HOURS OF WORK FOR MINORS

14- and 15-year-olds may work:

- During a time outside public school hours,
- 3 hours per day when school is in session.
- 8 hours per day on non-school days.
- 18 hours in a school week.
- 40 hours in a non-school week.
- From 7:00 am to 7:00 pm when school is in session.
- From 7:00 am to 9:00 pm from June 1 to Labor Day.

Week is workweek. School in session is any week the public school where the minor resides requires students to attend at least one day or partial day. No deviations.

16- and 17-year-olds may work:

- During a time they are not required to attend school.
- Up to 6 days per week.
- 10 hours per day.
- · 24 hours in a school week.
- · 48 hours in a non-school week.
- From 6:00 am to 10:30 pm Sunday-Thursday when school is in session.
- From 6:00 am to 11:30 pm on Friday-Saturday nights and when not in school.

Week is workweek. School in session is any week the minor is required to attend at least one day or partial day. Deviations from starting and ending times only are possible visit www.michigan.gov/ wagehour for details.

BREAKS

Workers less than 18 years of age may not work more than 5 hours without a documented 30-minute uninterrupted break.

SUPERVISION

A minor may not be employed unless the employer or another employee 18 years of age or older provides supervision.

ENFORCEMENT

Violation of the act is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a \$500.00 fine, or both. Penalties increase for adult supervision violations.

Complaints may be filed online at www.michigan.gov/wagehour.

Many Michigan employers and their employees under 18 years of age are subject to federal rules and regulations. For information about federal regulations contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, toll-free at 866-4US-WAGE (866-487-9243).

Other Michigan Labor Laws

In addition to the Youth Employment Standards Act the Wage and Hour Division also administers:

Michigan Minimum Wage Law (MWL)

PA 337 of 2018, the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, as amended, establishes the minimum wage including subminimum wage rates for certain employees, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and equal pay standards.

Payment of Wages and Fringe Benefits (PWFB)

PA 390 of 1978, as amended, establishes the time and manner for payment of wages and fringe benefits.

Earned Sick Time Act (ESTA)

PA 338 of 2018, as amended, establishes the earned sick time requirements, accrual amounts, allowed usage, and recordkeeping standards for certain eligible employees.

Prevailing Wages on State Projects (PW)

PA 10 of 2023, as amended, establishes the wages and fringe benefits to be paid on certain state funded or sponsored construction projects.

Human Trafficking (HT)

PA 62 of 2016, requires the posting of certain notices relating to human trafficking by certain entities.

This brochure is intended for general information only. It does not include all the provisions of Act 90, Public Act of 1978.

LEO is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services, and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Call (517) 284-7800 to make your needs known to this agency.

EMPLOYING MINORS IN MICHIGAN



WAGE & HOUR

Wage and Hour Division

Stevens T. Mason Building 530 W. Allegan St. Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 284-7800

Southeast Michigan

Cadillac Place 3026 W. Grand Blvd., Suite 2-750 Detroit, MI 48202

Mailing Address:

PO Box 30476 Lansing, MI 48909-7976

Toll-Free: 1-855-4MI-WAGE (855-464-9243) www.michigan.gov/wagehour

The Youth Employment Standards Act (YESA) establishes regulations for employing minors in the State of Michigan.

MINORS COVERED

It covers workers under the age of 18 including volunteers and performing artists.

Every employer who hires young workers should know that:

- A minor must be at least 14 years old for most occupations unless exempt from the Youth Employment Standards Act.
- A work permit is required unless the minor is exempt from the act.
- Minors may be employed in most jobs except those considered hazardous.

MINORS NOT COVERED

The YESA does not apply to several groups of young people provided proof of exemption is on file at the worksite. These groups include, but not limited to:

- 16- and 17-year-olds who have completed requirements for high school graduation.
- 17-year-olds who have passed the GED test.
- Emancipated minors.
- Students 14 years old and older working under a work based learning (WBL) or career and technical education (CTE) contract between an employer and a school district that provides supervision.
- Domestic chores at private residences.
- Minors working in businesses owned and operated by their parents.
- Workers who plant, cultivate, or harvest crops or raise livestock on farms.

WORK PERMITS

Teenage workers who are not exempt from the act must have a work permit before beginning work. Work permits are available online at www.michigan.gov/wagehour and from most schools or their administrative offices.

- If a minor changes jobs, a new work permit is required for the new employer.
- A work permit may be taken away for poor academic performance or an employer's noncompliance with the act.
- A work permit is required even if the minor does not attend school.

WAGES

- Wages must be paid weekly, biweekly, monthly, or semimonthly.
- Michigan's minimum hourly wage rate for individuals 18 years of age or older can be found below.
- Minors 16 to 17 years of age may be paid a subminimum wage equal to 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate.
- If minors receive tips, an hourly rate of at least 38% of the minimum wage rate must be paid.
 Signed, dated tip statements must be obtained prior to payday. The combined total from adding hourly wages with declared tips must be equal to or greater than the minimum hourly wage rate at the end of each pay

EFFECTIVE DATE	MINIMUM HOURLY WAGE RATE	85% OF MINIMUM HOURLY WAGE RATE
02/21/2025	\$12.48	\$10.61
01/01/2026	\$13.73	\$11.67
01/01/2027	\$15.00	\$12.75

WORKPLACE RESTRICTIONS

WORKPLACES INVOLVING ALCOHOL

Minors 14 to 17 years old may be employed in a business where alcoholic beverages are sold or consumed if the sale of food or other goods is at least 50% of the total gross receipts.

Minors 14 and 15 years old cannot work in the part of a business where alcohol is consumed. Minors under the age of 17 cannot sell, serve, or supply alcoholic beverages. Contact the Liquor Control Commission for restrictions on 17 year olds.

HAZARD WORKPLACE RESTRICTIONS

Minors covered by the act may not work in any occupation determined to be hazardous.

This includes, but is not limited to:

- Contact with hazardous substances, chemicals, explosives, or radioactive substances.
- Driving and working as an outside helper (pizza delivery, etc.).
- Jobs in the logging and sawmill industry.
- Jobs using woodworking machinery.
- Work on construction sites, excavation sites, bridges, streets or highways.
- Slaughtering, butchering, cutting meat or using meat slicers, cleavers, or boning knives.
- Occupations involving power driven equipment, tools, saws, or machinery (bakery machines, paper product machines, and metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines).