal or state law.
« A work permit is employer specific. » Poor school performance due to

attendance issues.



PUBLIC ACT 90

Adult Supervision

* Minors may not be employed without adult
supervision.

* Adult supervisor must ensure immediate assistance
is available in case of emergency.

« Special penalties apply for employing minors without
adult supervision when the occupation involves cash
transactions after 8:00 pm or sunset.




PUBLIC ACT 90

Alcoholic Beverage Restrictions

N«

Minors may not work in an establishment where
alcohol sales are 50% or more of total sales.

If the sale of food or other goods constitutes 50%
or more of the total sales, the establishment may
employ minors.

14 and 15 years may not work in, or about, or in
connection with that part of the establishment
where alcohol is consumed or sold for
consumption on the premises.

Minors may not sell or serve alcohol under
Liquor Control Commission regulations.



PUBLIC ACT 90

Hazardous Occupations

« A minor may not be employed in any hazardous or injurious occupation that include, but are not limited to:

« Contact with hazardous substances, chemicals, explosives, or radioactive substances
« Driving and working as an outside helper (pizza delivery, etc.)

« Jobs in the logging and sawmill industry

« Jobs using woodworking machinery

« Ladders and scaffolding for those less than 16 years of age

« Brazing, welding, soldering, or heat treating for those less than 16 years of age

« Work on construction sites, excavation sites, bridges, streets, or highways
 Slaughtering, butchering, cutting meat or using meat slicers, cleavers, or boning knives

« Occupations involving power driven equipment, tools, saws, or machinery (bakery machines, paper product
machines, and metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines)

« Federally covered employers are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act hazardous occupation orders listed in the
United States Department of Labor (USDOL) Child Labor Bulletin 101.



PUBLIC ACT 90

Hours of Employment

* In general, all non-exempt minors may not work more than:

* 6 days in a workweek

Minors may not  An average of 8 hours per day in 1 week
be employed * 10 hours in 1 day
during hours * 5 continuous hours without a documented 30-minute

. uninterrupted break
they are required P

to attend school,
either online or « More than 48 hours school and work combined in a

in person. workweek
« Before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.

* Federal law contains stricter standards that may need to be
followed.

* 14 to 15-year-old minors may not work:



PUBLIC ACT 90

Hours of Employment

* 16 and 17-year-old minors may not work:

 More than 24 hours in a workweek when
school is in session.

 More than 48 hours in a workweek when
school is not in session.

» Before 6 a.m. or after 10:30 p.m., Sunday
through Thursday.

- Before 6 a.m. or after 11:30 p.m. on
Fridays and Saturdays and during
periods when school is not in session
for at least 7 days.




PUBLIC ACT 90

Hours of Employment

« Agricultural processing hours for 16 and
17-year-old minors when school is not
in session:

* Written consent from parent or guardian
must be obtained

« May not work more than 11 hours in 1 day

« May not work before 5:30 a.m. or after 2 a.m.

« May not work more than 62 hours in a
workweek, not more than 48 hours
without the minor’s consent.




PUBLIC ACT 90

Hours Deviations

* Deviation is from beginning and ending time standards only
* General hours deviation:

* Allows minors to start at 5 a.m. Saturdays and Sundays when
school is in session or any day when school is not in session for at

least 7 days.
Applies to 16 * Allows minors to work until 11:30 p.m. Sunday through Thursday
and 17-year-old when school is in session.
minors only * Allows minors to work until 12:30 a.m. on Fridays and Saturdays

when school is in session or any day when school is not in session.

» Separate written parental or guardian consent must be maintained
by employer.

* An employer may apply for an individual hours deviation if starting and
ending times are needed outside of the general hours deviation



PUBLIC ACT 90

Hazardous Deviations

-.. - Hazardous Deviation:

Ma 1  Must not be a federally covered business
& VALY

ik e + Consideration given only when it is in the minor’s
i ' best interest, proper training is provided, and there is
sy protection of the minor’s health, safety, and well-being.

0
equipment
Falure fo obsene 8
inslruction Wil

Applies to 16 and 17-year-old minors only.



PUBLIC ACT 90

Performing Arts Authorizations

* Performing Arts Authorization:

* Applies to minors 15 days or older engaged in
print or other media, modeling, motion pictures,
other productions, such as television, radio, and
theatrical, or musical performances.

* Requires medical verification from a doctor for
minors under 6 years of age.

