State of Michigan
Disability Management Unit (DMU)

Workers’ Compensation Summary (Assault)

If you are injured or become ill because of your job, you may be entitled to workers’
REPORTING YOUR compensation (WC) benefits. You should immediately tell your supervisor and seek

CLAIM medical treatment at an approved occupational clinic. The DMU will file a WC claim on
your behalf with Sedgwick, the State’s WC Third Party Administrator, or provide you with
the necessary information to file.

Sedgwick administers the SOM workers’ compensation plan. They may contact you about
PROCESSING YOUR CLAIM | Your claim. The claims examiner will answer any questions you may have and may ask
you for personal information to help determine any wage-loss benefits to which you
may be entitled. Sedgwick may be contacted at 800-324-9901.

During the first 28 days of medical care, the SOM has the right to choose who provides your
medical treatment. After 28 days, you have the right to choose any treating provider
qualified to treat your injury or illness. Sedgwick will pay all reasonable and necessary
MEDICAL CARE medical care for your work-related injury or illness but has the right to question the
appropriateness of treatment.

If you seek medical treatment before a claim is filed, tell your doctor that you suspect your
injury orillness is work-related. Your health-insurance carrier should not be billed for
medical expenses that are covered by WC benefits for a work-related injury of illness.

Under various assault statutes, if your injury was the result of an assault while performing
employment duties, you may receive full wages from the State of Michigan (SOM) until

WHEN BENEFITS ARE workers’ compensation (WC) benefits begin.

DUE If qualifying, your first check is sent to the SOM for payroll reconciliation. The SOM will mail

your check to your home address. After the first check is reconciled, you will receive a weekly
benefit payment from Sedgwick and, if applicable, supplemental biweekly payment from
SOM. The combined total will equal your standard net wage at the time of injury.

Your wage loss benefit payments are based on your average weekly wages, including
WAGE LOSS BENEFITS overtime, from the average of your highest 39 weeks of pay of the 52 weeks immediately
before to the date of injury or illness. The benefit is subject to a weekly maximum
established by the Workers” Compensation Agency (WCA).

Civil Service authorizes disability wage supplements up to 100 weeks.

SUPPLEMENTAL WAGE Base'd on various assault statut'es or certain collective bargaining agreements{ you may
BENEFITS qualify for a supplement that will pay 100% of your standard net wage at the time of injury.

For further information, read Civil Service Rules 5-9, Civil Service Regulation 5.13, or your
collective bargaining agreement.
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EMPLOYMENT AND
BENEFIT STATUS

If you cannot return to work after 100 weeks, the supplement will end. Depending on your
medical-leave rights under civil service rules and regulations, or collective bargaining
agreement, you may be placed on a medical leave of absence or separated from
employment.

Sedgwick will continue to pay your wage loss benefits, and any reasonable and necessary
medical expenses, if you continue to be disabled.

INDEPENDENT MEDICAL
EXAMINATIONS

If Sedgwick has questions about the medical information or treatment of your work-related
injury or illness, Sedgwick may schedule an independent medical examination (IME). You
must participate with any reasonably scheduled IME or your WC benefits may be suspended.

RETURN TO WORK

Before returning to work, you must submit to the DMU a physician statement permitting
return, with or without restrictions.

Restriction statements must indicate the physical limitations and the duration. The DMU
will work with you and your agency to evaluate if the essential job functions are compatible
with work restrictions. Restrictions must be approved before returning to work.

CLAIM
AND BENEFIT DECISIONS

Within 14 calendar days, after your claim is filed, Sedgwick will notify you of the decision to
approve or deny your claim. If your claim is disputed, you may be asked to provide further
medical or supportive information. Sedgwick follows the guidelines in the Workers’
Compensation Act to make decisions on the compensability of a claim.

LONG TERM DISABILITY

You will only be eligible to collect LTD benefits for this injury if Sedgwick denies or disputes
the WC claim. If enrolled in LTD, contact Sedgwick at 800-324-9901 to apply for benefits.

(LTD)

Sedgwick Payroll deductions - Sedgwick may process existing Friend of the Court deductions,
but will not take 401k loans, garnishments, levies, etc.
SOM Payroll deductions — If there are not enough SOM wages to cover existing payroll
deductions (Friend of the Court, 401k loans, garnishments, levies, etc.), it is your
responsibility to make payment arrangements while on WC.

PAYROLL DEDUCTIONS
For the first 50 weeks of a WC claim, your health insurance benefits will be continued, and

AND TIME ACCRUALS Y

you are responsible for your percentage of insurance premiums. If you do not have enough
SOM wages to pay insurance premiums, upon returning to work, all past due premiums will
be deducted from your first SOM check.

You will continue to accrue sick leave, annual leave, and continuous service hours while you
remain in full pay status.
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