* Requires letter of recommendation from school
or teacher for school-aged children.

« All deviations are obtained through the Wage and
Hour Division and are either approved or denied.
If approved, may be revoked for noncompliance.
Denials and revocations may be appealed.




* Some of the common exemptions include, but are not limited to:
» 16-year-old minor who has graduated from high school

« 17-year-old minor who has passed the general educational
development (GED) test

* Emancipated minor

« A minor on a valid cooperative agreement or work-based
learning program when a contract is entered into between the
employer and school

« Domestic chores in connection with a private residence

* Employment in a business owned and operated by the parent or
legal guardian of the minor

« Employment of a minor at least 14 years of age at the school
where the minor is enrolled

* Farm work if the employment is not in violation of a standard
established by LEO.

« “Farm work” includes any practices performed on a farm as
PUBLIC ACT 90 7 an incident to or in conjunction with farming operations,

; ' including preparation for market and delivery to storage,
market, or carriers for transport to market.




PUBLIC ACT 90

Employer Responsibilities

* Legally employ minors
* Provide adult supervision and breaks

» Maintain a copy of the work permit or proof of exemption
and any deviation and necessary parental consents at the
minor’s worksite.

* Maintain a daily time record containing the number of hours
worked by the minor to include the starting and ending times
of shifts and 30-minute breaks.

« Post the Michigan Youth Employment Poster at the worksite

« Anyone violating Act 90 is guilty of a misdemeanor
punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or
a fine of not more than $500.00, or both (except Section
12a &14a violations which carry higher penalties).




Payment of
Wages and Fringe Benefits

Public Act 390




The Payment of Wages
& Fringe Benefits Act

Applies to most Michigan employees:

« Regulates payment of hourly, salary, piece rate,
and commission wages on a regular basis: weekly,
biweekly, semimonthly, or monthly.

« Permits payment of wages by US currency,
negotiable check, direct deposit, or payroll debit card.

» Restricts deductions from wages to those allowed by law,
court ordered garnishment, collective bargaining agreement,
or employee signed written consent.

* Allows overpayment deductions resulting from clerical errors
without written consent under certain conditions.



The Payment of Wages
& Fringe Benefits Act

« Requires fringe benefits of vacation pay, sick
pay, holiday pay, bonuses, and authorized
expenses be paid in accordance with written
contracts or written policies.

* Prohibits employers from receiving payment from
employees as condition of or for continued
employment.

* Requires employers to provide retainable check
stub.

« Provides protection for employees who file a
claim or exercise a right protected by Act 390.




Improved Workforce
Opportunity Wage

(Minimum Wage and Overtime)
Public Act 337




PUBLIC ACT 337

The Improved Workforce
Opportunity Wage Act

* Applies to: Provides a minimum hourly rate
_ of $9.65/hour currently and will
* Employers with 2 or more employees potentially increase to $9.87/hour
16 years of age and older. on January 1, 2022, dependent on

the state’s 2021 unemployment

. Empl t d by the federal
mployers hot covered Dy the 1edera rate being less than 8.5%.

Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA).

 Individuals covered by the FLSA
when state requirement is stricter
than federal requirement.



PUBLIC ACT 337

The Improved Workforce
Opportunity Wage Act

* Permits a 16 to 17-year-old subminimum wage
equal to 85% of minimum wage rate: currently
$8.20/hour.

 Allows tipped employees to be paid 38% of
minimum wage rate, $3.67/hour currently, if they
report in writing receiving tips equal to minimum
wage.

 Offers a $4.25/hour 16 to 19-year-old training
wage for 90 days of employment.

« Necessitates overtime, 1’2 times regular pay
rate, for hours worked over 40 in a 7-day
workweek.




Paid Medical Leave

Public Act 338




PUBLIC ACT 338

The Paid Medical Leave Act

Applies to
employers
with 50 or more
employees

Applies to certain
eligible employees
who work in
Michigan

Ineligible employees include, but are not limited to:
* Individuals under the age of 18 years old

« Individuals who worked on average fewer than 25 hours
per week during the immediately preceding calendar year

Requires 1 hour for every 35 actual hours worked; however, an
employer is not required to allow accrual of over 1 hour in a
calendar week or more than 40 hours in a benefit year

An employer may frontload 40 hours instead of accrual method
Carryover of up to 40 hours for accrual method

Carryover not required for frontload method



PUBLIC ACT 338

Paid Medical
Leave Usage

Allowed for medical reasons, illness,

injury, medical care or treatment, preventative
care, closure of primary workplace, school, or
childcare place by order of a public official due to
public health emergency, and special
circumstances surrounding domestic violence

Allowed as leave is accrued except an employer
may require an employee to wait until
the 90th day after commencing employment and
may limit hours to 40 in a benefit year.

Must be used in 1-hour increments unless
the employer has a different written policy.




PUBLIC ACT 338

Paid Medical
Leave Usage

« Employee must follow the employer’s usual
and customary notice, procedural, and
documentation requirements for requesting time,
but at least 3 days must be allowed for
documentation.

* There is a posting requirement.




Human Trafficking Notification

Public Act 62




PUBLIC ACT 62

Human Trafficking
Notification

« Requires conspicuous, public posting of a
human trafficking notification in English and
Spanish at the following entities:

* Public rest stops and welcome facilities

Public bus and rail transportation stations

Public airports

Adult entertainment establishments

Court declared public nuisance properties

The notification is also available
in the following languages:

Arabic

Bengali

Bosnian

Chinese Traditional Cantonese
Chinese Simplified Mandarin
Hmong

Polish

Ukrainian



Recordkeeping, Resources,
and Services




Recordkeeping

« Maintain records for 3 years:

Employee name, address,
birthdate, occupation, and rate of pay

Daily time records with starting and
ending times to the nearest 10th of an hour or
smaller increment

Total hours worked each pay period

Total wages paid each pay period along with an
itemization of deductions

ltemization of fringe benefits including
written agreements and paid medical leave
taken

Signed, dated tip statements each pay period

Signed, written deduction authorizations



Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity
Wage and Hour Division
PO Box 30476
Lansing, Ml 48909-7976
GRETCHEN WHITMER REQUIRED POSTER JEFF DONOFRIO
GOVERNOR GENERAL REQUIREMENTS - PAID MEDICAL LEAVE ACT* DIRECTOR

|
Coverage
The Paid Medical Leave Act, 2018 Public Act 338, as amended by 2018 Public Act 369, effective March 29, 2019, covers

employers who employ 50 or more individuals. The act covers individuals engaged in service to an employer in the business of

the employer and from whom an employer is required to withhold for federal income tax purposes. An eligible employee does

not include executive, administrative, and professional overtime exempt employees, employees covered by a private collective

bargaining agreement that is in effect, employees of the United States govemment, another state, or a political subdivision of

another state, individuals whose primary work location is not in this state, individuals 16-19 years of age being paid the youth

training wage in accordance with the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, temporary employees as described in the

Michigan Employment Security Act, variable hour employees as defined by . . . .
Railway Labor Act and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act, individuals em

calendar year for a job scheduled for 25 weeks or fewer, individuals who wc H uman Traﬁ:l Ckl ng N Otlﬁ Catl on
during the immediately preceding calendar year.(See section 2 of The Paid Me

Paid Medical Leave Accru: |If you or someone you know is being forced to engage in any
Paid medical leave accrual begins on March 29, 2019, or upon commencen - P -
later. Paid medical leave is accrued at a rate of 1 hour for every 35 actual hour |Ctivity and cannot leave, whether the activity is commercial
allow accrual of over 1 hour in a calendar week or more than 40 hours in a £ |sex, housework, farm work, or any other activity, please
month period used by an employer to calculate an eligible employee’s bene

- . .
o G e n e ra I Re u I re m e n ts unused accrued paid medical leave from one benefit year to the next; howeve contact the National Human TrafﬁCkmg Resource Center
to use more than 40 hours in a single benefit year. An employer may provide |hotline at 888-373-7888 or text 233733 to access help
by providing at least 4N haiirs at the heninnina of tha henafit vear ar an the d .
afficking are protected

M i n i m u m Wag e a n d Ove rti m e by a I | It;ear\‘/iﬁ:oytehaer:; Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity tate.

e Wage and Hour Division
At PO Box 30476

I Lansing, Ml 48909-7976 Trafficking Notification Act
b u S I n e S S e S GRETCHEN WHITMER REQUIRED POSTER JEFFDONOFRIO  nan trafficking:

GOVERNOR GENERAL REQUIREMENTS - MINIMUM WAGE and OVERTIME DIRECTOR

Coverage
The Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act (IWOWA), Public Act 337 of 2018, as amended, covers employers who
employ 2 or more employees 16 years of age and older.

* Youth Employment Standards Act

d conditions of his/her work.

Employees must be paid at least: m,,,,uf“"‘ S P
. . . ini Tipped Empl %+
Effective Date Hourly Wage _ ipped Employee 85%
Rate Hourly Rate  |Reported Average Hourly Tips | Hourly Rate
January 1, 2018 $9.25 $3.52 $5.73 $7.86
e m | O m i n O rS March 29, 2019 $9.45 $3.59 $5.86 $8.03
p y January 1, 2020* $9.65 $3.67 $5.98 $8.20
January 1, 2021* $9.87 $3.75 $6.12 $8.39
*An increase in the minimum hourly wage rate as prescribed in subsection (1) does not take effect if the unemployment rate for this state, as determined by the Bureau|
of Labor Statistics, United States Def Py
= minimum hourly wage rate as prescri
* General Requirements

2 Moo 9o
'STATE OF MICHIGAN

P a i d M ed ica I L eave ACt by b u S i n e SS eS GRETCHENWHITMER  DEPARTMENT OF LABOR ﬁmSNECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY JEFF DONOFRIO

POSTING REQUIREMENT
YOUTH EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS ACT, 1978 PA 90, as amended

With 50 Or more employees MCL 409.110 Minor under 16 years; days and hours of

Sec. 10. A minor under 16 years shall not be employed in an occupation subject to this act for more than 6 days in 1
week, nor for a period longer than a weekly average of 8 hours per day or 48 hours in 1 week, nor more than 10
hours in 1 day. The minor shall not be employed between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. A minor who is a student
in school shall not be employed more than a combined school and work week of 48 hours during the period when
school is in session.

- - u gum ] MCL 409.111 Minor 16 years or older; days and hours of itiy

[ ] H u m a n Traffl c kl n N Ot I fl cat I o n Sec. 11. (1). Except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older shall not be employed in an
occupation subject to this act for more than any of the following periods:

(a) Six days in 1 week.

" mgm (b) A period longer than a weekly average of 8 hours per day or 48 hours in 1 week.
Yy ceriain en ities () Tonhours 1 da.

(d) For a minor 16 years of age or older who is a student in school, a combined school and work week of 48 hours
during the period school is in session.

Except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older shall not be employed between 10:30
p.m. and 6 a.m. However, except as provided in subsection (3), a minor 16 years of age or older who is a
student in school may be employed until 11:30 p.m. on any of the following days:

(a) On Fridays and Saturdays.

(b) During school vacation periods.

(c) During periods when the minor is not regularly enrolled in school.

T Aaingidt B 1o N i e o el R NG QP ATE 9 acLgien dee aadl

@




Resources and Services

Questions? Contact: Complaint Investigations
- Paid Medical Leave: * Youth Employment:
PMLA-INFO@michigan.gov YESAComplaintForm.apps.lara.state.mi.us
« For all others: - Payment of wages, fringe benefits, and paid
WHINFO@michigan.gov medical leave: Michigan.gov/WageClaim
855-4MI-WAGE

 Discrimination, human trafficking notification,
Michigan.gov/WageHour and prevailing wage complaint forms are

available online or by calling 855-4MI-WAGE
* Publications

« Speaking Engagements
 Educational Contacts


mailto:PMLA-INFO@michigan.gov
mailto:WHINFO@michigan.gov
https://yesacomplaintform.apps.lara.state.mi.us/
http://www.michigan.gov/wageclaim

State Contact Information

MiChigan Lansing:
Department of . 530 W. Allegan Street
: PO Box 30476
Labor & Economic Lansing, MI 48909-7976
Opportunity, Wage . 517-284-7800
and Hour Division + Toll-Free: 855-4MI-WAGE (855-464-9243)

Michigan.gov/\WageHour



http://Michigan.gov/WageHour%E2%80%8B

Federal Contact Information

United States
Department of
Labor, Wage
and Hour
Division
DOL.gov/WHD

Nationally Toll-Free:
« 866-4US-WAGE (866-487-9243)
Detroit:

« 211 W. Fort Street, Room 517
Detroit, Ml 48226-3237

« 313-309-4500
Grand Rapids:

800 Monroe Avenue, NW, Suite 315
Grand Rapids, M|l 49503-1451

* 616-456-2004


http://dol.gov/WHD

Questions?

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF

LABOR & ECONOMIC

OPPORTUNITY
AN
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